Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Elmsdale Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Herefordshire > Ross On Wye > Elmsdale Camping Reviews

Elmsdale Camping
Elmsdale Camping
Marstow
Ross On Wye
Herefordshire   (Browse area)
HR9 6HD
Tel: 01600 890782  or  07956 441036
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/03/2021 to 30/09/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 56 Reviews
                9/10 from 56 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  56 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Thetalbots 1 review from this member

 A really lovely site with friendly owners. Toilets and showers pristine. Great setting with electric hook up available.

Make sure you stay at the top of the field if the ground is wet!

Excellent food at The Cross Keys @ Goodrich which is within walking distance - only go if you have a hearty appetite. 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: John Pay 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a wonderful 4 days at Elmsdale Camp Site, which is around 5 miles to the south of Ross on Wye. The site is superb - very peaceful, with good toilet, showers and washing up facilities, newly installed electric hook up facilities, a very nice pub (with wi-fi) selling a range of decent beers an easy 15 minutes walk away. The site provides an excellent base for walking into and along the beautiful Wye Valley. The hosts are very friendly and more than helpful. We would certainly recommend and visit again.  


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Singingcavy 23 reviews from this member

 We were warmly welcomed by the farm owner, Neil, and able to choose a spot anywhere on the field - there were just a handful of other campers there, and apparently 15 is the maximum number of units. Some of the site had a considerable slope so we decided to stay on the upper part in case of rain making it difficult to get the van out later. However, it looked beautiful by the river. It did rain but no-one seemed to have any problem getting up the hill.

The site was rustic, as described, and charming with lovely views: we watched a farmer and dog round up sheep in the next field. We loved being visited by chickens who went around in a small group hoping for food. There were also goats to see.

The loos were fine in themselves and the shower adequate: not for those expecting shining tiles and chrome though. The pound shop was a lovely idea, and the items for loan included anything you could need - water can, hairdryer, plates, toys, books, maps - and the whole atmosphere was one of trusting simplicity.

Each night there was a lovely smell of campfires which many people lit to warm the evening - boxes of wood were available to buy at 5 each (people mostly used bricks to prevent the fire getting bigger than about a foot across).

We didn't eat out but had a lovely trip canoeing on the Wye (including sightings of kingfisher and heron) and shopping in Ross.

Great trip. Simple site, Beautiful place. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AnnaOxford 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from spending a long weekend at Elmsdale campsite. I am pleased to say we were not disappointed.

The site is lovely, easy to find, lots of space and even a river running at the bottom of the field. The toilet blocks and showers were clean and kept so during our stay. The water was always hot when we had showers.

Amazingly, even though there were only 2 showers for the ladies there never seemed to be a queue! The owners greeted us with a warm welcome and nothing seemed to much of a problem.

There is a little hut for washing up which also has a small freezer in it.

One of our party had a dog which was allowed on site which was a bonus. There was plenty of space as well.

There is a pub called the Cross Keys at Goodrich in the next village whch is about a 10-15 minute walk away. We had a lovely meal there on the Saturday night.

Symonds Yat is 10 minute drive away which can be used a base for walking, canoeing and exploring.

Overall a lovely stay and we will definitely be back next Summer. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Openspace 1 review from this member

 Excellent friendly small site, lovely scenic surroundings, showers and toilets exceptionally clean, but could do with a shelf or bench to put clothes on whilst in shower and a hand dryer and hair dryer would be useful,

Great location for Symonds Yat about 10 mins drive.

Ideal for couples or families. 10pm lights out rule so no unruly behaviour on site.

Would definitely recommend this site and would love to go again.

Plenty of room for children to play football and other games in the middle of the site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Helendharris 1 review from this member

 Spent a lovely long weekend from the 22nd of july mainly to do canoeing and celebrate brother in laws birthday.

This was a very quiet and peaceful site totally an away from it all campsite. Very friendly owners and helpful we will definitely be back next year this time for a week. Loved the little stream.

The shower and toilet block were very clean as other reviews state owing to amount (2) could be a problem when the campsite is full to capacity but we did not have to wait once.

We are in the senior citizen age bracket. But the site had all age groups. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Emmaandtony 6 reviews from this member

 Excellent site, really clean and good facilities. Very friendly owners. Will definitely be going again. Our children loved it here. Lots to do in the local area.

We originally booked for 4 nights but ended up staying 12 nights. We had lovely weather. Only rained twice.

The owners gave us plenty of advice on what to do and were to go. Lovely pub about 20 min walk from site, Canoeing from symonds yat.

The kids loved the butterfly park and the amazing hedge puzzle. The forest of dean was wonderful too.

Could have still done more if we hadn't run out off time.  


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DAEgilbert 1 review from this member

 I stayed at Elmsdale with a friend and my grandson in July. We were welcomed by another camper as the owners were out. But it was obvious that it was a friendlily campsite.

So it continued when the owner returned. Very pleasant very helpful

Facilities are excellent, modern clean. The spirit at the campsite is a generous one. Plenty of hot water, no charge. Facilities for washing up excellent.

Cost of camping is minimal.

Highly recommend the site and the people who run it.

We hope to return next year and perhaps stay longer. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Whatamidoing 2 reviews from this member

 First time camping since childhood (AND with the family!). Really lovely campsite. Owner could not have been more helpful (and believe me, I did test her! Thanks so much for an amazingly warm and hospitable stay Jean!).

Spotless toilets, showers, washing up area. Really useful (free!) freezer for ice blocks. Lovely river all round edge of field. Pitches (all flat) around the edge, leaving the middle free for children, games etc.

Beautiful area, fab time canoeing, walking, horse riding etc. Minor negatives - ignorant group making noise past midnight one Friday night. And minor road noise from HGVs. Not enough to put me off. W

ill be back at some point. Good value. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Marionjaneburns 2 reviews from this member

 We have just enjoyed a lovely Bank Holiday weekend at Elmsdale. The site is lovely - well kept and by a small river - great for children to look for wildlife with nets etc.

Although the toilet and shower facility is small, it is well stocked and has nice hot water and is the cleanest campsite facility I have ever seen.

There is also a washing up hut with hot water and a freezer for ice blocks, which you can use as often as you need to, at no extra cost. We received a warm welcome and the campsite owner couldn't have been more helpful with advice on where to go for good walks, pub meals, tourist car parking etc.

The surrounding area is also beautiful. Access good from nearby A40. The campsite is near to Ross, Monmouth and Symonds Yat, the latter two being walkable for the more energetic (perhaps not with a young family as it does involve going along a bit of road as well as footpaths I think).

Just about to book up again for next year! 


Previous     56 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Elmsdale Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Elmsdale Camping?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Elmsdale Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ross On Wye      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Herefordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4605 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement