Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Brickhouse Touring Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Preston > Brickhouse Touring Caravan Site Reviews

Brickhouse Touring Caravan Site
Swinglehurst Lane
Garstang Road
Chipping
Preston
Lancashire   (Browse area)
PR3 2QW
Tel: 01995 61747  or  07581836922
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 34
Open: 12/04/2021 to 15/11/2021
           08/04/2022 to 15/11/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 58 Reviews
                10/10 from 58 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  58 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Glenalk 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 7 nights from 17 - 24 March 2013. Unlike many other sites, the pitch fee includes awnings and dogs. The owners are exceptionally friendly and helpful and keep the site, including toilet block, in pristine condition. They even supply toiletries, (which unfortunately some ungrateful people in the past have stolen), doggy poo bags at locations around the site and even hand sanitisers are available at the grey waste, elsan disposal and dog poo disposal sites. What a nice touch!

The pitches are quite large, on hardstandings surrounded by grass which, due to the adverse weather, was a bit muddy in places.

The immaculate toilet blocks are heated and even during the high bitter winds, rain and snow experienced during our visit, were warm, spotlessly clean with a good supply of hot water. The water in the showers is provided by pushing a button and the only very minor criticism would be that there could be a longer period of showering provided per button push!

A shed near to the toilet block has local tourist information leaflets, walking routes, books & DVDs to borrow. We found TV reception to be first class although mobile phone reception both on the site and in the village, isn't too good. There is no wi fi available on site but it is provided in the local village cafe.

The views of Longridge Fells from the site are spectacular and I'm told, ( it was too cold and windy to try), offer some great walks along the ridge and also in the local area. It's a short walk into the village where there are 2 pubs, both dog friendly, cafe, village shop which apparently is the oldest continuous trading shop in England, and butchers. We tried both pubs and preferred the Tillitsons Arms which was very welcoming, and served great pub type food which was always freshly cooked and very well presented at a sensible price. There was a good choice of local & guest ales as well as standard beers available. The landlord & lady and all staff were very friendly and after a couple of visits, you felt like you were in your own local at home.

We mentioned earlier about how helpful the owners were. When we arrived we had problems with our car, and the lady owner went out of her way to contact a neighbour who owns a car repairers, and even arranged a visit for me to his workshop and found the time take me there.

We were there in very poor weather conditions and with the exception of a visit to Ingleton Falls walk which is great, it prevented us getting out and about in the area as we intended. We hope to return for another visit later in the year when the weather should be more settled and warmer.

Thank you, you run an exceptional site at a very reasonable price. We will be back! 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Vmccar 23 reviews from this member

 Well. It's all true! This is a fantastic site. Very well kept. The loo's are silly clean! Nice well kept site and very friendly owners. The other big plus is it's location right in the village with pubs and shops and churches and also the walking around Chipping is just fabulous. Also we have stayed at lower quality sites and paid quite a lot more so it's good value for money for the quality. You can tell the owners are passionate about what they do, too.

I should say, those with very young children will be enchanted with the family of 15-20 ducks who live in the fenced duck pond and generally waddle around the site quacking and being cute. 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cockerspadgers 39 reviews from this member

 We stayed for a weekend in the middle of October. The site was full and the owner was turning people away which just goes to prove how popular and how fabulous this caravan site is.

As said in previous reviews, the toilets are out of this world; never before have we stayed on a site where shampoo and body lotion are provided!

Also, no extra charges for dogs or awnings, which is always a positive for us. Dog walk was provided with poo bin close to the gate.

The village was a short stroll away, with a couple of pubs and a tea room which we didn't visit because it was closed, but it looked very inviting with a lovely tea garden to the rear.

If I had one tiny criticism about the site, it would be that the hard standings could be a bit wider. Had we put up our small awning, it would partially have been on the grass which was in a very poor condition due to the rain, it was extremely soggy and not very nice to walk on. But apart from that, I would highly recommend this site. Well done to the owners. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: M+mrachel 19 reviews from this member

 What can I say about this beautiful site that hasn't been said before, The owners keep the site clean tidy and well maintained.

When we stayed it was just unfortunate we didn't have the best weather leading up to and during but this did not put us off and after changing from our booked pitch we spent a fantastic time at the site and using the village for groceries. There are two pubs but only used one of them, butchers meat was excellent and can recommend the steak.

The site has excellent bathing facilities even offering shower gels, shampoo's and soaps what a lovely homely touch (well done). There is a little hut which has books, Dvd's and tourist information in.

Our son wasn't well while we were there and they offered some advice on the local GP's if we needed it, that was so helpful.

There is a fenced off pond which has numerous ducks on it, one that even quacked every time my husband told a joke with made us laugh even more. I would say this site is child friendly but there is no play area for them.

We would definitely like to return. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Prospect35 17 reviews from this member

 Wow, what a fabulous site, from pulling up at the gate to leaving after six days, it was lovely.

As other reviews state the toilet and shower block is out of this world, just like your own bathroom and so clean.

Lynda and Tim are so friendly nothing is to much trouble, even lending our friends some woods for bowls, the bowling green is right next to the site which is very handy.

Chipping village is only 5 mins walk from the site, and has two lovely pubs, lots of places to visit, and some great walks from the site.

The information hut is well stocked and has walks printed out for you to borrow. Books, mags, DVD's and information on the area is all there for you. They even sell gift vouchers you can buy for presents, what a wonderful idea, hope someone buys some for us, as we will definitely be back, and very soon. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gott 9 reviews from this member

 All I can do is agree with all the previous reviews. This is an excellent site, well run and maintained and excellent value. The ablutions are as good as you would have at home and were always spotless.

By far the best site I have ever stayed on and less expensive that some that are a lot worse.

The area is great for walking, especially into the village to either of the pubs

We will return with pleasure. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Helen.harrison2 17 reviews from this member

 This was our second stay at this beautiful site. The site is extremely well looked after, the gravel pitches are well sized and well laid out with lots of garden areas in-between. There is a small hut providing local tourist information. The owners are friendly and helpful and will help manoeuvre your van if you're having difficulty.

The toilets are the best I've seen, heated, clean, fresh smelling and spotless, products are provided in case you forget your own and lots of similar extra touches, the showers are spacious. Outside the toilet block is a covered dishwashing area.

There is a pond in the middle of the site but it appears to be well fenced off. There's a leaflet available with a suggested walk around Chipping giving details of points of interest, Longridge, Clitheroe and Preston are nearby, and the Ribble Valley is a lovely place to explore. There's a pub in the village although we didn't visit, and a couple of small shops. The site is gated and you're provided with a key which you'll also need for the toilets. We will be returning! 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Vikki75 14 reviews from this member

 As has been said before, this park is beautiful. Tim and Lynda are friendly, helpful and very welcoming. The pitches are flat and you don't feel as though you are on top of other units.

The shower block is lovely and sparkling clean, I am usually reluctant to use campsite showers but had no qualms here. The site is exceptionally well maintained and tidy.

We spent a day at the wild boar park with the kids who had a fantastic time, and they let dogs in which is a bonus.

We can't wait to visit again. It's only an hour away from us so I think it might become a regular retreat.

Although there isn't a kids area ours had fun messing around on the field at the front. Which was also where we exercised the dog as the council have banned dogs from the park now :(

We were also allowed to use our bbq / firebowl as long as it was on the hardstanding which the kids loved as they finally got to toast marshmallows. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mamacaz 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for a weekend in April 2012. What a beautifully clean and well presented site. The shower and toilet facilities were outstanding, They offer a range of shampoo's conditioner's & body wash. We would most definitely stay here again & would highly recommend others to try this site. The views are beautiful. If you have a bike its nice to go cycling around the area. The owners are very helpful & friendly. You really need a car to get to some of the local attractions. Thanks for a lovely stay. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paulanwendy 2 reviews from this member

 Agree wholeheartedly with other positive reviews, this is an exceptionally well maintained and pleasant site. Level pitches, electric hook up, ample spacing between vans, and a pleasant aspect. Open views in front and picturesque scene with sheep in field at rear

Site owners were both exceptionally helpful and friendly.

The toilet block with its underfloor heating is first rate and the complementary hand cream was very nice (I subsequently bought the same item at M&S).

Information hut with lots of local detail plus and books dvd's to borrow.

Good location, two pubs in village (five minute stroll away) with real ales and good food. Sign of the times perhaps but the local village grocers shop was closing down the weekend that we stayed.

However there is still a butcher's in the village and a Sainsburys supermarket about 4 miles miles away (Longton). Good location for walking or just chilling. Clitheroe is nice. 


Previous     58 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Brickhouse Touring Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Brickhouse Touring Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Brickhouse Touring Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Preston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2882 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement