Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Fell View Park Camping And Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Preston > Fell View Park Camping And Caravan Site Reviews

Fell View Park Camping And Caravan Site
Sykes Farm
Scorton
Preston
Lancashire   (Browse area)
PR3 1DA
Tel: 01524 791283
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 39
Open: 1 March - 31 October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 60 Reviews
                9/10 from 60 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  60 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Poppy18 5 reviews from this member

Just home from a fantastic weekend at Fell View Farm. The site was well maintained & very clean. The owner was lovely & helpful. My husband did a spot of fishing & he wasn't disappointed. Lots of geese & ducks, & the view is beautiful. The site was full & a mixture of tents & touring caravans. We have booked again for July.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wendym100 12 reviews from this member

Very lovely site for both tents and caravans.

Comfortable and large showers cubicles and x 2 toilets ( separate for male and female) which were always free, even at peak times.

Lovely inside kitchen and dining area in addition to the 3 outdoor sinks, book swap, mags and even a kettle, fridge and local leaflets.

Quite full but didn't feel at all packed. It's a laid back site, ideal for a quiet peaceful break - hardly any noise after about 10pm.

It's in the middle of the Bowland forest with lots of country lanes - Scorton village has a few shops such as a Spar and a pub and is about 10 min drive. Lancaster is about a 20 min drive and was excellent for shopping.

Overall we had a lovely peaceful weekend and would definitely return but not sure if I'd take the children as there isn't really anywhere for them to roam.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Geriberry 1 review from this member

We enjoyed our visit to this campsite. Our group had both tents and caravans which were both well catered for. The owners were very friendly and welcoming. The facilities on site are much better than many sites we have visited before. Toilets and (free) showers always kept clean, in addition there is laundry facilities and a kitchen area. We had a wonderful meal at The Priory Pub in Scorton. We will definitely be visiting this site again.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mucker1884 40 reviews from this member

Arrived on Good Friday to be met with a near-full site (on EHU), and blazing sunshine!

The non-EHU field only had a small smattering of tents, as it's still early season, for some, I guess.

After a quick 'phone call, we were quickly met at the gate, (Owners husband, I believe) welcomed, and shown to our pitch, (that we'd booked by 'phone just 2 days previous. Simple, professional, and amiable). The owner herself came round a couple of hours later, to welcome us, and take our details and payment. Both were charming and seemed happy to chat.

The pitches were a little closer together than what we are normally used to, but we comfortably pitched our 4. 8m x 3m tent (not including guys). No exact marked pitch boundaries, but there was approx 5m between us and the neighbouring caravan on one side, and 4m to the tent on the other side. Our large mpv had to be parked in front of the pitch, to avoid upsetting the neighbours/driving over guy lines, so not the best of views. Which would have been lovely rolling hills, had we had the room to park at the side.

Pitch was flat, well mown, and lush, apart from one small freshly seeded bare patch, which we managed to keep off, in order to let it grow back. 'Our field' was a mixture of hard standings and grass pitches, with just the gentlest of slopes. There was also a small flat field immediately to the left of the main entrance, with separate gated entrance. Beyond our field were two flat fields for non-EHU, that seemed to be a 'Pitch where you like' kind of set up. Again, nicely mown and tidy. All the on-site roadways/hard standings seemed to be new (very clean) gravel, which added to the nice and tidy feel of the site. A central (fenced in) bin/recycling area, and drinking water tap was easily accessible, and served it's purpose.

The amenities were at the bottom of the main field. Gents, Ladies, and disabled, a campers kitchen, and outdoor/covered washing up sinks. The kitchen had another washing up sink, work top space, cooker, fridge, freezer, kettle etc. Also a dining table & chairs, and even a comfy sofa. I believe there are laundry facilities too. Ideal as a refuge if you are 'tenting in a heavy storm', I would say. Tourist leaflets etc were also in here.

The loos/showers etc were more than adequate, and clean. The gents had 2 x urinals, 1 x WC, and 2 x wash basins in the main part. In addition, (still in the gents) there were two 'En-suites Rooms'. WC, wash basin, chair, and shower cubicle in each. Excellent shower. Constant hot water, adjustable pressure and temperature, and the shower is on a hose/sliding rail, so not only height adjustable, but it can reach all corners for rinsing out the cubicle when you've done. (I hate those high/fixed shower heads!)

A couple of niggles. Gents ran out of hand drying paper towels three times over the weekend (Just one small dispenser. Paper on a roll type). I was also informed by my wife that she had to 'pinch' the liquid soap from the kitchen, as she finally ran out of patience after a full 24 hours of there being none at all in the ladies! I'd hope we aren't expected to take our toiletry bags with us, when just 'nipping for a wee'!

Very small open topped bins in the loos for paper towels etc. Either need to be larger, or get emptied more often. Scraps of paper on the otherwise clean floor, on more than one occasion.

The main dustbins out on site were also full to bursting by the Sunday. No idea if they'd been emptied since our arrival 48 hours earlier, as we had spent more time off site, than on.

Dusk on the Friday saw the drop in temperature. And no doubt, the rise in fan heaters being turned on, including us, admittedly (1500 watts, and never with the kettle on!). Just after dark, we returned from the loo's to be informed, by a camping neighbour, that the EHU power had just gone off, and that the owner had been telephoned. But no answer! After a couple of hours relying on battery lamps, we retired for the night. There was still no EHU power next morning. So that campers kitchen came in very handy for the morning cuppa. (It saved us rigging the gas and 'cooker' up just for a brew!). Power restored by mid morning, so I guess 12 hours or so, mainly through the night, admittedly. Still, no communication from the owner, be it apology, explanation, or dare I say, even the offer of a small refund. You do pay extra for EHU, as per most sites, but in all fairness, the overall tariff is very reasonable, and although it doesn't affect us, I believe under 16's and dogs are free, so maybe a tad harsh on my part?

A point lost, I feel, for all the above 'niggles', combined!

There were also some very high winds all day (and throughout the night) on the Sunday, with many tenter's struggling to keep their tents secure, and most caravanner's taking their awnings down 'at the last minute'. I'm more used to site owners 'doing the rounds', checking everyone is safe and happy, and on occasion, even offering a helping hand. I witnessed none of that here though, sadly. Not worthy of a 'mark down', but worth a mention, I thought.

There's what looks like a very nice, if small, fishing lake immediately adjacent to the camping fields. Quite a lovely stroll around it, as the sun sets, if only to stretch the legs.

Oh. And it's a 40 min drive to the cycle paths/promenades at and around Blackpool, which was the main reason for our visit.

All in all, a very nice and tidy site, that could do with the EHU pitches spreading out a touch, and a bit more time spent emptying bins, topping up soaps/paper towels etc.

Would we stay here again?

It's tempting, to be fair. But we'd need to see how the next few reviews go. And maybe avoid Bank Holidays?

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lizaglover 1 review from this member

This is our second visit in soo many weeks and once again we had a thoroughly enjoyable visit. The hostess Susan and her husband are two of the politest people you could meet and nothing is too much trouble. There are standings for both caravans and trailers and offer electric hook up if required. There is a choice of fields 4 in total and all offer superb views. The shower block is excellent and there is always hot water, their are two en suite rooms with a toilet, shower and basin for privacy, two separate toilets and two wash basins and a hair dryer is provided in the ladies. There are disabled facilities and a warm room where campers can make a brew, a fridge and freezer for your goodies, table and chairs, books and games, In the morning there are fresh eggs from the farm for you to buy just drop your money in the hones box and a laundry room with washer, dryer, iron and ironing board for use by the campers. This is a lovely quiet family site and the only sounds heard are the sheep and ducks on the fishing pond adjacent to the site for all you keen fishermen. Overall we had an excellent time and will returning as soon as we are free again. The electric hook up pitches are 15 and the non electric 12 :-)))

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Helen.harrison2 11 reviews from this member

We stayed on this site over the last weekend of August and hope to return.

The site is found down narrow country lanes. The directions were clear and we found the site without a problem but I wouldn't have liked to have missed the turning. There's a gate to the site which was kept closed throughout the weekend, just enough room to pull in from the lane with the caravan on. We were told to find our own pitch on arrival. It would have been nice to have had a map of the site available prior to choosing but this wasn't a major problem as the site isn't big. Plenty of room on the pitches, fairly level. For tents the grass looked well kept and they also had plenty of space. There seemed to be lots of picnic tables around the site which could be moved as required so no need for campers to bring their own tables.

The ladies toilets had 2 toilets, 2 cubicles with sinks in and 2 small rooms with a shower cubicle, toilet, sink and chair in each, plenty of room and hot, free showers. They were clean throughout the weekend. My only criticism was that they were very open and I can imagine they would be breezy and cooler in more inclement weather. Also part of the toilet block was a campers kitchen with lots of information on the local area.

There was a small rally field adjacent to the campsite but they couldn't use the facilities so no problems with overcrowding. There also was a small fishing lake in an adjacent field which was gated off.

The owner came to collect our money during the weekend and there was no push to leave, we could stay as long as we wanted.

We followed a cycle route on the Sunday from the site which we'd picked up from the campers kitchen but wouldn't do this route again, it was very steep and rocky. We also cycled the Preston Guild Wheel on the Saturday and would definitely do this again. The site is about midway between Lancaster and Preston so both are viable to visit by car.

A small to medium sized quiet site which suited us, we'll definitely return.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AprilFool 4 reviews from this member

Phoned and booked and told to pitch up and money collected later which we did outside the shower block facing the fishing lake and the view to the hills was stunning. Nice friendly owner arrived later in the day to collect payment and we were happy till the campers arrived next door who practically sat on top of us and out came their football which almost landed in our barbecue, thank goodness they went the following day, and we were left in peace. The pitches are too close for my liking. Toilet block was clean, free hot water, but I had to take my tissue with me as more often than not there was no loo roll and this was a grumble amongst other campers too. The toilet floors had tissue paper scattered on them and loos not always flushed, I put this down to the amount of children on site who thankfully were tucked away in a little field next to the shower block possibly family groups and were no bother to us. Drinking water was at the side of the shower block as were washing up sinks and a very handy meeting room with books and games and an extra sink for washing up indoors which housed a fridge for all to use. You are in the country here with lovely views ideal for walking, cycling and fishing on site but make sure you don't forget anything as it is a jaunt to the nearest shop by car. Morecombe market on a Sunday is worth a visit and the village of Scorton is a pretty place and the garden centre is worth a visit if only for the ice cream which was delicious. My hubby and I would go back but we would avoid school holidays.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Steve3963 1 review from this member

Just thought we would say that we had a lovely time at your Camping & Tent Site.

We found all your facilities to be excellent and would definitely come back. Fresh eggs, fridge and freezer were a bonus. The showers and toilets were very clean and soft loo paper was supplied.
It was also a pleasant change to see as many hook-ups for tents as Caravans. Lovely open fields and very dog friendly.

Many Thanks Again

Steve & Michael

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bazza1957 7 reviews from this member

We arrived at the site and could not find anyone to ask where we should pitch so we just had a look around and found a nice quite small field so set up camp, The owner of the site came round later to collect our money and is a very pleasant lady. Right then down to the site the showers and toilets are up to date only spoiled by thoughtless children leaving them in a mess after use this improved after the weekend as did the noise levels, over all a very nice site and as not too far from home we will visit again :)

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nats84 4 reviews from this member

Lovely clean site, views are amazing, we also had a caravan with us, and although they have pitches for caravans and would rather you use them, as we were in a group they allowed us to all go on the tent pitches. The owners were a lovely couple and very helpful, the grounds were well maintained. The toilets were always clean with plenty of loo roll/hand tissue. The fishing was cheap and the other half caught some nice fish over the weekend, so he was happy. There is no time to be on or off the site which we liked and this was at no extra cost. The site is in a good location for visiting Blackpool and other attractions in the north west. All in all a fantastic, cheap site that we will be visiting again.

Previous     60 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Preston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5382 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019