Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Fell View Park Camping And Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Preston > Fell View Park Camping And Caravan Site Reviews

Fell View Park Camping And Caravan Site
Sykes Farm
Scorton
Preston
Lancashire   (Browse area)
PR3 1DA
Tel: 01524 791283
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 39
Open: 1 March - 31 October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 59 Reviews
                9/10 from 59 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  59 in total, now showing 51 to 59                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Stumpythebear 13 reviews from this member

We spent a lovely weekend at Fell View. The facilities are very good - a new toilet block, with 2 showers, 4 WC's and sinks, and plenty of hot water.

Very good value for money at 12 per night with electric hook-up. The site is in a beautiful position on the edge of the Bowland Fells, about 2 miles NE of the small village of Scorton.

The views all round are lovely - out west across the Fylde plain to the sea, East to Harris End Fell and South to Nicky Nook. The site was busy the weekend we visited as the weather was fine and sunny, but it didn't feel crowded and I didn't have to queue to use the facilities.

The best pitches are to the right as you enter the site. On arriving just find a vacant spot and park up. The friendly owner, who lives at the farm just up the road, comes along to collect the money at some point during the day. It is very relaxed with no obvious rules and regulations.

There were plenty of children and dogs, but there was no problem with excess noise.

The site is a little exposed to the wind and any rain, although there is also a small camping field to the left just before the main entrance which would probably offer more shelter but less good views. We went on walks directly from the site to the top of Harris End Fell, and over Nicky Nook into Scorton and back along the Grizedale valley.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kath225 1 review from this member

Fantastic clean site great for peace and quite even with a family really friendly owners. Great facilities, free hot showers, also has washing machine dryer and iron if needed, has a nice kitchen with use of fridge and freezer. Bargain price of 12 with electric. Village of scorton ten mins in car, garstang is around 20 mins in car, nickynook around 1 hours walk nice picnic area, lovely views when you wake up in the morning will be going back soon

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Miloson 24 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a weekend at this site. The sun was shinning and the site was quite full, the good points of this site, are easy to get to from the Motorway. The site grounds are well looked after, the Gate to get in and out of the site are kept closed and are safe for the Children.

There is a small fishing pond, with plenty of fish. There is a new toilet block, with Kitchen area, and Laundry room. Plenty of farm animals around the site for the Children. There is a good sized area for the dogs to run around.

The Negative points, Toilets were reasonably clean, Toilet paper in short supply, people using showers did not mop up after themselves in the room causing the floors to flood.

This is a very good and modern site, well kept Sue was very helpful and addressed problems when raised. Overall this is a very good site, and if some of these points were addressed it would be a an excellent site. Thanks for a good weekend.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Qwerty73 2 reviews from this member

I chose this site as it was close to home and cheap (12/ night) including EHU.

There is a new facilities block but to be honest we didn't get that far!

That was about as good as it got!

To be fair to the owner they did say choose your own pitch so we did. Yes it was wet and in hind site we should have abandoned it their and then but with two small kids it is difficult to disappoint them!

The pitch just became a bog which we had to abandon of sorts in the end sending the wife & kids home!

I am amazed that the owner hasn't marked it as unusable (not sure if this is standard practice!) From arriving at 3pm ish until 9:30am we haven't seen the site owner but again to be fair I did leave the site to take family home.

In better weather the site would have been quite nice.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cheryl.mark 91 reviews from this member

Just spent a weekend on this site. I have to disagree with some of the reviews of this site. Yes it is cheap at 12 a night, and yes the views are stunning, however, the negatives:-

I don't know if we were just unlucky but there were a family of tenters staying on the same weekend, they seemed to let their young children run wild around the site, playing with water pipes, even axing wood down for their firepits at night, kicking leather footballs around the caravans and generally giving family campers a bad name. We have two young children and I have never seen anything like it! The site owners were nowhere to be seen all weekend apart from collecting their site fees on the Saturday morning!

Kids were running havoc in the shower blocks, and although this isnt the site owners fault, the point I'm making is that campers are left to it to do what they want and that's exactly what appended the weekend we were there. It was a mudbath and the tents were swimming in mud, the site should not have allowed anyone to camp in these conditions, the caravans are on hardstanding, however, the pitches are very narrow and there wasn't enough room for our canopy and car.

Another reviewer has also pointed out that the pitches are very close together, I totally agree, they were too close for comfort and we have stayed on lots of smaller CL type sites with much more room.

There is nothing close by, you need a car or walk on the single track roads which we didn't fancy with two young children and a dog. The site is poorly signposted from the entrance road, we ended up going past it into Scorton, however, the sign is clear on the way from Scorton. If you take the wrong turning your in BIG trouble as a lot of the roads are single track so don't rely on your sat nav!

There is a campers kitchen which has a table/fridge in and TV, the showers were ok but iv seen nicer ones, these are just breeze block types and yes they have a toilet/sink in each cubicle but there are only a couple of showers and they were always full! This site would be lovely with less pitches and not as crammed in. They have put too many pitches into a small area. I would not return because there are much nicer sites out there and I was very disappointed after reading the excellent reviews on here.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jenko crew 2 reviews from this member

We spent a short weekend at fell view and were really surprised at the quality of the site for 12 a night inc electric

The toilets were very clean and showers practical and plenty warm enough

The ground was a bit soft hardly surprising after the summer of 2012 but it held up quite well after some heavy showers in the night

We had dinner at the fleece pub which was the closest the food was quite good but it was hardly child friendly the numerous pubs in garstand [not far away] are probably a better choice if your taking the kids

Overall a very nice site with good level pitches and a very relaxed atmosphere in a real nice part of the country

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Clara m 6 reviews from this member

Fell View is a great friendly site. Its in an absolutely stunning location, with outstanding views from every angle. Its toilet block is very clean and functionable and there is hot water at all times. I had a shower at 11. 15 one night once we had the 3 kids settled and it was lovely and hot.

It had a great little feature of having a kitchen with a fridge and freezer which when your in a tent is very useful. So we could buy small amounts of supplies and keep them fresh. The kitchen wash facilities were also good and they have a laundry as well.

There is a fishing lake on the site which seemed to attract a lot of men on the site. There are lots of animals round and about on walks that keep the kids entertained.

Garstang is the nearest bigish shopping area, it has supermarkets, chemists, kids shops, peacocks etc. Scorton village is very pretty and has a few small shops well worth having a look round, also a pub too !

We had a 6, 3 and 2 year old with us and the site was very safe and secure. Everyone on the site was very tolerant of the children and enjoyed them being there. All in all a great site, location and weekend spent there. Plus at only 12 per night a real bargain !

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lizaboo 1 review from this member

We had a wonderful weekend at Fell View when we visited with friends at the end of May. We are a couple with grown up children and our friends have 2 children, 1 teenager and 1 little boy. Their daughter brought her friend with her.

You couldn't wish for more beautiful scenery in this spacious site and it's a pleasure to wake to the views of surrounding fells and mature trees. The lake is in the next field to the campsite and a magnet for aspiring fishermen and women.

The site has recently undergone development so there is a lot of new planting but it's easy to imagine how this will really enhance the site in a short time. There seems to be plenty of hard standing and lots of electric hook ups.

The new shower block is very impressive and environmentally friendly, with solar panels providing power. The shower units within the ladies section are self contained with shower, toilet and sink in one place, meaning you're not carrying your towels and toiletries from one place to another. Showers are powerful with plenty of hot water and I love the fact the toilet paper/paper towels etc are regularly topped up. The unit is kept clean and tidy.

There's also plenty of washing up sinks and the kitchen room is a real bonus, especially if you're cycling, backpacking or generally travelling light as it provides facilities and a dining table.

The campsite is spacious and there was plenty of room for children to play. It's also a working farm so they saw lambs, baby goats, ducklings, cows and a goose was sitting on eggs on the island in the middle of the lake. The teenagers found things to do and current technology means they were always connected to their other friends.

There are some wonderful walks in the vicinity. A circular walk to Scorton village is very scenic and about 4 miles in total, with a choice of pub, cafe or restaurant in the village as a stop off on the way round. There are also other walks including the splendour of nicky nook valley or head for the top of Harris End and look out over Morecambe Bay to see the Isle of Man.

There are 2 other pubs within 2-3 miles of the campsite which also serve delicious food, the Fleece at Dolphinholme and the New Holly at Forton. Both are worth a visit as are the Barn and Priory in Scorton village.

The campsite is 45 minutes from where we live and it's wonderful to take such a short drive and be in some of the most beautiful english countryside.

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: BlackpoolJewell 3 reviews from this member

We booked this last minute in March as it is only down the road from us - but far enough to feel like you've been away!

The owners were lovely and friendly and explained that they were having work done so there would be limited choice of pitches.

We pitched in the area on your left as you drive in (as the other area was in the process of being developed) and it was lovely. We did nearly get a flat battery but that was nothing to do with the site!

It did get particularly dark at night due it being away from any main roads so don't forget your torch.

The toilet facilities were fab - makes such a change for a site owner to think about what the visitors really want / need.

One very small gripe from our daughter (who does all the washing up) is that the security light does not stay on long enough.

We will definitely return next time we want to go away without the travelling!

Previous     59 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 59     Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Preston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4976 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019