Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Minnows Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Tiverton > Minnows Caravan Park Reviews

Minnows Caravan Park
Sampford Peverell
Tiverton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX16 7EN
Tel: 01884 821770
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 45 - all hardstanding
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 56 Reviews
                9/10 from 56 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  56 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Elddis Xplorer 5 reviews from this member

 Was keen to try out this site as a convenient stop-off point travelling to North Devon/Cornwall. Unfortunately we found the site did not live up to our expectations.

Starting with the positives, the site is very easy to access from the A361 North Devon Link Road and the M5 Junction 27. The wardens were welcoming and helpful, and as the site is affiliated to the Caravan Club, it is as spick and span as you would expect.

So why the sad face? Well, as others have commented, as we were using the site for a one night stopover, we were offered a pitch at the furthest end of the site which has all the charm of a motorway service station and is just as noisy with traffic shooting past on the adjacent A361. On a sweltering hot day, there was no shade and little grass to speak of adjacent to our pitch, to sit and relax.

In an attempt to cool down, we tried the showers. Why oh why do sites have these fixed temperature showers with no controls? On a bitter autumn morning, the hot shower would be a joy, alas on a scorching Sunday in July it just provoked irritation. Can't we caravanners be trusted to regulate the temperature for ourselves?

Which leads to another issue. Why no toilets or showers in our distant field? Ah. But there was a thoughtful vegetable preparation area, which surely would be put to much better use as the above. What is the Caravan Club obsession with vegetable preparation areas? Do members request them? Do modern caravanners not have the means to wash vegetables in their own vans should they get the urge? Without being indelicate, I'm sure we're not alone in not wanting to set up the full toilet facilities in the van for a less than 24 hour stay. Alas, the nearest block was a robust stroll near the site entrance two fields away.

Off site, the neighbouring village of Sampford Peverell is a short stroll along the pleasant canal which borders the site on the other side (alas you can't see it behind the high hedges but there is an entrance from the site. ). We had a pleasant enough meal at The Globe pub, and found the older part of the village to be charming, with lovely views.

For those staying for longer, better pitches are available, so do not be wholly put-off as the site is convenient for Exmoor and the towns of mid-Devon. But would we return? Probably not. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Runaway 6 reviews from this member

 A really great friendly site. Only small but well laid out hard stand pitches. The toilet and shower block was exceptionally clean and the staff most welcoming. There is a walk along the canal at the rear of the property which will take you into Sampford Peverall. A small town with two pubs and a general store. That sells everything. Would certainly recommend and stay again. Some previous reviews have mentioned the noise factor, however we did not encounter any problems in relation to this. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Briary 14 reviews from this member

 Great stopover for us on way down from Scotland to Plymouth to catch ferry to Santander. Only an hour and a quarter to Plymouth next day and just off main motorway. Friendly greeting from wardens and in suitable one night pitch next to reception. Had a lovely walk along part of the canal in the morning. No one mentioned ordering a newspaper the night before, but we were able to buy bread and milk at reception next day. We didn't have children but we would have to point out that if we had then would advise extreme caution as canal looked deep and unsafe once outside the gate. Toilet and shower facilities excellent. We look to returning perhaps for longer next time. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Emma1 5 reviews from this member

 This is our third holiday here and the standards don't slip. Happy staff, great with the kids and always clean loo block. Yes there is road noise but the site and canal out way the noise. We canoe and cycle along the canal as its perfect. We pitched next to the play area where you cant go wrong huge pitches and fab play area. Chip van on Saturday. Next year we will return. As we have no complaints. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paul-Hancock21 2 reviews from this member

 First visit to this site for a weekend break. Made very welcome and given a spot in the new area which appeared to be used by people staying 1-2 night stopovers (but it was a weekend). This area had hardstanding's with children's play area in the centre and washing up / toilet disposal point as well as water points etc.

There are two other areas on the site between the entrance and the pitch we stayed on which are also well appointed. Note that the shower / toilet block is near the entrance area so a few minutes walk from the part we stayed on.

The Tiverton canal runs right past the site and we went on a horse drawn barge which was well worth doing. From the campsite you can walk there along the towpath (about 2. 5 hours easy pace) or drive into Tiverton (about 7. 5 miles). Had a lovely day there, if going go early and you could also visit the town which is about a 15 min walk down the hill.

What can we say, the staff were wonderful, the site clean, newspapers can be ordered - the only negative is the new area we stayed in is close to the A361 and traffic noise was high even overnight. If staying longer I would select a pitch on the other two areas where there was significantly less road noise. We were given the option to move after the first night, but as we only stayed the weekend decided to stay where we were.

However, we will definitely go again as we would like to finish walking the towpath and explore the area! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mike+julie51 4 reviews from this member

 We arrived on a very wet day, booked in and drove to our pitch. The first thing that hit us was the volume of traffic noise. This was because the site is very near to the A361 dual carriageway which links junc. 27 of the M5 to tiverton. This noise was relentless from early morning to late evening, a continuous roar which prevented any chance of sitting outside(even if it was a dry day).

In the CC sites directory on page 116 under other information it says, and I quote: due to its convenient location, some road noise may be experienced. This is misleading and we were not the only ones to comment on this. Fortunately we had only booked in for 2 nights and we will not be visiting this site again. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Phil1946 4 reviews from this member

 Found this site in the CC handbook as we often use their sites as they are good value when you take the inclusive price. We have 3 dogs and a cheaper site charging 1 or more per dog per night soon gets expensive.

The Minnows is not owned by CC but affiliated to them. We received a very warm welcome from the staff when we arrived for 4 nights over the Easter Bank Holiday.

The traffic noise did not bother us and did not seem as bad as others had stated - perhaps subjective according to where you live. The canal was a lovely place to walk the dogs and cycle or walk to the village for meals or shopping.

An occasional fault on the free WiFi was sorted as soon as we made staff aware of it.

The facilities are all kept clean and hot water is plentiful. Access for any unit is good, there is an RV black water empty point that is easy to get to and they have at least 3 pitches that would take the largest legal RV.

We were so happy we stayed 2 extra nights! 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kernow girl 9 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a weekend with friends, a very warm welcome from lovely staff, even though it was raining hard.

Asked to move the next morning as both our pitches were dark and shaded by the trees but this was not a problem with the staff at all so we moved to the meadow which was lovely.

You can here the road noise, most of the time, you just have to ignore it.

We had 4 dogs between us so having the canal just through the gate was perfect, with a lovely walks either way.

Sampford is a gentle stroll from the site with 2 pubs, the globe has a lovely undercover sitting area, perfect if you have dogs!

Busy site with traffic coming and going, people use it as a stop over on route to the Cornwall I think, and who can blame them.

We will go back again for sure, really loved it and the people who run it, you wont be disappointed. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Awasp 5 reviews from this member

 This is not a motorhome friendly site, the staff are rude and unhelpful. Motorhomes are not allowed to use the water points near the pitches-that's just for caravans and the one and only mv service point may not be convenient to your pitch. Pitches 28-31 must back onto septic tanks hidden by a hedge but the smell is very bad, however you couldn't sit outside for very long because the road noise is horrendous and constant-even in the early hours. Not an enjoyable experience. Didn't use facilities left early having paid for 2 days. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: JaneH 63 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 3 nights on our travels around Devon. Having read previous reviews I was aware of the traffic noise but it was still annoying as it is pretty constant however.It is a nice well maintained site next to a pretty canal.

Facilities were all clean etc and fish and chip van visits on Saturday nights - recommended.

Sampford Peverell is a quiet village with 2 pubs, Spar shop, GP surgery and village hall. If you walk up past the Globe pub and over the canal bridge it takes you to the church and some quiet back lanes with lovely cottages. We did 2 local circular walks - leaflets 25p from reception. On the walk to Halperton we saw a Red Kite alongside the canal.

We would use it again but only for a 1 night stopover due to it's easy access to M5. 


Previous     56 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Minnows Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Minnows Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Minnows Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Tiverton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1368 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement