Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Minnows Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Tiverton > Minnows Caravan Park Reviews

Minnows Caravan Park
Sampford Peverell
Tiverton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX16 7EN
Tel: 01884 821770
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 45 - all hardstanding
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 56 Reviews
                9/10 from 56 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  56 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: T5tripper 7 reviews from this member

 Lovely friendly welcome from this well kept site, facilities clean and fresh with plenty of hot water. Good amount of hard standing and electric. Dog friendly and with the canal literally being through a gate it was easy to walk the hound.

You can walk to nearby Sampford Peverill, via the canal to enjoy the food and drink of two pubs. We ate in the Globe, food ok but we were not adventurous with our choices, could have done with being a little cleaner (the pub) but they were advertising for cleaning staff.

We didn't venture any further as we were only staying one night, however there appears to be plenty to do in the local area.

Fabulous walk along the canal to Tiverton which is about 7.5 miles and the bus comes back every hour (not sure about Sundays). It's all flat walking and we did this in about 2 hours at a leisurely pace.

The only downside to this site is the traffic noise from the motorway, the day we stayed it was particularly noisy, however when I mentioned this to the site owner he said it was very much dependant on weather conditions and direction of wind. In the site's defence we live in a very quiet hamlet so we would notice any noise more than most people.

Other than that I would really rate this site - their attention to detail and determination to ensure you have a good stay really stands out. (My 7 out of 10 is for location is purely because we experienced noise - it is actually situated in a lovely area) Can't comment on the children bit as we don't have any. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Hevm8 3 reviews from this member

 This was the third time we have visited this site as we have enjoyed it in the past and was a fairly quiet park before. Since our last visit it has now been extended into the third field which overall is a very nice field, however, unfortunately, sits right next to the dual carriageway and therefore it is extremely noisy and makes it impossible to sit outside for any length of time!But there is a nice playground area for the kids in the third field, and they probably wont notice the road noise whilst they are playing!

The facilities are one block of toilets/showers which are lovely but a very long way away from the furthest field so not very accessible for the elderly or disabled or anyone who has young children etc. As it is a very long walk!

There are good pubs in the area and beautiful walks along the canal with a slipway close by for your boats/ kayaks etc.

We would recommend trying to get a pitch in the first two original areas of the park rather than in the third newer area if staying for any length of time so you can enjoy the area without being sent crazy by the road noise. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Scubakeefy 7 reviews from this member

 We arrived after four days at a lovely site in South Devon and was initially pleased with the site and the very friendly staff. It was someone's birthday as we arrived (sorry mate, forgot your name) and so had a glass of Asti and choccy lol.

The facilities were extremely clean, warm and top quality and are obviously well maintained. The showers are the push button for a minutes use type but they were just right in temperature and a pleasure at the end of the day.

We were shown our plot, just opposite the reception but elected to look at the paddock as we prefer to be away from 'the hub' if poss. We went to the paddock and realised that the term, 'ideally situated near to the M5 and A361' means practically on the hard shoulder! The road was very close by, noisy and constant and as the A361 is a main corridor for Devon and Cornwall, from rush hour onwards its always busy.

We did not pitch there and returned to our original plot which was quieter but you could still hear the road all the time. We were concerned for sleep issues but we thought we are here now lets see how it goes.

I admit, after a while and in the evenings and night time, the road noise lowers and traffic gets less and we really didn't notice but were 'aware' of it until at least midnight.

We went there to cycle the local network number three and the canal path to Tiverton is simply stunning. The views are gorgeous, the route easy and such a pleasure to ride and obviously well maintained and kept. The amount of nature seen, such as dragonflies, bees, birds, fish in the canal was brilliant so if you have kids and aren't from the kind of house who sees ketchup as one of your 5 a day, you'll love to take the kids riding this route.

You can also stop off at The Globe Pub in Slapton which provides and excellent stop off on way back from Tivvy. I recommend Otter Head if you are a beer drinker, its delicious and ideal after a few miles in the saddle. The food is top quality too and is walking distance from the site too.

Be warned however, if you follow the cycling route away from the canal, it involves roads but mainly the hills are considerably more challenging than shown on the local cycle maps! Looking at the maps symbols, you would think, 'ah, a bit of a slope there' when the reality is 14% inclines and really hard work. Local villages, pubs etc are all worth it but if you stay on the towpath both directions from the site and you'll find easy, beautiful riding.

Overall, a lovely site with flat, hard standing pitches mostly in a great location for the canal and the area but much, much closer to the roads than they would make you think in their site and leaflets.

Great for kids, adults and the grandparents alike but not the site for multi kid units and the only tenting area is the paddock area, which is very close to the road meaning the noise would affect you more as you don't have vehicle walls to muffle some of it.

Go, enjoy, but bring ear plugs and don't bring too many kids. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Miffy 100 5 reviews from this member

 We only stayed overnight at this site but we thought this was a lovely site, very clean and tidy and lovely people on reception.

Shop has a few products in and as said before there is the recycling section of the site.

The shower blocks were immaculate, we were definitely impressed.

The pitches were a good size and even the other people staying there seemed friendly and chatty.

There is a little noise from the road but that sort of things doesnt bother us, we don't tend to hear much and it is so convenient from the M5.

As mentioned below the walk along the canal to Stamford P is lovely and we also went to the Globe pub and had a drink and there are lots for the kids to do there.

Yes full marks for this and we would definitely return 


Date of Visit: March 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 169 reviews from this member

 Where do I start?! What a great site. Lovely welcome on arrival. Small site with mainly hardstanding pitches. You get to choose you're own pitch too - which was nice. We were lucky enough to choose a very warm Spring weekend in March and the site was packed.
Spotless toilet/shower block. Small but perfectly formed. Only 3 toilets, 2 private sinks with hairdryers fitted in each cubicle, 3 other sinks, and 3 showers in female section but it coped brilliantly - I never had to queue once! Owners / wardens were in them constantly making sure everything was up to the highest standard. Inside washing up area with 3 sinks, with bowl, draining racks and cleaning sponges. Also liquid soap for your own use after washing up - nice touch! Recycle bins also available.
Daily papers can be ordered (5p delivery charge) and the shop had a small selection of essentials. There is a private campers gate / access directly onto the Great Western Canal towpath. A 15 min stroll takes you to the lovely village of Sampford Peverell with its village shop and pubs. We used the Globe Inn and it was brilliant. Good food, not overpriced, great service and they allow dogs in the public bar (even provided ours with a bowl of water on arrival!).
The walk to Tiverton along the towpath is fantastic, especially when the sun shines. It's 8 or so miles but wonderful. Tiverton itself isn't much to speak of but we didn't hang around there too long! Caught the bus back to Sampford Peverell (1.80 single adult and 50p for pooch!).
A perfect site for us. Yes, there was some road noise from the M5 but after a days walking and then a few pints in the Globe I can assure you you don't hear much once you get your head down! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rokki 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed here as a one night stop over on our way to cornwall - it was really easy to get to, and we had a lovely pitch in the meadow

Good value for money, the facilities were spotless, lovely little site, owner/manager very helpful and we had a key to use the baby changing facility which was also spotless, it had a bath in it so we could give our baby a lovely bath in a warm room

The only downside (and for us it was the only one) is the road noise, it didn't keep us awake though and otherwise its a really quiet peaceful site 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tipsy620tony 23 reviews from this member

 This site is easily reached off the M5 within minutes. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The toilet / showers were very clean and well maintained. A quiet peaceful site next to the canal.
The village, pubs, and shops are a 10/15 minute walk away along the canal towpath. We spent 3 nights there on our way south. I will definitely visit this site again. Sorry, I could not criticise anything. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Execalibre 8 reviews from this member

 We used the site as a base when we took our dragonboat on the adjacent canal.

Facilities were very clean (better than my home!) and the site staff were very helpful.

There are hardstanding pitches which seem to always be booked by people using the site as a stopover, and the meadow which has families, groups and tents on it. Despite being next to the dual carriageway, the noise is not loud enough to disturb a light sleeper. Pub is a 15 minute walk along the canal with good ales. You can get boat permits from the site office too.

In summary, an excellent base for a family break or watersports group. 


Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Roger10 14 reviews from this member

 Caravan Club site therefore very good, excellent toilets/showers ( they use recycled water from the showers to flush the toilets )and when we went it was quiet and restful.

There is a gate that leads direcly onto the canal towpath which is well worth exploring lovely contrast between the busy roads and watching the wildlife and canal boats go by.

The site as others have said is near a dual carriageway (a short walk to the bridge over it if you want to watch the traffic) but we did not find the noise intrusive, in fact it is a rather restful sound.

There is a farm shop and a small but very good garden centre and several pubs all within easy walking distance. Treating this as a stopover site does not really do it justice it is a destination in its own right, well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Avante505 5 reviews from this member

 Great site with very friendly and helpful wardens. We used this site as an overnight stop on the way down to Cornwall. As other people have said it is ideally located for such purpose. I will definitely use this site again and probably stop two nights. The canal walk is the perfect antidote after more than four hours of driving. 


Previous     56 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Minnows Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Minnows Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Minnows Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Tiverton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1017 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement