Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sea Barn Farm Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Fleet > Sea Barn Farm Camping Park > Reviews

Sea Barn Farm Camping Park
Fleet Road
Fleet
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT3 4ED
Tel: 01305 782218
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 15/03/2024 to 01/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 131 Reviews
                8/10 from 131 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  131 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Beagle lover 1 review from this member

 I arrived after a 3 hour drive to a friendly welcome, booking in was easy, it wasn't a problem not knowing how long I would stay. I was given a sheet with rules and regs, not exhaustive but sensible and sadly some need them! The site shop is well stocked with a variety of goods from food, camping essentials such as gas stoves, canisters, BBQ, torches, pans etc.

The showers, toilets, washing up area are all fairly new and very clean. There's a launderette too, I didn't use it but it looked very functional with iron and board for you to use.

There are two areas for this site, I turned left off the road leading to it, if you turn right there is a heated swimming pool and clubhouse. Personally as it was just me and my dog I preferred the one without pool as it seemed to have less children. You are free to wander between the two sites and use the facilities if you wish. The one I was at had a good play area for children and I saw many walking the short walk to use the pool at the other bit.

The pitches are a good six metres apart with no problem parking your vehicle next to pitch.

The main reason for my stay was to go walking, I was amazed at how many places you could walk to from there. As a dog owner, I have to be aware of livestock etc (dogs must be on a lead not exceeding 2 metres at all times on site, ) they do train racehorses in the fields adjacent to the site, however I did not encounter any. It's an easy walk down to the coastal path, you can go on to Weymouth from there. You can also go the other way, but I'm not sure how far or where it goes. Please be aware that it is quite a steep walk back up if you're not used to walking!

I would happily recommend this site to anyone and I will return myself soon.

The only negative I can say is that whilst in the shop a few customers including myself had to wait a while whilst the staff member dealt with what seemed to be a personal matter chatted on the phone! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Frazzle- 6 reviews from this member

 Really lovely site just for tents (and campervans). No statics, caravans, clubouse or entertainment.

When we arrived in thick fog and cold temperatures our greeting at the reception/shop was similar to the weather - a SMILE would have been nice! We drove round and chose our pitch (any as long as not with an electric post) and the 6m away from any other tents. We were happy with our sloping pitch as we had a corner and were a 2 minute walk away from the VERY new and spotless wash block. The weather cleared when we were pitching and we had a great view of 'The Fleet' - Chesil Beach.

It is one of a set of sites in the area. One of the other sites is at the end of the long drive. You may use their facilities which include clubhouse, outdoor pool and playpark. We tried the out door heated pool and it was freezing (the 1 1/2 year old would not go in) and I managed 2 minutes. Their play park was basic - just how our 3 like it. This other site was really bustling and with tents really close (felt more like a festival) and we were so glad that we had chosen the quieter site.

The site had 2 washblocks - an older one we did not visit and the new one opposite the shop/reception. This one had 2 family bathrooms with a huge bath put my 3 in (and there plenty of space for me too - but prefer a shower) - which were reserved for families until about 6. 30 then open to anyone. There was a laundry room (didn't look at this) and 2 sections - male and female. Female 5 washbasins in cubicles with locking doors, 1 handwashing basin with soap (after you have been to the toilet), 4 or 5 toilets, 4 huge showers with adjustable temperature and motion sensors - you had to wave at it about an inch away (or touch it). The toilet cubicles had a wet area and then divided into a dry clothes area with hooks and a seat (which when down to sit on or with clothes on meant that the children could not open the cubicle door and get out of or expose me wearing just water!) I often took 1 1/2, 5 and 7 year old in the shower with me, all 3, and plenty of space for all clothes and us all to get clean and dressed. Had a socket beside the mirror for hair straighteners, hairdryers etc. They had their own (useless) hairdryer which was free too. While there several times other people offered me their dryer to borrow to do mine and children's hair -so kind.

On the outside of the washblock was 5 covered washing up sinks. There was a play area - children enjoyed it.

Trips -

Weymouth beach - has 'fair rides' at back of the sandy beach; Abbotsbury Swannery - lots of swans but the swannery ticket also is for an activity farm in Abbotsbury (and something else which I can't remember).

Abbotsbury Activity Farm - playpark, animals to stroke, pedal cars, indoor soft play, ride a pony (pay). Park at the Swannery for free parking and walk to the farm - 5-10 mins.

Weymouth town -park in residential streets (free) and then walk down to the town.

Crabbing - Weymouth harbour - can buy all that is needed nearby or in the town. (Did this 3 times it was more popular than the beach).

Sealife Centre - didn't go but expensive.

Shopping in Weymouth - Morrisons, Asda and I other are all huge shops with their own parking. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Philp7 7 reviews from this member

 We've just got back from a stay at Sea Barn and found it to be a very pleasant site.

Booking in was easy, they give you a map and details of how to find your ehu pitch which we did without any problem. It was a fair size although we had to park our car slightly away from our pitch.

The location was stunning. The walk from our tent to the nearest loo/shower block (the scenic route)will stay with me for a long time. Absolutely beautiful.

The site was very busy but the facilities coped. True, the old block is looking a bit tired but the new block is fantastic. The shop has a good range of camping & foods items.

It is true that I have come across friendlier staff but they are not as bad as some reviews suggest. Pleasant and polite.

Our grand daughter enjoyed the play area and the farm walk.

We used the Turks Head pub in nearby Chickerell and found it to be very good. Good ales, very good range of food fairly priced and an outdoors seating lawn with play area.

We were fortunate with the weather and would recommend SeaBarn without hesitation. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Richard9691 4 reviews from this member

 Stunning site with very good facilities. Over looking Chesil Beach and the Fleet. The New block is lovely bright and clean the old block was adequate for the early morning late night vist to the toilet otherwise it was worth the extra 1 minute walk. We had a hook up pitch in a sheltered part of the site. Weekends got busy but otherwise it didn't seem too overcrowded. We were here two weeks.

The only downside to this site is the reception staff as everyone has stated previously. They really need to go on a customer service course. They tend to grunt rather than acknowledge and don't smile unless talking to each other. They need to realise they are working in the tourism industry and as customers we are there to be serviced not looked down upon. The younger Lady seemed better but to be honest none of them would last 2 minutes working for me. However look beyond them and you will have a great stay. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Happicamp 2 reviews from this member

 We visited over the bank holiday for a week and were very pleased with the site. We have a large tent with awning so booked a large EHU pitch which was a good size, and was located by the old toilet block, and in a sheltered location by the trees. We were asked to pitch facing outwards from the trees/wall which was a bit of a shame as out tent is long and thin. I could understand for those campers that do not have reserved pitches as it allows more people to camp against something, but as we had an allocated pitch I would have preferred to pitch along the wall to make the most of the space.

The toilet and shower facilities were good. We used the old block which was generally very clean and tidy. There were a few issues with children being sent to use the facilities by themselves (which the site discourages and has notices up to reflect this) and they made a bit of a mess, but they were frequently cleaned. The showers were nice and hot - disappointingly they only lasted for 15 seconds and you had to keep re-pushing the button, which is a pain when you are trying to wash shampoo out of your hair! The taps on the sink were boiling hot though, and too hot to use.

Great surrounding areas to fly your kite and go for walks, and a 15 minute drive from Weymouth front. Perfect location!

The only disappointment about our stay was unfortunately some of the other campers! We did book over a bank holiday in the children's holidays so should have known better! There were a few (very loud) late night football and cricket games in the dark, and I've lost count of the amount of times cricket balls hit my tent and car (mainly from the children's father, not the children!), and a child actually slid themselves into our tent via the awning of our tent to retrieve a ball - with the assistance of her father (we were sat outside the tent, on the other side at the time, so it's not like they couldn't have asked!). The site rules state they have evening patrols, but I didn't see any of this. I promise I'm not a misery, I love the sound of children playing, and a very large family group dominating 4 or 5 pitches were near to us and their evening chatting and laughing was nice background noise, but unfortunately a select few parents spoilt it for everyone.

Other than that I will definitely be rebooking for next summer - but outside of the kids holidays when it will be a little quieter. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Stratos2012 1 review from this member

 Great Site! We were situated at the front with perfect sea view of Fleet. Pitch 365 minimal waling distance to toilets. Nice and peaceful maybe because its the week before summer holidays. Weekends very busy though campsite next door gives you use of pool and the bar. Breakfasts available on Saturday and Sundays only and other days at owners discretion. Toilet blocks very clean and a nicely stocked shop. Only negative point was customer service they don't tend to smile much? Weymouth and Portland Bill great to visit. Travel out to Lulworth Cove and tank museum 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Cazndino 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, it is quite large separated into different areas, divided by hedges and trees so it keeps that small site feel. There are two toilet/shower blocks, the one nearest to the reception is by far the best although the other one is perfectly adequate, but is a bit tired.

If you do not need and electric hook up there are some pitches with a fabulous view of the Fleet Lagoon and every evening lots of people gather at this end of the site to watch the sunset. The pitches with electric hook up are a generous size and clearly marked. The shop was remarkably well stocked as it was quite compact and the staff were friendly and helpful. There are some great walks from this site and the adjoining site has bar/restaurant and swimming pool which is free to use. Plenty of space to walk the dogs adjacent to the site. Would definitely go here again 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Charlie 1958 2 reviews from this member

 Well after reading some of the reviews we were not sure what to expect, but as soon as we arrived and booked in the lady in the shop was very helpful and very friendly, we were in the corner of one of the fields with a great view. Our first night and right through till 7pm next day it rained but even though we had clear view of the sea, our tent stayed put, we have been put through worse last year in different sites.

Each visit to the shop was greeted with a smile and a 'good morning'.

I used the old toilet block and found it all ok. My husband tried the new block and said that was very nice. They were cleaned at least twice a day and were very clean.

We had EHU and so pitches were all marked out and each one had nice big pitch, so much so we had large tent 7m x 5m and we also had 2 cars all on the one plot with no trouble.

It was a very well laid out site.

The road leading from the main road was good (if you take the right rd, which we did) from the mini roundabout.

We would use the site again when we go back down that way. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Akotan 1 review from this member

 May Bank Holiday 2013 Three Nights at Sea Barn

I'm not an experienced camper, two nights in the New Forest and one night in my sister's back garden being the sum total of my previous experience, but our three nights at Sea Barn Camping Park have certainly turned me into an enthusiastic camper! The views from the sight are gorgeous, (among the top ten in the country, apparently), and can be seen from various points to the left of the sight.

We chose the first field on the left after the entrance, as we wanted to be near the shower block, toilets and washing up facilities. My daughter (aged 11) picked the far end of the field which is more sheltered, although that meant we didn't have the view. My sister arrived later and picked the end of the field with the view of Chesil Beach and Portland, but we noticed that it was much windier there. There was also a play area at that end, bizarrely situated as it obstructed the view somewhat. However, my daughter and her cousins, along with many other children, enjoyed this facility.

Our field was somewhat sloping - plates and cups on the camping table had an irritating habit of slowly sliding towards the edge, but we still managed to have a comfortable pitch. My daughter pitched the tent herself, and I should have read the information sheet earlier, as she had to pull all the pegs out and turn the ground sheet round when I discovered that the rule was 'short side to the edge'. At least I noticed this before she put the tent itself up!

There were more level pitches elsewhere on the site, but we were happy with our choice. The nearby shower block was always warm and clean, with free showers with unlimited and always hot water. A short queue did build up at peak times, but always moved quickly. I avoided this by showering early. There were private cubicles with sinks, family bathrooms, (with baths), and a free hairdryer. There were also laundry rooms, but I did not investigate these. There were never any queues at the washing up sinks, which also had plentiful hot water. None of the water in this area was for drinking, but there were plenty of drinking water taps around the site, along with useful fire extinguishers and sand buckets, as well as safe areas for barbecues.

The weather was sunny throughout our stay, which was a delight; I noticed in the evening that the breeze off the sea made it quite blustery as we ate outside my sister's tent. In between visiting some of the attractions that Dorset offers, (Abbotsbury Subtropical Gardens a highlight), we enjoyed the facilities at the neighbouring site, West Fleet Farm, which is an easy ten minute stroll away down a lane through lovely countryside. The Clubhouse offers a good menu, the Ale Pie special was excellent and the local ale (Piddle!) well worth trying. At the weekend there is entertainment provided which the children enjoyed. We also swam in the pool, which was warm, but had to change in the toilet as we could find no changing room. There are shops on both sites providing basic foodstuffs and useful camping items.

We should have left on the Monday night while the weather was good but instead had a horrendous drive back in torrential rain, but the memory of our sunny three night stay at Sea Barn Campsite will remain a warm and happy memory. 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dubdogs 147 reviews from this member

 Had a couple of night stay over Easter, which was very cold and windy! Luckily that meant the site was almost empty, so it was a very peaceful stay.

The shower block was cleaned daily throughout our stay and also nice and warm. The shop wasn't open, but given the number of campers that was understandable.

The site has good access to walks directly from the site and it's not too far to take a wander to the nearby pubs (1. 5 ish miles probably).

If you were staying at peak season you'd have to be lucky to get a pitch with a sea view as there were a limited number of these.

All in all, a nice site that we'll be back to visit in the quieter months. 


Previous     131 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Sea Barn Farm Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sea Barn Farm Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Sea Barn Farm Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Fleet      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


847 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement