Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sea Barn Farm Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Fleet > Sea Barn Farm Camping Park > Reviews

Sea Barn Farm Camping Park
Fleet Road
Fleet
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT3 4ED
Tel: 01305 782218
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 15/03/2024 to 01/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 131 Reviews
                8/10 from 131 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  131 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MGL262 9 reviews from this member

 I have been to this site at least once every year since 2000. I've recommended it to friends and family who also have returned time and time again.

It's quite a basic site but you can also use the facilities on the sister site on the other side of the road, swimming pool, club house etc. There is a small shop on both sites that stocks the essentials.

It's a good idea to pitch at the top end of the site as the toilets/showers have recently been replaced, at the other end the toilets/showers are in desperate need of replacing!

There is a lovely walk down to Chisel Beach only for residents that is worth doing.

I try and book a pitch with EHU as these pitches are a lot flatter than those without.

Weymouth sea front is 10 mins in the car, it's a good idea to use the park and ride near Morrisons though as parking is expensive.

We will def be back. See you in 2013 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bucksian 4 reviews from this member

 Fantastic location, great views. Small playground and basics in shop but site was twinned with another about 10 min walk away which had a large shop, outdoor pool and clubhouse which did reasonable meals and had entertainment.

The view over chesil beach really is spectacular, although it can get a very windy at times. (take a kite) There are walls and trees to act as windbreaks and I imagine in spring? autumn getting behind one of these would be a must.

Good showers and washing areas, and small laundrette, everywhere clean and tidy and friendly staff although they were a bit funny about charging mobile phones etc off the mains.

Had the basic pitch but would go for the electric hook up next time as these had the best locations. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Angelfish1 11 reviews from this member

 Lovely campsite. The photos are a bit deceptive. We thought we would get sea views but only a few pitches that provide this. Nice shop (the lady was friendly!) Modern shower block the bees knees, but the old one could do with being replaced. Both kept very clean. Short walk to sister campsite with pool. Only did that once. Pool way to packed to be enjoyed! If we went back to the area we would go to that site again, but lots more areas to explore first! 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Team Eagles 13 reviews from this member

 We had been recommended by friends to stay at Sea Barn. On driving onto the site the views are amazing. We checked in only to find the ladies not that friendly and did not really know about walking the coastal path and could not really give us any ideas on what to do within the local area (The sister campsite 5 mins walk away, the staff were very different and a young lad told us all we needed to know about the coastal paths)

It was a very windy weekend so we opted for a more sheltered area behind the new shower block. Lovely views over fields. We had plenty of room but guess in high season would be very busy.

The shower block is modern and clean, just a shame the other one further into the campsite is not the same, that is very old and the showers were busy as I guess most people use the modern one and I can not blame them.

The sister campsite is open to use, they have an outdoor pool and each time we walked over there people were using it. The new club house is lovely and they have an adults only drinking area. They offer meals and some of the meat is from Sea Barn farm well worth trying, especially the sausages with breakfast.

Would certainly be going back probably out of season to avoid too many people. Just for the views it is worth it, be prepared for a windy stay as its right on the coast.

Weymouth by road is a few miles away and a lovely place to visit, the new tower gives great views. We went up on the 8th day after opening. If going you need to get your tickets from the Tourist Board as they are over £2 cheaper than at the tower itself.

The Tourist Board is about 50 yards on the right as you walk to the tower. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Candm 1 review from this member

 We arrived with trepidation following the other reviews about rude staff and strict enforcement of site rules.

We needn't have worried our encounters with the staff were perfectly pleasant and not once did the infamous patrols come round threatening to throw anyone out!

We had an EHU near the new toilet/shower block behind a row of trees so the view was obscured but we were sheltered from the breeze. The toilet/showers are first class and our stay was thoroughly enjoyable.

This is a great site so don't believe everything you read and give it a go. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lolmac3 1 review from this member

 I went with my daughter, and 12 year old grandson for 3 days over the Jubilee weekend. It was our first camping trip. I found the Reception very helpful, they even squeezed us in for an extra night!

My Grandson loved the adventure playground and outside pool. The site was quiet with plenty of room for the tent and car even though they were fully booked.

We had 4 tents opposite which were all one family so we thought there might be a noise issue, but come 11pm all went quiet as per regulations.

The toilet block and showers were fine and we never had to queue. They had a club house on site but we never heard any noise from it.

All in all, a great weekend 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CGW_Sussex 5 reviews from this member

 Just returned from our first visit to the site. We were excited at being on the Jurassic Coast and getting the chance to see Chesil beach.

It was the Jubilee weekend and expected it was going to be busy. We were checked in quickly and found a great central pitch. The 20 feet from another tent was certainly stretched, however, we found the campsite still spacious as a whole.

The toilets and showers were spotless despite how busy the campsite and found the little shop useful and sufficiently stocked and staff helpful.

We went to Sealife Park and Tank Museum in the local area, as well strolling down to the beach. There is still much more to see and are already planning our next visit. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mrscmb 52 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from an eight night stay at Seabarn Campsite and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The site is one of three sister sites and is the quietest of the three. This is probably because the only facility (apart from toilets / showers / laundry / washup) is a small children’s playground which has a minimal amount of apparatus. However both other sites are within walking distance and have food & drink facilities, West Fleet also has an outdoor swimming pool.

We were given a level sheltered pitch (with EHU) as requested, which was a decent size. As previous reviewers have pointed out there is an old shower/toilet block and a new one built in 2008. They are both kept very clean and although I used the toilets and washbasins in the old block, I declined to try the showers as there were no shelves for my specs or toiletries – just a couple of hooks. The showers in the new block are much better designed. The water was always hot although the showers aren’t that powerful. There are two private family bathrooms which are not unlocked until 8. 15am which I felt was a bit late for people with children.

Whilst on the subject of toilets and showers I noticed that as soon as the bank holiday weekend started and crowds of people arrived, the toilet/shower blocks soon suffered. Toilet paper was strewn everywhere, people didn’t seem to bother wiping their feet on the large mat just inside the door and the mops weren’t always used to clean the showers after use. It made me realise what a mammoth task it must be for the owners to keep the facilities clean.

Some reviewers moan about the rules of the campsite – if you don’t like them, don’t stay at the site. Most of us appreciate a “no noise after 11pm rule”. I think there are a lot of people – possibly new campers that don’t seem to realise just how far their voices carry at night.

There are wonderful views from the campsite but if you pitch your tent looking towards Chesil Beach/Fleet Lagoon, you do risk a lot of wind – depending on the weather, of course.

I would definitely like to return to this campsite. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Orenerr 2 reviews from this member

 We have been going here for the past ten years and have to say I doubt we will again. The prices have gone through the roof. Nice site and nice views. Lovely walking down the fleet and fairly quiet at night.

Sister site is which has the pool is generally more packed.

Well worth taking a look at the church along the the road and learn how the fleet was flooded.

Not to far from weymouth and westbay area so get the best of both by staying here. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hoggle1066 2 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to this site. On arrival the shop was closed, so going by the notice on the door we pitched (EHU) and then registered once the shop opened. Here is when the fun began. I had telephoned the booking through and paid the £60 deposit. On registering at the shop I was informed they had no knowledge of us. The person I had spoken to had booked us into the wrong site. The female in the shop did not offer to transfer our booking until I specifically asked for that to be done. Once I asked then things got a bit smoother. The lady in the shop is obviously not a smiler but the gentleman is very pleasant and helpful.

There were only two on the EHU on arrival and the site was very peaceful. As with previous reviews fields were roped off and there were limited areas to pitch. What was interesting were the patrols. On our final two nights we observed rope being removed by the campers as they wanted that pitch and a campfire (banned) in the pitch behind us.

The location and views are outstanding, and the site was exceptionally clean including the toilets and shower blocks. The new block is outstanding but the old block by the EHU are clean and adequate for a shower.

One point is beware of the speeding locals in the lanes leading to the campsites, their average speed seems to be 60mph!

The shop is well stocked but I found slightly expensive.

Would I return, probably at a push. 


Previous     131 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Sea Barn Farm Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sea Barn Farm Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Sea Barn Farm Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Fleet      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2634 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement