Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sea Barn Farm Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Fleet > Sea Barn Farm Camping Park > Reviews

Sea Barn Farm Camping Park
Fleet Road
Fleet
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT3 4ED
Tel: 01305 782218
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 15/03/2024 to 01/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 131 Reviews
                8/10 from 131 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  131 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jamesdd 1 review from this member

 Just got back from this campsite & what a great location, the views are amazing, we had a great weekend !

The campsite it's self is very well equipped, we used the EHU which worked perfectly, we were nearer the old toilet/shower block which was kepted very clean & tidy.

The only down side I would say was that the reception & shop were closed from 11am- 4pm, we arrived at 2pm so we had to wait till 4pm to book in as we wanted a pitch with EHU. When reception eventually opened we were told they didn't think they could fit us in even though we had counted about 6 empty pitches with EHU & 2 roped off fields !

She managed to fit us in close to the old toilet/shower block which was a great location for us.

I would totally agree with the other comments on here that the staff could be a little more helpful & as someone else said a smile costs nothing & goes along way ! 
Management response: Outside of the peak season the shop offers reduced hours of service and off-peak pitch prices reflect that. We always recommend that customers pre-book their pitches, especially those requiring electric hook-ups. Pitch availability can be affected by a number of factors including ground conditions and the need to rest and reseed pitches prior to the main season. Pitches and areas that are not suitable or available for use are roped off to keep vehicles out. This can result in reduced pitch availability in the early or late season.


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Roberts12 2 reviews from this member

 I have used many campsites thought the UK and Ireland over the years and I have had a great deal of fun and success with campsite friendly owner that are willing to help me. This is the first time I have every left a review, due to the nature of the visit (I hope they find this constructive).

Good points

1) This campsite has great views over the sea

2) Very clean (toilets etc)

3) quite

Ok points

1) little hard to find without a satnav

2) not much near the campsite - even though you could go a near by campsite and use there faculties (ie shop pool)- not as easy as it makes out on the website (i thought)

3) Price was middle of the road (about right)

Bad Points

1)The staff kept messing up my booking, so instead of a 2 min phone call to book, it took me four phone calls for them to get it right, as they kept messing it up ie dates and then payment. No Apology or reason why even when questioned and then they made out that it was all my fault.

2) the staff were very unwelcoming and very rude

In the years I have been camping this is the first time I have left a campsite vowing never to go back.  


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Icecubeinhell 2 reviews from this member

 I stayed here for 2 nights and really cant fault it.

I had a pitch with an EHU by the old toilet/shower block, the pitch is a really good size with what I can only describe as fantastic drainage, it rained all weekend and had been raining for the previous week or 2 yet the ground hadn't turned into a bog, I managed to drive over the grass to the pitch with no problems at all and there were no rivers of water running through the pitches.

As I was pitched by the old shower/toilet block that's the ones I used and I can not fault them at all they were clean (freshly painted) a good number of showers, toilets and urinals. The water was hot and didn't take an age to get to the shower head, if the new shower block is better then this then wow is all I can say really.

The site is easy enough to find and I was taken straight there by my sat nav, the roads to the site are all in good condition.

I made the booking over the phone and had no problems at all and the lady I spoke to was very friendly and dealt with everything very well although she did get a little confused with my use of the phonetic Alphabet but no worries, when I arrived at the site I was dealt with in a nice and friendly manner so again all good.

The view from this site is fantastic even in the rain and cloud, I know the area pretty well so even though didn't go for any walks this time know that there are loads of walks around the site and that the views and amazing.

Would I go back?, well that's just a big big yes.  


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Louiemac73 4 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to the site and we returned as we loved it the first time.

First visit it was gorgeous and this one, it tipped down nearly all week, but that didn't change our view of it.

We had an EHU this time and so were allocated a pitch backing onto tall trees. Lovely for some shelter, but not so good in mornings as we were in quite chilly shade.

Pitch had plenty of space and we had our 4 man, a 2 man and two cars on it at one point with no problem. The only reason this was allowed was because the site was not full as otherwise they would have been stricter as to be expected.

Shop was closed when we arrived but details on the door showed where we were to pitch and we got on with it and popped back to sort out admin later in the day.

Shop staff helpful, especially as my step-daughter was waiting for a parcel to be delivered and I had to keep going back to ask if the post had been.

Facilities always clean in both the new and old block. I even had a bath in the family bathroom one day; I am very fussy about baths and so this for me was awesome.

Easy to find the site and it is in a fabulous position with great views and fine countryside.

We would most definitely return again without hesitation. The only reason we didn't go this year was due to the Olympics and we knew it would be very busy! 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alexguineapig 5 reviews from this member

 We only spent one night here but will certainly return. Beautiful views and a very relaxed friendly atmosphere. The new showers and toilets are the best we have seen.

Its great that you can use the pool and other facilities at West Fleet next door because Sea Barn site is more spacious and remote. There is a very well stocked shop which seemed to be always open on the site plus another next door and a club house at the sister site.

The only down side was the very bumpy rough track to get to it and the signage was quite poor from the road. We struggled to find somewhere to eat out in April so we drove into Weymouth for dinner. The pitches with no electric aren't numbered so you have plenty of choice and space. The platground was very old but fun and safe with a super view over the Fleet Lagoon and Chesil Beach. Can't wait to go back in the warmer weather! 
Management response: The main route into Sea Barn is tarmac from start to finish (as is the route into West Fleet). It sounds like the reviewers may have been using the bridleway way from Bagwell Farm, a sat-nav error. The primary route into Sea Barn and West Fleet is via Fleet Road.

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chapar 9 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this campsite over the Easter weekend. We thought we'd be amongst the few given the early season and chilly weather however we were surprised to see many other tents there - and the field where we were pitched was almost full.

Check in was slow as several people were buying things in the shop so 1 person was dealing with this and another was dealing with arrivals. I can understand why previous reviews said the ladies were rude - & whilst they weren't rude to us they were not very welcoming. A smile is easy to give & goes a long way!

I will add though that when we met the manager she was very friendly & helpful.

We were pleased with our pitch, we had ehu, and it was a decent size & reasonably flat. It was a corner pitch with some views between the trees.

We liked the layout of the site, divided up into smaller 'fields', bordered with trees that were fenced off.

We were nearest the old toilet block which was spotlessly clean. The showers were adequate but the new block was amazing. Also kept very clean it was very busy. It seemed like the whole camp site used the new block with the old one just being used for loo visits & teeth cleaning. If you wanted a shower there was only one place to go it seemed! However be warned - I was checking out the new block after rave reviews from my hubby (and he's not easy to please when it comes to loos & showers) and the girls were complaining that the water was freezing. It was 11am on the Saturday & the hot water had run out though apparently it was fine at 8am. So maybe the moral here is get in quick if you want hot water in the new block!

We also had a lot of problems with the ehu in our field - in the evenings it kept going off which was very frustrating. The manager came down to check the problem and it seemed to be that some campers were using more than the 10amps causing the ehu to trip out. This was despite info sheets being given out explaining how may watts could be used for the ampage. This happened regularly throughout the weekend until most campers went home on the Monday. Then our ehu worked perfectly well with no problems at all. So it was probably other campers trying to use more than the system was designed for.

The site was quiet for the 1st 2 nights but then we had some noisy people move in next door so our last 2 nights were disturbed until they settled down. There was no obvious management of noise on site - everything seemed to be taken on trust that people would respect the rules and each other - sadly not always the case.

The play area was okay but far away from most tents and it took us a little while to find it. Son only visited t the once - but he is nearly 10 and has probably outgrown this type of play area.

Overall we liked this site, the location is fabulous and it had everything we look for in a camp site including a lovely walk which we recommend. And yes we will visit it again despite the niggles because of the location & views. 
Management response: We would like to add that the parks are patrolled regularly at night and that unnecessary noise after 11 pm is managed through a system of bonds. Any complaints about unnecessary disturbance at night are handled according to the parks' published policy on noise and behaviour.


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sibbo 1 review from this member

 Just spent a week at Sea Barn and had a fantastic time. The site was quiet, so we had plenty of pitches to choose from. We went for a sheltered pitch between the shower blocks - it didn't have the amazing view of some pitches, but we wanted to be out of the wind.

The new shower and toilet block is lovely - very clean, always stocked with loo roll and plenty of hot water for the showers. The older block was closing for the season while we were there, so we didn't use it.

The shop is small but well stocked with most things you might need during your stay, from tent pegs and gas canisters to baked beans and wine.

The site is a good base for days out in Dorset - we visited Weymouth, Portland, Dorchester, Cerne Abbas, Lyme Regis, Charmouth, Abottsbury, Lulworth Cove and Durdle Door, and we're already planning what to do on our next visit. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vespa1946 1 review from this member

 We spent two nights at sea barn camp site & I have nothing but praise for this site. Its on a nice quiet part of the coast with great sea views & only about 6 miles away from Weymouth.

The site itself was an American army camp in world war 2 & there are still some of the old buildings on site though not that many.

The facilities are very modern with under floor heating in the shower rooms & plenty of power points for shavers, there are also fitted hair dryers near some of the sinks.

The camp shop is small but well stocked & very well priced with nice friendly staff, the rest of the camp is very clean & tidy & with a no noise rule after 10. 30pm its a really nice site to be on. Will we be back ! you bet we will 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Marcusopp 39 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 4 nights over the bank holiday. Bookings essential, this place is very popular.

The views over chesil beach are spectacular with beautiful sunsets.

However, the west of the site is very exposed, so the trade-off for the views is a chilly wind, so wrap up warm!

There are two toilet blocks with ample facilities.

Freezer backs have to be hired (25p/day each + deposit) as there is no facility to re-freeze your own.

The shop has all the basics, and the shop at the partner site (west fleet) is larger with a broader selection.

The nearest big shops are in Weymouth (Aldi, Morrisons and Asda).

Mackerel fishing for 7 is great value, and lovely fresh fish are great on the barbie! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Suzie woo 1 review from this member

 We stayed at Sea Barn Farm over the Bank Holiday. We found it a pleasant, quiet site which suited our families needs (2 ad 2 ch 4&8).

We made use of the outdoor swimming pool on the neighbouring campsite and found it warm and clean. (This site was very busy and quite noisy with kids!)

There are 2 shower blocks, the old and the new - used both - obviously new ones much better but the old ones were adequate for a shower and for cleaning teeth & faces!

The main draw of this site is the spectacular views over Fleet Lagoon and the sunsets were marvellous (I'm sure sunrise was too but we were never up in time!)

We found the staff to be quite helpful and found if we talked to them in an upbeat manner, they responded well

We enjoyed the location - we will probably return - and found it an excellent base for visiting Weymouth & Portland 


Previous     131 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Sea Barn Farm Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sea Barn Farm Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Sea Barn Farm Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Fleet      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3111 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement