Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Long Hazel Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Yeovil > Long Hazel Park Reviews

Long Hazel Park
High Street
Sparkford
Yeovil
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA22 7JH
Tel: 01963 440002
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 57 Reviews
                9/10 from 57 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  57 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dave Deb 1 review from this member

 This was our second trip in our VW camper, we were made to feel very welcome by owners Alan and Pam, our dog loved it, my wife who is disabled found the facilities easy to use and both of us found the site extremely clean.

We found a nice walk for the dog through the country lanes which my wife managed on her mobility scooter. The local pub which is a stones through away does good food and beer at very reasonable prices, no holiday rip off here.

The pitches are very flat with hard standing and electric hook up. Locally there are loads of places to visit, the site itself is in a good central location.

Hopefully on our next visit the sun will shine a little more. We stayed four nights in total. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Linnylou 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here in April for a short break over East weekend. Lovely small site. Great for adults only. Some road noise which isn't too bad but there all the same. Could be annoying if you were trying to get peace and quiet. Really good dog walks just across the road from the campsite ideal for our two spaniels. Owners very helpful. All waste totally recyclable which is quite difficult to adhere to. Ended up taking some rubbish home with us. Facilities very clean. Could be a good stop off on the way down to Devon/Cornwall as easy to find just of A303 


Date of Visit: February 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mastervanman 1 review from this member

 This is a pretty little adult only site conveniently located just off the A303 in Sparkford, near Yeovil in Somerset so there is some road noise but it is reduced somewhat by the sites extensive planting. Pitches are hard standing for caravans and motorhomes, all with 16amp electric hook up, and a grass area for tents. Some of the hard standings can take the longest RVís but those over 30ft incur an extra charge. Iím pleased to say though the site has recently removed its charge for cars being towed by motorhomes. The hard standings are not wide enough to take an awning (which are charged for) which would need to be erected on the adjacent grass and I did think larger awnings might be a little too near to adjacent units.

The site is open all year and I stayed for two weekday nights in a very cold February. Some of the standpipes, although lagged, froze but water was available from the dishwashing room. The heated amenity bock, which also boasts an excellent disabled suite, was spotlessly clean although I was the only one using it for the first night. I was joined by another motorhome the second night. There isnít a dedicated motorhome service point.

The friendly and helpful site owner said they had four units over the previous weekend. This seems a shame because the site is licensed for up to 75 units (including tents) with 30 hard standings and there is plenty to see and do for a few days in winter. The Haynes International Motor Museum is just down the road and the Fleet Air Arm Museum is nearby and both are open in the winter. There are three RSPB reserves on the Somerset Levels about half an hour away and they will have more birds visiting during the winter. There are several National Trust properties in the area and although the houses donít open until March two have grounds and parkland that are open all year, ideal for lovely winter walk. Thereís a pub/restaurant almost next door although I did not use it so canít comment on it. The site is also a convenient stopover site if travelling to Cornwall.

Itís not the cheapest site but no way near the most expensive. Itís currently £21. 00 for a caravan/motorhome with two adults including electric hook up and there is no charge for the showers. This is reduced to £17. 00 for solo campers. It was pleasing to note these prices are the same throughout the year, no massive high season hike. But there is a £2. 00 charge for awnings and £1. 00 for dogs.

If we want sites all year round then they need customers and itís a shame Long Hazel is being under utilised during winter. You know the saying Ė use it or lose it!  


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dee+Phil 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed for the Bank Holiday weekend and we were very impressed indeed by the immaculately kept pitches and the cleanliness of the showers and toilet facilities, these are by far the best we have found at a campsite.

With regard to the issue of road noise from the nearby A303, some reviews have made this out to be an issue which was a concern when we booked. However, the extensive fencing and trees provide a more than adequate barrier to keep the noise generated to a minimum.

We will be returning and would definitely highly recommend this site to anyone looking for a quiet and very well located getaway. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mistrom 14 reviews from this member

 We visited this site as we found it conveniently situated to the A303.

The site is exceptionally clean. The grounds are immaculate and pretty. The toilet facilities are the cleanest I have seen anywhere. If it is relaxation you are after, this is the place.

When we arrived there was a classic car show in the grounds next door to the site. Haynes museum is close by as well. I will definitely be returning to see the classic car shows.

This site is easy to find and near to the A303. I certainly did not hear any traffic noise.

The surrounding area is attractive, well, you are in the West Country.

Well worth a visit. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jaydreamers 51 reviews from this member

 First visit here stayed for a week. Small adults only site very well maintained toilets/ showers were very clean and tidy although recycling was a bit OTT. Owner very friendly and chatty. Quite a bit of traffic noise from A303 but if you use this site as a base for touring and sight seeing it is not a problem as it quietens down in the evening. Nice dog friendly pub serving good food just a few minutes walk away. Provisions and newspapers available from local petrol station. Dog walk was outside the park and across the road. Haynes motor museum is a short drive away and well worth a visit. Would certainly recommend this site for a nice relaxing break and we hope to visit again soon. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sgr2211 2 reviews from this member

 Our very first camping trip was two nights in Long Hazel Park.

We had a very nice time. The site is very well kept. The facilities are spotless clean, water hot and grounds well looked after.

The surrounding area is perfect for walking. Bandit loved the Millennium Copse walk and we saw a deer just down the road from the campsite on the railway line.

The road is a little noisy and is busy all night but didn't spoil our stay. We were in a tent and you probably wouldn't be affected so much in a camper or caravan.

I had one minor niggle and its being a bit picky, the taps on the sinks shut off instantly when you take your hand off.

There are plenty of power sockets for your electric hook up.

Local shop is not up to much and its a bit pricey so take supplies.

All in all a very peaceful short break at a very nice place. We would use again and that says it all. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Spence370 1 review from this member

 Excellent site, extremely well looked after. The grounds and facilities are immaculate. The owners provide a first class facility. They are very friendly, helpful and welcoming.

There is a dog friendly pub within 5 minutes walk. There is a woodland walk within 15 minutes The gates to the ground are locked at 10:30pm with surveillance cameras for added security.

We will definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The Browns18 1 review from this member

 We recently had a few days again at this superb people size site. Without the help & kindness of the owners our few days could have been hell.

After we arrived Sunday we discovered a mega leak which needed a new tap being fitted which was done next day thanks to the owners arranging it.

Then the car broke down & after trying three garages the owner managed to find a garage who repaired the car next day at a price much less than had we been at home.

This is a really pretty site with immaculate lawns & pleasant tree planting. The facilities can't be faulted & the site is very easy to find being on the edge of the village.

There is a Post Office under 4 miles away & within walking distance of the site is a large garage & shop.

The village pub is also quite close. Over the years we have stayed many times & have always been made welcome.

Highly recommended for either a long or short stay. 


Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 618 reviews from this member

 A very tidy site - grass well cut, showers / toilets immaculate. Adult only site with 75 pitches, good access from main roads.

Just off the main road in the village, screened from road noise to some extent by houses (high hedges mean nearly all pitches have good privacy from houses). Hard standing on majority of pitches - plenty of room when we were there as only us and 1 other unit staying. Would say with caravans / awning the pitching would be somewhat close together.

Owner extremely friendly and helpful. Site is well placed for visiting Fleet Air Arm Museum (approx 10 mins away) and the Haynes Motor Museum - only a mile or so from site.

Overall a good site and can recommend - however would note its £20 per night all in - we paid £14 the previous night for facilities that were equal. 


Previous     57 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Long Hazel Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Long Hazel Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Long Hazel Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Yeovil      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3881 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement