Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us


Reviews of Long Hazel Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Yeovil > Long Hazel Park Reviews

Long Hazel Park
High Street
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA22 7JH
Tel: 01963 440002
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 57 Reviews
                9/10 from 57 Reviews

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  57 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: A ODonoghue 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent site which is beautifully maintained. Large hardstanding with plenty space between each pitch.

Toilet/shower block spotless with disabled facilities second to none.

Owners very helpful and took great care to ensure that our stay was enjoyable.  

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ragaraga53 2 reviews from this member

 Good little adult only site, owners very friendly and gave us a excellent personal pitch to suit our gathering, toilets and showers very clean and always free. Well light in the evenings - car entry gates are locked at 10pm however walkers gates open 24 hours, small shop and information area, good waste disposal.

A303 noise = hum through the night.

Sparkford itself is remote with 1 bus (every2hours)so a car would be advised, but pub 5 mins walk, and a 24 hour petrol station and Mcdonalds 10 mins walk in the other direction.

A must visit glastonbury and Street - Street has its own clarks outlet village.

Highly recommended site for a short holiday. 

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Walkers 2 1 review from this member

 A wonderfully clean, tidy site. Even saw a stray branch being tidied away. Good hardstandings with very easy access for large motorhomes.

The showers were piping hot and delightful and the washrooms immaculately clean.Very quiet at night. Only heard A303 traffic noise in the early morning.

A site that is very clearly loved and cared for by the owners. One of the best we have been to so far. Can recommend! 

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pita 2 reviews from this member

 The weather wasn't the best but we still had a great time at this campsite, the owners are very friendly and always available to help, the toilets and showers were always clean and free to use, the disabled toilet has been well thought out with grab rails,a raised toilet and walk in shower.
The price also includes electric hook up unlike other sites who charge extra. The village pub, which is very close to the camp, serves some excellent meal deals and the staff are welcoming. Being close to the A303 there is road noise but you soon get used to it as the site is so relaxing. 

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jenny17 5 reviews from this member

 Easy access from A303. Can hear drone of cars but didn't find it intrusive. Level pitches, all hardstandings for caravans with EHU. Very well maintained and looked after. Shower-block with free hot water, washing-up facilities, clothes washing and recycling all on site. Very friendly welcome.
Adults only - a haven for couples during school holiday times! Have visited site three times this year. Village pub within easy, level walking distance serving good, reasonably priced pub food. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Geraldmorgangto 1 review from this member

 Very well laid out camp site, nice level pitches with plenty of room. Stayed the weekend during the air show, site very busy but still quiet and peaceful. The owners Pam and Alan were very welcoming and very friendly. We only use adults only sites and we place this one in our top 5. Toilet and shower block immaculate. Only one comment is the shower has a fixed temperature which is too hot for my liking. Good recycling facilities. (Alan you need to fix the tap over the waste drain so that people can swill out their waste hogs)

The motor museum is well worth a visit, there is a good pub close by with good home cooked food and fine ales with reasonable prices (landlord can be a bit grouchy on times). Only thing missing from the local area is a cafe serving breakfast.

Weymouth and Bournemouth are within an hours drive and with the A303 close by, most places are within easy reach

I would recommend this site to anyone wishing to have a quiet tranquil stay 

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Trevor2110 9 reviews from this member

 Site with clean toilets and showers but boy is it expensive! By myself in a two man tent, one night was 16 and that's before the schools break up. Not as if there's a pool or bar. Couldn't keep the car by the tent which was a pain.

Went for a shower in the morning and the water was cold, not amused standing there in the buff shivering! Tried an hour later and it was hot.

Owner was friendly enough and he's a keen re-cycler. I wouldn't stay here again because of the cost but if you've got the dough go for it :)

Owner's response:

The shower issue was because we suffered a power cut in the night due to thunder storms which knocked out our micro computer control system for our recently installed and very expensive boilers in our shower block. As soon as it was brought to our attention the problem was fixed.

We did manage to explain to most of our customers about the position with the boiler and obviously this gentleman did not get the message.

We would also like to add that this was the weekend of the RNAS Yeovilton Air Show when our Park and every other surrounding Park is full to capacity. We had had torrential rain leading up to the Air Show, during the Air Show (indeed many planes were unable to take off) and after the Air Show and because of this we could not put any vehicles on the grass because they would have got stuck. We normally park cars next to their unit. We have mainly hardstanding parking areas and no tent is more than 15 metres from a car. In this customer's case, he did not have a prior booking and stayed for one night only.

We also have a very good village inn serving good food within 200 yards of our Park so we do not intend or wish to have a bar on our Park. There are also two olympic sized indoor pools in both Wincanton (7 miles) and Yeovil (7 miles) and we have not got enough space on our Park for an undercover pool to compete. If we had a pool it would have to be outside and because of the torrential rain over that weekend it would hardly have been of any use.

We appreciate that it is quite a lot that we would like to say in reply but we feel that it is necessary because it could affect other customers gaining the wrong impression.

Obviously this gentleman is expressing his own opinion after an isolated visit in exceptional circumstances but in view of the fact that we were voted by readers as a Regional Finalist in the 2009 Practical Caravan Magazine and achieved a place of 47th in the Top 100 Parks in the whole of the UK. Also, the readers of Caravan and Motorhome Magazine placed us in the Top 101 Sites in the UK this year. It would appear therefore that the majority of our customers are more than satisfied with our facilities and prices. Indeed we get compliments all the time from our customers and they return time and time again and it is a pity that they don't convert their comments into reviews on ukcampsite.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Farley 11 reviews from this member

 We decided as the weather had improved to go away over the bank holiday. We wanted an adult site which wasn't too noisy. We arrived at Long Hazel on Friday afternoon. Had a pitch backing onto the area where the road noise is most heard after a while we got used to it. Pitch was rather small and we were next to a tent which decided to pitch almost on our awning!
The site was very well kept , toilets and showers kept clean and tidy. The owner was very friendly and helpful. Even though the site was full at the weekend it was quiet after a certain time in the evening. The site is easily located and the village pub inexpensive.
The only downside is that we had to travel at least an hour to get to Weymouth and Bridgport. So if you want easy access to the coast this site is not ideal. All in all a very good adult site which is open all year. We will visit again. 

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wendle 19 reviews from this member

 We purposely chose this site as it was adults only.

On arrival the owner was very friendly and helpful.

The toilet blocks are small but immaculate. 4 toilets and 2 showers in both the mens and ladies.

We were there three nights and never had a problem with queuing for the loo or a shower.

There was a good mixture of tents and caravans etc and the campers ranged in age from young twenties to the more mature camper. There was a really friendly atmosphere on site.

The only real downfall of the site for us is the road noise. Being in a tent we heard it day and night though to be honest although loud I soon got used to it and would not let it put me off going again as the good points of this site greatly out weigh this one problem. Maybe the caravanners don't have a problem with the road noise at all.

All in all a good site where the owners work hard to keep it looking nice and provide a warm welcome. 

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JohnJustine 5 reviews from this member

 Second time we've been to this adults only site and it's been such a great find. The site is very well kept, the toilet block immaculate and the owners very friendly and helpful. And there's a lovely pub within four hundred yards!
All the caravan pitches are on hardstandings with space for your awning if required. And very secure with a locked access gate if you are late back to the site. We had a great Easter weekend and visited the coast which is about 50minutes drive. Lovely and peaceful. 

Previous     57 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Long Hazel Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Long Hazel Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Long Hazel Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities

Other Sites Near Yeovil      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camp & Glamp Show, Hertfordshire 08/10 to 16/10
Join the Camp 'n' Glamp 2022 Tent Preview ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

1862 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021