Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Long Hazel Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Yeovil > Long Hazel Park Reviews

Long Hazel Park
High Street
Sparkford
Yeovil
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA22 7JH
Tel: 01963 440002
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 51 Reviews
                9/10 from 51 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  51 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Acornis 25 reviews from this member

We choose this site as a stopover on our journey to North Devon, it was just off the A303 but to be fair the traffic noise was barely noticeable.

The whole site is obviously well look after and well maintained. The guy we met who runs the site was helpful but not intrusive. He pointed out that they were building houses in the next plot but again the noise was minimal.

There’s a pub and a shop within easy walking distance and a few more shops about a 5min drive away in castle Carey. I hadn’t realised the Haynes Motor museum is just up the road and as we were just staying a couple of nights we didn’t fit it in. The battery on our van developed a fault and when I sought help from the guy on site he was very helpful and recommended a couple of options and even took the time to check if we were sorted.

Perfect site for a stopover for a couple of nights.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Maztucker 4 reviews from this member

This is the 6 year I have used this site for staying at while visiting the Yeovilton Air Show.

It is always tidy and the shower block is always clean.

The owners are always helpful & friendly.

I arrived on the Friday, and in the evening, they had a mobile pizza van, which I thought was great, really tasty.

Great site.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Archie Bargee 22 reviews from this member

Not such an easy site to find if you don't keep your eyes peeled through the village. Granted the weather had been very hot and most places were suffering, but we felt the site was lacking in a bit of love, care and attention to detail, just a bit tired.

We could choose our own pitch and opted for the most level-looking that wasn't too close to others (could do with a bit of hedge planting) but our power hook-up was leaning at a silly angle (safety issue?)

Showers looked cramped for space and in need of some updating. Comparing it with equivalent sites, we felt it represented poor value for money.

Management response: Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We felt there were a few points we needed to clarify in response.

Our Park is very well signposted, with brown and white Tourist Board signs from both directions for many miles. We have large signage on the edge of our drive, with an illuminated sign that we put on at night. In July, the Tourist Board also put up a new brown and white Tourist Board sign with “Long Hazel Park” on it directly opposite our entrance.

As you have rightly mentioned, you were offered the option of choosing your own pitch during your stay. Following this, you seemed very happy with your choice and did not issue any complaints during your stay. You were welcome to choose a new pitch if you didn't feel this one suited you. We regularly check all our hook-ups and none of these are at a “silly angle”. They are also checked regularly by professional electricians and there have not been any issues raised. If you felt there was an issue with safety during your stay, it would have been appropriate for you to mention this to us so that it could be resolved at the time.

We disagree that we are not a level Park, as you will see this is commented on regularly by our customers, and we were the former village football pitch prior to being turned in to a caravan park.


We agree, the heatwave with continuing temperatures of 30+ degrees daily, teamed with a busy summer had left our grass a little brown in places, however, we cannot agree with you that the Park looks tired. You would have seen us working tirelessly on maintenance throughout your stay.

Regarding planting of hedges, we have planted a particularly large new hedge earlier this year of around 100 trees and have planted thousands more during our 21 years of owning Long Hazel Park. Prospective customers can see our mature landscaping on the photographs on our listing.

Lastly, we are sure you will be happy to hear we are planning to renovate our shower block this winter. Unfortunately this is a time-sensitive project and we are unable to shut down the shower block during July to renovate as you would be left without facilities. This August, we have installed new Dyson hand driers in our shower block which have had great feedback so far and we are installing a new solar panel system on the roof to help run the shower block through solar energy.

Each year, we are inspected by the Tourist Board, The AA, ANWB and ADAC and we are always informed by the inspectors that they feel our prices are very fair and often that we should be charging more to be in line with other sites, both in the area and countrywide. We are very proud of our ratings of 4 stars and 4 pennants, being just a few marks off 5 stars and pennants in both awards.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sidecutter 3 reviews from this member

Clean and tidy site, a bit pricy, pitches quite level, showers clean, pub in walking distance which does food sort drive to John Haynes motor museum a good day out. Location ideal for exploring the area.

Date of Visit: December 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jusbluey 22 reviews from this member

We stayed on this site during Christmas week. I must admit I was hugely disappointed (especially as it was Xmas) to find we were literally the only ones staying there (possibly 2 others paid a single nights visit). However, the site owner was extremely helpful & pleasant. The facilities were spotless & the grounds kept immaculate. There is no dog walk on site & the nearest place to take your dogs is across the road down a pathway, which when we visited, was extremely muddy. We were thankful that due to a lack of clientele we were allowed to let our dogs walk around the site. There is a popular pub a few yards down the road, we only visited once for a drink so cannot comment on the food. As walkers we were able to walk to one of the few hills in the area (Cadbury Hill, sadly no chocolate for Xmas!). The weather threw everything at us wind & rain, thankfully mostly at night, I did get blown over on the top of Cadbury Hill. We visited a very popular walking area nr Yeovil, called Ham Hill, a very busy place. There is a petrol station, small supermarket just down the road. The negatives for me, the road in the village experiences really excessive speeding motorists, coming from & going to the busy A303, & the noise is very noticeable from that road. I understand that plans are underway to build some structures to cut down that traffic noise. Due to the time we visited the area local pubs weren't open when we needed them. We did visit The Mildmay where we had a meal, which we were very disappointed with. As we visited on Boxing Day perhaps its was suffering after a busy Xmas day. The landlord was a very welcoming gentleman. Overall we wouldn't revisit the site as we walked in all the areas that we wanted to & would have no need to go back to that area.

Management response: Thank you very much for your review and we are so glad we were able to accommodate you over the Christmas holiday when most caravan parks in the area are closed. We are also so happy to hear Alan was able to be of assistance and that you observed our immaculately kept grounds and shower block.

We have been back through our diary for the Christmas season and we see that you were our only guest on one day (Boxing Day) with up to six other units joining you throughout your stay. We also had three lodges occupied throughout your stay. We are not sure how you managed to miss your immediate neighbours as you were all situated near the shower block.

You are correct, we do not have a dog walk on site. This is because we are situated in a fantastic area for walking and it simply isn't necessary. We are always happy to advise guests of our favourite walks and will tailor these to your needs and your dogs needs. You will notice on our website we have a page specifically for dog owners mapping out some of the local routes.

We are glad you visited Cadbury Hillfort as this is of great historical interest and was once King Arthur's castle and nothing to do with Cadbury's chocolate which is made “up North”! The hillfort is quite a large hill, situated 500 ft above sea level and was used as the defence point of the West Country in ancient times. During your walk there you would have seen the nearby Dorset Ridgeway, Glastonbury Tor and the Mendip Hills and King Alfred's Tower at Bruton which are all great hills to climb. You would also have seen Ham Hill which you mention visiting and we are not too far from Cheddar Gorge and Wookey Hole which are known for the famous cliffs. We are also within a few miles of the Monarch's Way, Leyland Trail and Macmillan Way which cover some fantastic hills in Castle Cary. We do wish you had asked us for information on these and we did offer you an Ordnance Survey map to take with you but you felt you didn't need this.

We are sorry to hear that some of the pubs you visited were closed over Christmas. We were not aware of this and we would have happily recommended other pubs you could have visited if the one you had tried to go to was closed. We have only ever had good reviews from customers of the food at the Mildmay Arms but would suggest you direct your feedback towards their landlords. The Mildmay Arms is situated within about a mile of Long Hazel and accepts dogs. We often suggest to our customers that they walk down the hill for a drink or a bite to eat at the pub and work off the calories on the way back up!

We understand that you feel you have no need to come back to Somerset and we are disappointed that you won't be exploring the rest of this wonderful county. We wish you all the best on your future adventures.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Martin1494 1 review from this member

Stayed at this site for 7 nights. Lovely quiet site. Warm welcome from Alan site owner who was very informative about the site and the history of the surrounding area. Well laid out and Alan and Pamela put in a lot of hard work to keep site spotless and pristine. Five minutes walk takes you to the High Street where there are bus stops to Shepton Mallet and Yeovil. This is ideal if you have a motorhome or on a walking holiday. Within easy reach of the Monarch's Way or the Leland Trail. Wonderful scenery and breathtaking views even better with the great weather we had. Well worth a stay.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lamby444 1 review from this member

Stayed at Long Hazel Park for convenience as it was a new Van and close to where we lived should we need have needed anything! We stayed for 5 nights and were made to feel totally welcome by Pam & Alan who clearly worked incredibly hard to maintain a very high standard across the site. The pitches were well laid out and the site facilities were excellent. The toilet/ shower block was immaculate with no shortage of hot water as although the site is metered individual usage isn't which was a welcome relief from feeding 20p/50p pieces every 30 seconds.

The site is convenient as a stopover as its adjacent to the A303, which we barely noticed, but more importantly it's close to Haynes motor museum, Cheddar gorge, Stourhead stately home, clarks village and a whole raft of other interesting sites. In summary, it is a lovely quiet, adult only, hidden gem of a site that comes highly recommended.

Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TurboFurby 2 reviews from this member

Could not fault this site. Staff VERY friendly and lanscape/facilities immaculate.

We enjoyed our stay that much that we paid for an extra night and are very sad to leave this morning. Would highly recommend and will definitely return.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chrishood 5 reviews from this member

Lovely site, really easy to find and wide access from the road.

Beware of the tree next to where you might want to stop to check in. I didn't and have a nice random pattern down one side of my van now. Hopefully, it will polish out.

Really helpful couple that run the place, even suggested a place for us to book dinner for a special occasion.

Plenty of space on our pitch, which was mostly level (two bumps up the levelling block we use).

Relatively quiet in hours of darkness, save for the road noise and the motorcyclists who may have been conducting time trials on the A303 :-). This is of course outside of the control of the site owners.

I only have two minor gripes:

1. Only one stand-pipe for drinking water in the touring part of the site.

2. Hot water in facilities block was never more than luke warm, so we showered and washed up in the caravan.

Management response: Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to leave us a review.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your anniversary meal at one of the local inns. We apologise that we were unable to run you down to the restaurant and pick you up as you asked but we were pleased that we telephoned the restaurant and they were happy to come up and collect you and run you back afterwards.

Respectfully we would like to correct you when you say that there is only one drinking water standpipe on our touring park. One standpipe is 20 yards behind the tree that you mentioned in your review upon entering the park. There is another drinking water standpipe out to the right of the gents toilets. The drinking water standpipe that we pointed out to you would have been the one nearest to your pitch and we would have highlighted this one so that you don' t end up having to carry water too far. We always direct our customers to the nearest standpipe to their pitch so that you don't end up in a queue.

We are very sorry to hear that you found that you couldn't use our showers. They are computer controlled and are set at 42 degrees centigrade. We only ever get wonderfully positive comments about our lovely hot showers. Had you mentioned it to us when you were here we would have gladly turned them up a bit for you.

We hope you will visit us again.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Simbadog 12 reviews from this member

Very easy to find & a friendly welcome, ideally placed for a stopover if on the A303. Toilet block clean & tidy as was the whole site. We were offered a choice of pitches. Walked about 1/2 mile to visit the Motor Museum which was very good, the pub however was not! All the ales were off & both the ciders, only option was lager, girl behind bar uninterested, we were going to eat there but decided against it.

Previous     51 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4136 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019