Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Long Hazel Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Yeovil > Long Hazel Park Reviews

Long Hazel Park
High Street
Sparkford
Yeovil
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA22 7JH
Tel: 01963 440002
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 57 Reviews
                9/10 from 57 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  57 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Di+Glyn_W 19 reviews from this member

 We booked Long Hazel Park as an overnight stop on our way from Kent to Cornwall, and then decided to make it two nights just to extend our break a bit.

The first thing we liked was the welcome pack sent by email; so much information was included it made life so much easier when we arrived. We were a little bemused by the online shower booking system, but I have to say it works, and works very well!

The site is situated just off the A303, and in fact the A303 runs almost behind it, so in some circumstances the traffic noise is noticeable. Having said that, it didn't bother us one bit and certainly didn't keep us awake at night. Of course the 'plus' side is that you are easy on-easy off the A303 when you're arriving or leaving.

We're dog owners, so having an accessible dog walk is essential; there isn't one on site, but walk out of the site and cross the road, and there's a footpath opposite next to a 'dog poo' bin. It runs between houses and fields so secure enough to run your pooch off their lead. Walk to the end of the path, climb a stile, cross the railway line and you are into a huge field where dogs can also run off the lead.

You can also use the path to access a nearby farm shop but we didn't make it that far.

An alternative dog walk can be found at Sparkford Wood, just over half mile from the site. Turn right outside, walk along the path to the roundabout and then go left along Wolfester Terrace. At the end, go left on the A359 for a short distance, then left down Sparkford Hill Lane. You can access the woods a short way down the lane, with plenty of room for your pooch to run round.

For eating & drinking out make sure you visit the Sparkford Inn. Turn left out of the site and walk for two minutes and the pub is on your left. Very friendly staff, excellent food and lots of it. Just make sure you book in advance!

The site itself is immaculately maintained; the grass is manicured and the gravel pitches clean on arrival. Your pre-arrival pack shows your pitch on a site plan, and when you arrive there's a sign with your name on your pitch. Our hardstanding pitch was almost dead-level with minimal levelling needed.

Water, electric and drainage were easily accessible on our pitch, whilst picnic benches are dotted around the grass areas of the site for everyone's use.

This is a gem of a site, with much to see locally if staying for a few days or simply using as a stop over. We'll be booking for our trip next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Rachwei 1 review from this member

 Very welcoming owners who made us feel very well looked after during Covid. We had a very good sized pitch and the landscaping is beautiful.

We liked the email welcome sent through before we arrived telling us about the local bakery and dog walks which are also at the site entrance and gave us lots to do.

Really beautiful site, thank you for your hospitality and we will be back soon. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Any Sauce Neville 1 review from this member

 Alan and Pamela are just the best hosts. Despite the challenges of Covid 19 they made sure we had a great pitch and that we had a really fabulous week with them. They are always happy to offer advice on places to visit and how to get there.

We have stayed here before and also had a great time but this visit was impacted by the Covid 19 safety challenges resulting in the shower and toilet block being unavailable for use - something that is completely beyond the control of the site owners. Their personal circumstances mean that they are unable to open these facilities because of the bureaucratic insurance requirements which has made things very difficult for them.

We had a really great time staying here. There are loads of great local places to visit before coming back to the site and relaxing in the evening sunshine at one of the picnic tables and enjoying a pint of the local cider.

The site is situated close to the A303 as is clearly shown on any map so if you're a light sleeper I would suggest some ear plugs. As a result of its location however, it is easy to travel in any direction to explore Somerset, Wiltshire or Dorset. Both Wells and Salisbury cathedral's are well worth a visit. I'm in no way religious but the buildings and the history are fascinating in their own right. Wells also has a lovely market on certain days.

Castle Cary is just down the road and it's a friendly town with a welcoming community feel and a farmers market on a Tuesday where you can buy all sorts of things including lovely fresh fish.

The site is peaceful and located in a small village with a decent pub 100 yds away. It is very picturesque and incredibly clean and tidy.

There is an awful lot to do if you get in the car and drive for 10-20 minutes.

Can't wait to visit again. 


Date of Visit: May 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: MilesR 1 review from this member

 Very helpful and understanding with re booking due to COVID19, excellent customer service.

We are looking forward to visiting now in July.

We have enjoyed receiving updates from the site during the closure. 


Date of Visit: March 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Colinm36 1 review from this member

 We have visited Long Hazel Park multiple times over the years and always enjoy returning.

The owners have made lots of changes in the past few years including completing a new shower block facility to a very high standard with free showers.

We always receive such a warm welcome. Pitches are of a good size with grassed areas and picnic tables on most, 16 amp electric and car parking next to your pitch.

We will be back again soon. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dave Simpson 777 1 review from this member

 This is a truly beautiful site. Well laid out, faultlessly maintained, and spotless throughout.

The washing facilities are spotless, and the disabled facilities make life so easy you almost forget you’re disabled.

Pamela and Alan (site owners) are so helpful, nothing is too much for them.

We will be returning again, and again - especially as this site is only 1/2 an hour from Cheddar Gorge. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Acornis 28 reviews from this member

 We choose this site as a stopover on our journey to North Devon, it was just off the A303 but to be fair the traffic noise was barely noticeable.

The whole site is obviously well look after and well maintained. The guy we met who runs the site was helpful but not intrusive. He pointed out that they were building houses in the next plot but again the noise was minimal.

There’s a pub and a shop within easy walking distance and a few more shops about a 5min drive away in castle Carey. I hadn’t realised the Haynes Motor museum is just up the road and as we were just staying a couple of nights we didn’t fit it in. The battery on our van developed a fault and when I sought help from the guy on site he was very helpful and recommended a couple of options and even took the time to check if we were sorted.

Perfect site for a stopover for a couple of nights. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Maztucker 4 reviews from this member

 This is the 6 year I have used this site for staying at while visiting the Yeovilton Air Show.

It is always tidy and the shower block is always clean.

The owners are always helpful & friendly.

I arrived on the Friday, and in the evening, they had a mobile pizza van, which I thought was great, really tasty.

Great site. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Archie Bargee 26 reviews from this member

 Not such an easy site to find if you don't keep your eyes peeled through the village. Granted the weather had been very hot and most places were suffering, but we felt the site was lacking in a bit of love, care and attention to detail, just a bit tired.

We could choose our own pitch and opted for the most level-looking that wasn't too close to others (could do with a bit of hedge planting) but our power hook-up was leaning at a silly angle (safety issue?)

Showers looked cramped for space and in need of some updating. Comparing it with equivalent sites, we felt it represented poor value for money. 
Management response: Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We felt there were a few points we needed to clarify in response.

Our Park is very well signposted, with brown and white Tourist Board signs from both directions for many miles. We have large signage on the edge of our drive, with an illuminated sign that we put on at night. In July, the Tourist Board also put up a new brown and white Tourist Board sign with “Long Hazel Park” on it directly opposite our entrance.

As you have rightly mentioned, you were offered the option of choosing your own pitch during your stay. Following this, you seemed very happy with your choice and did not issue any complaints during your stay. You were welcome to choose a new pitch if you didn't feel this one suited you. We regularly check all our hook-ups and none of these are at a “silly angle”. They are also checked regularly by professional electricians and there have not been any issues raised. If you felt there was an issue with safety during your stay, it would have been appropriate for you to mention this to us so that it could be resolved at the time.

We disagree that we are not a level Park, as you will see this is commented on regularly by our customers, and we were the former village football pitch prior to being turned in to a caravan park.


We agree, the heatwave with continuing temperatures of 30+ degrees daily, teamed with a busy summer had left our grass a little brown in places, however, we cannot agree with you that the Park looks tired. You would have seen us working tirelessly on maintenance throughout your stay.

Regarding planting of hedges, we have planted a particularly large new hedge earlier this year of around 100 trees and have planted thousands more during our 21 years of owning Long Hazel Park. Prospective customers can see our mature landscaping on the photographs on our listing.

Lastly, we are sure you will be happy to hear we are planning to renovate our shower block this winter. Unfortunately this is a time-sensitive project and we are unable to shut down the shower block during July to renovate as you would be left without facilities. This August, we have installed new Dyson hand driers in our shower block which have had great feedback so far and we are installing a new solar panel system on the roof to help run the shower block through solar energy.

Each year, we are inspected by the Tourist Board, The AA, ANWB and ADAC and we are always informed by the inspectors that they feel our prices are very fair and often that we should be charging more to be in line with other sites, both in the area and countrywide. We are very proud of our ratings of 4 stars and 4 pennants, being just a few marks off 5 stars and pennants in both awards.


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sidecutter 8 reviews from this member

 Clean and tidy site, a bit pricy, pitches quite level, showers clean, pub in walking distance which does food sort drive to John Haynes motor museum a good day out. Location ideal for exploring the area. 


Previous     57 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Long Hazel Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Long Hazel Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Long Hazel Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Yeovil      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2662 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement