Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Long Hazel Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Somerset > Yeovil > Long Hazel Park > Reviews

Long Hazel Park
High Street
Sparkford
Yeovil
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA22 7JH
Tel: 01963 440002
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 62 Reviews
                9/10 from 62 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  62 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Megand 1 review from this member

 Lovely couple running the site.

Very friendly.

Everything clean and tidy.

Ideal location for visiting the Fleet Air Arm and Haynes museums.

Pub serving food just a short walk away. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: January 2024 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Mikegs 1 review from this member

 Lovely quiet location with immaculate grounds and modern clean facilities.

Close to a main road with easy access for 8m motorhomes but with little no noise during stay.

Extremely friendly and helpful owners who are happy to advise you on places to eat, drink and visit during your stay.

Ill definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Linda2 14 reviews from this member

 The site is a lovely adult only as previously commented on in other reviews, beautiful landscaped, showers and toilets are spotless although could do with upgrade.

Reading any negative reviews appear to provoke a robust response from owner who doesn't take kindly to criticism of the site, my review is not negative and is purely geared towards dog owners, it is apparently dog friendly however that is not what we encountered and therefore I suggest that you read the booking rules if you are planning to take dogs, apart from being allowed on site and on your dedicated grass pitch there are no dog facilities at all, there are plenty of dog walks outside of the site and to do most of these and place your dogs poo in a bin you have to cross a busy road, the most annoying thing is being charged extra 1. 50 a night, it might be a better idea to remove the dogs welcome from the website,

For this reason we won't use the site again and can not recommend it to dog lovers. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Roseas 1 review from this member

 This is our first visit to long hazel campsite, and we will definitely return.

The owners alan & pamela, were vere friendly & helpful.

The site was spotless, really well cared for.

Toilets& showers were immaculate, .

And public transport was only 3 minutes walk.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at long hazel. 


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: LouLiz 36 reviews from this member

 Fabulous campsite. Weve been motorhoming for 7 years and this is one of the best sites weve stayed at.

Originally booked for 3 nights but extended it to 5 nights as it as just perfect.

Toilets and shower block always exceptionally clean.

The whole site was clean, quiet, friendly and handy for National Trust houses and Haynes Motor Museum.

Alan, the owner was very helpful.

Would definitely recommend and return.

A Londis about 5 minutes walk away. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Di+Glyn_W 20 reviews from this member

 We booked Long Hazel Park as an overnight stop on our way from Kent to Cornwall, and then decided to make it two nights just to extend our break a bit.

The first thing we liked was the welcome pack sent by email; so much information was included it made life so much easier when we arrived. We were a little bemused by the online shower booking system, but I have to say it works, and works very well!

The site is situated just off the A303, and in fact the A303 runs almost behind it, so in some circumstances the traffic noise is noticeable. Having said that, it didn't bother us one bit and certainly didn't keep us awake at night. Of course the 'plus' side is that you are easy on-easy off the A303 when you're arriving or leaving.

We're dog owners, so having an accessible dog walk is essential; there isn't one on site, but walk out of the site and cross the road, and there's a footpath opposite next to a 'dog poo' bin. It runs between houses and fields so secure enough to run your pooch off their lead. Walk to the end of the path, climb a stile, cross the railway line and you are into a huge field where dogs can also run off the lead.

You can also use the path to access a nearby farm shop but we didn't make it that far.

An alternative dog walk can be found at Sparkford Wood, just over half mile from the site. Turn right outside, walk along the path to the roundabout and then go left along Wolfester Terrace. At the end, go left on the A359 for a short distance, then left down Sparkford Hill Lane. You can access the woods a short way down the lane, with plenty of room for your pooch to run round.

For eating & drinking out make sure you visit the Sparkford Inn. Turn left out of the site and walk for two minutes and the pub is on your left. Very friendly staff, excellent food and lots of it. Just make sure you book in advance!

The site itself is immaculately maintained; the grass is manicured and the gravel pitches clean on arrival. Your pre-arrival pack shows your pitch on a site plan, and when you arrive there's a sign with your name on your pitch. Our hardstanding pitch was almost dead-level with minimal levelling needed.

Water, electric and drainage were easily accessible on our pitch, whilst picnic benches are dotted around the grass areas of the site for everyone's use.

This is a gem of a site, with much to see locally if staying for a few days or simply using as a stop over. We'll be booking for our trip next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Rachwei 1 review from this member

 Very welcoming owners who made us feel very well looked after during Covid. We had a very good sized pitch and the landscaping is beautiful.

We liked the email welcome sent through before we arrived telling us about the local bakery and dog walks which are also at the site entrance and gave us lots to do.

Really beautiful site, thank you for your hospitality and we will be back soon. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Any Sauce Neville 1 review from this member

 Alan and Pamela are just the best hosts. Despite the challenges of Covid 19 they made sure we had a great pitch and that we had a really fabulous week with them. They are always happy to offer advice on places to visit and how to get there.

We have stayed here before and also had a great time but this visit was impacted by the Covid 19 safety challenges resulting in the shower and toilet block being unavailable for use - something that is completely beyond the control of the site owners. Their personal circumstances mean that they are unable to open these facilities because of the bureaucratic insurance requirements which has made things very difficult for them.

We had a really great time staying here. There are loads of great local places to visit before coming back to the site and relaxing in the evening sunshine at one of the picnic tables and enjoying a pint of the local cider.

The site is situated close to the A303 as is clearly shown on any map so if you're a light sleeper I would suggest some ear plugs. As a result of its location however, it is easy to travel in any direction to explore Somerset, Wiltshire or Dorset. Both Wells and Salisbury cathedral's are well worth a visit. I'm in no way religious but the buildings and the history are fascinating in their own right. Wells also has a lovely market on certain days.

Castle Cary is just down the road and it's a friendly town with a welcoming community feel and a farmers market on a Tuesday where you can buy all sorts of things including lovely fresh fish.

The site is peaceful and located in a small village with a decent pub 100 yds away. It is very picturesque and incredibly clean and tidy.

There is an awful lot to do if you get in the car and drive for 10-20 minutes.

Can't wait to visit again. 


Date of Visit: May 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: MilesR 1 review from this member

 Very helpful and understanding with re booking due to COVID19, excellent customer service.

We are looking forward to visiting now in July.

We have enjoyed receiving updates from the site during the closure. 


Date of Visit: March 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Colinm36 1 review from this member

 We have visited Long Hazel Park multiple times over the years and always enjoy returning.

The owners have made lots of changes in the past few years including completing a new shower block facility to a very high standard with free showers.

We always receive such a warm welcome. Pitches are of a good size with grassed areas and picnic tables on most, 16 amp electric and car parking next to your pitch.

We will be back again soon. 


Previous     62 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Long Hazel Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Long Hazel Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Long Hazel Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Yeovil      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3155 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement