Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of River Laver Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Ripon > River Laver Holiday Park > Reviews

River Laver Holiday Park
Studley Road
Ripon
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HG4 2QR
Tel: 01765 690508
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Holiday Homes Only
Open: 01/03/2024 to 01/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 53 Reviews
                9/10 from 53 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  53 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: CC08AJC 2 reviews from this member

 Great site, immaculate and relaxed.

We only stayed 1 night as we were travelling back from a festival and wanted some where quiet and clean. This site fitted the bill completely.

From our first contact, when making the booking to leaving after a very peaceful and calm night, everyone we spoke to was helpful and happy.

Lovely facilities, grass and flowers

The only comment and I don't know how this could be resolved, is that the manoeuvring is not very simple with a long van, I was concious of the length of our unit and the size of the pitch and good use of hardstanding. Not sure of this says more about my driving skills or the layout, but I didn't want to cut up the grass.

We will use this site again if we are in the area. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lillie73 19 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site very clean and well run, the pitches have their own water, waste and t. V. Aerial, and it is so quiet. WiFi is available at 2. 00 per day. Helen showed us to our pitch and was very helpful explaining were to eat and how to get there.

We eat at the Water Rat Inn as it is the only pub to let dogs in, food is o. K. Very nice walk back along the river. Opposite the campsite is a walk to Fountains Abbey about 1 mile away. There is another abbey about 15 miles away called Jervaux well worth a look.

Walked back into Ripon (about 20 mins) on Thursday as it was market day.  


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Roving pair 32 reviews from this member

 Booked this at the last minute just stayed one night the managers were very pleasant and we were given all the relevant information. The site is immaculate, toilet/shower blocks very clean. ( I am very fussy!)You can even order your newspaper for the morning. Excellent site for a visit to the races and a 15/20 minute walk into the centre of town plenty of pubs and eating places. Have booked again can certainly recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Clairelou73 8 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for two nights and couldn't have been more impressed. What a gorgeous campsite. The toilets/showers were kept immaculately clean, as was the whole site. The owners were very friendly, helped us unhook the minute we got there. There was also a very strong WiFi signal which is important to us. Our only criticism would be the hour long revving of a motor bike (from the owners residence, right beside our pitch). This was very early on our first morning there which woke us and went on for so long, there was no chance of us getting back to sleep. Maybe a little thought could have gone into the timing of this, as opposed to it being early morning. 
Management response: Thank you for your recent review and your favourable comments. We are however very sorry to hear that you were disturbed in the early hours by the revving of a bike engine. Having worked very hard to achieve a high standard on our park the last thing we would do is something detrimental like creating unnecessary noise, and would like to assure you that the noise was certainly not from the owners bungalow. We understand that the noise you heard may have been road legal quad bikes on the main road which admittedly can sound to be close at hand, and which is fortunately not a common occurrence. We apologise again that you were disturbed but hope that you would visit us again in the future.


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ron22 20 reviews from this member

 This is mainly a site with statics but has a small touring area which can take nine units. The pitches are hard standing and level.

The toilet block is up to date and kept spotless.

The staff were very welcoming and helpful.

It took us 15 minutes to walk into Ripon where they have quite a good market, but by far the best walk is from the main gate, cross the road onto the public footpath and then to Fountains Abbey. This is a wonderful walk and exploring Fountains Abbey can fill in a day. There is a good on site restaurant within the grounds and another tea room down by the lake.

As this is only an hour from home we will revisit during a different season in order to sample the changing scene at Fountains Abbey. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 200 reviews from this member

 A lovely, small, friendly site and absolutely immaculate.

Usually the pitches are not available until 2pm on day of arrival but we called ahead and arranged to arrive earlier as we were only staying 20 or so miles away.

On arrival we were checked in by Helen and her scottie dog (bless him!). Quick and friendly. You have to leave a 10 deposit for the barrier, which is refunded when you leave. Helen then showed us to our pitch, hardstanding with EHU, waste and water included in the price.

The toilet block was small but ample for 8 touring pitches and one of the cleanest we've ever come across. There was also a laundry on site and the information 'room' was within the reception area which also housed a pretty well stock shop.

The walk into Ripon takes about 15/20 minutes. We found Ripon to be a bit disappointing for a 'cathedral city'. After a mooch around the city we caught a taxi back (no problem with the dog) at a cost of 4.90. That evening we had an Indian takeaway delivered to the site and it was fantastic. Didn't bother to venture back into Ripon on our second day, spent it on site reading (very peaceful).

IF we decided to re-visit Ripon we would not hesitate to stay at River Laver again. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nightwatch 1 review from this member

 We've been here several times and will keep going back. Brilliant place on the whole, but it has a few downsides. Children are welcome but there's no play area. Gas is the most expensive I've found on a caravan site. Pitches are a little too close together and the price is on topside.

On the plus side though it's not just clean and tidy but absolutely spotless. The showers and toilets are immaculate. The site is very well maintained. It's quiet and peaceful. Smashing walks in the area.

The Warden is a star - very helpful, knows a lot about the area and is a bit of a joker as well. Be quick though, after many years there he is finishing soon. He makes a huge difference to this place, it won't be the same somehow. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Shotgun682 7 reviews from this member

 We have just retuned from a 3 night stay at River Laver, Just the same as our last stay, A well run site, very clean. The touring pitches are fully serviced, water, electric and grey water waste. Electric supply was good we were running the heating, tv, lights and a kettle with no trip outs.

We will be back in October for another 3 nights.

If you like pub life seach out the One Eyed Rat for a fantastic range of beers and lagers.

A good Sunday lunch can be found at the Water Rat down by the canal. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lindylou 4 reviews from this member

 The site is entered by a remote barrier 10 deposit and the toilets and showers have coded entry. All pitches had electric hookup. Didn't use the on site shop so really can't comment on supplies there but you can order morning papers.

A Morrisons supermarket about 2 miles away and a couple of supermarkets in Ripon centre.

Washing up facilities were available and chemical waste didposal point.

We found the site very pleasant and the owners extremely friendly and helpful. The pitches are very neat and tidy and it was a pleasure to wander round the site and see some of the beautiful gardens some of the residents there have created. I loved to see the rabbits running around site and also spotted a hedgehog. We found it very quiet and relaxing.

The toilet and shower block was immaculate each time I visited, though I didn't take a shower there. Due to the convenience of water on the pitch I showered 'at home' and we refilled the tank as and when neccessary. The drain on site was also an advantage. Did not notice any chidrens play area and didn't see any young children about during our 3 night stay. We didn't have very good TV reception but BBC was available most of the time. Perhaps we need a booster.

We took a walk into Ripon and though I am not the fastest walker it took about 25 minutes. We did go to The Black Bull pub which I cannot recommend. The extent of the vocabulary of the population at the time we were there was limited to words beginning with the letter F.

Hubby went out for a day fishing at Leighton Reservoir, it took him about 30 minutes to drive there.(caught 1 trout) On day 2 we drove out to Grassington which is well worth a visit. A lovely little market town with the kind of little shops I enjoy browsing around. Walk down to the falls it's a beautiful view.

On the way back we called at Pately Bridge and went to see the glass making and took a walk along the river. Was tempted by the local butcher selling so many variaties of pork pies. Pork and mushy peas. Pork and stuffing to name a couple.

Lightwater valley is a short drive away.

All in all a lovely site to visit. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Over60 3 reviews from this member

 This is an ideal site for us, visited twice in 3 weeks, perfect set up for me which is hard stand for van and grass for awning, this should be the standard set up for EVERY site, never mind bashing pegs into hard stand and walking on your groundsheet on top of gravel. This site is immaculate, clean shower block, only 7 touring stands all the rest are statics and seasonal tourers. Short ride to Ripon or into Nidd valley whichever you choose. Vans pitches are a little close together compared to some but hey, each stand has its own waste and fresh water with thetford disposal 50 yds. Perfect. For the number of vans very quiet. 


Previous     53 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is River Laver Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to River Laver Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is River Laver Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ripon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3013 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement