Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Longleat Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Warminster > Longleat Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Longleat Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Longleat
Warminster
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
BA12 7NL
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 164
Open: 16/03/2021 to 03/01/2022
           16/03/2022 to 03/01/2023

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 136 Reviews
                9/10 from 136 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  136 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Fionavan 40 reviews from this member

 This site is in a great location & the perfect base for visiting Longleat - there is so much to do & see. The site facilities are the standard that you would expect from the Caravan Club - spotless & plentiful facilities, my only criticisms of the site would be too many signs telling you what to do & the speed at which to do it - we're on holiday, not at school, and the pitches are now so large that there is a sea of gravel with limited areas to sit on grass by your pitch, we have a small unit & it is lost on the pitch.

Please be aware that the Longleat Estate have altered some of the rules so you will find some changes, do check where you intend to go & can you return at night - bear in mind that a National Cycle route does run through the park so you should be able to return from The Bath Arms on bicycle, but other routes will not be accessible by car. Dog walking rules have changed also.

On the positive side - very beautiful part of the world. Lots to do & see, good pubs locally, cycle & walk to several. If you stay with children, the site is perfect for doing bits of the park, getting back to base to recharge your batteries, then going back into the park - you will have a great time. There is also a good playground on the site. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jopor 11 reviews from this member

 A wonderful site - all the usual CC advantages - immaculately kept, excellent toilet blocks and very friendly and helpful wardens. A one night stay became three, partly because of the site itself and partly because of the Longleat estate, which we loved. Plenty of shady pitches which is important for us because of the dogs and it was particularly hot. The site dog-walk is great. Value for money was quite good (20. 30 all-in with two dogs) with the added advantage of a discount on admission to the estate. 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Poshdee 2 reviews from this member

 Wow, what a fantastic introduction to the world of camping! We took our motorhome on its maiden voyage, and this was the first site we stopped at.

I fear that nowhere else will ever be able to live up to its standard, that's the problem! Immaculate site, all gravelled and landscaped, set in stunning surroundings.

You can hear owls hooting and lions roaring at night - does it get better than that?!

The toilet/shower block was superb, the pitch was roomy, and I thought it was really good value for money too.

I wasn't a Caravan Club member, but having seen the superiority of this site, I'm gonna be! 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dazzer252 5 reviews from this member

 As others have mentioned a lovely site and only a 250m walk to Longleat house and the attractions. The site is extremely clean and tidy, the three toilet blocks were spotless and modern, and the baby and toddler rooms were excellent (10 deposit required for key).

The staff were helpful when approached but perhaps not the most chatty of wardens.

There is an on site laundry room which cost 3 for a wash and 70p per 15 mins for a tumble dry, useful if you have a baby like we have. You also get a discount on longleat tickets if you are a member of the CC and are staying at the site so don't buy in advance!

There is a modern children's play area and also TV hook ups for those that need them. The site has a great fish and chip van that visits 3 days a week in the peak season but only comes on a Friday during the off season periods.

Please expect children on the site, certainly at the weekends / holidays, but this isn't a problem and should not put anyone off.

Overall we thought this was another excellent CC site and one we will certainly be returning to next year! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sam dyer 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for one night, lovely site, showers and toilets are the best I have ever seen, lots of room between pitches.

If you take dogs to longleat be warned you have to drive to the free day kennels first you can not walk them there.

Woke up at 5. 30am to the lions roaring it was the most lovely sound.

The only downside was I didn't find the staff at the site very friendly and lots of noisy kids going round on bikes and scooters in the dark.

Longleat was a brill day out but 90 for a family of 4 is a bit steep. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Samsy 7 reviews from this member

 This was our 5th visit to the site, and as some others have said, it is likely to be our last. The site is lovely, and in a unique location, however, the friendly wardens were absent during our stay - we found the wardens to unhelpful at best. They were unaware of the local area and simply unfriendly.

I had to ask twice to be admitted to the park after checking in; we had a problem with flies and wasps covering the outside of our awning so went to the shop to see if they sold flyspray. We also asked if it was a problem that had been mentioned to them before as we have had no such fly problems elsewhere, and they were on ours and two other awnings only. We were told they don't, and we would just have to 'deal with it' ; finally for three days on the trot a warden spent between two and three hours a day cutting back shrubs etc, within 15ft of our pitch, without even a hint of an apology for the considerable noise and smell. Whilst we realise it has to be done, it could have surely been done over the course of a few tenants, we were only there for 5 days.

The final nail in the site's coffin was on our last night when extremely loud music kept me, and several others I met whilst out investigating, awake until 2am. It turns out Longleat now have a marquee they hire out for parties and the like. The erratic nature of these events mean you cannot book around them, so we will instead choose to stay elsewhere. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Andy McGuirk 3 reviews from this member

 Absolutely gorgeous, what a fantastic caravan site. We were so impressed with the layout, facilities, location and the positive attitude of the wardens that we left wishing that we were staying longer.

If you get a chance to visit Longleat, and it is definitely worth visiting, you will have a wonderful experience of how a caravan park should be.

Quality, quality in abundance, it does what is says on the tin, to coin a phrase.

The chippie van was there when we arrived and worth trying, just ask about the glenlivet Whiskey flavoured battered Haggis suppers.

Longleat safari park surrounds the caravan park and the noise of the animals is a lovely rare opportunity to wake up to.

We would highly recommend a visit to longleat, check out the discount vouchers and Tesco club card points get you access for 30 for a family pass. Loads to do. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lazyleyden 8 reviews from this member

 This is a great site, in meandering gorgeous grounds, and even when packed seems spacious and calm. We missed the school holidays but it was a weekend and lots of kids and dogs. But all intermingled well, Also a large play area.

Facilities are the best, plenty of showers, toilets and cubicles, and even a family room for inclement weather.

Longleat itself is terrific and very good value (although we didn't have any kids to pay for). Got a day ticket for 25 that allowed us to go to all the attractions safari and house as many times as we liked on that day, and there are so many we couldn't fit them all in. All the animals seem so well looked after and the staff so helpful and accommodating. The cafes in the gardens and house are good value.

We opted to take the safari double decker bus for extra 4. This well worth it, as you get guided informative and wiity tour. Also it seems the rangers tell the guide where the best spots for viewing are.

Beware' don't take a motorhome through the monkey enclosure (you can avoid this bit). From the top of the bus we could see some cars being ripped to pieces, how we all laughed, ashamed to say. Oh, and find your way to the central tower of the maze, then just stand and watch the comedy unfold before you. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: AndyandLynda 3 reviews from this member

 We have visited this site numerous times over the last few years and have always enjoyed the site and the surrounding park. Having visited all the attractions over the years this time we were dismayed to find we had to purchase either a day ticket or an annual pass to see the new additions to Longleat, you can no longer pay separate.

89 was an unexpected added cost to our holiday but as this will now be ours and many others last visit we spoke to,we paid up.

We were told the annual pass in going next year.

The site was full as we expected but the everything coped well as as usual.

The digital TV cable is now 16 and some pitches have quite high trees so satellite can be difficult.

Heard the Lions many times and our dogs face when he heard the Wolves howling was funny.

Overall another great week at one of our favourite sites but unfortunately we won't be back.  


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pamd 5 reviews from this member

 The position of this site is excellent, it is right in the grounds of Longleat itself and you really do hear the lions, wolves and seals at daybreak.

It is a typical Caravan club site with excellent toilets and showers, always clean and tidy.

You can wander into longleat park itself and enjoy the gardens without paying any extra. The house is fabulous and well worth a visit as is the wildlife park, try booking a seat on the bus as you get loads of information whilst going round as well as being able to go into the monkey area without ruining your car.

We also did a park and ride into Bath (CC members can use vouchers at the Roman Baths) and spent another interesting day seeing the sights. We would certainly return. 


Previous     136 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Longleat Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Longleat Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Warminster      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3327 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement