Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Longleat Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Wiltshire > Warminster > Longleat Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Longleat Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Longleat
Warminster
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
BA12 7NL
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 164
Open: 16/03/2024 to 03/01/2025
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 141 Reviews
                9/10 from 141 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  141 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: December 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Macarw 25 reviews from this member

 We initially booked this planning for 4 people to stay for the weekend to see the Festival of lights, but out plans changed at the last minute and we ended up only being able to stay for the day.

We wanted to keep our booking and park the motorhome at the site for the day as we wanted to be able to return to the motorhome during the day for a break as we had our elderly parents with us. I rang a couple of days before our arrival to find out what we could do and if we still needed to pay for 2 nights as we wanted to arrive in the morning and leave in the evening.

The staff were incredibly helpful. They amended our booking to one person which reduced the cost and allowed us to arrive in the morning and park in the late night arrival space for the day. This saved us a lot of money.

The site was really clean and tidy and the facilities were immaculate. It was a really short walk onto the safari park, perfect for our elderly parents.

It made such a difference being able to return to the motorhome during the day rather than trying to find a seat in the overcrowded restaurants or having to stay out in the cold for the day.

We will definitely visit again especially if there are special events on. 


Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Plombier 2 reviews from this member

 Longleat site is excellent for visiting the nearby longleat safari park.

The site is quiet, apart from sea lions being at bit noisy at times,

Itís a very friendly site and all staff encountered were helpful.

New internet wifi system, recently installed was a bit sporadic on signal.

Only issue was on departure 10am Saturday morning, you leave the site and have to join the safari queue to get out, Should have been told either go earlier, or leave later. To avoid the hoardes entering longleat, between 9:30 and 11 am. 


Date of Visit: October 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Dk168 48 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 5 nights in early October 2022 with my dog, and the site was very quiet; however, the site and its facilities remained to be well-kept.

The wardens were very helpful when I arrived, even rang ahead to make sure I was still intending to stay when I failed to arrive at my original planned arrival time.

When I asked for a pitch with good mobile phone signal and/or Wi-Fi access, they joked that I was on the wrong camp site to start with, followed by helpful suggestion to try certain locations within the site to check the mobile phone signal and Wi-Fi and pick the best pitch.

I was able to find a pitch with good Wi-Fi access and paid for site Wi-Fi, as the mobile phone signal was not reliable.

This is a personal preference/requirement as I needed to work. If one wants to get away from it all, then this site would tick many boxes for you.

I particularly liked the dog walk area which was fenced off and allowed dogs to go off leash at the owners' risks, as they did not guarantee the area to be secure.

And it was not, in that a fence by a stream/river was not secure, and my dog was able to go under it to explore on the other side. Also, because it was quite a large mature woodland area, it was not possible to ascertain if there were other dogs and owners already in the area.

Luckily my dog behaved himself and came back to me without bothering the other dogs and their owners, or went off to explore the area beyond the fence!

Please be forewarned that the site is not far from the Longleat Safari Park especially the man-made lake, and animal noises, particularly from the sea lions could be heard throughout my stay, as could be confirmed by the attendant stationed at the entrance/exit just up the road from the site's entrance/exit.

The site had a shop that looked well-equipped with the usual provisions and caravan/motorhome accessories.

It has a play area for young children that looked well-equipped. There is also a family/function room, however, I did not check it out.

The facilities block nearest to my pitch was always warm even on the coldest nights.

The pitches are spacious and well-spaced.

Lastly, depending on the time of the year, choose you pitch wisely and avoid staying under an oak tree due to risk of acorns falling onto the roof of your van, as they startled me and my dog when they did!

Apart from that, it was a lovely stay at a lovely site; no doubt I shall return as it is less than an hour from home! 


Date of Visit: January 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 11 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Paulcoan 17 reviews from this member

 Stayed Christmas and New Year

POSITIVES

Usual club standard

Great position with animal noises ie lions seals etc, fantastic

Easy to get too

Loads to see and do in the area

NEGATIVES

Dog walk very muddy if wet

Really bad tv reception and bollards with booster ariels didnít work, lucky dvdís as very wet stay

Very bad mobile reception EE and 3

Would we stay again -YES 


Date of Visit: December 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Paulcoan 17 reviews from this member

 Great site up to usual C&MC standard with added bonus of lions roaring and load of other animal sounds.

Great site position with loads to see in the local area from Longleat itself, Bath Bristol, Clarkís Village, Bradford on Avon even Bournemouth and Poole easy drive.

Great for digital detoxing! ☺️😏 virtually no mobile signals on any network in the site, paid club WiFi very poor and poor tv signal and pitches around us the bollard tv boosters didnít work so great if you want to read and/or talk with the wife/ husband 😂 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Saftlad 7 reviews from this member

 Quite a large site, access road is narrow in places but given that most people using it are going to/from the campsite, getting the van down is ok.

The majority of the pitches have been laid to hardstand with just a handful of grassed pitches, and almost all pitches have tree cover. Seems very popular with families, lots of children around and it's worth being very careful as they fly around on their bikes. TV reception was ok with the onboard aerial, the bollards all have a TV socket for connection if necessary, though you may need a long cable to connect.

Power leads push into the socket, then twist to engage - caught us and our neighbour out. Push the button beside the socket to disengage. Wifi and mobile service is patchy, you'll see people standing around the outside of the site trying to find a reasonable signal.

Pitches 80-86 don't get the club wifi signal, and also have the constant sound of the waterfall in the background. Inside the van it sounded as though it was raining the whole time.

Staff were friendly and helpful, even though August is probably their most testing time. Facilities were spotless and well looked after.

Local area is ok, but apart from Longleat park itself, it's not got much else going on for it. You can access Longleat by foot just outside the site but if you are taking the car, then you need to head 1/4 mile back up the access road and turn down the VIP entrance.

Pub at the start of the entrance road was barely ok. Pretty dour staff who seemed to be going through the motions rather than providing a welcoming service, food was better than the service. Better option is the Royal Oak, which also has a lovely pub garden at the back with good views over the park. Neither pub is within walking distance.

Reasonable train service from Warminster to Bath and Bristol to the North, and Salisbury and Southampton to the South if you wanted to travel a bit further. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rtayl112 9 reviews from this member

 Very busy site right in the middle of the Longleat estate and a very short walk to the entrance of the animal park.

Site was very clean and very full, the problem we had is that we are not lovers of hard standings and the stones were not small but as the majority of the site was hard standing we had no choice.

The site has lots of trees on it so is quite sheltered and is to be honest a nice site, on a night you could sometimes hear the animals in the park which was nice,

The staff were a bit regimental at times and not as friendly as on many other Caravan Club sites we have used, maybe with it being not long after the first Covid lockdown could have had something to do with it.

Great site for the children being so close to the park and plenty of roads to ride around on their bikes. We have used the site before and would go back again despite those stones.

Re the ratings I only rate 10 out of 10 for exceptional, for us, sites. 


Date of Visit: December 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Ivorr4 1 review from this member

 Good clean site. Staff brilliant. Paid over £10 for caravan club WiFi very hit and miss.

My wife could not use her home at all no WiFi unable to get calls or make them

Lots of people walking round site trying to get a single. Waste of money 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Lynm 89 reviews from this member

 Clean, tidy site. Good security. Great ambience next to Longleat Safari Park. One downside there are 2 big toilet & facilities blocks on each half of the site.

The one we were pitched close to closed from 11:30_12:30 for cleaning so you have to walk all the way to the other side. Bit daft timing as you have to leave by 12 so it means a long trudge to do that last loo visit before you drive off. Should be 12-1 the period when noone is leaving or arriving.

We stayed midweek but by Fiday night it was rammed so glad we left Saturday. They also state there is field to play football etc on but then tents are allowed to camp on it so kids can't play there. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lynda190graham 12 reviews from this member

 Didn't hear the lions roar at night but we did hear the wolves howl.

This is the second time that we have taken our grandchildren and we all enjoyed the stay.

The wardens look after the site very well and are friendly and helpful. The bonus was that our stay coincided with the Longleat fireworks.

We will return. 


Previous     141 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Longleat Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Longleat Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Warminster      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


52974 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement