Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Longleat Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Site Reviews

Longleat Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Longleat
Warminster
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
BA12 7NL
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 164
Open: 16/03 To 03/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 131 Reviews
                9/10 from 131 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  131 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lynda190graham 10 reviews from this member

Didn't hear the lions roar at night but we did hear the wolves howl.

This is the second time that we have taken our grandchildren and we all enjoyed the stay.

The wardens look after the site very well and are friendly and helpful. The bonus was that our stay coincided with the Longleat fireworks.

We will return.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lynm 81 reviews from this member

This site is in a brilliant location not just for the Safari Park but other places around eg Stonehenge. My granddaughter loved the playground, the playroom & the park itself. The facilities are spotless & the wardens very friendly. What I was surprised about was they didn't walk around at least once a day which meant that one or two caravanners allowed their dogs to roam. The other surprise was the site shop sold bubbles which we all know if they hit the awning take the proofing off.

Apart from those niggles this is a good site.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Redface 8 reviews from this member

We have visited this campsite before and have been impressed with the location and facilities.

We arrived late afternoon and the wardens were very helpful. They explained that there were no allocated pitches and we were to drive around to locate a pitch we liked. They were really helpful in explaining which pitches had the most shade all day. We were lucky enough to get one of the last pitches that they suggested.

The park was around 2/3 full but still wasn't crowded or noisy.

They have now added a few tent pitches to the middle grass which is both a positive and a negative as it was a large playing field but this is restricted when the tents are in place.

The site has a family room which has a TV, pool table and table tennis. You can purchase a ping pong ball from reception for 50p. My son enjoyed playing this.

The toilets and showers were clean and tidy there was a wait in the morning as one of the showers were broken so it was down to 3 showers only. There were individual washing areas too which I liked as you could strip wash in privacy without needing a shower.

The wardens were on site and came round the site to check regularly but not to any annoyance.

There is a small park for the kids to play in and the site seems very safe for the children to play.

I will be staying here again to use the site to visit Longleat.

It is a shame that now you are no longer allowed to walk through Longleat during the evenings like you use to be able to do.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rob White99 1 review from this member

Quite a nice Caravan Club site - and up to their usual standards - but the directions on this (UK Campsite) website on how to get there are no longer accurate. I gather that access via the Longleat Estate was stopped a little while ago, so you need to follow the instructions on the Caravan Club website and scroll down and then click on the Ďmapí tab (just above where the table of prices begins) it not only shows you a helpful map but also detailed instructions on how to get there from the A362 at Lane End. In short, follow your sat nav to the White Hart (Postcode BA12 7PH) then follow the brown tourist signs in a southerly direction to the campsite.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Frannyvan 17 reviews from this member

This is our 2nd time to Longleat with about a 3 year gap. The site is run really well, with lovely clean facilities - shame that all campers don't treat the facilities with respect and leave toilet paper and sanitary products on the floor. Nice, hot, free running showers. Washing up was excellent, as is the first place I've been where the water is hot enough to wear gloves. Friendly wardens and a little shop with all the basics.

The play park is far too small for the site, but my kids enjoyed riding round the site on their bikes. Lots of kids learning to ride without stabilisers, including our 4 year old, who didn't want to leave.

Proximity to Longleat is amazing, meaning we could walk back for lunch and enjoy it in comfort. Shame you can no longer wander into Longleat without a day ticket. We used Tesco vouchers for Day 1 and then extended our tickets for £10 each - meaning we spent 2 days in the park for £40 cash for 4 of us and take it really easy.

Shopping - there's a large Asda in Frome just a few minutes drive, plus Lidl and a Poundland which was great for a few essential pieces of tat, such a a badminton set, frisbee and washing up brushes.

We also managed days out to Street (Clarks designer outlet village) about and hour away and Weston Super Mare, which was probably a bit too far away. Lots of info in their little tourist info room about days out, local walks, eateries etc.

One little tip - avoid the area towards the play park, as there are Emus in the field behind the hedge. They woke us up about 5am every morning, with a drumming sound, that they make in their chests, which sounds like someone playing the Bongos!

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jayarbee 29 reviews from this member


This was our second visit to Longleat with a 7 year gap.

You must take care on the first bit from the White Hart down to the site. We met a 4x4 just after we turned in and needed to back up. I would respectfully suggest slow and easy for that bit.

Easy run in to reception where a lovely warden made it nice and easy to book in and helped us pick a pitch to suit us.

This is quite a big site, about 165 spaces. There is a dog walk and a children's playground. Also I believe a playroom. I believe all pitches are hardstanding with ehu.

If you go at the right time you are met with a beautiful profusion of begonias courtesy of the warden. There also seemed to be and extraordinary number of trees which was nice.

This is a C. C. Site so no surprises. Nice clean, tidy and well run site. Lavatories and showers kept nice and clean but like all C. C. Showers the cubicles are too small.

Last time we were there we could walk in the grounds up to the house but Longleat no longer allow this. There is a barrier and manned ticket booth where we used to walk. This has nothing to do with the Caravan Club. They have no choice in the matter.

The reception sell a few things, including newspapers, but for other shopping you will need to go to either Frome or Warminster for Asda or Waitrosse.

Because of the peculiar location there doesn't seem to be a lot you can do direct from the site. I imagine most people who go here go to visit Longleat attractions. I believe it may be advantageous to visit the C. C. And Longleat websites prior to going as I believe you can get preferential deals if you do so before you leave home. These might no be available if you try on the day.

However Stourhead is a place you must visit. The gardens are superb.

More than this I don't think I can help you. We only went for three days purely to visit Stourhead.

Worth mentioning however is that at night you can hear the lions and sea-lions quite close. Quite a thing.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bluevw 5 reviews from this member

We have just returned after the August bank holiday, great site very clean and tidy, friendly staff and a great place to take young children, ours 2 & 4 loved it. With the added benefit of being in the safari estate grounds and about 50yard walk to the safari park itself was great. We had a two day pass to the park and you can leave and enter as frequently as you like just have your day pass checked by the person in the little shed at the back entrance. We heard the sea lions barking and other animals at night and in the early hours barking, which just added to the excitement of the visit. The only downside was the fish and chip van that visits the site on a Friday, the battered fish was small and thin which made it over cooked and was sadly more batter than fish.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Sarahprice66 1 review from this member

This was our first time of staying in a caravan club campsite. It was myself and husband (age 45) and our two daughters (aged 14 and 16). The directions there were great and when we rang to say we would be late, the staff were so friendly and helpful. The pitches felt very private and we were surrounded by trees with the sound of Longleat's lions and sealions making lots of noises, which we thought was great. The campsite was immaculate. We will be visiting again soon.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stick1in 1 review from this member

We stayed there over the easter weekend. The site was very clean and extremely well maintained. The staff were very helpful. The shop was well stocked the basics. The toilet blocks were fresh and modern and also well maintained. The play area was suitable for younger children. All in all a great site and we shall definitely be going back there again

Date of Visit: December 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: David Klyne 212 reviews from this member

To Find Site:-Leave A36 onto the A362 towards Frome. At Lane End turn left at the White Hart public house. From here to the site is about two miles and is well signed. However this access road is quite narrow in places and care must be taken as passing oncoming vehicles can be difficult. For obvious reasons new arrivals should be after 1. 00pm.

This campsite is part of the Longleat Estate. It couldnít be any more convenient for visiting the attractions that Longleat has to offer. The reverse of that is that it is otherwise a bit remote if for example you have a motorhome which you donít want to take off site. The site is open between March and early January and accepts non-members but not tents. There are 164 pitches, the majority are on hardstanding. The site has many mature trees which might cause a problem if you want satellite TV but co-ax connections are available. Mobile reception can be poor depending on network. Electric points are convenient to all pitches and are rated at 16amps and use CEE17 blue connectors. There are two toilet blocks to usual Club high standards. At quieter times of year one block might be closed. Service points are dotted around the site. There are two motorhome service points but both require heavy drain covers to access. In the centre of the site is the information room and the building also has a family room with table tennis table. In addition for smaller children there is a playground. There is site wide WiFi but speed is fairly limited but perhaps not unexpected given the remoteness of the site. Reception sells a few essentials. Generally the site is quite peaceful but remember you are next door to a Safari Park so there will be some animal noise from time to time. Likewise the pitches along the approach road are subject to a bit of estate traffic noise during working hours.

I am sure the majority of campers that visit this site do so to enjoy the various attractions that Longleat offers. The entrance is literally outside the campsite gate. Longleat is geared up for children of all ages. If you visit the campsite page on the Club website there are links to reduced price entry tickets and when available donít forget to download vouchers for savings on catering and gift shops. Be aware that not every attraction is included in the ticket price. For the railways and Safari Bus an additional fee applies. Around Christmas time Longleat have their Festival of Light which is mainly based around Chinese lanterns and other features and is well worth a visit.

Previous     131 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


873 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019