Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Longleat Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Warminster > Longleat Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Longleat Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Longleat
Warminster
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
BA12 7NL
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 164
Open: 16/03/2021 to 03/01/2022
           16/03/2022 to 03/01/2023

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 136 Reviews
                9/10 from 136 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  136 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Saftlad 7 reviews from this member

 Quite a large site, access road is narrow in places but given that most people using it are going to/from the campsite, getting the van down is ok.

The majority of the pitches have been laid to hardstand with just a handful of grassed pitches, and almost all pitches have tree cover. Seems very popular with families, lots of children around and it's worth being very careful as they fly around on their bikes. TV reception was ok with the onboard aerial, the bollards all have a TV socket for connection if necessary, though you may need a long cable to connect.

Power leads push into the socket, then twist to engage - caught us and our neighbour out. Push the button beside the socket to disengage. Wifi and mobile service is patchy, you'll see people standing around the outside of the site trying to find a reasonable signal.

Pitches 80-86 don't get the club wifi signal, and also have the constant sound of the waterfall in the background. Inside the van it sounded as though it was raining the whole time.

Staff were friendly and helpful, even though August is probably their most testing time. Facilities were spotless and well looked after.

Local area is ok, but apart from Longleat park itself, it's not got much else going on for it. You can access Longleat by foot just outside the site but if you are taking the car, then you need to head 1/4 mile back up the access road and turn down the VIP entrance.

Pub at the start of the entrance road was barely ok. Pretty dour staff who seemed to be going through the motions rather than providing a welcoming service, food was better than the service. Better option is the Royal Oak, which also has a lovely pub garden at the back with good views over the park. Neither pub is within walking distance.

Reasonable train service from Warminster to Bath and Bristol to the North, and Salisbury and Southampton to the South if you wanted to travel a bit further. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rtayl112 5 reviews from this member

 Very busy site right in the middle of the Longleat estate and a very short walk to the entrance of the animal park.

Site was very clean and very full, the problem we had is that we are not lovers of hard standings and the stones were not small but as the majority of the site was hard standing we had no choice.

The site has lots of trees on it so is quite sheltered and is to be honest a nice site, on a night you could sometimes hear the animals in the park which was nice,

The staff were a bit regimental at times and not as friendly as on many other Caravan Club sites we have used, maybe with it being not long after the first Covid lockdown could have had something to do with it.

Great site for the children being so close to the park and plenty of roads to ride around on their bikes. We have used the site before and would go back again despite those stones.

Re the ratings I only rate 10 out of 10 for exceptional, for us, sites. 


Date of Visit: December 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Ivorr4 1 review from this member

 Good clean site. Staff brilliant. Paid over £10 for caravan club WiFi very hit and miss.

My wife could not use her home at all no WiFi unable to get calls or make them

Lots of people walking round site trying to get a single. Waste of money 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Lynm 86 reviews from this member

 Clean, tidy site. Good security. Great ambience next to Longleat Safari Park. One downside there are 2 big toilet & facilities blocks on each half of the site.

The one we were pitched close to closed from 11:30_12:30 for cleaning so you have to walk all the way to the other side. Bit daft timing as you have to leave by 12 so it means a long trudge to do that last loo visit before you drive off. Should be 12-1 the period when noone is leaving or arriving.

We stayed midweek but by Fiday night it was rammed so glad we left Saturday. They also state there is field to play football etc on but then tents are allowed to camp on it so kids can't play there. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lynda190graham 10 reviews from this member

 Didn't hear the lions roar at night but we did hear the wolves howl.

This is the second time that we have taken our grandchildren and we all enjoyed the stay.

The wardens look after the site very well and are friendly and helpful. The bonus was that our stay coincided with the Longleat fireworks.

We will return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Happiecamperz 1 review from this member

 Loved it very nice and quiet campsite ideal for Longleat park. Staff very helpful.

Shower block and toilet immaculate.

We will be going back. For all that it was the kids holidays it was peaceful. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lynm 86 reviews from this member

 This site is in a brilliant location not just for the Safari Park but other places around eg Stonehenge. My granddaughter loved the playground, the playroom & the park itself. The facilities are spotless & the wardens very friendly. What I was surprised about was they didn't walk around at least once a day which meant that one or two caravanners allowed their dogs to roam. The other surprise was the site shop sold bubbles which we all know if they hit the awning take the proofing off.

Apart from those niggles this is a good site. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Redface 8 reviews from this member

 We have visited this campsite before and have been impressed with the location and facilities.

We arrived late afternoon and the wardens were very helpful. They explained that there were no allocated pitches and we were to drive around to locate a pitch we liked. They were really helpful in explaining which pitches had the most shade all day. We were lucky enough to get one of the last pitches that they suggested.

The park was around 2/3 full but still wasn't crowded or noisy.

They have now added a few tent pitches to the middle grass which is both a positive and a negative as it was a large playing field but this is restricted when the tents are in place.

The site has a family room which has a TV, pool table and table tennis. You can purchase a ping pong ball from reception for 50p. My son enjoyed playing this.

The toilets and showers were clean and tidy there was a wait in the morning as one of the showers were broken so it was down to 3 showers only. There were individual washing areas too which I liked as you could strip wash in privacy without needing a shower.

The wardens were on site and came round the site to check regularly but not to any annoyance.

There is a small park for the kids to play in and the site seems very safe for the children to play.

I will be staying here again to use the site to visit Longleat.

It is a shame that now you are no longer allowed to walk through Longleat during the evenings like you use to be able to do. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rob White99 1 review from this member

 Quite a nice Caravan Club site - and up to their usual standards - but the directions on this (UK Campsite) website on how to get there are no longer accurate. I gather that access via the Longleat Estate was stopped a little while ago, so you need to follow the instructions on the Caravan Club website and scroll down and then click on the ‘map’ tab (just above where the table of prices begins) it not only shows you a helpful map but also detailed instructions on how to get there from the A362 at Lane End. In short, follow your sat nav to the White Hart (Postcode BA12 7PH) then follow the brown tourist signs in a southerly direction to the campsite. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Frannyvan 17 reviews from this member

 This is our 2nd time to Longleat with about a 3 year gap. The site is run really well, with lovely clean facilities - shame that all campers don't treat the facilities with respect and leave toilet paper and sanitary products on the floor. Nice, hot, free running showers. Washing up was excellent, as is the first place I've been where the water is hot enough to wear gloves. Friendly wardens and a little shop with all the basics.

The play park is far too small for the site, but my kids enjoyed riding round the site on their bikes. Lots of kids learning to ride without stabilisers, including our 4 year old, who didn't want to leave.

Proximity to Longleat is amazing, meaning we could walk back for lunch and enjoy it in comfort. Shame you can no longer wander into Longleat without a day ticket. We used Tesco vouchers for Day 1 and then extended our tickets for £10 each - meaning we spent 2 days in the park for £40 cash for 4 of us and take it really easy.

Shopping - there's a large Asda in Frome just a few minutes drive, plus Lidl and a Poundland which was great for a few essential pieces of tat, such a a badminton set, frisbee and washing up brushes.

We also managed days out to Street (Clarks designer outlet village) about and hour away and Weston Super Mare, which was probably a bit too far away. Lots of info in their little tourist info room about days out, local walks, eateries etc.

One little tip - avoid the area towards the play park, as there are Emus in the field behind the hedge. They woke us up about 5am every morning, with a drumming sound, that they make in their chests, which sounds like someone playing the Bongos! 


Previous     136 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Longleat Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Longleat Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Warminster      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3789 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement