Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Longleat Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Warminster > Longleat Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Longleat Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Longleat
Warminster
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
BA12 7NL
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 164
Open: 16/03/2021 to 03/01/2022
           16/03/2022 to 03/01/2023

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 136 Reviews
                9/10 from 136 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  136 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: N1tramr1c 2 reviews from this member

 This is one of the best sites I have ever been on, so handy for getting around the Longleat estate just out of the site turn left and walk 200 yds and you are in amongst all the attractions, you can also walk around here in the evening after all the day visitors have gone.

The site is very well kept clean and tidy and with spotless toilets and hot showers, with 165 pitches it doesn't feel crowded as the pitches are huge and mostly hardstandings with just about 20 grass.

The wardens are very friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble, and the best thing they are not wandering about looking for fault but are there if needed.

There is an area they call the village green where you can sit on benches and the kids can play gentle ball games or throw a Frisbee. There is also a family room were DVD's are played at weekends, and when we were there the world cup was on. There is also a play area with swings for the under 10's.

TV reception is good through the bollard and also Wi-Fi is available, but cell phone coverage is poor and you need to go out on the lane to get a signal.

There is a small shop in reception where they sell the basics, milk eggs bacon papers gas pegs and so on, but Asda is only 3 miles away so no problem.

A great site with plenty to do, we will return. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Isobelm 2 reviews from this member

 The best campsite I have been to so far. Very clean facilities, hairdryers and privacy units in toilet blocks, clean cloths everyday, clean mop for doing showers. Staff at shop very nice and helpful, long road to get in via the entry for Longleat but a lovely view. Shading where necessary in site.

Could hear the seals through the night and early morning It was the mating season. Just a short stroll from site into attractions at Longleat, its a pity its so far away from us as I would definitely be visiting this a lot.

Lots of lovely wee villages round about but be prepared to use the car a lot, ducks like to come into the site when the park is closed, even had them in our awning! 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lingaz 12 reviews from this member

 This is our 4th visit in as many years and it is still as brilliant, wardens great, toilet block immaculate. Chips from chip van lovely, and plenty to do just a little walk down the road at longleat.

This year I saved tesco vouchers to get my passport ticket for longleat attractions so they only cost £6-50 each instead of £24-00.

The road leaving the site is very narrow and we found the locals tend to drive quite fast on it so you have to be careful.

Asda supermarket in frome and morrisons in warminster. Good park and ride into salisbury and stonehenge worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bobsan03 14 reviews from this member

 This site is a must to visit even though it is very busy. Set in the grounds of Longleat, you can stroll leisurely and take in the atmosphere of the grounds at no charge, if you want to enter the safari Park or the main house and enjoy the attractions you can by a passport ticket that is well worth the money it costs £24 an adult.

Bath is only 15mins away and Frome is 5mins by car where you can purchase local produce and enjoy a little market on a Saturday. There is quite a large Asda too.

There are 2 pubs approx 3mins in car away,the one is dog friendly and serves good food.

Yes we did hear the lions roar, but, it was only one night out of the 5 nights we stayed,it didn't disturb our sleep.

We shall enjoy returning sometime in the near future 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lucie123 8 reviews from this member

 This is a fantastic site, toilets clean, showers warm plenty of hot water too. The site is peaceful apart from the sealions barking, the lions roaring and the wolves howling, which is an added bonus.

You can wander round the grounds in the evening, it's great for fishing too. It's a nice walk to the pub but the food there is a little pricey and not very good. The chip van that comes round is very nice.

Highly recommend and we are returning again in a few weeks. Remember to take pushbikes as there are plenty of cycle routes and it makes exploring the estate easier. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Badger582 10 reviews from this member

 The view as you arrive on the grounds is magnificent, what a Wow factor to your arrival! We had plenty of choice of pitches, as we arrived early on a Friday afternoon, but by the evening the site was quite full.

We pitched on a hard-standing with lots of room for car, van and awning and surrounded by lots of mature trees and plenty of visiting ducks!. The little train ran by every hour.

We were close to the park area, which our son loved and made some nice friends. The only thing he missed was a larger grassed area to play football or games during the day, but then he is football mad like most 9 year olds!.

Even though the site was full, the toilets were always immaculate, and the site didnít feel busy.

We got the Longleat passport ticket using Tesco club card, £6.50 each instead of £24 per adult! The safari was amazing, and seeing the deer feeding out of your hand was quite something. The safari boat trip was great too, and heard the sea lions most of the weekend which was not annoying at all, quite lovely.

Woke often during the night to hear the lions and wolves, which is pretty strange but amazing! Our son loved the huge adventure castle, the house tour, the simulator car ride, the parrot show, etc. Everything was just superb for him (and us!).

After the park closed, we went cycling around the grounds for a few hours, and had deer walking by the side of the roads with us. Itís so peaceful and beautiful, and you feel very special being allowed to roam around the area after everyone else has gone home!

The shop stocked enough for our needs, but then we always do a big shop before setting out. Kept us happy with ice cream and drinks as we were very lucky to have temperatures in the 30ís!

Planning our next trip back already! 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Boothy1402 1 review from this member

 The weather couldn't have been better, and to see kids having water fights and loads of small paddling pools by the side of the caravans was lovely. We arrived the Thursday before the kids broke up so was very quiet so we were able to choose a really pitch 140 I think.

Lovely pitch hard standing and very big with nobody in front of us. We could just about hear the sea lions at night and in the day which was great!. We bought a passport ticket which is well worth it.

The adventure park is great and if you want to go in and just pay it is £4 just for the child but well worth it. We went in about 4 times. It has a little wet area where kids can run through water fountain which was heaving in hot weather. I love the fact you can walk into the park even at night when it is closed to the general public. We use to do this most nights and play frizbee in front of the house!

We also use to walk passed the house through the fields and down a side round passed Nico on his island watching telly! The safari park is a must. The monkeys were in quarantine so no damage to the cars. Feeding the deer from your car was just amazing, my daughter loved it.

The site itself is lovely and safe. My daughter loved the fact she could just cycle round and be safe. The toilet blocks were clean although the showers were extremely busy first thing in the morning, but this was to be expected in the holidays. I think people from a near by rally were using the showers though.

The only thing I would say is the shop could have been bigger saying that the sight is big and no local shops near by. Asda is only 3 miles away but would have been nice to have be able to get more products from the shop. Sign post coming from the north west aren't good and we found that the sat nav was taking us all over the world. We used our map in the end. I think the best way in would be through bath which is a lot quicker.

We will defo be going back in the near future and I cant see why anybody wouldn't like this site. My daughter loved it and so did my mum and dad. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Anita Jane 15 reviews from this member

 This was our third visit to the club site and with out a doubt this is by far one of the caravan clubs best site.

Everything about this site is perfect there is no down side at all. From the wonderful clean shower and toilet blocks to Mr Chips the mobile chip van who arrives on site every Tues, Fri and Sat.

The wardens on site are always cheerful and willing to offer any help they can.

Asda is only a short drive away at Frome should you need to stock up on anything and they also have a petrol station there as well.

It has already been decided that we will be going again next year, the site is addictive. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Claydoncamper 28 reviews from this member

 I can only echo what previous reviewers have said about this site, it really is fantastic in all ways.

On arrival we were told to find a pitch wherever we liked and that they were all hard standing, which, I think was due to the heavy rain we had in the previous few days.

The pitches were of a decent size and the hard standing material was ok for awning rock pegs. All pitches have electric hook-up from bollards that are illuminated at night. Everywhere the site was immaculate.

Despite the rain, the toilet and shower floors were always clean and mud free and the actual toilets, wash basins and shower cubicles were immaculate. The showers themselves had plenty of hot water and were easily controllable. More to the point, they were free running showers, not those ones that shut off every 30 seconds. There were plenty of rubbish bins and recycling facilities around the site as well. The rubbish was constantly collected.

The site is very near to the Longleat attractions and you can be in the heart of it in under a few minutes. The site is also near to the Longleat train and the lake and the sounds of sealions barking is quite distinct and far from unpleasant or disturbing as is the whistling and chugging of the miniature train.

On the site, the children can ride their bikes around very safely and there is a nice, well maintained play area for them as well. There is a site shop but it is very limited in stock. Having said that, Asda in Frome is a very short drive away, as is the very nice Leisure Centre they have there if you fancy a swim.

If Longleat itself isnít your thing, try Wookey Hole (use Tesco days out or Caravan Club Great Days Out vouchers for this), Cheddar Caves and Gorge (use CC vouchers), Weston-Super-Mare, Glastonbury or many other lovely places to visit.

My top-tip for the site is this. On Friday, Saturday and Tuesday a chip van comes on site at 6pm. He goes around the site tooting his horn to let you know he has arrived. He then parks opposite the recycling bins outside the laundry. Make sure you get to the stopping point before 6pm because the queues can be horrendous once heís there.

I couldnít see a downside to this site and would certainly go again. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Setter50 21 reviews from this member

 Wow! From the moment you pass the sculptures at the entrance to the estate (I think they're supposed to represent two halves of an arch) you know this is going to be special. The 4 mile drive down the hill (with views of the safari park) sweeping past the entrance to the house and on through Longleat Woods has got to be just about the perfect approach to any caravan site in the country.

The site itself exceeds even the very high standards of the caravan club. Check in is straight forward and there is a good choice of huge hardstanding pitches. Even though it was almost full this weekend, it never felt crowded and we never had to queue for the facilities which were spotless.

The wardens work really hard to keep the place in good nick! There is a small dog walk and children's' play area, but with the whole of the estate on your doorstep you probably won't use them!

The shop stocks basics but there is and Asda just down the road on the outkirts of Frome. A 15 minute stroll up the drive from the house leads to Horningsham and the Bath Arms which does excellent food, is dog friendly and has a real suntrap of a terrace at the front.

We live within an hour's drive so will visit again but even if we'd been coming from further afield, we'd still return. To cap it all, the weather was brilliant all weekend, What more could you ask for? 


Previous     136 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Longleat Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Longleat Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Warminster      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3304 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement