Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Foxhills Adult Camping And Caravanning Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Holt > Foxhills Adult Camping And Caravanning Site Reviews

Foxhills Adult Camping And Caravanning Site
Weybourne
Holt
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR25 7EH
Tel: 01263 588253
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 54 Reviews
                9/10 from 54 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  54 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Shaden2 4 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from an extended Easter break spent with good friends at the very charming Foxhills site. Despite the inclement weather all of us had a wonderful time at this rather quirky, retro and basic site but these are good things trust me!. The owners Steve & AnnMarie are extremely helpful and obliging and are clearly in the process of investing in the site with improvements on-going whilst we were there.

This site is really well placed for must do attractions such as Sheringham Park and the North Norfolk Railway (Poppy Line). If you get tired of cooking for yourselves then the short walk to the Ship Inn PH is ideal for the proverbial pie and a pint.

Although this was our first visit Foxhills has already rightly earned its place on our favourites list and therefore we will definitely be back asap. Many thanks Steve & AnnMarie from all our group inc Mitch the dog for making our stay such a pleasant one. 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Swanny65 11 reviews from this member

 Just returned from Easter at Foxhills. We were given warm welcome by the owners. We pitched with 3 other families, all with motorhomes, in an area with a beautiful sea view over the field next to the site. However this area is exposed to all the elements with 4 seasons in an hour not unusual. Cooking a BBQ breakfast on Easter Sunday covered in snow and eating it with sunshine beaming in through our awning.

They are in the process of updating the site, removing overgrown hedges and adding additional electric hook-ups. However the site remains charming with ample room for caravans, motorhomes and tents. There is a separate CL area for Caravan Club members. The pitches are twice the size of many I have used elsewhere.

The toilets were functional. There was a large separate shower room, with plenty of room to change. There was no hot water at the vegetable preparation / washing up area, but I suspect these are on Steve's to do list.

There is a large open area in the centre of the site where our children played football.

The Ship PH in the village is a 5 minute walk from the site. Excellent food served there and a good selection of real ales. Close to both Holt and Sherringham.

The owners have a little gem and we wish then all the best for the future. We will be paying Foxhills a return visit. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 138 reviews from this member

 Think ‘The Famous Five’ and enjoy retro 50’s camping at Foxhills. The owner inherited this site from his father who started the camping in the late 40’s. He admits that his dad didn’t like to spend any money on the site. Retaining the ‘rustic’ facilities from his dad, the site transports you back to the delights of earlier days with unheated toilets and electric over sink water heaters!

The pitches are spacious and some do have electric, with good walks and cycling directly from the site. Steve (the owner) is very helpful and able to offer much advice and information of hidden gems and delights to be found in the area. A hand drawn local map (by 80 year old Wilfrid George) available on site at £ 2. 50 provides a very helpful annotated guide to the area.

Sheringham is 3 miles from the site and is a lovely seaside town with local shops and facilities. Try Jenny’s en-route to Sheringham for her own local dressed crab and lobster – very good and reasonably priced.

Overall nice quirky site, ‘jolly hockey-sticks and lashings of ginger beer’ – The Famous Five! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bramble2 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from our first ever stay at Foxhills and being honest did not want to leave

I felt unsure after reading some of these reviews but can assure you that the toilets were very clean, stocked with toilet paper, hand wash and paper towels

The 2 shower areas were also very clean and huge compared to other sites we have visited. A massive bonus for me was no timer and no tokens. I have long hair and have struggled on may sites to wash my hair - timers/tokens run out and I then have to wait for temperatures None of this here. Free flowing water which you can change power settings on and they are not fixed heads, Just pick up and move where you like so much easier for rinsing. A woman commented at one site we were at in Wensleydale at how she struggled fitting in the shower with her children and getting them showered - she would have had no trouble here at all

There is also a washing up point with constant hot water.

The site as previously stated only had pitches around the outside.

Everyone has a huge amount of space - something we have never experienced at any of the many sites we have visited

We don't have children and honestly sometimes when camping, after a long day, the noise can get irritating However not here Children played freely but due to the space you could barely hear them. It was an amazing plan to set the site out this way

Steve's and Annemarie were incredible too - both greated us on arrival and immediately came to our pitch with us - asked if we needed anything, gave us information. Annemarie even checked on Bramble (our dog) as she knew she had been a bit travel ill) We have never experienced any of these wonderful touches anywhere we have stayed before.

The site was full yet so peaceful, rabbits pop their heads around and a multitude of different bird songs.

The atmosphere was second to none. Everyone was so friendly as if we'd all known each other years. We cannot wait to get back 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mattt44 6 reviews from this member

 As the previous review says, the site has 2 toilets for ladies, with sinks and 3 toilets and 1 sink room with shaver point and an extra sink for the gentlemen.

Comes with toilet paper, hand wash and paper towels.

There is also a washing up point with constant hot water.

There are 2 unisex showers, which means that at peak times you may have to queue for a bit when it is busy.

The showers are very big and free but basic, so is the toilet block, if you want underfloor heating and brand new stuff, you are going to be disappointed.

We were only talking a couple of weeks ago about how it would be lovely to find an old school site which was basic, but clean, cheap for the area and with lovely owners.

Well this is it! With a capital L for Lovely for the owners, they really make this site.

Nothing is too much for them, they were often around asking if you were ok and just chatting to the campers for ages, this is their home and you really get that feeling, they have loads of time for the children and anything anyone wants to discuss, they gave us help in finding local boot sales, the best chip shop, walks, you name it, they knew the answer, or would find it for you on the PC.

After a huge deluge on our first day, Steve walked around checking everyone was OK.

And Steve helped me to fix my rear view mirror that my son broke while we were packing up. Thanks Steve!

We weren't in the best spot, so after the first night Steve said we could move to another, at first I said I would, but then we decided we couldn't be bothered to move everything, Steve offered to help us move the tent if it would help, now that's really nice and a personal touch missing from many sites.

Steve's and Annemarie's ideals, mean that no one can camp in the middle of the field, so that whole area is free for kids/big kids, to play and for ball games. That is an amazing thing in itself, where as most sites will stuff you in anywhere, here, as soon as the outside is full, the campsite full notice goes out. And it's not a small area, you could easily get another 10+ large pitches in there.

Just for that they deserve a 10.

I understand they have only been running the site for just over a year, after taking over from Steve's father, well they are off to a brilliant start and I have no doubt they will continue to change things for the better

Because of the round the outside only rule, the site never feels crowded, even when it is full, there is always plenty of space.

There are no kids climbing frames, but with all the space, all the kids from the site ran around together, having a whale of a time. There was a little grassed bank near to the site office that the kids loved running up and down and playing around, which makes me wonder if all any site needs is a big grassed mound of different heights and all the kids would congregate there and play to their hearts content.

I would recommend this site to anyone who wants a basic, family run, clean, quiet and friendly one.

For us with our 2 kids, it was perfect. We will definitely be going back.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Happy -Campers 24 reviews from this member

 We were lucky to get a pitch when we called in at this site as it was a decent weekend in school holidays.

The owner is a friendly chap

There are two toilets for ladies and three for gents.

There are two showers

There was also a washing up area.

We did have to queue for toilets and shower as it was a busy time but not for long

These facilities are basic

The owner has a stock of milk and some cold canned drinks, sweets and crisps which were very welcomed treat.

Next door to the tank museum 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: VICMITCH66 7 reviews from this member

 I loved my visit here. Very dog friendly (as long as your dog is well behaved). If you look on the website, my dog is Millie, the special one! All units are amply spaced around the outside perimeter of the field, so you do not feel that you are on top of each other. It leaves big spaces in the middle of the field for impromptu games of rounders etc. Some really nice walks, although to get to them, you have to walk on the unpathed road, but traffic is limited to 20 miles an hour. The Ship Inn is less than half a mile's walk along the unpathed road, and has a dog friendly bar and garden. It's worth the effort. The facilities at the site are very dated, however, you are camping after all, not renting a hotel room. The owners of the site are lovely, very helpful. They only took over the site about a year ago but I really hope they do well. I'm coming back again in a few weeks. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nicoletteleisa 2 reviews from this member

 Had a fab week on a great camp site. Owners very friendly, even baked me a birthday cake! A busy jubilee weekend but still loads of space for fun and games. It never seemed too crowded. We also got to join in the jubilee party with all the other campers.

Our two dogs were made very welcome. And thanks for the reassuring invite to the main house if the windy weather became too much. Nice to know we could have somewhere to escape to if needed (luckily we didn't!).

Lovely walks from the campsite, although you do have to walk along the road for a short way, no kerb or verge until you get to the footpath entrance. Toilets and shower basic but clean, we use our own facilities anyway.

A great campsite, fantastic owners and would thoroughly recommend a visit. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tembeys 2 reviews from this member

 For us this campsite is ideal, peaceful, safe for children and close to everything we need. There is a pub less than 10 minutes walk away in the village of Weybourne where you will also find a fab village store which is also a coffee shop with great cakes and access to the shingle beach which our dog loved. The site is pet friendly and has the most lovely owners who really do go that extra mile for you. Although the toilet/shower facilities are basic they were always clean and that was even over the busy full bank holiday weekend. It is such good value for money everyone should choose it as such gems these days are far and few. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Cstafford 1 review from this member

 We had a 2 night stay at Foxhills campsite in early may. The campsite is well kept with all facilities needed. The toilets and showers are spotlessly clean and the water is always hot! There is a washing up area too. The owners are really helpful and will go out of their way to help you out. We had a choice of camping pitches, and chose one of the new ones with a fantastic view of the sea.

The location is perfect! Staggering distance from 2 local pubs serving good food, walking distance to the steam train on the poppy line travelling to Holt and Sherringham, and the coast hopper bus stops right outside the campsite entrance.

Great little campsite, highly recommended! We are looking forward to returning in the summer for another weekend! 


Previous     54 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Foxhills Adult Camping And Caravanning Site child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Foxhills Adult Camping And Caravanning Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Foxhills Adult Camping And Caravanning Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Holt      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3952 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement