Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Meadow View Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Wimborne > Meadow View Caravan Park Reviews

CLOSED: Meadow View Caravan Park
Wigbeth
Horton
Wimborne
Dorset   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 82 Reviews
                9/10 from 82 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  82 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Blister69 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely, friendly campsite.

We spent a week there in June, and had a fantastic stay. Very welcoming on arrival, and we were shown to our pitch. The manager gave us all the local info, which meant we didn't need to spend days finding the best places.

The shower block and facilities were all spotless, and they have more than one block which is good. We don't have kids, but there would have been plenty of room for them to play if we did. We do have a dog though and the campsite has a dedicated field for walking, with a bin in 2 corners, so it was very clean and muck free.

The local pub was nice, good selection of food and drink, and a lovely place to sit on a sunny evening.

If like us, you don't want electric they do charge 50p per freezer block for freezing. However they don't charge for showers, so it evens out.

Great site all in All 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Katelharris 7 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site in a nice setting. We went on the spring bank holiday weekend, so it was pretty busy. The newest toilet block is very nice and incredibly warm inside. Unfortunately the hot water couldn't keep up with the number of visitors over the bank holiday weekend, so we had a couple of cold showers. I would have thought that it would be fine on a normal weekend.

The owner and warden were quite friendly. They keep the gate locked and give you a key, which is a bit of a pain.

Great location. The site is really near Moors Valley Country Park, which is brilliant for the kids. Ringwood is a lovely little town.

We paid 15/night for a tent with 2 adults and a car, which we were quite happy with. 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Broic 16 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this campsite for 3 nights. Initially planned to stay for one, but it was such a great campsite we were convinced to stay for longer! Large campsite with a variety of options available - we stayed in the shepards hut, which we recommend! Wood burner / sofa / bed / fridge / kettle. Ideal for a freezing cold night in March.

The owner is very friendly. Provided plenty of wood for the fire / advice on where to go / where to eat. We camp regularly and are happy with basic / standard toilet blocks but this place is of such a high standard! New toilet / shower block is amazing - large shower areas with space to get dressed / plenty of hot water / and heated towel rails!

Close to Bournemouth / Poole / coast / new forest!

There is no doubt that we will be back in the summer to camp for a few nights. We would highly recommend this place! 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tent-tastic 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here last year and just catching up on my reviews!

Lovely, well kept site - grass was practically manicured. We pitched up down by the lake which was lovely and quiet. Toilet and shower facilities were brilliant and loved the woodland chalet style. Washing up sinks were also really handy with plenty of space.

Campsite owner was so helpful, when the fish and chip van didn't turn up on the Friday night he drove round all of the units and took orders before setting off to collect them!

We also hired the fire pit which was a lovely touch for one evening. Brilliant location, we visited some lovely beaches and did a fantastic walk through the New Forest - most attractions are a drive away although I did notice signs for a country park just round the corner.

Would highly recommend! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mirabelle 37 reviews from this member

 My husband and I begun our 10th Wedding anniversary week away with 3 nights at Meadow View accompanied my my Mum, Sister and Niece and although the most basic it turned out to be the site we enjoyed the most of the 3 we stayed at.

The site is in a lovely rural location and handy for visiting lots of places/beaches etc. We have been here once before but enjoyed it more second time around, scenic views down to the surrounding forest make this site feel special.

The pitches are well organised and maintained, toilets and showers were fine, although it was hard to get one at times as it was busy and there was mud all over the floor from previous campers(not the sites fault!). Sue's Ice cream van comes round (and Fish and Chips on Friday) and I was informed the ice cream was exceptionally delicious (wish I could have had one!)

I think this site has managed to maintain a lovely old fashioned feel which I personally loved. The warden we saw was really friendly and helpful, especially when we had asked for an extra night (which was agreed for us) only to have to leave on the Monday after all as my Mum was not feeling well.

Thanks Meadow View, I'm looking forward to return visits! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Semart 1 review from this member

 Excellent and friendly site. The wardens kept every pitch well apart which gave loads of room for children to play. It felt very safe and clean.

We stayed for a week and left wishing we could have stayed longer.

You will need a car as the site is in a remote location but we enjoyed Weymouth, Poole and Bournemouth without any problem.

The pub is very close but we could not find a footpath to it. Would highly recommend this site to others who want a quiet break. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stuartbrooke 3 reviews from this member

 A very enjoyable campsite, great views, especially if you are on the bottom field. The site is a long way from the beaches of Bournemouth and Boscome but really near the New Forest. Only real crticism is that the toilet blocks soon got over crowded when the site was full. You need the showers to have a mop and bucket so you can clean up after yourself as grass and mud ended up on the floors. A long way to the local shop for milk, bread etc. No playground for the children but a very large play field however. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Thunderboltflyer 3 reviews from this member

 Visited over Jubilee week. Nice open layout and plenty of space for children to play in the main field. Very friendly, helpful staff. We got caught in the gales and heavy rain but ground seems well drained and within a day the grass had drained well so no boggy puddles.

2 main Toilet blocks are quite new but possibly not enough as there is only a couple of showers and toilets in each. (note to site owners - a mop/bucket or squeegee to clean floor might be useful).

There were some additional portable toilets in one field but didn't visit them to comment.

No shop on site but its only a couple of miles to local store or morrisons in Verwood. Ice cream van visited daily and chippy van on Fridays. All in all a lovely friendly site. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Laura.M 4 reviews from this member

 Visited Meadow View over the Jubilee long weekend. The site is very spacious - even on a busy Bank Holiday - no cramming in of visitors, which is great. Plenty of space between units.

The shower and toilet blocks were brand new and very well appointed. We were slightly worried at first as we thought there was only 1 shower in the nearest 'new' block - but then found the 'secret shower' tucked behind the block. The facilities were kept immaculately clean, even on very wet days (which there were a couple of, sadly!).

The owners/site managers were more than helpful -suggesting a lovely beach that dogs are allowed on, a lovely walk through the woods to Horton Tower and then on to a nice pub and a local camping store. More than this, they were available whenever needed, constantly checking the site and always happy and smiling.

The site is in a lovely location, near beaches, towns, a decent supermarket and lovely walks. The quiet rule was pretty well managed, everything went pretty quiet around 10ish, which is lovely. Campfires are allowed in firepits - which can be hired for 10 per night - including a big bag of firebricks, which we found reasonable.

We hope to return to Meadow View. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bradybunch4 11 reviews from this member

 I`d like to write a bad review about this site. So no one else goes there and we can keep it for us!

From the minute we arrived on site the owners were more than welcoming. We were taken to a pitch right at the top of the site in the meadow bit. It was a bit separate from the rest of the site, mainly because we had dogs with us I think, but this was more than fine and the view from the pitch was amazing. Even though the site was very full it never felt like it, units were well spaced and there was plenty of room for the kids to play ball games.

On arrival we were a bit worried about the sparse facilities, 4 showers each gender and one disabled. BUT we never had to queue, there was always hot water and they were always spotless. We think they have a tame cleaning fairy because we never saw anyone cleaning but everything was spotless all weekend even though the site was full.

The owners recommended a fabulous beach to take the kids /dog for a run one day, and a local walk to Horton Tower via Drusilla`s Inn the next. The pub was lovely.

Little bit of a drive to the supermarket, just meant you had to be more organised.

Having the firepit and bags of wood delivered to your pitch is a nice touch too, for those of you that have them. You can use your dutch oven over the firepit.

Dispite the site being full, at no point was it noisy, if you want a peaceful break there was no music, just the noise of kids playing and people laughing and chatting. The 10. 30 request for noise to be at a minimum was adhered to even though there were lots of Jubilee parties going on.

If I was going to be REALLY picky, unless you`re on the bottom field some of the pitches are on a bit of a slope. But in the grand scheme of things that's nothing.

All in all we had a fabulous weekend, Meadow View is on my favourites list and we`re already planning to return. 


Previous     82 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show - Exeter 28/01 to 30/01
Come along to Westpoint Exeter for a day of all things motorhome & campervan. The show is held both in the main indoor arena and across the ground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2632 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement