Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Meadow View Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Wimborne > Meadow View Caravan Park Reviews

CLOSED: Meadow View Caravan Park
Wigbeth
Horton
Wimborne
Dorset   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 82 Reviews
                9/10 from 82 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  82 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jfdiyes 10 reviews from this member

 Just had a lovely weekend stay here with a pal. Only 3 units on the lower field - us next to the lake, another tent up the top by the hedge & a caravan by the track on EHU - so to say it was quiet would be a bit of an understatement! I think there were people in the hardstanding area, but I never saw them.

Lovely big, gently sloping site with short mown grass - but can get v chilly at night as it appears to be a bit of a 'mist hollow' and the wind whips down the field.

Facilities are great - decent shower and that heated towel rail - with plenty of space to move round in & places to hang stuff so it doesn't get damp.

Bit of traffic noise from the road passing the site, but not enough to bother us.

Not seen mention of the Airstreams yet, There were 3 set up (presumably for weekend hire)reflecting the sun - & a load more in an adjacent field. Maybe if the owner updated the website you'd know they had them - & the gazebo is now a toilet block & there's no BBQ area!

Lovely time - we'll be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Eileenhoops 5 reviews from this member

 We booked in here as a last minute thing because the campsite we wanted to go to in Lymington was fully booked, so this was basically a lucky shot, we wanted a site that accepted dogs, allowed campfires and had a lake, never really thought we'd find one with all 3 but we did, fate played a hand in us getting this site and I'm so very glad it did

We loved it, its relaxed, beautiful, well maintained and the showers were lovely and clean and hot most of the time

It did get busy (ish) over the BH weekend but most of the time we had the place almost to ourselves, it was bliss.

There were 6 tents in a row and we were facing the field with the lake beyond, the view every day over the trees was stunning, so pretty and natural

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and chatty

The new forest is 20 mins drive away and beaches about 25 mins drive, we went to mudeford quay crabbing, went to the lovely pub down the road to the steam fair hog roast and tried some lovely home made local ales.

Overall, we would highly recommend this site, the only downside was there is no family showers, as we had a few people with young babies and they'd have liked to have been able to all shower together and the showers got blocked at one point but all in all that's a small price to pay

Fantastic value for money and defo booking for next year 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kennedys 1 review from this member

 A lovely peaceful site, the owner and warden were very helpful and gave immediate attention to any issues. There are now two good toilet blocks which were kept clean, and had nice large showers which are free.

There is no playground for the children but there is a lovely big field that they can play ball games in and ride their bikes and scooters.

There are several supermarkets around, the nearest being less than 5 miles away. The lovely beaches of Bournemouth and Poole are all in easy reach by car. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hootie75 1 review from this member

 Just back from 6 days at this site and really enjoyed our stay. New to camping we found the site staff to be helpful and very friendly.

We pitched our large tent on the lower field, which is just huge, right next to the fishing lakes. There was a little whiff from the lakes, but nothing terrible. This location was also handy for easy access to the large dog walking area (complete with dog mess bins).

The shower and washing facilities near us were excellent, plenty of hot water (although my wife said it was colder at 10:30 am) and the blocks were always pretty clean and tidy.

The only minus point really was the lack of a site shop. There are some local shops a few minutes drive away and a larger supermarket a 10 minute drive.

A nice bonus was the fish and chip van on Saturday night and the ice cream van that arrived at strange times. All in all a very nice introduction to camping. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Rhiannon134 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a week's stay at Meadow View, with husband and three little ones. I chose the site because of the good reviews, reasonable price and the fact that it isn't rows of set pitches like some places.

On arrival (site was easy to find, 10 minutes off the A31 following a single road) we were greeted by friendly staff, shown to the camping field and asked whether we wanted to be close to other people or out on our own. We opted for out on our own as the little ones can be noisy and hard to get to sleep! We were pointed in the direction of the middle of a large field and told to pitch where we liked, which suits us fine.

Only problem I had with our pitch was having to pick up a load of cigarette butts from the ground before we pitched, other than that the ground was dry, well kept (though mulch mown so lots of dry 'hay'!) and flat.

Toilets were new looking, well kept, showers were FREE (like swimming pool ones), hot when I used them and each cubicle had a bench and a heated towel rail. There was also a hairdryer which although not very powerful, was also free. Washing up area had two large sinks with big draining boards and plenty of hot water.

There was another, older toilet block in the EHU field, but we didn't use that and another even older block in the hardstanding area, toilet was clean but not as cosy as the camping field one!

We used the ice block freezing facility once, at a cost of 50p per block. We didn't hire a fire pit as it was 10 a night which would have added a lot onto our weekly cost.

It cost us 17. 50 a night for the 5 of us, which I thought was very good. I was really impressed with the facilities and would definitely visit again if we head that way. Have recommended to friends already. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Familyrobo 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a fabulous 12 nights (initially booked 10 but decided to stay a couple of extra!)on this peaceful site.

We have a large tent so sometimes find it difficult to find a large pitch, but size was no object here. Peter the site warden was one of the most helpful, pleasant chaps you could wish to meet.

Our 2 boys aged 10 and 13 looked forward to the ice-cream lady arriving most evenings, and the chip van on Saturdays!

The toilet facilities were immaculate and despite the site being quite busy the second weekend, we didn't have long to wait.

The only downfall to our stay was the torrential rain on the last night (which even Peter couldn't sort out)and a leaky tent.

The site is close enough to local attractions and we were never short of anything to do. W 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nigel Moody 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from this site and I must say was very impressed with the friendly, helpful staff and the general feel of the site. The toilet and shower rooms were very clean and spacious. Also had plenty of hot water and heating inside the blocks with towel rail in individual shower cubicles! Massive area which even full would still give you plenty of privacy. The lake isn't much of a lake but more a pond but wasn't going for the fishing so didn't bother us but wouldn't recommend fishing there as to small. There is a pub near by which was quite a nice courty pub but no kids play area at all which was disappointed with. If decide to walk to this pub which is only about 0. 5miles take the scenic root rather than road because a very bendy road which has blind spots, not a good idea with kids!

Overall, a lovely site and well worth a visit. We had an amazing time and didn't want to leave. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dave-harris 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this campsite 3 years ago and enjoyed our stay so much that we said if we came back to this neck of the woods we would stay here again. After all once you have found a campsite you like why go elsewhere?

The improvements made here since we last came were clear to see. Gone is the old BBQ area, which is now a modern new toilet and shower block. Staff were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble. Good rates, free showers with plenty of hot water. Freezing cooler blocks is 50p a block, this is a small price to pay when everything else is so reasonable.

I would say if your going to Dorset this is the pace to stay. 20 minutes drive from the New Forest and just over half an hour to the coast, and loads of countryside around. I will be using this campsite again. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pastapete 1 review from this member

 Made a late booking for this site and it was our first visit, so I was not sure what to expect.

In the party of 2 adults, 2 eleven year old's a baby and a dog, we all left very pleased after after a wonderful stay. The kids had a great time with plenty of space to run safely.

The team were very helpful, which all added to making the stay very enjoyable and most of all the facilities were first class, cleaned regular and no queues even over a bank holiday.

Well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Memz 2 reviews from this member

 Pro's

Excellent toilet/shower blocks with free hot water and heated towel rails.

Perfectly adequate washing up facilities outside but under cover.

Lots of space to set up where you want with no one on top of you and still plenty of space for the kids to play.

Lovely little lake.

Easy reach of the New Forest and other Dorset attractions with Go Ape/Moors Valley Country Park down the road.

Lovely Pub up the road with great food and a folly opposite if you fancy a nice walk.

Con's

A couple of undesirables on site nicked our cool-box. (I stupidly left it outside the tent in some shade) But to be fair to the warden, he sorted this quickly and asked them to leave.

Hiring of fire pit with wood at 10 a night was far too pricey.

Charged us 1 per freezer block to freeze in a freezer that didn't work properly and never froze the blocks. Total rip off IMVHO!

Overall, would definitely visit again and recommend the site but next time will take our own fire pit and buy a bag of ice-cubes daily. 


Previous     82 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show - Exeter 28/01 to 30/01
Come along to Westpoint Exeter for a day of all things motorhome & campervan. The show is held both in the main indoor arena and across the ground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2672 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement