Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Meadow View Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Wimborne > Meadow View Caravan Park Reviews

CLOSED: Meadow View Caravan Park
Wigbeth
Horton
Wimborne
Dorset   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 82 Reviews
                9/10 from 82 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  82 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bounds Camp 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Meadow View for the second time and once again we enjoyed our stay.

Lovely pitch in the top field this time as we went with family who had an electric hook-up.

The weather was changeable and we had a couple of wet nights, but once again the pitch drained well.

See you next year Meadow View! 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alrklein 3 reviews from this member

 Excellent quiet campsite for short break. A little busy Saturday and Sunday, but quiet during the week (maybe because it was raining?)

Very pretty location especially on the bottom camping field - children really enjoyed fishing, and it is quite re-assuring to watch a bunch of teenagers sitting doing nothing for a couple of hours!

Shower block was clean and adequate, but could do with more showers during busy times.

Excellent value for money.

Car essential. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: S+DJ 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for two days we havnt been camping in a tent for years we have a caravan but we thought we would have a go at proper camping. This site is wonderful. We thought the fishing was fantastic
Toilets nice and clean and were made welcome by owners. Fantastic value for money we will certainly be camping here again. 


Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mirabelle 37 reviews from this member

 On arrival at Meadow View you are greeted by a small rockery area complete with old metal wheels, tool's, and flower pot's which gives the entrance a bit of character, the reception area is next to this and it has to be said that the whole thing showed sign's of needing TLC (cracked paint etc). We were greeted by the friendly warden's, a scottish bloke and his wife whose unit is located at the site entrance. After being given a key to the barrier we made our way in to the main site, guided by the male warden, who told us we had to un-hitch and push our van on to our pitch by hand so as not to go on the grass (it was wet), he helped push the van on and then he reeled off the site rules, although he was nice enough we did feel he was a litte bit overbearing, but perhap's he just likes to be involved!

Once he left us to it and we could relax we noticed the lovely view from every angle, forest at the bottom and field's on all side's. The site has it's own small lake and there were a few people down there fishing.The dog walking area is located next to the lake, I was a bit disappointed as it had no dog waste disposal bin's whatsoever and I found a variety of dog muck just left there, possibly because of the lack of dog muck bin's? or any bin's at all at that end of the site. The only waste bin's are at the site entrance).

The toilet block has three spacious toilet's for the lady's (one more single toilet is near the entrance) but with only one shower it would put me off coming in high season,. The toilet's and shower's(costing 20p) were kept lovely and clean during our stay, but again were very dated and in need of bit of TLC. The rather grubby patio slab step's effect all around the block was not great, as it made it harder to roll up your aquaroll and I felt it could be a bit of a health hazard for kid's / older camper's (I saw a few camper's lose their footing, or miss a step and nearly fall over).

The site is ideally located to visit The New Forest, Ringwood (nice shop's!), Bournmouth etc, and there is a nice walk over the road to Horton Tower. The fact that this site could do with an overhaul doesn't detract from the fact that is a small and peaceful site, with a lovely relaxing feel and great view's. We would stay here again. 


Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Liana 6 reviews from this member

 Beautiful views, nice walk around lake, immaculately kept (but it is only the beginning of the year). Fairly busy, could imagine may not be enough toilets in summer. Pavillion with picnic benches was great as we have a toddler who kept falling of her chair in the tent and pushing the table over, so we always cooked and took food over to the pavillion which was only a stones throw away.

We went to the local heavy horse centre which the kids loved lots of rides on trailers, that sort of thing, would of liked to do more but ran out of time.

Definitely recommend this site lots of space for kids to play (but no play area) but you do need to keep an eye out because of the lake - you can sit in the pavillion and watch if its cold and rainy. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Great Outdoors Man 2 reviews from this member

 I stayed here Saturday 22nd September for a one-night only with my daughter and our new 2/3 man tent, as the weather looked promising. I'd read the reviews and this site is local for us so I looked forward to seeing how it measured up.

Got a warm welcome from Tim who went to some trouble to give us a quiet pitch in the upper field area away from the Caravan Club meet on the same weekend.

The pitches are a generous size, nicely mown, and dry, so there's no danger of feeling too close to your neighbours.

The site facilities, compared to other more expensive sites are fairly basic. There's no shop onsite. The toilet/shower block is clean but there's only one shower each for ladies and gents and a bit of modernisation wouldn't go amiss. There are no more advanced features like bathrooms or laundries etc but I feel this is reflected amply in the price. We only paid £8 for the night. There are a couple of convenience stores a few minutes up the road if you're struggling for rations!

If you're in a group the large summerhouse BBQ area is a nice feature.

The site is quiet overnight - if you don't count the cockerel in the early morning! There is slight road noise until 11ish as the road this site is on is a popular cut through from Bournemouth to Salisbury, despite being a minor road. My daughter didn't feel this was worth mentioning! However, if like me you're a light sleeper when camping you may wish to keep the earplugs handy.

I'd recommend this site for location and price if you're staying locally or just passing through. This is one of my favourite areas of my home county and there are some great pubs nearby: The Old Barn, Drusillas, The Drovers and the Horton Inn to name just a few. You may find the Museum pub at Farnham worth the 10 minute drive too.

With a little modernisation, better use of landscaping and a bit more imagination this site would be a real gem. The more sites I visit the higher my expectations get! 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lion123 6 reviews from this member

 We have just spent eight nights at this site, the site is well spaced out, with plenty of dog walks, and lots of room for the children to play. If you like fishing there is a lake at the far end of the site. A fish and chip van comes around on a Friday night, Eric the warden is a character, he reminds me of mike reed from eastenders, he is very helpful , and dont be afraid to ask him any thing, as he will help you as much as he can. You are centrel for the whole of the south coast. I was dissapointed that the pitch and putt course, that was advertised on theyer net page doesent exsist,also there is only one shower each for the males and females. We will call in again in a few years time. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Martinjp65 10 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site,situated in pretty countryside.The facilities were clean and well maintained but we felt that 1 shower for men and 1 for ladies was not quite enough.We got up at 6am each morning to avoid having to wait.There are two sinks under cover but during busy times these were quite popular.The site includes a locked security gate at the top which was an excellent idea,and a key was provided for use during our stay.We stayed for 1 week and really enjoyed the area.I think that the bins at the top of the site ,away from the tents was also good but I was aware that there were no recycling facilities on site.During our stay we had very wet weather and the ground became very wet in places,and we did have to buy extra long tent pegs to overcome this problem.Overall our stay was really enjoyable and the area is close to other lovely places to visit ,like Poole and Salisbury Cathedral.Also within reach of Portsmouth and the beautiful New Forest. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bounds Camp 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a four night stay at Meadowview Caravan Park.
 
Nicky at reception was very helpful and informative. Being on the rally field, with no electric hook-up, we were, within reason allowed to go where we liked.
 
The site is very quiet and safe. There is a lockable gate at the top of the site, so you have to have a key (provided for your stay). We had very wet weather, but the water drained away quickly enough.
 
Facilities are good. Toilets and showers are clean and spacious and the site itself was well-maintained.
 
We went there with our three boys (7, 5 and 3) and were worried they might get bored, but they were more than happy "bombing" around the fields, playing ball games, frisby etc.
 
The lake and the woodland area are beautiful and well-worth a look.
 
Loads to do in the local area and some nice pubs. The Old Barn about three miles down the road (left out of the gate) serves lovely food.
 
Extremely reasonable price for the quality of campsite. We will be going back again! 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Michellea 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 3 Nights over the bank holiday weekend, we have stayed here before.   We used a tent with electrical hook up, we had plenty of space for our gazebo as well.  There is no play area for children, but there is a big field where they can play football.   The toilet and shower block is clean, but there is only one shower, so that means there can be a queue in the morning.  A fish and chip van comes on a Friday night.  The owners are friendly and helpful.   There are lots of attractions nearby, its not far from the New Forest,  Bournemouth and Poole are within easy reach.  Moorsvalley Country Park is a couple of miles up the road.  We enjoyed our stay and will be going back in August 


Previous     82 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show - Exeter 28/01 to 30/01
Come along to Westpoint Exeter for a day of all things motorhome & campervan. The show is held both in the main indoor arena and across the ground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2876 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement