Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Spital Farm Caravan And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Scarborough > Spital Farm Caravan And Campsite > Reviews

Spital Farm Caravan And Campsite
Spital Road
Staxton
Scarborough
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO12 4NW
Tel: 01944 711377
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 91 Reviews
                8/10 from 91 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  91 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: StanD53 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 3 nights and managed to get a pitch with hook up for 22 per night which is reasonable for high season. We stayed for Thursday Friday and Saturday nights, .

On the first night there were a few other tents pitched up which meant that you didn't feel people were on top of you and there were no queues at the showers or pot wash etc.

However by the Friday night there were approx 40 - 50 tents plus some caravans and motor homes which meant queue for the showers which at one point ran out of hot water on the Saturday morning.

The tents on hook up were also very close together probably within 2-3 metres which impeded on your privacy, We could hear people having conversations and snoring during the night! The road noise from the nearby A64 was also quite noticeable especially late night and very early morning.

The on site pub was excellent, we dined there 2 nights and the food was good and fairly priced. The children's playground and beer garden were also a nice touch to keep kids entertained.

The site is also very handy for the bus into Scarborough which stops outside the gate but be warned the coastliner bus is a bit pricey over 17 for return trip to Scarborough for 2 adults and a child.

All in all we enjoyed our stay but the closeness of the pitches on hook up and the road noise will probably put us off a revisit. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mrsumo16 1 review from this member

 Just a little stop over whilst touring. Lovely site owners were very welcoming. Meet some nice people. All in all myself wife and dog had a very nice few days there. Definitely come again as we love that part of the country. 


Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Vturner 4 reviews from this member

 This was a pleasant site, with friendly staff and great facilities. Amazing views if you are pitched with your back to the A64.

Great fish and chip shop near by, which was recommended by the staff. The toilets were cleaned on a regular basis and the on site facilities are great.

Food can be prepared for you or you can eat in the pub which is on site, they also have a barn with interesting little shops that take you back in time.

Great site overall with a lovely facilities. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Karon69 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed here last weekend Sat - Monday. The site was quite quiet due to the time of year but we had an enjoyable stay. It is a well kept site with level pitches and plenty of room and should imagine that it is quite busy in summer holidays due to the location. There are separate ladies and mens facilities with one shower in the ladies of lots of hot water, a couple of basins and two loos. These are kept nice and clean. There are also washing up facilities located outside the same building. We stayed on pitch 12 which is located at the bottom of the right hand side field as you drive in. Although there is the main road not far away the noise didn't affect us apart from the odd motorbike speeding by Saturday night as it was some big road race at Olivers Mount over the weekend but by Sunday evening all was quiet. The alternator belt went on the car a couple of miles before we arrived so we limped the last leg and the owners were great offering spanners and gave us a bus timetable to borrow. There is a bus into Scarborough every hour from around 8am until around 5pm which takes about 20 minutes. The bus stop is right by the entrance so a good way to visit without having the hassle of parking up. It cost 5. 70 each adult return and the last bus back is around 5. 45pm. There is a bus to Filey from around the corner but these only run every 2/3 hours so not ideal for visiting there. This is a great base to explore the surrounding area and we will certainly stay again when back that way and excellent value for money! 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clairell 1 review from this member

 Lovely camp site. Well drained field. Owners couldn't do enough for you. Pub lovely. Pub landlady obviously don't like kids though. I understand that the kids were climbing where they shouldn't but shouting at them instead of coming to see the parents to me is not acceptable.

Make sure you catch the last bus back if you go into Filey Scarborough or Bridlington or your stuck!

Overall I would go again though 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: NewToOutdoorLife 1 review from this member

 Our first family experience of camping and we enjoyed it thoroughly. Site was very nice and charming with its 'olde world' streets which were great and an unexpected touch. Nice pub with a good selection of beers. Showers and toilets very clean (water very hot in shower though). Will definitely return soon. Thanks for a great couple of days. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: George isobel 2 reviews from this member

 Just back from a stay at Spital Farm Campsite. I must say the owners went out of their way to give us a good pitch near the facilities, owing to my wife's disability. Very clean site. Could do with more refuse bins, only one on site. They have asked for more but still not delivered also no recycling. Showers very clean. The lady does a grand gob. Victorian Byegone Aley sells most things. Fresh bread shop very good. Tea rooms, old fashioned sweet shop, hairdressers and a healing salon, Karenglory, the wife had a wonderful massage. Highly recommended. Down side was the pitch price, in the advert 12 per night, until we got there 18 per night. Could admin Bob look at this misrepresented price. Good weather light showers bit windy. Would visit again. George & Isobel 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 1608theowens 9 reviews from this member

 Instead of people writing about how they want to keep places to themselves, well we want people to visit this site. Ran by Sandra and Alan who know their stuff when it comes to running a site. This has everything you need for a great stay a pub, showers, kids play area and a huge field. It is a well maintained and clean site by Alan and Sandra who enjoy watching their site having a massive game of rounders. Which lasted nearly all day, but this is a review of the whole site not a story:

Placed at the end of the A64 in North Yorkshire at the round about turn right for great coastal resorts of Filey and Bridlington Sewerby Hall is a must. Turn left for Scarborough and Whitby both famous in their own rights for eating and watching the kids with Crab Lines, I must admit I had a ago and caught three. Downside the road can be busy at night.

Shower block has had an update it is clean but being a Bank Holiday it got busy and a few queues developed but not a bad word was said as all campers had long chats about their days and swapped ideas.

Kids Play Area modern and SAFE our 4 enjoyed them.

Spital Inn is like stepping back in time really clean with a good array of Brews on tap and good selection of wines at reasonable prices, the food is fantastic wife had the Cajun Blackened fish and I had the Spital Burger not a scrap was left. They do a Carvery on Sundays which was a bit of a wait because it was busy but hey still good food I couldn't move after it.

I have seen some negative reviews about this site and found them to be quite unfair. Alan in his 70's and Sandra in her 60's have made this site into what it should be all about, fun, relaxing and just having a great time. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cpoulton 1 review from this member

 We spent 2 weeks July /August at this site. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

Lovely clean, well maintained site, our third time here. Well maintained facilities, friendly owners, nice atmosphere, plenty of space for children to play.

Nice looking pub/eatery on site plus good fish chip shop across the road.

Nicely situated geographically for Filey(favourite for beach in area), Scarborough, Bridlington, Whitby and Robin Hoods Bay (if you don't mind a short drive)plus many local coves/bays.

Recommended! 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: J0els 3 reviews from this member

 We booked last minute for 2 nights, our usual places were booked up but this wasn't and thought would be loads to do on site with craft centre play area, pub and easy reach of exploring inland and beach. Didn't realise it was smack bang in the middle of two main roads so noisy it certainly was, did quieten off somewhat in the night and we were off site all day so could just about handle it but deffo not a peaceful retreat. Initial meet with lady owner blunt, not people friendly or helpful, met the guy on 2nd day who was lovely and helpful. Pub not open first night (Mon) and craft centre has not been open for 4 years! play area was within pub grounds next to main road and for young children so we didn't use it as to small for our 7-10 year olds and you would have to accompany them as can't see from campsite. Small cafe on site and lovely toilet block with showers, washing up facilities and a plug socket in shower block for hairdryer etc. Nice enclosed area for members, we were in the open field next door which was further away from roads, toilets but completely open, loads of potential if it was sectioned and loads of trees planted! Very clean toilet / shower block and on site. We took bike's to explore but with children you can't as main roads to get to countryside! Overall a good stop off point en-route somewhere but as a holiday spot no I would not return and deffo not with children, unless your heading out every day. 


Previous     91 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Spital Farm Caravan And Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Spital Farm Caravan And Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Spital Farm Caravan And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Scarborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4116 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement