Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Spital Farm Caravan And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Scarborough > Spital Farm Caravan And Campsite > Reviews

Spital Farm Caravan And Campsite
Spital Road
Staxton
Scarborough
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO12 4NW
Tel: 01944 711377
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 91 Reviews
                8/10 from 91 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  91 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lindadf 9 reviews from this member

 This was our visit visit to a Camping and Caravanning Club CS site. We had booked this site because of its close proximity to Scarborough and the surrounding areas, plus we liked the idea of the Rural Craft Centre being on site.

On arrival we were met by the site owner who was very friendly, we were shown into the CS field and told to chose a pitch, the pitches are very generous in size. The first night we were the only campers. I was surprised that there were 20 pitches marked in this field, I thought CS sites had a maximum of 5. There are some level pitches and some that were not so level.

There are 2 possibly 3 drinking water points, one waste/chemical disposal point, not the most user friendly as it has an 18 inch brick wall built around the waste hole which the containers need to be lifted onto.

The reception was mainly unmanned, but someone responded quickly when you rang the bell.

The toilets are accessed using a key for which a deposit is paid- The toilets are very clean 2 toilets in the ladies with one shower, these facilities are shared with the craft centre visitors. I got a very strange look of a centre visitor when I was cleaning my teeth at the hand basin - there are no basins in either the toilet or shower cubicles.

The toilets are quite a long way of the camping fields, a dish washing sink is located outside near the toilets, it is open to the elements, so would not be ideal in the wet weather.

The site is very close to a main road which is busy 24 hours a day, this is probably the biggest fault with the site. The noise is very noticeable.

The rural craft centre was disappointing, a lot of the units are vacant, only the bakers ( excellent) florist selling silk flowers and a toy shop was open. The tea rooms open daily as does the ice cream parlour, we went for an ice cream but waited 5 mins for someone to come and serve us and even after ringing the bell no one came so we gave up.

All the sites advertising this site show it has having a pub / restaurant, it does have but it has been closed for sometime now, again a shop was shown as being on site, again yes I suppose there are shops but not selling camping essentials. The 24 hour petrol station was handy for those essentials.

It was a good site for being close to all the near tourist sites, being so close to the main road walking from the site with dogs was limited, but the owners were happy for the dogs to be walked on leads around the next field, this possibly would not have been possible if campers were in this field.

There is a farm shop about 3 miles east of the site on the A64 called Trotters which sells excellent meat for a BBQ.

I would not visit this site again mainly due to the traffic noise. Next time we visit this area we will once again try a smaller site - the large commercial sites are not for us, but we will look carefully to make sure it is away from major roads. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cheapancheerful 2 reviews from this member

 This site is old fashioned camping at it's best! Situated approx 8 miles inland from Scarborough away from all the hustle and bustle in a peaceful field with a little bit of very bearable traffic noise in the background.

With a car it takes 10 mins to visit Scarborough or Filey, 30 mins to Bridlington and 40 mins to Whitby and Robin Hoods Bay. As a result we managed to spend a full day at each of these places in our few days stay. The old couple that run the site are very friendly and chatty. There is stacks of space on the field so you are not penned in like cattle as on other sites.

Our kids played games and flew a kite because there was so much open space. The field next door was full of cows which the kids loved. The facilities are basic but very good.

The toilet / shower / washing pots block is the cleanest I have ever seen on a campsite and the water is always red hot. My only small gripe is that there are only a few electrical hook ups, so if you book last minute (as we did) you won't get one. At the side of the field there is a petrol station, and a morrisons and B&Q within 5 minutes drive.

If you want a club, swimming pool and chavs on site then this is not the place for you. P.S. We've booked in again for end of July. And reserved our electrical hook up! 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: K5tbkscott 3 reviews from this member

 The site it self was nice quite level, the location was within easy reach of all the local sites. Our main problems with staying her were the noise on a night due to its location right on the main A64 into and out of Scarborough the traffic was pretty much constant all night, however you do get used to it after a while. The showers and toilets were in the main craft centre building and from where we were pitched this was a very long way away compared to most sites we have been on in the past, add to this there being only 1 shower and toilet for each sex. The main pro in the favour of this site was the price when we went it was only £13 a night including electric hookup. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ivanandsarahb 2 reviews from this member

 On arrival the lady owner was very nice after we had paid £16 a night for the week she wanted to show us around the craft center most of which was shut but she forgot to tell us this before we paid there was only a cafe, ice cream palour,and the bakery. The owner rides around the field on a scooter or in their range rover checking everything every hour or so. On the first night the road was really noisy but something you can get used to, The second night was nice we didn't really hear the road. The third day we went to Flamingo land on arriving back to the tent at around 7pm there was a bunch of local youths having a game of football on the field using our tent as one of the goal posts the owner was nowhere in sight when he did suddeny appear he only had a chat with the youths it looked like he knew who they were. A little while later there was a lot of noise around our tent when we went to have a look there was some more children playing hide and seek around the tent after about 30 minutes of us telling them to go and play somewhere else the owner decided to show his face and started to chase the children away on his scooter the children then thought it was funny to hide from the owner again around our tent at one point one of the children fell into our tent. After this happened things just got worse at around 10:45pm we asked the owner to go and see the childrens parents to make them behave and the owner told us there was nothing he was going to do about the children's behaviour it was not his problem if we didn't like it we could pack up and leave and if we did this he would not give us any of our money back. So the next morning we packed our tent up and went home early cutting our holiday short, losing our money and taking a brand new ripped tent home.

The 2 ladies toilets and 1 shower cubical, and the 1 mens toilet, 2 urinals and 1 shower cubical were clean most of the time although during the day you had to share them with visitors to the centre and first thing in the morning and at night you had to cue to use these I think that if the site gets busy you will have no chance of using the facilities as when we were there, there was only about 10 units and we still had to queue for about an hour for a shower. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jakeyt 2 reviews from this member

 We have just got back after 1 night. It rained quite heavy while we were there but no puddles etc.

The site is a bit basic toilets nicely looked after very clean.

The only problem we had was with a group that had come 4 tents (families) they were a bit noisy when the man came to talk to them in the morning he was rude, a bit aggressive and scared their kids, but they weren't a problem. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dadsbeaniemad 7 reviews from this member

 The review by Andyparry to me is just about spot on accurate.

We were there on a Meet so stayed in the non-members field. They do give temporary C&CC membership for weekend though so you can stay in the L shaped field.

There are limited EHU in the non-members field. These are all along the edge of the field adjacent to the main camping area.

I would not say the field is very even at all and when we decamped we had quite a lot of water in pools between the tent and footprint.

The site handled the rain very well and didn't get muddy over the weekend we were there. The owner decided to cut the grass on Thursday though which meant we were treading in cut grass all weekend (a real pain)

We paid £8 per night with EHU BUT this was the meet rate.

The site is on (well right off) one of the main roundabouts in the area. There is a lot of road traffic noise all the time (and a 24hr petrol station just yards away , so that tell you the amount of traffic). Hundreds of motorbikes from very early on Sunday morning (and we are bikers!)

There is still just the skip for rubbish - no recycling or any other bins anywhere.

The toilets as said are clean - they are 'done' 4 times a day.

Again - as Andy said the shower could have done with a small stool in it. There was a mop and bucket outside in the passage all the time we were there - just wish everyone would use it after themselves!

The wash up is just one sink on the outside wall of the toilet block. Lots of hot water.

The craft center had a bakery - nice cakes - toy shop, ice-cream parlor, flower shop, picture shop, jewelery makers, Christmas shop and cafe. The pub and restaurant has no tenants in it so is closed but looked really nice through the windows.

The nearest pub is quite near (Hare and Hounds?) - within walking distance. We didn't visit but others did and they said it was really nice. The food was good pub food.

All is very well kept and very clean and tidy with lovely hanging baskets and tubs of flowers everywhere.

Owners cottage (lovely old cottage with climbing plants ) and gardens are on site and his garden had a lovely pond in it (not for campers to go in or near but nice to look at over the fence)

Reception was hit and miss after about 5pm - a couple of cyclists came on the Sat and stood for ages ringing the bell with no response (but you can't expect someone on call 24/7) so I just told them to pitch and sort it out later as it was raining anyway (I know it wasn't my place but .). They didn't go knock on the owners door because of a large sign that said Beware of the Dog (though I never saw one the whole weekend, they didn't want to chance it)

No children's play area but hey! this is a large field and they could play WELL away from any campers. Children can entertain themselves without the need for swings etc. All the ones with us were perfectly behave all weekend and played various things together.

Dogs are welcome BUT there is no dog walk on site and you have to have your dog on a lead at all times! Think they show you to where you can walk the dog off site.

We were on a meet with 11 other units and had some music on (wouldn't normally if we were on our own and wasn't keen on it anyway). About 8.45pm the owners daughter came around and said they had had a complaint about the music being loud and although she didn't think it was could we please turn it down a little - we did. I think I may have found it a little annoying had we been camping on our own, but it was a little early. Site has a no noise after 11.30pm rule.

This shows that the owners will do something if you need them to so this is a plus point. On the other hand he was constantly driving up and around the field in his range rover.

As said, Morrisons large supermarket just off the second roundabout towards Scarborough and the park and ride not that much further.

If staying in this area Hunmanby and Filey are a must.

There is a bus stop right outside the site with buses to Scarborough every hour and back again. Reception have a timetable.

Overall it is a very nice, well kept tidy site that is good to stay at if you are exploring the area. That said I would probably choose a different site if we go back to the area again (not planning on another trip to this area soon as it has been heavy mist, damp and wet the last two times and OH says he's not going there again for a while as back over here on the west coast it's been great weather both times we went east lol Wales next :0)) 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sarah1612 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed at Spital Farm for 4 nights on the non CandCC field with ehu. Toilet and showers were very clean and owners helpful and friendly. Only noticed the road traffic on the first night but this was soon sorted with a bottle of wine (or two!).
Found the location of the campsite was ideal for either Filey or Scarborough. However, we stuck to Filey as it was quieter and less commercialised. (Chav free). Morrisons was about two miles down the road and was excellent.
The scenery was spectacular and you really felt you were in the middle of the country. We visited the craft centre and on site and found it was very interesting. Especially the background history to the area and the original farm. Will consider re-visiting. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lottylou 1 review from this member

 I have just come home from stopping at the spittle farm. We stayed 3 nights. The space between tents was plenty. The staff was very helpful and as for the traffic I only noticed it the 1st night.
We stayed in the caravan club field, it was very nice, the toilets were clean, could do with another shower block and a park for the children. But apart from that we had a lovely time and will go back there in the near future 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Miracle659 2 reviews from this member

 I have just spent the Whitsun Bank holiday weekend at the camp site and was directed to camp in the overflow area not in the camping and caravan club field; although this did give the children a much bigger area that they could ride their bikes.

The field is generally flat, although very bumpy with a big dip in the middle which the children thoroughly loved cycling down. The main club field looked flatter but I did not go in there. Being in this field gave a huge area to pitch and we could have got a long way from any neighbours if we had wanted. Both fields were very well looked after.

The main problem was the toilet blocks and the lack of hot water. The toilets were cleaned often and were in very good condition, but the number of facilities were totally inadequate for a bank holiday weekend. It was virtually impossible to get a shower, and if you did have the patience to wait in the queue, the chances of getting any hot water where negligible.

This campsite is very easy to get to, being on the roundabout of two main roads, but suffers from the associated road noise. The area is great, and if you have your own shower toilet and / or are going in a quiet period I would recommend it. If you are going at peak period and need to use the toilet / shower block, this may not be the place for you! 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andyparry 10 reviews from this member

 The site is divided into two halves; Members of the Camping & Caravan Club and non-members. Both are level but bumpy. We stayed in the C&CC field. It did not rain in our 3 nights there, so unable to comment if drainage is good or not. There appeared to be plenty of space available between pitches.

The C&CC field is in the shape of an 'L' and has electric hook-up posts, each with 4 sockets, distributed all around the field, and with one post in the centre. There are 2 drinking water taps and 1 wastewater point. The latter is awkward to use as a result of a high brick tower around the waste point.

The non-member field has one tap and one waste point and shares some of the electric hook up posts through the dividing fence.

Everyone one shares a skip that acts as a ‘bin’ and there is no recycling at the time of this article.

The toilet/washing facilities are shared with the craft centre, with access out of hours using a £3.00 deposited key. For the men, there is 1 WC, 2 Urinal bowls and 1 free shower, and the Ladies the same except they have an extra WC instead of the bowls. There are 2 clothes hooks in each shower, but no curtains and no seat/shelf. We found our clothes were always getting wet from the spray and the mud from our shoes carried into the rest of the block. A bucket & mop per block would prevent this problem. Outside the toilets, there is an exposed wash basin for dish washing.

There is a shed that acts as the reception next to the washing up area. The owners can be called upon by pressing the bell switch. They also ask you to return the toilet key before 10.00 am on your departure day.

The web site boasts of many attractions. At the time of writing the Chocolate Making shop had closed down and the Wood Turning shop and Restaurant were still in the planning phase, a disappointment to my children. The bakery, ice cream shops and tearoom were very good.

There is a large Morrisons about 2 miles down the Scarborough road and a TESCO and Sainsburys in Scarborough too. In a dire emergency, you could pop into the Shell Petrol station, 50 metres across the roundabout.

This site is idea for anyone who wishes to tour the Scarborough area out of season and is not bothered by excessive road noise; the A64 surrounds the site on two sides and is busy until late at night. The toilet facilities are clean, warm and inviting. 


Previous     91 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Spital Farm Caravan And Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Spital Farm Caravan And Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Spital Farm Caravan And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Scarborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2384 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement