Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Spital Farm Caravan And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Scarborough > Spital Farm Caravan And Campsite > Reviews

Spital Farm Caravan And Campsite
Spital Road
Staxton
Scarborough
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO12 4NW
Tel: 01944 711377
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 91 Reviews
                8/10 from 91 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  91 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nigela2 4 reviews from this member

 The site is very clean and tidy. The food in the pub is a must. The chipshop is good two. The field we were in was very open to the elements and it was very windy so we struggled to put up our tent until some very kind people that were in caravans and motor homes came to help us thank you again to those people. The site owners are very friendly and helpful. The busy A64 is quite noisy. The ground drains well as it did rain but didn't get muddy 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cj74 2 reviews from this member

 I have just returned from my first touring holiday and this site was a good choice.

It is ideally situated for Whitby, scarborough, filey, York and the North Yorkshire moors, we also went to Thirsk for horse riding and it was only 1 hours drive from here.

We arrived on a weds before bank holiday and the site was quiet. We were shown to our generous pitch and Allan patiently helped me to reverse onto my pitch- I have never reversed a caravan before. We stayed in the members field which is close to the toilets/washing up area but even if you are in the non members field its not too far from the facilities. You will need a torch for night time to get around the field. The pitch amply accomodated my caravan, awning, car, chairs and swingball

There are plentiful electric points and drinking water points.

The showers are ok but water pools in the shower areas and runs into the sink area at times- a squeegee may be better than the mop provided. At peak times there was a problem with maintaining the water temperature particularly over the bank holiday period but apart from that the site is well maintained, clean and reasonably quiet- BH Monday there were a group who partied late but I am a light sleeper so if you sleep normally you wouldn't have been affected. Also the site is conveniently right on the roundabout at staxton but with it comes some traffic noise even during the night.

It is a 5 min drive to morrisons on the A64, there is a garage across the road that sells milk, snacks etc ( but not ice cream- which my kids really wanted on day 1)and a fish and chip restaurant next door.

We tried the food at the restaurant on the last night which we really enjoyed- main course approx. 10-15, for the 3 of us 3 mains, 3drinks, 2 desserts and a coffee came to 40.

There is an enclosed play area suitable for under 10's with swings, glider, wooden fort and slide next to the beer garden.

Overall a great first experience and we will go back but there are so many other areas I want to visit first. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Orian 7 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from a 5 night stay at this site. As my wife has mobility problems we asked for a pitch near the gate and were given the first one in the members camping field. Bus stop outside with buses every 2 hours to Scarborough and Malton. Can recommend Rories in Malton for lunch. Pub on site with mediocre food and excellent service. Also tea room. Can recommend the ploughman's lunch. Toilet facilities very clean but in the gents there is only one wash basin (no plug) one toilet and one shower. Was not a problem as site very empty but would not like to stay here when the non members field was full of tents. Shame the Victorian shopping street was closed all the time whilst we were there. Got the impression that the owners have lost interest. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: D Thompson82 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a 3 night stay at this site and found it clean friendly and enjoyable. It was easy to find and it was within driving distance from Scarborough, Filey and Bridlington for days out. There was an enclosed play area for the children and a bar and restaurant on site which was reasonably priced. The cleaning facilities were clean and well looked after. Even though we had rain at times the field was never water logged or boggy it was very well kept. We will be returning in the future. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sheptenelan 2 reviews from this member

 My wife an myself had four nights at this site from Friday 6th September 2013. As it was just out of season for the first night we had the full field to ourselves, but were joined by a couple in a tent for the second and third nights. There were a few unit's in the Campers Club area. So it was very peaceful.

Booking in at the site was quickly and easily completed, and we were issued with the passcode to the toilet and showers, which were very clean, so did not have to carry keys around with us.

The owners Allen and Sandra are two of the nicest people you could wish to meet and were always happy to have a chat. The bar is very cosy and well appointed with a very pleasant bar maid, Alice.

The restaurant is excellent and the Sunday Carvery is a must, they do not skimp on the meat, all served up by the Chef another very pleasant staff member (sorry Chef I have forgotten your name ).

There is a play area for the younger children and an inside area which has been made into a 17th century ( I think ) street area with small shop's which is very interesting.

The owner has done all the work himself building the street, bar and restaurant over many years. He has put a lot of time and effort into this venture and it shows.

We will hopefully visit this venue many times in the future. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Woolykell 1 review from this member

 Excellent site, pitch was spacious, large playing field in centre for all types of ball games, with tents etc around the edge. Owners were very friendly and helpful. Toilet block was new and very clean and tidy, showers were hot. Pub on site that served carvery that was beautiful with all types of fresh vegetables. Highly recommend this site if you want to avoid the commercial expensive sites. Easy location to visit the coast or Pickering area. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Karenb108 3 reviews from this member

 We have just spent the August Bank Holiday weekend on this campsite - our first visit.

First impressions were very good when we arrived early afternoon on Saturday, booking in was easy and friendly, and we were shown where to pitch our tent.

By the end of evening, without counting caravans and motorhomes there were 50+ tents mostly made up of large family tents with a shower block consisting of for the ladies 3 toilets/3 showers and for the gents 2 toilets + urinals/showers. I was also informed that there were no plugs in the gents facilities, making shaving difficult. The toilet blocks also had a locks for which a code had to be inputted (given when booking in) - this was fairly high up on the door, and I think shorter children may have a problem reaching it.

2 sinks for washing dishes.

If there were any more toilets/showers/sinks they were poorly signposted as there were always queues for both on an evening.

The campsite is also on the corner of 2 very busy roads with constant traffic throughout the night, as heavy sleeper even I was disturbed by the noise of some of the lorries and motorbikes passing by.

However, the site is in a perfect location as a base for Scarborough, and within easy travelling distance for Bridlington, Filey and Whitby.

The field was lovely and flat and there was plenty of room between tents. Noise from neighbouring tents was never a problem.

We visited the pub once and prices seemed reasonable, I think the shops mentioned on the website are located within the pub area, but as we went in during evening hours did not look to see what there was.

I had to phone the campsite for prices as not listed on the website. Cost 18pn for 2 adults and 1 child for a non electric pitch. Even though it was a Bank Holiday I did not have to book for 3 nights which is a bonus for those people who have to work the Friday and Tuesday after BH's.

I think that the site was value for money, however I chose not to shower rather than spend a long time queuing, and did not have any young children who usually have a limited waiting time for toilets. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Tats23 1 review from this member

 We have just spent a week on this site, it is a great location for visiting Filey, Scarborough, Bridlington and Whitby.

We found the site clean and well maintained. The toilet and shower facilities were of a very high standard with plenty of hot water. The pub on-site served a lovely carvery and had a very nice beer garden and great brand new children's play area.

I was disappointed however to find a large open skip right next to the gate to our field full to the brim with the campsite rubbish. It was unappealing to look at and very smelly.

In addition, the campsite rules state that dogs are to be exercised off site, but dogs were being walked and toileted in our field where our children were playing.

The pitches are also very close together, our neighbour pitched no more than 2 metres away from us despite the campsite stating a minimum 6 metres gap. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ebagum 3 reviews from this member

 Visited August Bank Holiday Weekend. It says 30 pitches, not true. There must have been well over 100 pitches being used while we were there. There is a Caravan and Camping members field with EHU's which I think has 30 pitches and another large field which could probably accommodate 100 to 150. There is one pot washing sink on site and I always had to queue. There was three showers and three wc's in both gents and ladies, not enough hot water for the amount of people on site. The pub was nice but very quiet the two nights we visited, we didn't eat at the restaurant. Facilities were clean and tidy. Bus stop outside site to Scarborough or York, Morrison's 1 mile down the road, Excellent chippie (Harpers) opposite site. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Walkerj 1 review from this member

 We have just come back from spending four nights at Spital farm, this was our second stay as we stayed in a tent in 2011, we liked it so much then that it was only natural that when visiting the East Coast again, with our touring caravan, we would stay again and we weren't disappointed. We received a warm welcome from the owners who greeted us on our arrival. The 2 camping fields, ball games are allowed on the

Largest field allowing for great, healthy, free family fun, are large with spacious pitches and easy access to electric hook up (The electricity was of a high enough amp to allow us to use our TV without tripping and had an excellent signal to pick up all channels ), water, bins, elsan disposal points etc. The toilets were fresh and very clean with continuous hot water, there is also a brand new modern shower block which has just been opened for 2013.

Also on the site is a lovely traditional tea room that is very popular with people from the surrounding area. Just across the road is a petrol station that sells most essentials and an award winning fish and chip restaurant next to that.

The site is conveniently located for access to all the coastal towns of Scarborough, Bridlington and Filey with the coastliner buses running regularly from the sites gates. There are also local nearby attractions of play dale farm for the young and Bempton cliffs for stunning views and a huge array of wildlife.

The owners have been working very hard to extend and improve the site for 2013 and the grand opening of the family friendly pub on site serving carvery and having a little beer garden, with play area, will be the icing on cake making this probably the best value for money campsite on the coast.

We are about to book again for the next school holiday's before they are fully booked. 


Previous     91 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Spital Farm Caravan And Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Spital Farm Caravan And Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Spital Farm Caravan And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Scarborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4514 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement