Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Waterloo Farm Leisure Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Leicestershire > Market Harborough > Waterloo Farm Leisure Caravan Site Reviews

Waterloo Farm Leisure Caravan Site
Harborough Road
Great Oxendon
Market Harborough
Leicestershire   (Browse area)
LE16 8NB
Tel: 01858 434098
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 49
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 56 Reviews
                8/10 from 56 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  56 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: VWSaffy 7 reviews from this member

 We booked at short notice and the owners were very accommodating. Booked three night and stayed for four because we were so impressed.

We arrived late (8pm ish) and the owner came out to meet us and introduce himself. Really friendly.

The site has two parts to it - adult only and family sides. There is a fishing lake and café on the site which does cooked breakfasts.

The pitch on the family side was very large and the toilet / shower facilities were excellent.

Level pitches on hardstanding.

Nice walk along the disused railway line which you can drop down onto at the site. (Take a torch as there is a tunnel to walk through which is a great adventure but too dark to go through without light - over 400 m long!)

Will DEFINITELY return.

Only thing to improve would be to give all campers a toilet key - they were unlocked for us but then were re-locked part way through our stay, the key lost and so the gents could not be used.

Ideally located for lots of great days out - we did Cambridge and East Carlton country park - free day out (take a picnic) 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jonk 21 reviews from this member

 Stayed for the May bank holiday. The site is peaceful and the owners were really friendly and helpful. The Facilities one of each Men's & Ladies Loo, one shower and a laundry room were clean and warm at all times. There is a cafe/tea room on site and Market Harborough is 2. 5 Miles down a cycle track (disused railway line Brampton Valley Way Cycle / Walk way) where there are pubs, restaurants and shops. The other way down the cycle track 7 miles is Lamport Hall, carry on cycling and you get to Northampton!

The pitches aren't bowling greens but are large and by our standards perfectly acceptable. The owner took the trouble to visit us on our first morning to apologize for the pile of rubble his contractors had left next to our pitch and that they were going to move it that day. They are making a lot of improvements there. Some pitches may need an extra long hook up cable. The owners were able to lend us one when our cable didn't reach.  


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mark toseland 2 reviews from this member

 This site no longer adults only, spent an enjoyable week, and luckily the two children on the site were quiet. We always chose this site for the peace and quiet. It is still very peaceful, and very convenient for dog walking on the disused railway track that runs parallel to the site. Only one shower servicing the site which can have up to 10 units at a time, so this could mean queueing for the shower. 


Date of Visit: November 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: PilgrimPhil 82 reviews from this member

 We spent six nights here in early November 2011.

Waterloo Farm Leisure is a complex of facilities including a series of fishing lakes, a 9 and 18 hole “pitch and putt” golf course, Bed and Breakfast, two wooden lodges overlooking the lake, a tea room [open 7 days a week], and, of course, a CS site and a tenting field! It does resemble a commercial site to a certain degree though.

There are shower and toilet facilities close to the pitches and each hardstanding has it’s own electric hook-up and water supply.

The site is superbly located for direct access onto the Brampton Valley Way which is the old disused railway line from Market Harborough to Northampton. Also running through the area are the Midshires Way, the Jurassic Way & the Macmillan Way, so there are an excellent range of well signed walks.

Foxton Locks are easily accessible by bike by heading into Market Harborough and finding NCN Route 6 which follows the canal tow path to the Locks. It was an 18 mile bike ride with very little exposure to main roads.

Sunday roast lunch at the tea rooms is to be highly recommended.

Remember to bring a bird feeder and plentiful supplies of seed/fat balls! We had one in full view from the van window and had to refill the feeders every day! We attracted Greenfinches, blue, great, long tailed & marsh [or were they willow?!] tits, chaffinches, sparrows [common & tree], and frequent visits from a couple of magpies. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fromtheuk 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for the first time after finding the site on UKCampsite.co.uk We looked at their website and it looked really good.

However, before we decided to book up, we looked at the members comments about this site. The comments nearly put us off going, as some of them were not very positive. But we took the risk and booked up and went.

When we arrived we were greeted by Lorna, she was a very lovely young girl and extremely friendly and helpful, she bent over backwards to help us find the pitch and told us all about the park. We set up the tent and settled in.

Later that day the owner, Richard drove around to check that everybody was ok and checked the site, which I thought was very good. This gave us the confidence to leave the tent and go exploring the local area.

The site has 3 lovely fishing lakes, which was fantastic, as I took my fishing gear and had a great days fishing. We had breakfast in thier Tea Room, which was very nice.

All in all, we had a brillient time and would recommend it, but remember its for adults only. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fredadams 10 reviews from this member

 There are two sections to this site, the one is small with caravans and hook ups. These campers are given keys to the toilets and showers.

We were in the other field and I was informed all the keys had been handed out so couldn't use a shower. When I tried to gain access to these toilets/showers, I was told rather sharply by a lady in one of the caravans that they were not for public use.

We were in a large field which was very nice and peaceful but had what resembled a shed with one toilet for male and one for female and a wash basin with no shower, although there is one there, it isn’t usable. It advertises on here there are showers, so would have liked to be able to use a shower during my stay so surely the other toilets/showers should be made available to anyone who is staying within the site.If it would have cost a little more, I would have paid to have use of a shower, luckily I was only there one night.

Good walking/cycling track off the field. Within 2 and a half miles you can walk to Arthingworth where there is nice pub called the Bulls Head. Reserved a table in the restaurant and had a lovely meal here.

It is a nice traffic free walk along the disused railway line, but there is a long dark tunnel so take a torch as it was full of potholes and wet inside. After the track you go through the fields to the village, so nice pleasant walk.

Can also walk to Market Harborough, but didn’t try this. Wouldn’t want to stay here if it was full, as you would have to queue to use the toilet. One of the most basic sites I have stayed at. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: RIMMER 186 reviews from this member

 As others have commented a small site and only just got a pitch mid-week in June. A very peaceful site with singing Skylarks and Yellowhammers.

Didn't find the toilets basic but of a high standard in log cabin effect and consisted of a shower. The key for the toilets are now £10 and that's because the owners caught a stranger washing his dog in the shower!

Cycle track to rear of site that carries on for miles in each direction.

We walked to the George, Gt Oxendon(15 mins)along the cycle track, which is mainly a foody pub but there is a nice garden to enjoy a pint of their real ales.

The X7 bus can be caught from this village to either Market Harborough or Northampton. Paid £16/night for two with ehu. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Nev75 15 reviews from this member

 Small site with about 10 pitches mostly with electric and hard standings. There is also a grassed camping area.

Just one toilet for each sex and one shower which are very clean. There is a good motorhome point which includes chemical disposal and grey water.

No separate bins for recycling. Very friendly with excellent cafe and meals and drinks at good prices - daytime only.

Excellent fishing lake with barble, carp and tench. Very convenient for walks which start right from the site.

Probably not so good for children though they would love the fishing. Would recommend. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Styfan 3 reviews from this member

 We were lucky enough to be allocated the only pitch on their rally field that had an electric hook-up. It was a well kept field in a lovely position overlooking one of the fishing lakes. The toilets were basic with no shower which wasn't a problem for us because we had both on board anyway. Breakfast in the tearoom is highly recommended and great value, they also do lunches and have a licensed bar! The owner and staff were very helpful, friendly and considerate. We will definitely be returning to Waterloo Farm in the near future. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: craiglyn01 7 reviews from this member

 If you are after a 'Adult Only Campsite' perhaps you are best not to come here. Although the site is registered on the listing for 'Adult Only' Sites and we were assured when we booked that it was 'Adult Only' it seemed that it is at the discretion of the owners whether they allow children to stay on the site.

Facilities are very clean and well thought out and there is a pleasant tea room available on the site (although we did not use it), it seemed to be very busy.

There is a disused railway at the rear of the site which is perfect for dog walking.

We did not find the owners to be the friendliest we had ever met but all in all a pleasant site.

We also found the idea of paying a deposit of £20 for the toilet and shower keys to be a bit distrusting. 


Previous     56 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Waterloo Farm Leisure Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Waterloo Farm Leisure Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Waterloo Farm Leisure Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Market Harborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Leicestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2633 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement