Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Waterloo Farm Leisure Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Leicestershire > Market Harborough > Waterloo Farm Leisure Caravan Site Reviews

Waterloo Farm Leisure Caravan Site
Harborough Road
Great Oxendon
Market Harborough
Leicestershire   (Browse area)
LE16 8NB
Tel: 01858 434098
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 49
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 53 Reviews
                8/10 from 53 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  53 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Joolb 31 reviews from this member

Mature couple no children-we spent 2 nights here as OH was taking part in a tank experience at Armourgeddon in nearby husbands bosworth (highly recommended).

The people running the site are very friendly and showed us to our pitch. The tearoom looks extremely clean and very inviting. The rest of the place looks run down and like nobody cares.

But we had hard standing/electric hookup/water on the pitch so adequate for the time we spent there. No facilities for children even in the 'family' area. As said before a bit of investment would pay dividends.

Nearby foxton locks a great tourist attraction-cold beer on a warm day by a flight of locks-what's not to like?

I think we were very lucky that our time here was hot and sunny-everything looks better then.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: ADYJET 6 reviews from this member

A great weekend spoilt by relentless noise from the the geese!

In February there were a few geese, not ideal. There has since been an invasion of two types of geese who are fighting amongst themselves and each other the result is relentless screeching all hours of the day and early morning! All the campers were fed up with it and the owners need to do something about the problem as they are all breading and the problem will become far worse very soon. I am sorry to say that we won't be returning to a site we both really like until it's sorted out.

Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: ADYJET 6 reviews from this member

Just returned from a frosty cold blue sky weekend that overall we both enjoyed at Waterloo Farm. Piglet 4's review is very harsh in our book, the pot holes are not that bad and as for muddy yes its's February!

The pitch overlooking the lake was great, loads of space and a great view in the morning from your door step. Breakfast evening meal and Sunday lunch were very nice. Welcoming staff always eager to help.

The Wardens were very friendly and informative. 45 mins along the old railway track to Market Harborough was very pleasant.

However, we had continual problems with the electrics which really need to be sorted out ASAP and in all fairness spoilt the weekend away a bit. Most of the toilets were closed due to power issues which again need sorting The rest were clean and functional but with very few open this would cause problems if there were many more units on site. We are back in May so will report back after that trip.

Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The simpson 1 review from this member

Feel the latest review was a little harsh, yes there are potholes ( there are on a number of our roads throughout the country) but to be fair to the site the weather has been a huge factor resulting in said potholes and mud, hopefully the site will get on top of things and will be back to its normal self a nice peaceful relaxed site. Very handy for walking or cycling into market harbourgh along the Brampton valley way, handy tearoom for meals. Dog friendly. Very large pitches but do pack rock pegs and a hammer.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Malchris 3 reviews from this member

First of all let me make it clear this was a very wet week so even allowing for that under foot conditions were terrible. We were on the lakeside site. This was not our first time herw as we have been here for a number of years but it has slowly gone downhill. There is no storm drains only natural drainage which drain off the main driveway in to the awnings and as this is not proper hardstanding, but red coloured quarry waste, everything gets covered in red mud. The toilets / showers need some attention as they are looking very drab. At the time they were having problems with the electric supply and the contractors turned up around 09:00 and just turned off the power without any warning. If you enjoy fishing and its dry this is a great site, but if it's wet it's best to avoid it.

Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Piglet 4 3 reviews from this member

It was our first time visiting this site, and will probably be our only. When we arrived it was raining, never a good start, we pulled over and went into the tea shop to let them know we had arrived, they were very polite, but then went on to inform us that they were having power problems on the lake pitches, and that we could either move onto a different area, or if problems occur that we would have to move, we decided to stay on the pitch we booked. Then got told that the men's toilet's and showers were out of order and then the woman's shower is broken, but can still use the 1 toilet, but the family room can be used by everyone, this was 1 shower and 1 toilet in very cold and damp wooden sheds. We booked hardstanding, as she showed us to our pitch, the potholes were just unbelievable, our pitch was waterlogged and not tarmac hardstanding, it's a type 1 road covering that goes on before the tarmac, and it was awful to sludge around walking in it. But thought tomorrow's another day, must be better. We had a few power cuts, but ok. And although no more rain, there is no drainage and the road and pitches were just a muddy swamp, luckily it froze a few mornings, so the dogs didn't come back looking like a lump of wet mud. The overall campsite is very run down, some areas are like a travellers site and it needs a whole lot of investment put into it. It has so much potential, but needs proper built toilet's and showers. We left a day early as we were just so disappointed with this site. The web site certainly doesn't look anything like it actually does.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Bramidan 2 reviews from this member

We just got back from spending 3 nights at Waterloo Farm. Booked online and no problem when we turned up, in fact the owner took us to our pitch and explained everything, very friendly.

I thought the campsite could do with a little bit of tender loving care, in places it did look a bit tired.

The facilities were very good, the toilet and showers in the log cabins were clean and warm and a really nice size so no wet clothes when you are cramped in a small enclosure.

I did have a little problem adjusting the shower to the desired temperature but when I used the one in the adjacent room it was much better, so that could have been me!

We had a pitch right on the lake and I particularly enjoyed the fishing, fish were in very good condition.

Walked into Market Harborough, a very pleasant walk and no traffic at all so excellent for the dog as was the adjacent field.

You need to be aware that the pitches next to the lake are hardstandings so you need 'rock pegs' and a decent lump hammer. I had neither but the shop sells them and a fellow camper came to my aid with a hammer.

Not really to do with the actual site but as this was only the second time we have camped in this country we were so impressed with how friendly fellow campers are!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dc4dp 1 review from this member

Have just returned from our third stay on the Wellington Lake. We were not disappointed. Greeted by friendly staff in the lovely tea room, no problems with pitch, they are all of a generous size and fully serviced. Very spacious shower rooms, proper adjustable temperature showers and nice and clean. We stayed for three nights, its a really peaceful atmosphere with plenty of wildlife particularly Geese and groups of Goslings (not so quiet but lovely to see). Fishing was good, saw some very big carp, caught a few but we are pleasure anglers so don't try particularly hard. Security is good with Managers making their rounds several times a day. We will be back.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Stephjohn 2 reviews from this member

Just returned fromA lovely Weekend at Waterloo Farm. A lovely quiet peaceful site, great site if you like peace and quiet, countryside, walks, bike rides etc and fishing but we don't fish -) lovely tea room with nice food, James made me something different as I don't eat meat thank you. Made very welcome and then left in peace. A couple of loo/shower rooms in each field, which are large and nice and warm. A place to empty for mhomes too. Cant wait to return next year

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Boydsquad 4 reviews from this member

Having stayed here twice previously we were almost put off by some previous guests reviews. As we really like the fishing on the lakeside pitches we decided to go back and we were not disappointed. The site owners were extremely helpful and accommodating with a couple of our requests. The facilities were cleaned each morning, soap, paper towels and toilet rolls were all available. Pitches are of an excellent size with 2 pegs to fish from on the lakeside. Fishing was really good as always with good sized carp, bream etc. Lovely walks in both directions along the Brampton Valley Way and Market Harborough is a lovely town to visit. Will definitely return in the future.

Previous     53 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Leicestershire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2614 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019