Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Axmouth Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Seaton > Axmouth Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Axmouth Caravan And Camping Site
Church Street
Axmouth
Seaton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX12 4AF
Tel: 01297 24707
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 86
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 105 Reviews
                9/10 from 105 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  105 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Tidburyboy 14 reviews from this member

 OK, lets get the bad bits over with. Getting onto and off the site is a bit tight if towing or in a larger campervan. Particularly, you should not try to turn right into the site, instead either approach from Seaton, or go into Seaton and turn around (if towing)

There are two husband and wife wardens, we met three of the four and they were helpful, informative and very friendly. The site was fairly quiet, so there were no problems with showers or other facilities.

The showers are set up as one lot being mixed use and the other are Women only, which seemed a bit odd to me in these days of equality. The main area of the site is level and well maintained with some nice views to the front across the estuary and the hills behind the site.

There are two pubs within a few yards of the site entrance, we tried The Harbour which was good for food, drinks and service. We didn't try the Ship. The site has a small shop and is well located for a stroll into Axmouth Harbour and Seaton (about a mile on the level)

The lovely coastal towns of Sidmouth/Branscombe/Beer/Budleigh Salterton are easily reached in one direction and Lyme Regis/Bridport/West Bay not too distant in the other.

All in all, a lovely spot and somewhere that we will certainly visit again. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mikebs 5 reviews from this member

 This site is located in the village of Axmouth and road navigation is reasonable when coming from the Axminster direction. Final access to site is narrow and the site advises carrying on past the turning into site and turning when appropriate to enter from the Seaton direction. The site entrance is next to the pub car park.

Reception is in a small hut, which sells the basics, at the beginning of site. All pitches are on grass and reasonably level. The pitches on the lower part of site can sometimes get waterlogged if there is heavy prolonged rain.

There are two shower blocks. One for females, the other for males. The male showers (3) are set alongside the toilet block in individual outhouses. The water is hot and controlled with a push button. The shower rooms are lacking in seating, no shower curtain and a couple of basic hooks.

Not certain if there was any room heating available. The toilet block looked more modern but could possibly get busy at peak times. There is a covered washing up area here. A fresh water point is located outside the block.

The site is in a pleasant location overlooking the River Axe And seemed reasonably quiet during our stay. Watching the sunset from here could be a very pleasant way to end the day. There are two pubs within walking distance, as mentioned before one is right next to the site entrance.

There is a bus stop close to site only a few minutesí walk away. Seaton is short drive or 30 minute walk. This has the usual cafes plus a big supermarket. Seaton Tramway is also here.

The coastal footpath can be joined by walking through the village. If you are feeling energetic itís possible to walk to Lyme Regis which is about 7 miles away. A bus can bring you back to site but we didnít use this service.

At £22 per night we thought the site to be a little on the expensive side considering the site facilities.

EE mobile phone signal strong. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tiggywiggy 1 review from this member

 What a gem Lovely site. We arrived late and there was a warden waiting to show us to the pitch.

Even helped to hook us up to electric, Showers and toilets were spotless Well worth a visit Highly Recommended 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Stuart Woods 1 review from this member

 Lets just start with the basics stuff then.

1. Its flat.

2. It has loads of room to park and set up your van/Motorhome/tent.

3. The toilets and showers are very very clean.

4. The two local pubs serve excellent food.

5. The location is beautiful.

6. Its a lovely if busy (cars and vans) walk into Seaton.

7. The wardens actually are extremely polite and genuinely very very friendly and most importantly regularly patrol the entire site to ensure people (you know who you are) don't spoil it for the majority of decent visitors.

8. The little shop on site does not repeat not rip you off for basic food stuffs like bread milk eggs etc.

9. The view at sunset if magical.

10. Finally its £20 PER NIGHT £22 with electrical hook up.

What a lovely lovely little gem me and my wife have found.

PS: Its a little tight getting in but just take your time and swing out right before you turn into the site 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Turbowilly6 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely site with views over the river Axe. Had a very nice week. The pub next to the site entrance serves good food and lets dogs in.

Easy walk into Seaton down the side of the river. We would go back again! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Istasker 2 reviews from this member

 The best camp site we have ever been to in 10 years of camping. Nice flat site, perfectly clean toilets, showers & washing up facilities. Cleaned daily. Showers hot and powerful. Friendliest of sites - everyone talking to each other - other campers/caravanners and wardens.

Two lovely pubs with nice food at entrance to campsite. Shop with basics on site eg ice blocks, milk and other basic supplies. 1 km to seaton. Lovely views of estuary with tweets from birdies including curlews. I was worried reading the reviews before the church bell might wake me up - but not at all - not that loud. Very peaceful.

The wardens are very friendly whilst justifiably would tackle any problems arising to ensure we have the holidays we expect. Well kept site eg grass mown. No litter and recycling bins to use. We will be back next summer and more to come.

Easily accessible from motorway and lots to see and do in local area. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dream Catcher 21 reviews from this member

 Just returned from our third visit to this delightful site in a lovely setting, alongside the river.

The Wardens are warm, welcoming and friendly with a relaxed approach that I found charming.

Yes the facilities are not brand spanking new but I saw them being thoroughly cleaned every day I was there.

The gents does have a push button flush on the urinal that, if it is not used, can lead to a whiff as the day goes on. I look forward to our next visit. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: AmandaCamper 1 review from this member

 Charming site near to Seaton. Trams at Seaton really worth a visit especially if you have kids to amuse. Great pub up the road - The Ship worth booking if you want to eat.

Also nice pub next to the camp site The Harbour Inn. Staff on the site very helpful and friendly. Small shop on the site.

Facilities were clean and tidy. The water was hot for showers. Family friendly site. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Cl51ffe 3 reviews from this member

 THE GOOD BITS, This site is well located overlooking the estuary of the river axe and sat with a drink in hand watching the sun set over it is worth seeing, the site has a small shop with all the basic supplies, the warders are friendly, helpful and patrol the site often,

The pitches have a very slight slope but was no problem even without chocks, the showers are also free,

There is a good pub selling food and local beers with large sitting out area next door, the site is a flat short walk into Seaton which has all the amenities and a long pebble beach, electric hook ups in the price,

THE NIGGLY BITS, the pitches we were on were on grass and didn't have any defining markers and we felt we were intruding on to someone's space and them into ours, the men's toilet block could do with a spruce up.

THE BAD BITS my other half did complain that the female toilet block had lots of spiders webs and this wouldn't take much to sort out but for someone with a bit of a fobia is a big thing (the men's had the same problem as did the wash area but on the up side there's no flies ), also the floor was always covered in water ( this could be the clientele rather than the site ), the female shower went of when not held, it should have a timer on this it would save water as you could use both hands to rinse also the showers were grimy around the base

Would we go back probably 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Burcyluton 7 reviews from this member

 Stayed for one night, here are our thoughts.

Good points:

- pretty level site

- we booked on the day

-good location.

- two good pubs within walking distance

Not so good:

- facilities are rather tired.

- water points are only at the toilet blocks

- rubbish collection areas - would be useful if they had some in the extra fields beyond the main campsite

- warden was a little negative, if you say good morning, a smile and good morning wouldn't be too much to ask.

- also we were made to feel as if they could only just squeeze us in, the field was basically empty and we were only staying for one night!

- £19 for the night with no EHU - a little price for a small VW, unfortunately we get classed same size as a large family tent with car/large motor home ! 


Previous     105 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Axmouth Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Axmouth Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Axmouth Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Seaton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4326 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement