Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Axmouth Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Seaton > Axmouth Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Axmouth Caravan And Camping Site
Church Street
Axmouth
Seaton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX12 4AF
Tel: 01297 24707
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 86
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 101 Reviews
                9/10 from 101 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  101 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bamptonian 4 reviews from this member

 I came back to Axmouth for the first time this year, and was again struck by some of the things that make a difference in the camping experience. I was welcomed and made to feel at home by the owner, and at 6 per night I didn't feel I was being ripped off. A big plus for someone who's on an extremely tight budget!

The site itself is a lovely location backing the River Axe estuary with the soundtrack of wading birds for company. The toilet blocks are clean and well maintained, the showers run nice and hot (no extra charge!) and I can see why people in caravans want to stay on site all season if they can - it's a pleasant spot indeed.

The only downside may be that pitches could feel quite close to each other in a busy time, but I had plenty of space during my stay. It's right next door to one of two village pubs too, as well as being less than a mile from the beach. This site has a lot going for it - please don't change it (other than perhaps to space pitches out a bit!) 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mharris 22 reviews from this member

 I can't really add any more than the previous review apart from this is a lovely site. Clean toilets/showers, hot water, nice little shop that doesn't rip you off. It was nice just relaxing looking over the estuary watching the trams go by. Pitches are level and we had plenty of room with an awning up too. We had a choice of pitches when we arrived but if your returning I guess you could reserve your pitch. Eddie the site warden is very friendly and helpful.

We often walked into Seaton it took about 15 minutes. Plenty of fish to be caught at the mouth of the river as well as crabbing. You have to try the local fish and chips from Fry Days, absolutely wonderful with a choice of many fish.

The Harbour Inn next to the campsite was very friendly reasonably priced however we did not eat there. I would suggest booking if you do as they were always turning people away. They also do a breakfast for 4. 00. Dogs and children welcome and free WIFI.

This site is ideally placed for visiting the surrounding area and we would definitely stay here again. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: LlaniDavis 12 reviews from this member

 Just come back from here and it will not be a site we return to.

GOOD:

Site is clean as are the toilets and showers most of the time.

Grass was short.

BAD:

Very noisy, not helped by an organised Youth Camp (Boys Brigade?) blowing Reveille at just before 8 some mornings, and then several times later.

No children's play area so ball games played between some units.

Units VERY close together.

Ladies facilities block a long walk from some pitches.

Access drive is narrow and not easy to get into, and even worse to get out of.

Shop and reception open limited times and they could do with a few lessons in Customer Service.

Hook-ups looked overloaded with 3 leads plugged into a tripleway splitter on some posts.

AREA:

Excellent. Site is in walking distance of Seaton and The Harbour Inn pub at the end of the drive is excellent, with good food and beer. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 109 reviews from this member

 So, you've searched through to Page 3 of the website to find this one then? It's your lucky day. This is an amazing little site, next to the River Axe estuary and in the centre of the delightful village of Axmouth. The site is level and well maintained, the toilets clean and tidy, the showers (push button) hot and free, there is a reasonably priced shop and friendly, helpful staff. The prices are very attractive too, 5. 50 per person per night. There are two pubs close by and a Tescos Extra 15 mins walk away in Seaton.

The only slight draw back could be that the pitches are on the small side but it all seemed to even out with larger tents straying on to space unused by those in smaller tents. It was all very friendly and good natured and the site had a really good feel to it with campers, tourers, caravanners and hikers all muddling along together. You may also be kept awake by the sound of curlews calling through the night.

The Ship Inn, 100m up the lane, is very good for food and beer. There is an excellent little fresh fish shop in Seaton, on the right just before the Tesco store, where you can buy whelks, scallops, mackerel etc. The Seaton and Distric Electric Tram will take you up beside the estuary to Colyton, a really interesting town. The Axe estuary is a nature reserve with several bird watching hides and being tidal, the mud flats attract a variety of birds and other wildlife.

I took the 9:00am bus to Sidmouth, 3. 10 single, and walked back along the coast path. This was about a 10 mile trip, with some quite steep climbs, but with spectacular coastal scenery and views that make the steep bits worthwhile. The Masons Arms Hotel at Branscombe makes a good lunch stop and Beer is a lovely place to look around.

Thinking about it, the details for this campsite are probably best left on page three of the website and let's hope that not too many other people find out about it. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mervzzr 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from short break at this site. What a wonderful little site, clean well presented and flat. Site wardens very friendly and helpful but not intrusive. Excellent pub at end of entrance drive providing fabulous food and well worth the money. Had a mixture of weather from glorious sunshine to hail and gale force winds. Site coped well and views across the River Axe to Seaton fabulous. Facilities clean and tidy but basic. There is no play area for children though plenty of room to play and walk dogs. Will definitely be returning. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bear72 3 reviews from this member

 A really lovely site next to the estuary and a friendly good welcome even though I hadn't pre-booked. Was very cheap at 5 for one night for me and my 2 man tent. Toilet facilities were good and was very useful to have plug points so I could charge my phone whilst taking a shower.

A lovely pub was right at the entrance to the site serving very good food. Looked like there was another good pub a bit further up the road that I saw on the way out in the morning.

Overall a decent site. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SvenBoy 12 reviews from this member

 I have regularly visited this site since 1988, when it was basically a field with a portable cabin for toilet, washing and shower facilities. It has gradually improved over the years, although was often guilty of having units pitched far too close to each other. I spent just one night on my recent visit, a small tent and on a motorcycle. My first time for 2 years.

Eddie is still there! It now appears in an official capacity. He appeared as I arrived and asked me pitch and 'come and find one of us later' to pay and register.

I pitched then found Eddie and I was shown into the reception office which has sprung up since my last visit. I was charged only 5. 00 for the night and for the first time ever at Axe Farm I was given a receipt!

I have always had pleasant stays at this site, it has everything I need there, is a short walk to a couple of pubs and only a small distance from some of the best coastal scenery in the country. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jessegee 5 reviews from this member

 Return visit, its one of our favourites for location, so varied in small area. Site located right on the estuary behind a lovely food pub near Seaton, in the lovely village of Axmouth. Its improved a lot since the new wardens have been working there, the place feels less like a raggy field behind a pub, and more like a tidy happy friendly simple little place, not deathly quiet like a library, more like a relaxing happy atmosphere that still allows bird song and nature to shine through.

The wardens were brilliant, helpful, welcoming, hardworking, great people pleasure to meet. My airbed pump broke and they let me borrow one for sale which we decided to buy.

Facilities are basic but clean, EHU, showers, toilets, washing up, laundry room and a nice recently upgraded little shop.

It can get windy on the front row overlooking the estuary, worth it for the view, or more sheltered back a row or two. No gnats and mozzies, yay!

Nothing for children on site, so it was quiet, but lots for kids in surrounding areas, so if you're a family who love going out and about for most of the day you wont mind.

Dogs are welcome, running field and poop bins available on site, or walk along estuary which gets a bit muddy. Walk around the village on a lead, and up some of the quiet hilly country residential lanes, or for the dogs allowed part of the beach go 1 mile towards seaton and park up in layby before the bridge, keep left past cafe and harbour inlet and head left out onto pebble beach by the cliffs, brilliant.

Beware the tides there though, apparently kids / dogs are easily swept out with the tide coming out of the estuary in a narrow point so don't do what one family did and let their youngsters play in a little plastic dingy unsupervised.

Plenty of other dog walking routes nearby, country parks and commons but you'll need the car.

Seaton is a modernised, slightly kiss me quick kind of seaside town, with old parts still quiet chraming in the middle, and lots of new low apartments on the outskirts. Overall well maintained, and good mix of shops including artists and curio/collectables, and a big supermarket. Great fish n chip shop, some nice cafes etc. Try lardy cake from the bakers!

Seaton tram is well worth a trip, sit up top for great views ( not for vertigo sufferers) or take the dog downstairs, get off at Colyton and walk into the village, charming and picturesque, give yourself plenty of parking time in the long stay by Tescos, we had 4 hours, we watched a wedding at the church, beautiful, the whole village turned out and they rang the bells. We stopped at the big warehouse junk antique store at Colyford by the tram platform, found some nice collectables.

Had lunch on the tram platform, basic pasty/sandwiches etc good price, pleasant interesting experience watching the trams go back and forth, the driver guards are entertaining!

Bird watching sanctuary with hides right nearby. Popular place for fishing and crabbing too.

So its a great varied place in a small area, we will be back soon with the caravan or tent. It might not appeal to posh caravan club members who like the finer things in life, but there is a simple charm that will keep us coming back to relax and enjoy.

I gave it a 9 out of 10 for facilities, because it had everything I wanted and no more, except for a dog shower, I'd love to see one installed, its a great bonus for dog owners, especially in a tent. I gave low child friendliness, but again I see this as a bonus. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Caifey 1 review from this member

 I have been meeting up with family at this campsite for the last 3 years. We all love it because it's what camping is all about - basic.

There's a shower and toilet block, which is cleaned daily, a small hut for groceries, which is only open for a short while in the mornings, and a couple a pubs which are very close.

Owners are very welcoming and rubbish is cleared regularly. Rates are very, very good.

Seaton is less than a 5 minute drive, or a 15 minute walk, where you can ride on a tram. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wolfskin 1 review from this member

 A well priced site with good basic amenities. There are a fair few weekender permanent caravans. With a pub at the entrance, (a real one, not a club bar) I would recommend for those not too fussy. However, the group in a huge tent near to me, who moved in after I had pitched, did not go quiet until 4. 30am, so there is little noise control. I only stayed 1 night, leaving at 7am, else the music, loud talking, weird noises and car doors slamming would have flipped me! Friendly wardens on site. 


Previous     101 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Axmouth Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Axmouth Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Axmouth Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Seaton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4568 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement