Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Axmouth Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Seaton > Axmouth Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Axmouth Caravan And Camping Site
Church Street
Axmouth
Seaton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX12 4AF
Tel: 01297 24707
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 86
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 101 Reviews
                9/10 from 101 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  101 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jj66 1 review from this member

 I stayed as part of a group (cricket team who were playing in Seaton, with wives, children etc).

Rang beforehand and the owner answered, was very happy to have a group (we stayed together in 2nd field) gave me details on price, directions etc.

Met the chap on arrival, he was friendly and laid back, which was the tone for the whole site.

Basic facilities, (shower & toilet block, water, electricity, small shop) no 'marked' plots - proper old school camping with a pub next door wish I could have stayed longer.

Easy 10 minutes walk into Seaton, though road is quite busy. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Slowroad 52 reviews from this member

 Lovely location next to the Axe Estuary. Lovely to hear the curlews. However more a site for the caravans than tents. It's mainly tourers used as statics, there just seems to be a corner furthest from the facilities blocks where they send tents, plus a field behind for organised groups. The showers are nice and hot but the one I used sprayed the entire cubicle. Facilities are very clean. I like the way the washing-up unit is next to the gents not the ladies' toilet/shower blocks!

There's very little save two pubs in Axmouth itself, while Seaton has definitely seen better days. But a lovely part of the world. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bugonjug 1 review from this member

 Wonderful site for watching the bird activity on the Axe estury.

Site is happy, clean and tidy. Both pubs in the village are very good, but somehow prefer The Ship, an excellent family business. If you want to eat on a Friday night remember to trot over and book on Friday morning.

There are no children's play parks and the water is very close so less suitable for carefree families. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Porterball 1 review from this member

 Having tried to get on this site for the last three years we finally made it for the last ten days of August. We travelled from Burgess Hill near Brighton in the very early hours of the morning arriving at Seaton Tesco at about 10am. Before we did the shopping we phoned Eddie the warden to ask what time we could arrive. 'When your ready' he replied. We darted around tesco and arrived at site to be greeted by Eddie who took us to our pitch. He unhitched the caravan and helped us put it on site. We checked the facilities loos perfect, sinks spot on, showers instant constant hot water and well organised recycling A1 site. All the wardens are very attentive to your every need and the cleaner who keeps the shower blocks spot on is excellent. We did find the pitches very close together but this helped everyone be extra friendly with the neigbouring pitches. Site shop was well stocked with vital essencials. The local pub at the site entrance The Harbour, drew us in on five occasions for a full meal and tanglefoot is reccomended. Axmouth harbour is a ten minute walk following the river axe next to the site. Crabbing and a nice cafe awaits you there. Large Tesco and Coop five minutes drive away and Seaton Town can provide for all you other needs.

Beer, Lyme Regis, Charmouth and Seaton are all worth a visit and don't forget the Seaton Tram that takes you to Colyton. We will return soon though sadly eddie is about to semi retire to 'put his kyack in the water' 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: County Bumpkin 1 review from this member

 As we have a caravan, we're really glad we read the advice from the local reviewer who advised approaching the entrance to the site from the Seaton direction - as it would have been a total nightmare and virtually impossible to try to get in from the opposite direction. As they explained, if you approach the site with the site entrance on your right (right next to the Harbour Inn car park and opposite the church) you should carry on into Seaton to go right round the roundabout (or turn around in the large roundabout just before Tesco car park) and approach from the other direction. It's still tight, but manageable. The site itself is in a lovely location, overlooking the Axe estuary, with its abundant birdlife. The showers and loos are OK, could do with a bit of updating (the loo seat I used was cracked and wasn't exactly pristine). Large dog walking field. On arriving, our hearts sunk a bit seeing all the England flags but shouldn't have worried, everyone was really friendly and nobody was excessively noisy, just having fun. The site owner was very easy going. The pitches are very close together, but sufficient room to park and get the chairs out. The Harbour Inn, right next to the site entrance was very nice, good food, nice decor, etc. Seaton (about a mile or so walk alongside the estuary) is very pretty, dogs allowed on the beach right at the far end of the esplanade. The amazing Donkey Sanctuary is about 8 miles away and pretty little Beer in the next inlet. Lots to do, lots to see and the site is in a lovely location. Recommended. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rimor25 6 reviews from this member

 Hi, I hope people read this review before visiting with a caravan or motor home. As with local knowledge access is the only real downside to this site Please do not try to access site entrance if coming south into village instead carry on into Seaton and go completely round the first roundabout and back into Axmouth from Seaton and enter campsite just past harbour inn carpark. I live in Seaton and have been using Axmouth campsite for about 3 year mainly as trial spring run when we had a folding camper. Eddie the warden as many have said is superb and very helpful. The site is a traditional simple campsite but with I think good facilities at prices more akin to CL sites which can only site 5 units? Maybe for some the pitches are considered small but then again most people prefer to be able to get in rather than spend double elswhere in this respect it's true that there are a lot of seasonal campers and repeat visitors it has a friendly easy going atmosphere which people like. Locals prefer Seaton fish bar fish and chips than the one near the seafront (walk up from the square Queen Street just past Eyre Court Hotel) Tandoori tonight is the best indian cuisine (Harbour Road) best Chinese food is Yeungs house near the town hall Fore Street. The Shed steakhouse in Harbour Road is great. Best traditional pub for food and a lovely child friendly beer garden is The Kings Arms (Colyford Road) 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 0121simon 1 review from this member

 Reasonably priced, relaxed site, with good views across the Axe estuary (take your binoculars for bird-life), well run by the warden Eddie who is an ex camper (all the praise is deserved).

Nearby pub (The Harbour) sells good cask ales but has very little exterior lighting/no heating which would be nice in the summer.

Few mozzies but lots of midges early evening when we came in June.

Loved Beer and Branscombe (always have). Recommend Beer Quarry caves good value and very entertaining (although a bit lurid at times for kids!).

Avoid Frydays, Seaton for your fish and chips possibly the worst we’ve ever tasted. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Xtianpete 1 review from this member

 This site is in a great location for exploring east Devon. It has a lovely outlook over the estuary. Two pubs are just outside the campsite. There are no shops in the village, but the campsite has a small shop (which we did not use). Seaton and Tesco's are just over a mile away.

The site is reasonably flat, the toilet facilities clean and sufficient for the number of people when we went.

The site was generally quiet (except for some noisy neighbours the first night). The church clock chime may disturb some people, as it goes on through the night, but it did not bother us. Overall we had a great week here and it was very reasonably priced. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Davidworsfold 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed one night in our campervan. Site in good location on the Axe with views over the river towards Seaton. Pitches quite small and could feel crowded when full. Were given free rein to choose pitch - we wanted ehu so were shown that area. Very friendly welcome. The two pubs nearby are welcome and we had a fantastic meal in The Ship Inn. Negatives are the facilities. The blocks are not heated and with doors left open they were very cold. Also the showers are the gents(unisex) are outside in old 'outside toilet' type buildings. Again too chilly to enjoy the shower. On plus side ample hot water. Dishwashing facilities consisted of two sinks with one set of taps to swivel between them and they were filthy! Little things could make this a perfect site but needs money spent on upgrading the facilities. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Baz6 1 review from this member

 We spent the Easter weekend here, at first glance it appeared to be a good campsite but this wasn't the case, for example inadequate and insufficient toilets and showers, not enough hook-up points and the pitches are too small, the campsite shop has limited selection, very noisy at night. The good points are reasonably priced, two nice village pubs, pleasant scenery and ideally situated to visit nearby Lyme Regis, Seaton and Beer. 


Previous     101 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Axmouth Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Axmouth Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Axmouth Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Seaton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4946 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement