Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Axmouth Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Seaton > Axmouth Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Axmouth Caravan And Camping Site
Church Street
Axmouth
Seaton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX12 4AF
Tel: 01297 24707
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 86
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 101 Reviews
                9/10 from 101 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  101 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Coastwalker 45 reviews from this member

 This site is just off the road through Axmouth and next to the Axe Estuary. I was quite happy with it and would use it again. The price per person (5) in small tents (you pay more if you have big tents/motorhomes/awnings etc) is very good. There is a small shop (shed)but I didn't see it open. There is an honesty box for fees if you miss the owner, which I think shows a good attitude to running a site.

There is just one field, mostly on a slight slope, and you pitch where you like- using common sense to leave the hook-up points free if you don't need one. The toilets and free showers are modern and well kept (though it was quiet and dry weather when I went). There are no other facilities, but that's what most of us like.

The only negative I could see was that the access drive (by the pub) is rather narrow and I could imagine that getting a large van or motorhome in would test you a bit. I went to the area to do the Coast Path, for which it is ideal. The village itself has just the 2 pubs and a nice old church. Seaton is half a mile down the road (footpath all the way) and has a supermarket and food places, but a bit of planning blight as Tesco is apparently to take over as usual.

Sidmouth and Lyme Regis are charming old towns but with the usual rip-off parking. The scenery off the beaten track is a bit like the alps but without the big mountains. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Carlton2002 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a wonderful weekend at Axemouth. We camped at Axemouth Campsite on the May Day bank holiday weekend with one family tent and one camper van. We couldn't book in advance so arrived on Friday afternoon ( Royal wedding day ) and were greeted by a very helpful man - I think his name was 'Eddie'. He told us we could pitch wherever we liked which was a welcome change from the structured campsites that seem to be popping up everywhere. The toilet facilities were spotless and cleaned twice a day, there was a little shop that was opened by the owner each morning where you could buy bread rolls, milk, eggs etc very cheaply and the pitch rates were very reasonable.

The village of Axemouth has 2 lovely pubs but no shops at all so we went to Seaton for our supplies. That was a 5 min bike ride or a 20 min walk away and had everything you needed.

We were so impressed by the helpfulness of 'Eddie' and the campsite owners who bought us newspapers on request and had every bit of local information that you could possibly need. We felt very looked after.

We will definitely return to this campsite as the customer service and cleanliness was second to none and that is not something you can say very often ! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Kaz23 6 reviews from this member

 I thought this was a fantastic little campsite.

I have never met such friendly owners who went out of their way to make us feel welcome.

For 2 adults, 2 teenage kids and a big dog in a VW camper van we only paid 14 per night (in AUGUST!) It's 16 with hook up. They charge per unit not per head. They do allow dogs on a lead :)

The caravan part where we were was crowded but not overly so and there was plenty of room in the tent only field even in school hols.

We were going to tour along to Exmouth but the other two campsites, one was a farm and the other was a camping park (so no amazing facilities or anything) wanted to charge us 24 and 21 respectively. I expressed disgust to both and promptly returned to this lovely campsite.

It's right on the river with fantastic views and was so totally peaceful, it was dead quiet by 10pm and at 11pm at the weekend.

The little shop (open 9am til 10.30am) is handy if you have forgotten something overnight and there are easy walking distance shops at Seaton.

The toilets were cleaned twice a day and people didn't realise all they had to do was press the flush button for a bit longer to flush the toilet adequately.

Free hot showers and hot water in the wash up area make this a really great place to stay.

Easy travelling distance to Lyme Regis, Seaton, The Donkey Sanctuary, Beer and Sidmouth so plenty to do. Also a pub right next to the campsite.

Will definitely return. 10/10 from me! 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Rampoy30 1 review from this member

 Nice little site, bernie and wife very friendly and helpful. Toilet blocks both clean. The harbour inn nice ale but far too over priced. Food very expensive. The ship inn better choice of food beer good and good prices highly recommend. 5*+. Bus services are very good into seaton and back. I am an animal lover but was concerned about visitors to the site with dogs mostly let their dogs fowl when dark thinking nobody would notice.

There were great views all round and an ideal spot for ramblers to stay. I had to go into Seaton every morning to co-op for papers but was told that shop opens daily once children were of off school.This was not a problem though. Very picturesque little village to stroll round and a beautiful church which has a lot of history. I enjoyed my stay very much and would not hesitate to stay again.

Next time I would definitely take a fishing rod as there is direct access to river axe. I had no problems with electric hook up (no tripping out). Hot water in the showers was HOT every time, with no cooling when other taps around site were being used. Would stay again pre-school holidays as was told that scouts guides etc stay in adjoining field during summer holidays which would make axe farm a busy place. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Its higgsy 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site on the rally field, the site was absolutely water logged & the whole site was soon just mud,

We really struggled to get the car on & off the site each day

The toilets & showers were right near the entrance & long way from the field but they were clean & well looked after

The site itself appeared to be very overcrowded & all the vans seemed to jammed close together with very little room for tents

There is not much near by to do

The nearest beach was Seaton that was pebbles  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paul + Wendy 12 reviews from this member

 We spent a week at Axe farm, it is very close to the river Axe and there is no safety for children from the river, ie fences, the site became very muddy whilst we were there although the children did enjoy jumping in the puddles.

Toilets were never found to be very clean. Although there is a small shop on site but it is only open until 10.30am.

The site is very close to two pubs and only a two minute drive to Seaton and good for touring the jurassic coastline. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Susiewong 15 reviews from this member

 Entrance and exiting this site is extremely difficult with a 26 foot caravan and 4 x 4 car, we had to be guided in and out. Once in I was disappointed with first impressions. Some of the units have obviously been there years without any upkeep. The drainage on the fields really does need to be upgraded too as we found out. With a little more care and attention this site could be ideal. On the plus side it is in a lovely location within walking distance to Seaton, the pub is at the site entrance, the showers, toilets, waste disposal and water taps were adequate for our needs. Once the weather warmed up it was an OK place to be. We won't go back there (mainy due to access) but I have been to worse sites. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Emvid1 17 reviews from this member

 I spent 2 nights on the rally field on this site. I should have stayed for 7 but after the horrendous weather the ground was so wet and waterlogged I decided to leave early.

The site is in a beautiful location but looks a little unloved. It seems very popular with seasonal caravans but I thought it was very cramped.

There are 2 quite modern facilities blocks on the site. One male and one female (i think- was too wet to wander around too much). Lots of loos, some soap and 3 showers in the ladies. The showers smelt damp and were full of spiders above eye level. The showers were actually very good though. Good water pressure and nice and hot.

A small shed that is the site shop offers an Ice pack service at 1 deposit and 20p hire charge. It also sells a few basics. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Dawn+dave 13 reviews from this member

 This site is okay but you cannot book in advance. If you want to go to this site with EHU then I suggest you get there early as there are not many available as most of the pitches are used up by season pitches.We were lucky as we got there early. However if you want a pitch with non EHU there is plenty of pitches.

Ladies toilets could do with a little more care as some of them leak a little due to the Elsen point which is next door to the ladies and could do with a mop and bucket for ladies to clean up after using the shower. The mens showers are kept clean and no leakage there. The showers are lovely and hot. There are also 3 unisex showers which there is more room in them.The showers are free and there is electric for hairdryers and so on.

The washing up area unfortunately is very small and you can only can get one at a time at the sink.

There is a little camp shop which is only opened for a couple of hours in the morning. It just sells the essentials.

There is a laundry room 3.00 per wash at 45 minutes and dryer 1.00 for 20 minutes which I thought was a bit expensive.

Also at this campsite they have 2 rally fields which the scouts and Boy's Brigade where there at the time and there where no problems with any of them.

There is no play area for kids to play, but if they play by the river be careful as when the tide is in the river becomes quite high as there is no fence to stop the kids going to down to the river.

Seaton town is about half hour walk into town, but its best to go by car. There is a Co-op there and some very nice gift shops And a great tram rides to Colyton and back. Dogs are only allowed on the right hand side of the beach and on the left of where the mouth of the river is, they are also not allowed on the promenade.

Just a note,just before you go over the bridge to Seaton take a left down to the mouth of the river there is a lovely cafe called ' The Tea Caddy ' which do a lovely fish and chips.Also the Angling centre is down there for you fishermen. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: N Marshall 1 review from this member

 We spent 5 nights at this site and enjoyed it so much that we will return again next year. We had a family dome tent. There were 2 adults and one child under 3. We paid 8 per night.

Good Points. Plenty of space in the fields. Shower block for ladies includes 3 good sized showers with free hot water. Approx. 7 toilets, 5 sinks and 2 sinks which are in cubicles should you want a bit more privacy. 2 plug sockets for hairdryers etc. All free. There is a separate toilet block for men. 3 unisex showers. Washing up facilities and laundry facilities (coin operated washing machines). Shop on site which is open in the morning.

There is a very good pub next to the camp site which has some play facilities for children in the garden.

The site is situated approximately 1 mile from the town of Seaton with its shops, electric tramway, harbour and beach. Other beaches close by include Beer, Branscombe, Charmouth and Lyme Regis. All the beaches (apart from Lyme Regis) are stoney so you will need appropriate footwear. If you decide to drive to Branscombe you should be aware that the drive is quite hairy! The roads are steep and very narrow. Although there are passing places, it's still a squeeze so a drive to this beach is not for the timid driver.

Be wary of peak holiday times when a separate field plays host to scouts etc. This means that it can be a little noisy and also the guides tend to go en masse to the ladies shower block and congregate around the sinks with their hair dryers, make up and mobile phones!

You can't phone in advance to reserve a pitch and although the farmer assures you he has plenty of space, you may find yourself a little closer to your next door neighbour than you would have wished.

The camp site is situated next to the estuary. This means that there are mosquitos and if you have ever heard the dawn chorus sung by sea birds, you will know that it can take some getting used to! 


Previous     101 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Axmouth Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Axmouth Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Axmouth Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Seaton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4844 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement