Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Thornbrook Barn Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Ingleton > Thornbrook Barn Caravan Site > Reviews

Thornbrook Barn Caravan Site
Thornton In Lonsdale
Ingleton
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
LA6 3PD
Tel: 015242 41432
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 42
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 106 Reviews
                10/10 from 106 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (28)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  106 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: BongoLincs 1 review from this member

 Background - my first time in a campervan and on a site. Midweek Tuesday to Friday. 7 of the 30 pitches taken.

Location - A walkable 1-2 miles from eateries and local shops in village. Coffee shop and grand food hall 5 minutes walk. Spectacular view of Ingleborough to the North.

Site - On three levels, lots of space and grass between pitches. Attractively laid out and well tended. Easy hook-up. Excellent local information.

Toilet/shower block - SPOTLESS.

Great cycling country for climbers.

Overall - wonderfully quiet, space, super-clean, great unobtrusive customer service. I would return without hesitation. The high standard I'll seek for trips elsewhere. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stevie T 64 1 review from this member

 Just stayed at this fantastic site over the Bank Holiday weekend, it was fully booked but using the facilities you wouldn't have guessed it. The shower block was one of the best we have used, the underfloor heating a big plus.

The site is well organised in its lay out and each pitch has plenty of room and not on toop of each other, we had the van with full awning and car easily on the pitch.

Sarah and Alan were very welcoming even though 3 units turned up together and late, they were only to pleased to help. In fact Alan and his daughter helped us put up our awning as me and Mrs were not 100 % due to poorly joints at the moment which was a big help at the time.

The dog walking area was a bonus too, close to the shower block but out of the way. Nice and safe with fences all the way round.

No playground for children but they do state that, so not much for kids to do other than visit the sheep and new lambs in the field nearby.

The local pub, Morton Arms was a 15 min walk on flat roads away. It had just re opened after some work and was great inside, friendly staff and food and drinks were at reasonable prices and was plenty of local dishes, ate there for 2 evenings and plenty in enjoying the atmosphere. Like most country pubs they let in our 2 dogs which sat under the table.

A great site, we will definitely go back if looking at this area for another break and recommended it to everyone

Cheers Stephen & Carol 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Drifter10 15 reviews from this member

 Writing this before we leave after 3 great nights here. Super friendly welcome on arrival and great that you can chose your pitch and no strict rules about how you put your vehicle. Lovely large pitches and many are fully serviced. Site is easy to access from A65 but sheltered in a slight dip. Shower block beautifully warm and spotlessly clean. Also a washing up area and thoughtful local information room.

We loved the fact there aren't night time lights as there is nothing more annoying than lights shining through curtains all night. Local pub closed but due to reopen at Easter. Ingleton is a super location to tour thus unheralded but beautiful area between the major tourist spots. Excellent choppy in the village and Kirkby Lonsdale is a very pretty place.

This site deserves all its accolades. Superb spot and superbly run. One of the best we have stayed on. Can't wait to return.

Ps. I agree it would be an excellent adults only site as not much for children to do. 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tyson1960 11 reviews from this member

 What a find. Didn't feel like putting a review on in case it means it will be fully booked when I want to go back! Excellent site with generously sized plots, as well as immaculately kept toilet and shower block. Great dog play area next to site. Torch recommended as at night very dark as only lights are those on the shower block. It's a good thing really, as you can take advantage on a clear night of seeing all the stars. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kevin001 1 review from this member

 A JEWEL in the crown of the Yorkshire Dale

Very clean and tidy site, well look after by the owners.

The ablution block is cleaned to a high standard, Iíve been in the cleaning sector for the pasted 35 years and this site rates in my top 5.

The owners are very pleasant and helpful with their local knowledge and are always willing to have a chat with you.

This was are first visit and is on the top of our list when we go to the dales again.

Thanks for a great 9 days

Kevin and Angela 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Stuart24 5 reviews from this member

 Thornbrook Barn is a beautiful site in a lovely area. The site itself is immaculately kept with neatly trimmed grass areas and all pitches hardstanding. We were met by the very nice owner and given all the information we needed along with an envelope containing free 'doggie bags' a gentle hint to clean up behind our dog. The dog exercise area was as well kept as the rest of the site and everyone kept to the rules and picked up. The showers/toilets are spotlessly clean and warm.

The local pub, The Marton Arms is very welcoming and dog friendly. We ate there on one evening and the food was excellent although we had quite a long wait for it. In fairness the manager did tell us that this would be the case as they were quite busy. Take a torch if going to the pub in the evening as the road is absolutely dark with no lighting at all.

The bus stop in Ingleton is about a 25 minute walk where the bus to Lancaster stops. We discovered an easier method by walking to the A65 main road only a few minutes away, catching the hail and ride bus to Kirkby Lonsdale and changing there for Lancaster. In the opposite direction the hail and ride bus goes to Settle and Skipton.

We were very impressed by and will certainly visit Thornbrook Barn again. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: GlenJT 4 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic site. Good sized pitches, fabulous location, 5* shower block. Fantastic walking from site. Friendly, helpful owners. Will be returning. Would make a good adults only site. The site is easy walking distance to Ingleton and the spectacular waterfalls and Ingleborough is accessible from site. Many other walks if you can use a map. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: NicciMac 65 reviews from this member

 At £20 per night for a van with 2 people 1 dog plus EHU, this is really great value. The Ingleton Waterfalls trail is just down the road and easily reached for a day out, but don't get designs on swimming all the falls which is the whole reason I went :(. The first half of the trail in particular was absolutely packed with people and there really wasn't a chance to get wet until we got round to Beezley Falls. There is an outdoor pool in Ingleton though, as well as pubs, shops, co-op etc.

We were greeted by the owners' young daughter who did a great job of welcoming us and giving all the relevant info. The welcome pack included discount cards for the farm shop just opposite the site and the pub up the road. They even included some complementary dog poo bags! There was a roomy dog exercise area. I'd prefer there not to be a 'dogs always on leads on site' rule but I suppose there is no accounting for idiot dog owners so fair enough.

The toilet/ shower block looks new and they were spacious and cleaned regularly. The pitches were huge - they are hardstanding but if you position yourself right you can open onto grass. We were allowed to choose our own pitch which is always nice.

There was some traffic noise from the road nearby but the site itself was really quiet - we only saw one other couple the 2 nights that we were there! Lovely. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 636 reviews from this member

 This is a great new site, a 15 minute walk from the village of Ingleton and a great base for the Three Peaks and the excellent caving in the area. It is just off the A65 - easy access but a beautiful location.

The facilities on site are excellent with a brand new facilities block and large serviced pitches. Lovely owners gave a friendly welcome.

Brilliant site and great value! 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Geoleen 43 reviews from this member

 Just returned from this fab site. We were on a super pitch with our own water and drainage and ehu, which was huge. The facilities were excellent, warm and spotlessly clean, although I wish some people would realise what the toilet brush is for and leave it as they would wish to find it! That is not the fault of the site owners. The only problem I found in the shower was the lack of a shelf in the actual shower on which to put toiletries, but that is not going to put us off returning. The cublicles are spacious enough with a small wall to protect your belongings from the water. There is not a lot for children to do on the site, but the peace and quiet is just perfect for us, having no kids with us. The local pub, the Marton Arms does good food, although as most country pubs it's not a cheap meal, but not overly expensive. It has a great ambience and the staff are very friendly. We also did the waterfall trail walk, this took us 3 hours and for a couple of 60 somethings we thought that was good going. Although be warned if you are going to do it, wear good footwear and be prepared for the weather to change and be aware it is a strenuous walk involving up and down slopes and steps. But it is worth it for some beautiful scenery and the falls are wonderful. Ingleton is a pretty village with a few shops a couple of pubs and co-op for supplies. It is very easy to find the site being just off the A65. It is opposite the Country Harvest shop, which is worth a visit. All in all I would thoroughly recommend and we will definitely return. 


Previous     106 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Thornbrook Barn Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Thornbrook Barn Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Thornbrook Barn Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ingleton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


58480 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement