Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Thornbrook Barn Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Ingleton > Thornbrook Barn Caravan Site > Reviews

Thornbrook Barn Caravan Site
Thornton In Lonsdale
Ingleton
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
LA6 3PD
Tel: 015242 41432
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 42
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 105 Reviews
                10/10 from 105 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (28)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  105 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lorna2 2 reviews from this member

 Beautiful, immaculate site near Ingleton. First class toilet facilities, handy dog park.

Lots of info on things to do, we cycled on quiet roads to Ribblehead Viaduct, had coffee at the interesting Ribblehead Station and next day to Ingleborough Trail and Caves with a lovely coffee stop at the Old Sawmill Cafe. Both cafes dog friendly.

Ingleton is a lovely village with a selection of independent shops approx 20 mins walk from site.

Country Harvest food/ gift/ coffee shop 2mins walk from site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Barry8 1 review from this member

 Wet wet and oh yes Wet

Very wet weekend but excellent site and pitch - no formal check in required - Paid in advance - Pitch details sent in advance to you by e mail - turn up pitch and you're off.

Very clean site - great size pitches, and site located near Ingleton.

Fully serviced hardstanding pitch - great supermarket and Deli easy 5 minute walk away.

Close to waterfalls trail and recommend the short drive to the Highwayman pub fantastic food and beers best to book beforehand.

We had a small problem - needed to strap our motor movers in place to allow us to drive away - wouldn't disengage properly and stay disengaged. The site managers/owners - couldn't have been more helpful.

THANK YOU SO MUCH thoroughly recommend and we will be back - coachman laser excel 850 pitch number 28 🙏🙏🙏🙏 


Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Astley 1 review from this member

 This camp site is of a very high standard, well maintained

We had a very enjoyable stay

We would definitley recommend and we would return.

Close to ingleton and a pub near by. 


Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Colina 1 review from this member

 Really nice site easy to find,

Pitch was amazing,

Very friendly and spotlessly clean

Would definitely recommend to anyone.

Will be back in the near future. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pmurawski 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely site with very clean facilities. Less than a mile’s walk to Ingleton and a 10 minute walk to the nearest pub, the Marton’s Arms.

The booking system is all online and is easy to use and you get a quick response with lots of information about the site, how to get there and about local places.

The only minor issue we had was with the walking directions to Ingleton. They were a bit confusing but we got there in the end!

All in all a really pleasant stay. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mondeocort 62 reviews from this member

 40 mins from home and trouble free easy access to this site, what more could you ask! Great entrance to this very well maintained site with the biggest individual pitches I have come across.

Some pitches require levellers as they are slanted mainly due to the lie of the land. Top of the site has pitches with the best views over the countryside. Pitches lower down are spaced out well and are very light and still offer the countryside feel.

The facilities block was very clean although I was disappointed to find nowhere to put my shower gel etc, a little ledge / shelf / caddy within the shower area would be really appreciated. My shower was also cold for the 1st minute or so and I dislike push button style showers immensely.

A small stone built bin store with general waste and recycling bins also provides an enclosed elsan point. There is a motorhome service area also.

This site is within easy access to the village of Ingleton. This site is outstanding for its pricing, facilities and location.

Everything was done online re booking, never saw the owners but they are contactable by phone and live next to the site.

We will be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Woolycomb 18 reviews from this member

 Possibly the loveliest campsite we’ve ever stayed at!

Situated in beautiful surroundings within walking distance of Ingleton and with views of the dales,

The campsite is sympathetically laid out with lots of natural stone, beech hedges and immaculate grass.

All the pitches are generously sized & hedged.

The facilities were a joy! Heated, sparkling clean with piped music.

We will definitely be back! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Debbie65 31 reviews from this member

 We are just getting ready to pack up for the off tomorrow after spending 8 amazing nights at this truly spectacular site. 10/10 for everything.   I wanted to write a chunky review as this has to be one of the most fantastic sites we've ever stayed on, and I want to do it justice. Honestly, this site is top notch.

Booking/ arrivals/ pitch:

We booked early in the year for our end of July/early August stay and requested a fully serviced pitch with nice views. Booking was very pleasant and helpful.

We were not disappointed with our wonderful allocated pitch.   The pitch (no 13) was one of the higher up pitches, on the "terraced" area, overlooking spectacular countryside. Huge, huge pitch. Lovely grassed area to the side. Attractive stone walling on 3 sides, making the whole pitch feel private.   Grass cutting and overall site maintenance was second to none.

More than ample space for van and awning, with space to spare. If you want a pitch nearer the facilities, then this area might not be for you as it is furthest away from the block. The pitches nearer the facilities also looked gorgeous. You'll need rock pegs if putting up an awning.

We were sent our pitch details a couple of days before, when we called to pay our balance, and were able to drive straight to the pitch on arrival. Perfect.

Easy drive along the A65 once we left the M6, site well signposted.

Facilities:

Wow. Spotless. Generous shower cubicles, piped music, clean, no "closed between" times. Some of the best facilities we've seen. A credit to the owners.

Free, reliable and decent signal strength WiFi on site too.

Dog exercise area:

Small, very secure, handy for that morning or late night expedition.

Limited (if any) opportunities for off lead dog walking from site (that we saw) but miles of quietish rural roads. Only mentioning this as although it was not an issue for us, I know some people look for good off lead dog walks.   This of course, is not something that the site has any control over. It was ideal for our elderly Springer though.

Elsan disposal/ rubbish/ recycling:

Modern, clean, situated in the middle-ish of the site in a very attractive natural stone building that really looked in keeping with the rest of the site.

Local area:

Ingleton a 15 min walk away, slightly hilly but nothing strenuous.   Lovely quaint wee village with a great selection of pubs, cafes, an outdoor heated swimming pool, riverside walks. Hubby says he also a sign for a skate park. If you are coming with kids there's nothing really for them on the site but they may well find the village holds some fun possibilities.

There's a small co-op in the middle of the village, and a bigger one with a fuel forecourt just on the edge of the village off the A65 heading to Skipton.

We had a fantastic breakfast one morning in a beautiful cafe called Bernie's  - very dog friendly too and brilliant vegan options which suited us, as well as the more traditional fare. There's a market in Ingleton on one day of the week.

Marston Arms is about a 15 min walk away, lovely beer garden and the food looked lovely.

During the week some of the places we visited included Kirkby Londsdale (recommend The Red Dragon for food and a walk to the Devil's Bridge, market day Wednesday), Windermere and Bowness (recommend The Magic Roundabout for food in Bowness - we did the Haverthwaite Railway and Lake round trip which was excellent), Skipton (recommend The Cock and Bottle for food and The castle Woods for an amazing walk, market day Saturday), and also the nature reserve at Ingleborough (recommend The Lake House for food - loads of fantasticwalking routes) - all lovely locations and great days out. Really, there is so much to do in the area. It is a walkers paradise.

Not relevant to the site, but someone might find this helpful, we are both vegan and were spoilt for choice re vegan options when eating out  -  everywhere we went had great alternatives and were really accommodating. Bonus for us. 😊

Can not recommend this site highly enough, it was a pleasure to pitch here for 8 wonderful nights, and if we are staying in this area again this site will be our No 1 choice.

Thank you Thornbrook Barn you should be so proud of your beautiful site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: JBSB 21 reviews from this member

 Great site.

Perfect location for walking to the Falls.

Very clean site, well laid out.

Excellent toilet block.

Would definitely stay again if in the area. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: HectorHilly 1 review from this member

 Fabulous site, absolutely immaculate and we will definitely return.

The only possible quibble is that there is one washing up sink but that wouldn’t put us off enthusiastically coming back. 
via mobile


Previous     105 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Thornbrook Barn Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Thornbrook Barn Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Thornbrook Barn Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ingleton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet National Outdoor Expo 23/03 to 24/03
Held at the NEC in Birmingham, bringing outdoor enthusiasts all of the kit, tech, nutrition, activities and advice under one roof for a jam-packed weekend of outdoor inspiration Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5777 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement