Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Thornbrook Barn Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Thornbrook Barn Caravan Site
Thornton In Lonsdale
Ingleton
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
LA6 3PD
Tel: 015242 41432
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 42
Open: 1 March -10 November & 20 Dec To 5 Jan

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 67 Reviews
                10/10 from 67 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (14)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 1 mile 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  67 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 14+ Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Alanterri 45 reviews from this member

The woosiies are a group of friends from all, over the uk who meet up twice a year. We are seasoned caravanners who now like our creature comforts. This year we chose Thornbrook farm site. No disappointment.

The Owners Sandra and Alan have this place well sorted. Regular emails sent to us before our due date, plus a very warm pleasant thank you for staying after we departed.

Toilet block. Underfloor heating. Super clean. As new yesterday. Hot clean showers. Decent extraction. We had one of the numerous fully serviced pitches, 16 amp. Perfect. Reasonable dog walk. My Springers were dying to jump thevfive bar gate into the ‘orchard ‘. More than enough to keep the dogs happy. Twelve new pitches fully serviced, opened whilst we were there. All, taken over the bank holiday.

This site is a rarity to be enjoyed. The Marton Arms a short walk away is great. Walks galore. One for a return ASAP.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jondy376 56 reviews from this member

We received a lovely warm welcome on arrival, the pitches are hardstanding with plenty of room. The showers and toilets were spotless, The site is well maintained, We had some lovely walks some from the campsite, also there is a country store 5 minutes walk away. Thank you for Making us feel so welcome and hope to visit again soon.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bigmark 18 reviews from this member

Well I have to say I was very impressed with the super pitch I booked. Easy to get to off the A65 so no issue there. Go along the drive and park up near the farm house. There is a bay to pull into so you don't block the access road.

Very friendly lady I dealt with and we asked if we could add another night which was ok.

Instructions on various places to visit given and small booklet handed to me. I could choose my own super pitch so off I went.

Got up and running in no time and had a wander about the site which is not big but very well laid out. A tad tight if you have a big unit so take care.

Toilet block is immaculate. All brand new you could eat your diner off the floor.

There is no play area for kids but that did not bother me as my youngest is 30 and I'm not pushing him on the swings anymore.

Ingleton easy to walk too just out of the drive turn left and follow your nose.

Had a day out in Hawes going over via the ribble valley railway. Lovely run.

Had another day out in Slaidburn in the forest of bowland. Lovely place.

Would I go back the site again. Darn right I will at some point but I do like to explore so it may be some time.

Many thanks to the owners and their lovely sheep that allowed me to stroke it.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lizziebarney 1 review from this member

A fantastic site in a beautiful setting, our second visit. The site is immaculate with excellent facilities an excellent dog walk area. Even when the site is full it is still very quiet and peaceful. Included in your stay is free Wi-Fi and a 10% discount voucher for the Country Harvest shop which has wonderful food and drink. All the other people staying on the site loved it and were either repeat customers or would be returning. Wish this site was a bit nearer to where we live but it's well worth the journey. Very friendly helpful hosts.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ged600 8 reviews from this member

This was our first site stayed on since starting vanning again after a 20 year gap.

Booking online was simple and straightforward. On arrival we went down to the house as instructed at the entrance, I was greeted by the owner who had a pack of info for me with a map of the site. Our pitch was down at the bottom which was very sheltered. They are all hard standings at this site, we plugged in the E. H. U, got the water and put the kettle on.

The dog exercise was just behind us with toilets and shower block seconds walk away. The block looked newly built and was spotless with showers toilets and washing cubicles all in one block. It had under floor heating as well.

Overall a top site and we will be returning later on in the year.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nickb500 11 reviews from this member

Thanks to the effects of 'the beast from the east' we had to delay our visit to Thornbrook Barn by a couple of days while snow was cleared from the roads both near home and at our destination but it was worth the wait. Having expanded from the 5 pitch site we visited about 6 years ago this remains a lovely well laid out and equipped site.

Although we didn't need to use the toilet or shower facilities a quick glance showed them to be warm, spacious and spotless. The room containing local information and details of things to do also had a useful guide to nearby pubs and restaurants with sample menus and reviews by other campers.

Our pitch was generously sized with plenty of room for caravan, awning and a couple of cars - had we needed all those things!

The nearby Marton Arms looked very popular and had a good range of food on offer and was much closer than the other pubs in Ingleton. We did however sample the Ingleton chippie and were impressed by their food too!

The Waterfalls Walk was well worth the walk (!) again with plenty of snow on the surrounding hills to add to the scenic views, and we also visited Dent and most other surrounding villages as well as the famous Ribblehead Viaduct.

To summarise - an excellent well laid out site with plenty to do in the area and kept in a lovely condition by Sandra and Alan.

Date of Visit: December 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Twolees 12 reviews from this member

Just returned from our stay here over Christmas. As always the site is immaculate. Toilets and showers are spotless lovely and warm. The Christmas trees dotted round the site all twinkling at night and the decorations on the amenity block were lovely. The owners made it Christmassy. Met some very nice people on site we didn't want to leave. Will be returning very soon.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nicokat 2 reviews from this member

Top Class Site. Well Laid out, facilities spotless and ideally located for nearby pubs and attractions. Anybody involved in running a touring site or thinking of starting one would do well to visit this place and see how it should be done. Excellent value for money

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TheNig 3 reviews from this member

What an enjoyable stay we all had in a friendly area with excellent amenities. Everything was clean, the toilet block was warm and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Highly recommended, with excellent pubs nearby too!

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: SJSScotland 10 reviews from this member

What a wonderful site. Immaculate, beautifully laid out (we were on the circle on the left as you come in. Peaceful, gorgeous views. Easy walk into Ingleton and we climbed Ingleborough from the campsite. Easy to find, and no noticeable road noise. Owner very helpful. One little quibble, the water tap is on a slope which made it a bit tricky to get our water tank full. But that is minor issue that will not stop us coming back!

One tip, if you are planning to eat or shop at Country Kitchen 5 mins away, check in to the campsite first as you get a discount card.

Previous     67 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2531 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019