Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Thornbrook Barn Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Ingleton > Thornbrook Barn Caravan Site > Reviews

Thornbrook Barn Caravan Site
Thornton In Lonsdale
Ingleton
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
LA6 3PD
Tel: 015242 41432
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 42
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 106 Reviews
                10/10 from 106 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (28)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  106 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Our Vera 4 reviews from this member

 A lovely site - one of our favourites. We stayed for one night and loved it. Well laid out and nicely landscaped, which looks like it will be even better when the young hedging trees have developed. The site is in a slight dip which seemed to protect it a bit from the wind. The toilet/shower block is great- warm and well appointed. It snowed whilst we were there but that just added to the views! We liked the Country Harvest shop and café which is only 5 minutes walk. We could only stay one night this time but intend to go back soon. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Happy camper 01 11 reviews from this member

 I will keep this short and sweet as I echo what the majority have said about this lovely site. We came for a weekend so glad we found this site with its clean facilities and roomy pitches. We will definitely stay here again hopefully for a longer stay as its situated in such a good spot for visiting place's. Plenty of places to eat out. In walking distance to ingleton falls what more can you ask for. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jacks59 4 reviews from this member

 We have just had our 2nd visit to this wonderful site, this is well situated for us as we have family in ingleton and we take our grandchildren. We have not had a problem with children on the site and disagree that it should be adults only, there is plenty to do in the surrounding areas to tire children out. I hope this site keeps going for many years as we intend to return many times. However I do agree that a laundry area would be a good idea especially a tumble dryer.  


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Markirel 1 review from this member

 What a lovely site with great facilities and friendly owners.

We have just returned from a 10-day stay at Thornbrook Barn, leaving a day early due to forecast bad weather, but loved every minute of being there. Plenty to do in the area with the Three Peaks, a number of cycle routes passing through Ingleton, the lakes (Windermere) being a short drive away, lovely villages, caves etc. We'll certainly back to continue exploring the area.

The campsite is excellent and well laid out with spotless facilities. Hedges planted around each generous plot will look great as they mature and will further improve an already great site. The owners were very friendly, relaxed and helpful, and the whole family are often seen taking care of the facilities, cutting the grass, clearing the stream to keep the site looking good.

We were there with kids and whilst there is no play area this wasn't a problem as there is plenty to do in the surrounding area. Our children were certainly made to feel welcome on the site.

For persons taking an awning with their outfit to Thornbrook Barn I would recommend taking some long heavy duty triangle shape metal pegs, at least for the corners of the awning, as the ground can loosen easily with traditional round rock pegs. If on one of the super pitches with a grey water drain don't forget a longer waste pipe too. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Truediamond 111 reviews from this member

 We were looking for a site well situated for walking in the Yorkshire Dales and used this review website to choose Thornbrook Barn on the basis of other people's comments. They were right and we would fully support what has already been said:

This is a high quality Site with modern facilities and a beautiful location.

It is close to Ingleton village and well placed for some fabulous walking- we went up Whernside from the Site, an ~15 mile round trip. There were lots of easier walks too and a bus service.

The Site is a real sun trap, especially for units higher up.

The owners have really invested money and time on layout and facilities, they deserve to do well.

Maybe the only suggestion we could make might be to add a clothes drying area, washing line or something. It's not always rain free in Yorkshire after all.

We'll be back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jncjec 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent. Beautiful situation, topclass facilities, very clean, plenty of toilets/showers, hot water etc, covered wash up area. Good walks from site. Good pub (food) 5mins walk; ditto exc farm shop/restaurant. 20mins village-shops, outdoor pool. Not really for children-a plus for us. Lovely owners. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Leeguapo 6 reviews from this member

 Just visited this lovely site with our three children. I'm not going to write a long review however I agree with all the positives that have already been mentioned. The owner even fixed my jockey wheel that had a puncture. He really is a chilled out guy and spends time talking with the campers offering his local knowledge. As a previous reviewer mentioned children were playing ball games and hanging around the brook. What do you expect they are children? That's what children do. Having said that if I had gone without kids and just with my partner this would annoy me too. This is where the owners have got it wrong. They say children are welcome however in reality they are not. There is nothing for them to do and so of course they will cause mischief. My view is that this site should be adults only. Apart from this it truly is a lovely, clean chilled site and we will definitely be back ( minus the kids ). 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Markh1 4 reviews from this member

 Well designed, new site with excellent facilities, many pitches have water and a drain, well organised check in. Close to a country store that's sells every thing you'll need for breakfast, lunch and dinners, you can eat there too. There is a pub, the Marton Arms less than 10minutes walk away, they serve very good food. A slightly longer walk will take you to Ingleton, where there are a few interesting shops and an out door swimming pool. I'd suggest the site owners go adult only 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: AWhitehead633526 6 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely little site which will be even better once the hedges have had a chance to grow and mature. The pitches big and level and are separated from neighbouring plots by grass and/or hedging. Do make sure you take your hard ground tent pegs with you though because you will need them! Even though the site is new, the layout and the different levels mean that the owners have managed to avoid it looking and feeling like a car park. Although there was someone on site who didn't seem to know what the mop was for in the shower block, nor how to clean the sink out after they had washed up the facilities were generally very clean and tidy and the provision of four male and four female showers meant that there was no queuing even though the site was almost full for three of the days we were there. If we had to be picky, we would suggest that only having one washing up sink for the site is a mistake - two would have been much better - and given that the site is in a prime walking/biking area it would have been great to have a washing machine and/or drying facilities on site. We were very lucky with the weather during our stay, but if it had been wet then somewhere to dry boots, etc would have been good. The site is only a pleasant 10 minute walk from Ingleton which is a lovely little town. If you visit in the summer, take your swimming costumes with you - the open air pool which is staffed by volunteers looks fantastic and we were very sad we didn't get to try it out. The waterfalls walk is also well worth doing. We were a bit sceptical at first about paying to do a walk in a National Park but you can see where your money goes as you go round the trial. Do take heed of the warnings at the entrance though - even for experienced walkers it is a strenuous walk with lots of steps up and down. The Country Harvest farm shop over the road from the site is worth a visit. It isn't cheap but the food was very good quality and their Yorkshire Pasties should definitely be tried. This was our first visit to the west of the Dales (we more usually stay in Wensleydale and Swaledale), but we will definitely be back to both the area and Thornbrook hopefully very soon! 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Billjoy124 8 reviews from this member

 Anuther ten out of ten, the site is spotless

The pub up the road good meals and good beer

The shop down the road is good but a bit dear

Loads to do around and about will be back

Toilet block was ten out of ten

Pitches were well laid out and large, the location is ideal for the lakes skipton settle lancaster, even blackpool 


Previous     106 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Thornbrook Barn Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Thornbrook Barn Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Thornbrook Barn Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ingleton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


28876 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement