Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Groobys Pit Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Lincolnshire > Skegness > Groobys Pit Caravan Park Reviews

Groobys Pit Caravan Park
Steeping Road
Thorpe St Peter
Skegness
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
PE24 4QT
Tel: 07427 137463
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 18
Open: 15/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 88 Reviews
                10/10 from 88 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  88 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Julie roberts 1 review from this member

 Just got back from our few days break. On arrival we were met by a happy & smiling owner who gave us a welcome pack telling us about local pubs, take aways etc. She then took us over to our pitch and made sure we were happy with the pitch. She explained about the site facilities which were all first class the best showers we have ever had on a site. Next day Tracey came to check everything was ok and left us with two fresh eggs from her chickens which roam around the site and are very tame. There are ducks and geese too. The ducks are friendly but the geese not so much. We also met Neil her husband who was very nice too ( he never stops working). The site in General is well maintained and spotless clean. Would recommended this site to anyone. Will definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Dennisme 1 review from this member

 From when you arrive you get outstanding hospitality from the owners and the rest of your stay, the toilet and shower building is second to none, it's better than my bathroom, the beautiful surrounding, you just can't beat it. The sunrise and sunset are magic. The shops and seaside are not far away, so you can enjoy yourself what you want to do 


Date of Visit: January 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Barni 1 review from this member

 Have just spent 3 days at Groobys Pit and cannot emphasize enough how much of a warm welcome we received from the owners. Nothing was too much trouble. The newly built shower and toilet block is immaculate. All pitches have a lovely view overlooking the fishing lake. The site is open all year round at the same reasonable price. It has 16 amp hook up and you don't have to leave until 12 o'clock midday. As a bonus Neil came across and gave us half a dozen eggs from their free range chickens. We look forward to visiting them in the future. 


Date of Visit: December 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cugsy 1 review from this member

 This was our first caravanning trip - we only bought the old Elddis (quickly named Elvis by the wife) 2 weeks ago. We had camped around the Wainfleet area many times before but never knew about this site. When we arrived, the owner was there and welcomed us and then the other owner came over to let us know that the caravan pitches were a bit wet and we might get stuck. But he offered to tow us over with the tractor or leave us facing the big pond not to far from the entrance. Being absolutely rubbish at reversing we opted for the pond view.

Wife needed the loos and we were given a welcome pack with the code for the toilet/shower block. Off she went and when she returned she was quite impressed at how beautiful and clean they were. The site is nice and quiet - 100 yards from a railway but seeing as we live next to a railway it wasn't even noticeable. As beginners we were a bit slow getting to grips with sorting out the caravan. But the owner was a star - give a shout and there he was ready to offer advice or assistance with anything. When we went out on the second day and it was blowing 40-50mph we had worries about the new porch awning. We came back to find that the owner had rescued our awning and stored it safely (and the contents. Mucky boots etc). They are good people to talk with and clearly love the place putting lots of effort into it. I don't fish but I might be tempted. For us nerdy birders though, its a prime site. Lovely and quiet. No naughty people allowed or barking dogs. And fresh barn eggs. Lovely. We are going back in spring and probably later in the year. Its got everything we want. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ridgerider 2 reviews from this member

 Visited for 3 nights last September. Mother nature was doing her best to blow us off the face of the earth but Neil & Tracy came to the rescue. Helping us to pitch & set up and giving us loads of detail of the surrounding area.

The welcome we received was better than any campsite I have visited recently.

Pitch was close to the toilet block and overlooking the lake and I couldn't wait to cast in.

Toilets were very modern and clean, a credit to the two of them.

Even with the terrible weather the fishing was spot on and I had a very enjoyable couple of days on the bankside. All the fish I saw were in excellent condition, a welcome change from some of the sites we have visited

Plenty of countryside walks for the wife and dog, so they didn't distract from the fishing.

Hope to get back soon. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Michelle Del 1 review from this member

 This is the 3rd time we have stayed at Grooby’s Pit, I have to say it is one of the best campsites I have been to and the location is perfect with magnificent views. The toilet/ shower block are brand new and immaculate. The site is lovely and peaceful even when full, the pitches are spacious and the grass is well maintained.

The owners were so friendly and helpful nothing is too much for them, you feel very welcomed and go away feeling you have made new friends.

We will definitely be going back without a doubt. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hallett88 1 review from this member

 Groobys Pit. Well what can we say? It's picturesque, beautiful and was a perfect campsite for our family.

We were greeted by the owners who were friendly & welcomed us with open arms. We were given a welcome pack which was our guide to Groobys Pit and surrounding area. The campsite is wonderful with electric hook up and newly finished shower block. Which is extremely clean and well kept. There is a basic washing up area which is ideal for the amount of visitors to the site. Our tent pitch was spacious with plenty of room between us and the lake. We liked that the site was quiet and harmonious, past 10pm it was very peaceful which was ideal for our sleeping children. Our boys loved the chickens and were delighted to fetch fresh eggs from the coop one morning. They were delicious for breakfast! our ice packs were swapped for us everyday which was great.

The view across the lake was beautiful. It was fantastic to wake up to the sun rise and swallows skimming the water. The rate for fishing was reasonable and plenty of local fisherman were happily catching some huge fish. We are definitely bring our fishing gear next time. The newly constructed pod for glamorous camping looked lovely. Ideal for people traveling light and wanting some luxury in beautiful surroundings.

The wonderful hosts have put a lot of hard work into their 'back garden' so far and are continuing to improve and upgrade the site. We wish them well with their endeavours and are already looking forward to our next visit! Thank you again for a wonderful stay. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DaveAnn 2 reviews from this member

 Just spent 10 days at there Magnificent site, the ideal place some peace and quiet where fishing is available in the beautiful lake we are not fishermen but it was nice to watch and take in the views, the owners make you more than welcome and the facilities are excellent hot showers exceptionally clean toilets and electric hook ups shops and takeaways in wainfleet a couple miles away, I shall definitely be returning 5star camping 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Danny and rhiannon 1 review from this member

 Just returned from this lovely campsite. Soon as we got there the campsite owners couldn't do enough for us. They gave us 2 eggs from their chickens which was lovely. My girlfriend left her hair bobble at home so the owner gave her one of hers. The showers and toilets was very clean and the pitches was very spacious. Lovely view over the lake. All in all a fantastic site. We will be returning in the near future. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mpchew 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a four day vist at Groobys pit. The owners made us very welcome and were so helpful it was untrue. As well as a gift of some eggs they cleaned a peg out so I could get some fishing under my belt. After all this they travelled to Skegness to pick myself, my wife and my dog up when my car broke down, and then took me back the next day so I could get my car from the garage after it had been repaired and she would not let me pay anything many thanks. We will be going back just to be spoiled. Lovely people who deserve to be successful. Site facilities will be 10 when the toilet block and shower will be ready for use. 


Previous     88 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Groobys Pit Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Groobys Pit Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Groobys Pit Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Skegness      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4236 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement