Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Groobys Pit Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Lincolnshire > Skegness > Groobys Pit Caravan Park Reviews

Groobys Pit Caravan Park
Steeping Road
Thorpe St Peter
Skegness
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
PE24 4QT
Tel: 07427 137463
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 18
Open: 15/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 88 Reviews
                10/10 from 88 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  88 in total, now showing 81 to 88                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tangledlady 3 reviews from this member

 We visited as we were meeting up with a friend and his little girl who were 20 minutes away with their family.

The site is absolutely gorgeous and very picturesque. We arrived quite late at night and were welcomed as well as being offered lots of flexibility regarding where we could pitch our tent.

The grass is nice and dry and flat and the view across the lake is stunning.

The facilities are still being built, this was not a problem as there is a toilet and shower, could be tricky if the site was busy. However it was quiet when we were there and didn't cause us a problem.

I had a bit of sun when we were out and the owner went out of her way to come across with some iced water which was very much appreciated and thoughtful.

Bizarrely we encountered an awkward situation when our friend arrived to have a barbecue with us and didn't stop at the main entrance. There was visitor parking and he must have missed the sign and he parked next to us. The owner came over and asked him to move his car, even though there were only three or four tents/ caravans on the whole pitch. It felt like a bit of a telling off and was not very welcoming to be honest.

I was then ticked off for using the fridge, and again it was a little embarrassing in front of our guest. I had been offered the facility of using the fridge if there was room (which there was)and this had obviously not been communicated between the owners.

There should be facilities to use a fridge anyway to be honest, especially in really hot weather, but it was more about the manner in which I was spoken to in front of our friend that I felt uncomfortable with.

Despite this we did have a lovely time, but it was a shame to take the edge off what had been a nice break. Hospitality is surely the name of the game and that seemed to have been forgotten at one point. 
Management response: Thank you Carolyn for your review.

However the reason for asking your guest to park in the parking area for visitors is so that there isn't a build up of cars near the pitches (even though there wasn't many customers staying, but I was expecting another family of 3 x tents which I told you about, but they failed to arrive). Your guest also drove onto our site quite fast & not knowing who it was or told about him coming, wanted to check it out. May I point out I did speak to the other guests after speaking to you to request the same thing if their friends arrived.

We have these rules in place as we try & keep our site quiet after 8pm & so other guests are not disturbed.

Regarding the fridge, up until you came we only allowed guests staying in our camping pod to use the fridge. Yes I had no idea my husband had said you could use it. It was only when you said you were using it, I knew. But I wasn't under the impression I gave you a "ticking off". I was a little shocked as we had another guest using it. I'm sorry if you felt like that and as I remember I even apologised the next day for the misunderstanding, and your response was "It wasn't a problem".

As we are a small quiet site, fridges don't have to be supplied. No where do we advertise we have a fridge. It's only because it was such a hot day, my husband offered the use of it to your husband for your drinks, as we try to give our guests the extra special touch. Which is why we give our guests the free "free range" eggs you received.

As you can see from all our other reviews we try & accommodate our guests & customer service is what we pride ourselves on. I'm sorry you feel we didn't fulfil this on your visit.


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Boydsquad 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 4 night stay at this fantastic site.

From the moment we arrived the owners were the nicest and most helpful we have ever experienced in over 15 years of touring.

Location is far enough away to be quiet and relaxing but not too far from local amenities.

Wildlife around the site is plentiful with sightings of Barn owl, Hares and the usual summer migrants.

The fishing on site is definitely worth trying with a local angler saying he has never failed to catch on this lake. My son and I pulled out numerous Carp during our stay.

The facilities block is nearing completion and can only add to the overall level of excellence this site offers.

If we didn't live 150 miles away we would be back on a regular basis.

The local parrot zoo is worth a visit if you like birds. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Inky Blue 7 reviews from this member

 Superb and quiet little site, ideal for fishing and bird watching. Caught a few carp up to 12lbs over weekend. The owners are excellent and friendly hosts. Really refreshing to be treated like guests rather than customers. Will be back soon!

At the time of visiting the new toilet block was well under way and should be ready soon, when complete this will be a 10/10 CS site.

If you have a large tourer follow directions from Wainfleet All-Saints as some roads are narrow.

Not much for children to do if they don't like fishing and they must be supervised at all times due to the proximity of lake. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Gaskell 1 review from this member

 Just returned back home after a lovely weekend at groovy pit campsite and fishing lake just outside Skegness.

The owners Martin and Tracey are two of the most welcoming and pleasant people we have ever meet, they made us feel very welcome.

The site is a new site and it is immaculate at the moment the shower block is not quite ready for use, but the owners have provide a static caravan where you can shower and also there is just one toilet but both of these are immaculately clean and they are only temporary.

The parking has been very well thought out and you over look the lake

Fresh eggs on site chicken / duck & geese eggs, which we have sampled and you can't beat fresh eggs there lovely

This is a lovely quiet and clean site and we will definitely go back loved it 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paul and ann 1 review from this member

 Lovely tranquil site - we had a fine week of rest. Paul fished a little every day and caught lots of good-sized carp/bream at each session. I read two books and started a third and, for me, as he's retired, it was a whole lot better than being at work every day!

Neil and Tracey were really nice with lots of helpful advice and their little creatures were lovely. I found a duck egg in the grass!Cute!

The site is very peaceful, especially at night and, as this is a newish site, it will be interesting to see how it develops.

We went to Gunby Hall - travel back in time - well worth a visit for only 6 each!It's fab!

We walked to the pub round the corner only to find it didn't open till 7. 30pm! - think we are a bit too 'towny' but we had necessary supplies in the caravan. !

We didn't use any of the facilities as our van is self-contained but any children would need constant supervision because of the deep water, hence 5/10. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Llihac 2 reviews from this member

 Really enjoyed our eight day stay, owners couldn't be more helpful. Hope to return in the near future. The owner of the local pub the The Three Tuns ( Richard ) very accommodating and just a five minute walk away.

As already mentioned the surrounding area is absolutely perfect for cycling walking etc. Burgh le Marsh approximately four miles away has several pubs and restaurants. Ideal location to visit Skegness, where value for money is still a reality! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kim1963 1 review from this member

 Just arrived back from a brilliant holiday staying nine nights at this very friendly camp site.

The location is set in a quiet area, overlooking a beautiful lake with a river running behind it. The lake is well stocked with an assortment of fish, although I do not fish, I witnessed huge fish being caught.

The owners have Lambs, Geese, Ducks, Chickens, and the children visiting on the site loved the animals. Eggs don't come much fresher than this.

The area is good for cycling with quiet roads all around, there are numerous cycle routes that run by and join with other routes in the area of the camp site and we found somewhere different to go every day.

The nearby Village/Town of Wainfleet is around two miles from the camp site and here you will find the local shops, pubs and takeaways. Be sure to take a tour of the Brewery Bateman's here.

There are three local pubs in walking distance.

A little further a field you have the popular resorts of Skegness, Ingomels, Chapel st leonards and Mablethorpe with all the attractions of popular seaside resorts.

In the opposite directions you have popular historic towns and city's, Lincoln, Boston, and lots of little villages to explore.

There is a train service to some of the nearby towns, villages and resorts that's not far from the camp site.

The owners are in the process of building a shower block and have put a static caravan for the use of the shower for you to use while this is in process. There is a toilet that is separate from the static caravan that stands on its own. I will be giving 10 out of 10 rating once the shower block is built.

The camp site is clean and tidy with recycling bins, drinking water and waste disposal point near to the pitches,

All the pitches are large with electric hook up and all over look the lake which I loved to walk around, this was a nature lovers paradise which sustained Butterfly's, dragonfly's, Rabbits and a variety of trees, shrubs and flowers. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Janetp62 1 review from this member

 We have really enjoyed our stay to Groobys pit. It was booked at short notice and we didn't know what to expect.

The site is very well organised and thought out(you can tell that it was both designed and is run by caravansrs/tenters).

The pitches are well marked out and of a very generous size, all are lite at night. It's the small touches that count for example they have placed reflectors on each plots marking posts, so if you arrive in the dark it will be a lot easier to park.

There is a portable toilet for use of the campers as well as the fisherman, this is immaculate and well places on the beginning on the site.

We didn't go fishing this visit but intend to on our next visit. The fishermen we spoke to said the fishing was good and again it looks to be organised and well kept, the caravans are sited opposite the fishing lake which is ideal if you like to both relax and fish close to your van.

The couple who own the site Martin and Tracy are extreemly welcoming and helpful.

I would highly recommend this site, and we shall definitely be returning. 


Previous     88 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 88     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Groobys Pit Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Groobys Pit Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Groobys Pit Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Skegness      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4662 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement