Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Langcliffe Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Settle > Langcliffe Caravan Park Reviews

Langcliffe Caravan Park
Langcliffe
Settle
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD24 9LX
Tel: 01729 822 387
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: 01/03/2021 to 14/01/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 109 Reviews
                8/10 from 109 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  109 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Helen8785 13 reviews from this member

 Drove down a very narrow lane to get to the site, which HGV's and other campers come down and it was horrendous! Arrived and was charged for 2 children even though the lady on the phone when booking said she would only charge for one, so the nights there did cost extra. We then found our pitch which was on a slop and we almost burnt the clutch out.

It was terrible. The location of the pitch and the view was great, but reversing the van up a hill nearly killed the car.

Good location and Settle is lovely but not a great deal to do. You need to get out and about if you want to see more as its a quite town.

Nice site but wouldn't stay again due to the slopping pitches. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fudgetastic 10 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from a two night stay, easy to find, met with fairly pleasant reception, given map to find my spot which was a caravan space with electric, and left to own devices. Sloping site though some areas have been terraced for level sites. Showers/toilets clean and adequate. Two play grounds, one at the top of the site and one at the bottom. No football rules, dogs must be kept on leads (though there are some who think these rules do not apply to them). Dog owners be warned there are no real exercise areas. I was given instructions for a walk to the river but this turned out to be down the driveway of a mill/factory and was dark, narrow and lonely. Lots of walking to village etc. But this was down a lane frequented by articulated lorries. But no place to let your dog off the lead. Nice, clean site spectacular views but I think the price per night is a little expensive. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: GooGav 1 review from this member

 Booked in efficiently and with no problems over the telephone, at a cost of 15, for a 1-night stay in a 1-man tent with no electricity hook-up.

Arrived about half an hour before official check-in time of 1pm, but no problems. Reception were not particularly welcoming, but certainly not rude. Given a basic map and rough directions to my pitch.

Drove there (watch for the speed bumps!) and pitched tent. Camp appeared large and well-maintained, although my pitch sloped.

Signs clearly said 'no ball games' but a large football match involving about 20 unsupervised children was taking place, and my car and tent were hit a number of times by the ball. On approaching the Warden about this, was told she would 'have a quiet word' with the parents.

Children were running around a lot, with lots of shouting, crying and laughing, and often wandered into other people's tent areas. However, all was quiet by 10pm and not a sound all night.

Picnic bench used was rotten and very unstable, but the other facilities (toilets, showers, bins) were adequate.

Location is very peaceful, but with the small town of Settle nearby (2 minute drive or 20 minute walk).

In general, this was a nice area with a lovely, relaxed atmosphere but spoilt by children! 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Tangledlady 3 reviews from this member

 This was our first time camping and we were not disappointed! The site is located in the Yorkshire Dales and the surrounding scenery is beautiful. Add to that the fact that we chose the weekend of a heat wave and you have a perfect camping trip. Our check in was quick and easy, and the lady on reception friendly and helpful. We had a deluxe pitch with electric hook up and water, which was situated on the outskirts of the meadow area. I would strongly recommend one of these pitches as we had a beautiful view of the hills and the scenery was stunning. Facilities were fantastic, clean showers and toilet area with lots of hot water. The small village of Settle is about 5 minutes bike ride and 15 minutes walk away, and there is a petrol station even closer. All in all totally faultless and we would definitely return, although we have lots of other places to visit first! 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hevonly 4 reviews from this member

 As someone else on here has said this site is very close to being a really good site, but unfortunately there are a few things they would have to put right first.

The lady on reception told us upon booking that the pitches were level, on arrival she wasn't particularly helpful, just thrust a form at me (which she already had all the details for any way having written to us when we booked), took my visa card and gave me a map. After that we were on our own, our pitch according to other tourers on the site, was the hardest one to get on (we only found this out afterward).

We drove around the one way and bottomed our van on the steep slope, which broke one of our stabiliser shoe's :-(. After almost burning out our clutch trying to reverse up hill, another camper came across and said it would be better to go round the one way, the wrong way instead as this is what everyone else was doing, and reverse downhill. It would have been nice if the lady on reception had told us this as she knew we had a 8m twin axle. Once we'd got on we were ok, you need a lot of wood as this site isn't level at all.

We had fantastic views and we were close to the water connection and play area, although the one on the top field is not suitable for small children. No swing and very high rope bridge and plastic slide (that gives you an electric shock!).

The showers and toilet were very clean and kept warm, the first two days the showers were a little cold, but on our final day they were so hot I couldn't shower myself

Langcliffe is well situated, lots of good shops, tea rooms and cafe's, the market was good as well. We lacked nothing which was great.

Despite everything I've said, we had a fantastic break away and would come here again but we would be a little wiser next time! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Janbo25 17 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a week at Langcliffe, we booked a super pitch so benefited from the mains water and drainage, the pitches weren't quite level and therefore levelling blocks would be required. Upon arriving the site felt slightly too busy (it was bank holiday weekend) with the centre field being full to capacity with tents, however come Monday the site was lovely and peaceful in a lovely setting.

The toilets and showers were both very clean, although I believe there were a couple of issues with the water temperature being too cold in the ladies when the site was very busy.

There was another field just behind which looked liked it may be being developed over the next few months to enable more pitches, however during our stay it was a lovely area to play with the kids and run around away from the disturbing others.

Overall a very nice site, in a fantastic area and setting, very close to all the local amenities and the luxury of the super pitches means we will definitely be returning again. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Suzy_8 4 reviews from this member

 We went to Langcliffe Park on the spur of the moment so was a little worried about what we may find but we need not have been. The site is located in some beautiful scenery just outside the village of Settle. There are lots of walks surrounding the site and plenty of animals around for the kids. The site has a playground also perfect for the kids as you can see them clearly from the tent area so they can have a bit of freedom.

The site facilities are plentiful and clean with a very laid back atmosphere all round.

Settle has a lovely cafe for delicious milkshakes and a delicattessan for the most yummy cakes. It really is worth the mile walk from the site! There are a few pub but to be honest we felt a little out of place in them. There are 2 co-op shops and other local shops.

We will definitely be returning in the near future! 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Eddies 3 reviews from this member

 Easter at Langcliffe was very enjoyable, we had booked a fully serviced pitch which was great loads of room. They give enough room for all their pitches, so no problems there. You can walk into Settle for a Coffee and slice of cake at ye olde naked man or cross the bridge over the river to giggleswick and have a pint/glass of wine at the pub. Food great loads to pick from (you might be better booking )Lots of little or big walks in the area.

One to visit again 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Janpat 1 review from this member

 Just been to Langcliffe for the weekend, its a great site with lots of space for your tents.

The staff were very helpful and friendly, even moving us to a lower down pitch because it was windy!

The toilet and shower block was very clean and as its heated was a bonus at night time.

There are many walks to go on round here, so you wont be bored.

All in all a great site, the only downside was the wind, but you cant blame the campsite for that! 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sweetpeaheidi 9 reviews from this member

 The site is located a short distance from Settle. It is walkable if you just want a paper but too far with heavy bags.

Settle contains all you would need for your stay, a large well stocked supermarket, garage, hardware shop for the things you forgot as well as several pubs and restaurants and little gift shops.

The site itself is located away from the road down a long track used mainly by the site traffic, it was quiet enough for our children to go out on their bikes.

Our first impression was the statics occupying every available space, reception is staffed by not the friendliest of people and sells a few basic items and sweets. There is little parking so the road can get blocked when checking in. Next is what appears to be the seasonal pitch field and then on into the tent and touring field (The Meadow) which has a one way system. Here the fun starts. The pitchs are long and narrow with the idea being to park as if still hitched to the van rather than up the side.Unfortunatly there is limited room to manouvre onto the pitch,fine when the site is quiet but as it filled for the weekend people were having to unhitch and push their vans in.The one way system also seemed to be the wrong way for the pitch layout meaning vehicles were having to reverse up steep slopes rather than down.There is also a short steep drop on the road where I caught the rear of my van and several had near misses.Pitches are hard standing for the caravan(grass for the awning) but are not level so take plenty of timber.

First couple of days we had some rain and although not heavy it was enough to start turning it muddy under foot but it soon dried out when the sun started shining.

The site was clean and well kept apart from the bin area which couldn't cope with the bank holiday and soon became a pile of rubbish bags,although it was screened. Toilet and shower block was clean and looked fairly new. Three showers in each didn't seem enough although there was never a queue, one trip in soon told you why. They were scorching hot and far too dangerous for small children. This despite several complaints at reception. By contrast the sink taps were luke warm as was the washing up facility.

There is also WI-FI internet but at 25 we didn't try it.

Good mobile phone reception and digital TV.

There are two play areas,one in the 'seasonal' area which the kids didn't use and one at the top of the Meadow which you can see from all pitches. Noise wise it was a typical site music and chatting but dropped quiet with no problems.

From our point of view the cost 27.50 night for 2x adult, 2x child, caravan/awning and electric ,the slope of the site and the showers was enough to put us off coming again to what could be a really good site. 


Previous     109 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Langcliffe Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Langcliffe Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Langcliffe Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Settle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2849 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement