Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Three Trees Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > New Forest & Hampshire > Romsey > Three Trees Campsite > Reviews

Three Trees Campsite
Ampfield Hill
Ampfield
Romsey
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SO51 9BD
Tel: 07968 791455
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 82 Reviews
                9/10 from 82 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <10 miles   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  82 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dynadot 8 reviews from this member

 'Great little site' our 3rd time this year. The site is basic but functional, and the owner is 'great' very helpful and lets you enjoy your stay with no fuss. Very central and great value to stay here. Bus stop outside the gate into Romsey and Winchester, new forest not to far away all have very nice markets pubs and cafes. You cant fail to have a good time. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Yoxalld 4 reviews from this member

 Pros: Friendly, attentive owner; good pitch size for tents; very close to Ampfield Forest; reasonably priced.

Cons: No hot water at washing up sink; Showers and toilets very basic.

The owner of the site is friendly, efficient, very laid back and quickly responsive to any issues. The site is charming and gives a real feel of being in the midst of nature, we even saw deer on our last morning.

Romsey is very close by and has everything needed such as supermarkets, cafés and restaurants, and there are loads of pubs in the area, and not too far afield, and Stockbridge village is well worth a visit.

We took the train to Mottisfont and walked back to Romsey via the Test Way which was a very pleasant, if just a little confusing, 8k.

The site is a good choice if you are looking for a quiet, interesting holiday in an adults only environment and it will be interesting to watch the site develop over the next year or so.

All in all, highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jmrnewforest 1 review from this member

 Lovely site with woodland around you and owls, deer. Really peaceful, tiny bit of road noise but quiet at dusk and at night. No light pollution at night either. Facilities very clean and are adequate. The owner is a charming chap who is both friendly and helpful but gives you space.

A pub is a short 10 minute walk up the road and a bus stop within a short walk for access to Romsey or in the other direction to Winchester. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Davyhey 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed for a week and would definitely go again. The toilets and showers were clean and adequate, the site was well-maintained and the few people there all seemed to be enjoying their stay. In the evening we watched an owl flying around. At night-time it was one of the quietest camps we have experienced. Easy access to Winchester, Romsey and Southampton. A walk through Ampfield Wood gives access to Monarch's Way, a long-distance footpath.

Families need to know it is an adult-only site. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Hoopersman 1 review from this member

 Pros: Friendly owner, countryside setting, spacious pitches, cheap quality eggs for sale, electricity, water and chemical toilet facility.

Cons: Noise from road during the day, nowhere to exercise dogs, difficult to find(entrance is narrow and sign is small so easily missed).

But the weather was perfect so we enjoyed our stay. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jan Toms 10 reviews from this member

 This site is basically just a field with a few hard standing pitches. Great when you want to really get away from it all. We always use our on board facilities so not possible to rate the site ones. I always give 10 for this because it is unfair to mark a site down over something we know nothing about! We prefer our sites to be a little more maintained but if you want wild camping this is the site for you. Warden was friendly and helpful. Good that it was a child free site to maintain the peace and quiet for those who prefer it. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Cwtu 1 review from this member

 We have just spent three nights at this site and enjoyed every minute. The great advantage to us, as older campers, was that there was a bus stop not far from the entrance so we were able to leave our motorhome on site and travel by bus to Winchester one day and Romsey on the other. There was no need to find or pay for parking and each town provided a good day's sightseeing. The site was very quiet and there were good electricity and water supplies. The toilets were not luxurious but adequate with hot water and free showers. Evenings watching the wildlife, deer, owls and kestrel were an added bonus. We will definitely visit this site again. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Srose1958 11 reviews from this member

 If you're looking for a lovely, quiet break away from it all then this is the place.

The toilet/shower facilities were basic but clean, and the showers were very good!

Very friendly, accommodating owner and big, spacious pitches which meant you didn't feel like you were hemmed in.

The surrounding area is fabulous and both Romsey & Winchester were well worth the visit.

Back to the site, my only slight criticism is that the entrance is quite hidden with only a very small sign and you can easily pass it without realising. As it comes off a very busy (only in the daytime) road I think it would benefit from a much larger sign.

But overall we had a great time and will definitely re-visit as soon as possible! 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Roypatchett 1 review from this member

 I agree with other comments as very basic amenities, with no hot water for shaving, so had to boil kettle! On the plus side the shower was very good.

The site is ideally situated and we visited 2 steam railways in swanage and arlesford, also day in I.O.W. and visited Poole and Lymington.

The white horse pub close by is quite expensive but we also went into romsey and found other pubs / restaurants, take aways etc.

When booking this site with a tent we paid £14 per night and we were a bit surprised to find that caravanners only paid that same amount, which also included an electric hook up, so it is worth having a electric hook up pitch for your tent if you have the equipment.

Overall very nice area friendly people but as stated earlier basic facilities also not good entrance/exit from main road. 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sumps53 37 reviews from this member

 We had a very pleasant stay at this peaceful and spacious site. We did not use the toilet/shower facilities so cannot comment, but the location is great - little road noise at night. The owner was helpful and friendly and very relaxed. Plenty of space between vans and proximity to both electricity and water seems well thought out. A feeling of getting away from it pervades and yet it's a just short journey to Romsey (all services) and only 15 minutes to the M3. A great location for exploring the Test Valley. A visit to Danebury Hill Fort is recommended and also to Stockbridge, among others. We will definitely be back later in the year. 


Previous     82 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Three Trees Campsite child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Three Trees Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Three Trees Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Romsey      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


57987 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement