Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Bridport Bingham Grange Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Site Reviews

Bridport Bingham Grange Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Formerly Bingham Grange Touring Park
Melplash
Bridport
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT6 3TT
Tel: 01308 488234
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 132
Open: 21/03 To 24/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 167 Reviews
                9/10 from 167 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  167 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: P and M 6 reviews from this member

Just had a week at Bingham Grange. Reception on arrival was quick and easy. I had booked my pitch months in advance. Before it was a cmcs. Pitches are spacious and well maintained. Showers and toilets were spotless with hot water at all times. Although some people do not leave as they find, that surprises me as we are all adults.

If in the area we would definitely book here.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pajes 1 review from this member

We found the site well maintained, toilets/showers, laundry and washing-up area spotlessly clean. Wardens were extremely helpful, knowledgeable and although busy always had time for us. Site very dog friendly with lovely shady woodland walks which due to the hot weather the dogs enjoyed. We had requested a sheltered pitch for the comfort of the dogs which proved to be perfect for them. We will visit again. Thank you.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JuanHuNose 3 reviews from this member

First visit to the site and this particular area, and was sadly not impressed. The C&MC will have to spend a fortune to bring the site up to standard, the current arrangement has very cramped pitches and what facilities there are are very clean but simply not enough for the number of pitches.

There are some seasonal pitches (a hangover from the previous owners tenure) and those who used the site prior to the sale of the site to the C&MC were openly resentful of C&MC members trespassing on `their` site. Sadly, sulking won`t change the world.

The wardens were first class, polite and very helpful, and the bar/restaurant staff were excellent. The menu wasn`t vast, but the food we had was of restaurant quality at pub food prices, cooked fresh, well presented and really tasty.

I don`t think we will return, as there is very little to do in the immediate area, and in the short term the C&MC are taking the mick with charging top-dollar prices for a cramped and badly laid-out site with no internet, only 10amp electric and a lack of water/waste water/chemical disposal points.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Team Eagles 13 reviews from this member

Sad Demise of a Fabulous Site (Bingham Grange)

Gutted to see that Bingham Grange is no longer privately owned and is now part of the CMC club.

The takeover happened early April, it was May when we first saw this via social media, hardly the way to win over the original customers. It was in fact the middle of May before we received a letter from CMC stating the change. Surely CMC should have had this in place at the time of the takeover, also early May the website was still the original. We did eventually get through to them to confirm our booking, they had even changed the phone number! They hardly ever answer the phone with it going to VM after about 5 rings, took several days.

My husband and I have been coming here for many years and loved the friendliness of the previous owners and staff and off course that fact that is was ‘Adults only’ we loved the peace and tranquillity. As part of the CMC the site will now be welcoming families and like many we will not be returning sadly. They had the first lot of kids over the late Bank Holiday weekend which to us was odd as had previously been an adult only site

Another major attraction was the wonderful Buzzards restaurant which now has a new chef as the previous one decided not to stay under the new ownership. The menu now is very limited and a fellow camper advised us to give it a miss as now nothing special. We never saw it busy when we looked in, such a shame as always full on previous visits. We obviously knew about the restaurant but the new office staff were not telling people it was there let alone handing out a menu.

If you are a non-member wishing to stay you are charged a fee by CMC even before you pay for yourselves and your tent/ caravan/ motorhome making it so much more expensive than when it was privately owned.

On arrival we found they had got rid of the freezer and when you are in a tent not what you need, just to freeze ice packs to keep food cold. Was told by reception staff CMC don’t allow them!

They tried to put us on another pitch having confirmed on the phone they would honour our original request, now don’t put tents on that grass area, just caravans and motorhomes. On looking at the pitch we saw our 7x5 tent would not fit only to be told CMC rules only allow 5x5 tents, offered a refund instantly. We were meeting friends and the booking was a year old, hardly about to ‘turn and burn’ to face a 2. 5-hour trip back home. They eventually put us on a pitch which we have stayed on before but told the tent had to be in the middle of the white disc. These are on a lot of the pitches now. Both women were very arrogant and not really interested. The manager is the same, got the impression not interested in the adult only customers and was told CMC have 37, 000 members! It was the first time we have stayed when not fill and reading other reviews, lots of cancellations. You no longer get shown to your pitch, just given a map with the highlighted route

We will not be returning and the grapevine was busy saying major changes during the winter with the bulldozers arriving

R. I. P Bingham Grange (Adult Only)

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Archie Bargee 21 reviews from this member

Just back from Bingham Grange, it is everything that others have said, best showers ever in the single rooms(though need more hooks for hanging clothes up) the other showers in the block are very clean and perfectly adequate, though a little chilly this morning (not sure if they have heating) good pitches with hedges for seclusion, very well kept and quiet. It has just been bought by the Caravan and Motorhome Club and although in the middle of a handover the staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful. We believe it will stop being adults only very soon and accept families, just hoping that standards won't drop!

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jaw498 5 reviews from this member

We had a lovely 5 night stay at Bingham Grange despite the very wet weather at the beginning. Our pitch was more than adequate for our needs. We liked that all pitches are clearly defined by hedges which gives privacy as well as avoiding any arguments over space. There were clearly defined parking spaces and all weather tracks.

The site is predominantly used by caravans and motorhomes (we were the only tent!) but were made to feel welcome nonetheless. Facilities are more than you could ask for and washrooms immaculate.

Set back from the main road, the site is very tranquil and there is open countryside to the rear with a public footpath which we made use of. Situated close to Melplash and Bridport, shops were only a short drive away.

Thank you Bingham Grange - we will be back!

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Retired of IOW 11 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a week and loved it. The staff are all friendly and helpful. The site is lovely, each standing is divided by a hedge and large enough for our rather large awning. It is very peaceful and great for the local bus into Bridport, just hail the bus in the layby and it will stop for you. The facilities are as described before, 5*. There are individual shower rooms, with toilet, basin and shower and I never had to queue. The Buzzards bar serves real ales and excellent food, we ate there 3 times in our 7 night day stay.

We went into Bridport for the market on the Saturday, which was excellent, lots of stalls up the high street and off towards the square. We went into Seaton and had a trip on the tram up the estuary to Colyton and back which was lovely. Would recommend this site and will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 169 reviews from this member

Another return visit to this immaculate adults only site for us.

We had been let down by our previously booked site (thanks Caravan & Motorhome Club!) so called Bingham Grange on Sunday morning to check availability. They were so friendly and helpful and said we could arrive from 11am if the pitch was free so we booked for 3 nights. It fell into their mid season price range and they offer £. 150 off per night for a 3 night stay if you mention it!

Friendly check in and lovely warden took us to our pitch. Small motorhome pitch (width not length) with a patch of grass for sitting out and EHU with water and waste.

A short walk, literally, to the facilities. The 2 shower rooms at the back are 5* and we were lucky to be able to use them every day (well timed!). There are further shower rooms to the front of the building near the reception, shop, information room and indoor washing up room and more toilets/showers to the rear.

The great thing about the site, other than it being adults only, is the Buzzards Bar, their own bar/restaurant on site.

Great 'landlord' and friendly efficient staff.

The food was great in the bar, lovely choice and not over priced. We decided to take away and eat in our motorhome one night. It was Indian night and although it was well priced and plentiful it didn't quite hit the spice spot. Personal taste though.

Bus stop just outside the site in the layby (request stop) and at £3. 40 per adult return to Bridport not expensive. We did it twice and spent one day wandering around the antique shops of Bridport and the other walking to West Bay and back.

Adults only heaven for us and we'll be back.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chezzle 3 reviews from this member

Lovely tidy adults only campsite, with a mixture of caravan, motorhome and tent pitches set on a gradually sloping site. We stayed here over August Bank holiday and for a few days after. We booked an electric pitch for our 7. 5 x 7. 2 tent. The tent fitted on the pitch with space around and room for our car. It was made private by the planting of hedges and trees around each pitch. There is one main block at the top of the site consisting of a reception with a small shop, launderette with microwave, freezer and washing up facilities and at the front there is a disabled bathroom and about 4 shower/toilet rooms, around the side there is outdoor washing up and around the back there are separate male and female toilets and showers, which are locked if it is quiet, there are also 2 larger bathrooms with a nicely tiled shower. All the facilities are kept clean and tidy by the maintenance team as is the whole site. Above the facilities there is a welcome bar/restaurant that serves some lovely food which can be eaten out or in.

It is a dog friendly site with some lovely walks off the site and in the local area. We found a friendly atmosphere on the site and it is in a beautiful part of the country with lots of beaches to choose from, we were very lucky with the weather, so don't know how the ground gets at the bottom of the site when wet. There is a dog kennels nearby and you can hear it at certain times but it's not overbearing. We will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jeff261159 9 reviews from this member

Sadly our experience was different to that of previous reviewers.

We arrived on a Wednesday afternoon and were immediately made to feel slightly uneasy as the lady in reception asked us how we had slipped under the radar and and hadn't paid the outstanding balance. We hadn't known about it so didn't pay it but did so without question. The lady seemed a little disorganised, saying we hadn't included a dog on our booking, which was a little strange as she had 2 minutes earlier handed us some dog poo bags! We were then shown to our pitch was not a fully serviced pitch, as we had thought. On the way to the pitch, the warden showing us the way, had instructed us to 'stay on the tarmac, on the way down the hill, which we did, only to ground the rear of the caravan on a severe dip in the road. If he had said, keep the caravan on the tarmac, we would have been able to avoid it and would not have damaged the caravan!

We were very disappointed to find that a site claiming itself to be 'dog friendly' didn't allow dogs in the bar!

We also saw the 'dogs must be kept on a lead' rule being flouted, and ignored by one of the wardens, chatting to the owner of two golden Labradors running freely across all the other pitches!

The site itself is actually really nice, if not a little cramped, with so many pitches. There also seems to be a lack of facilities considering the number of pitches!

There are some lovely views and nice walks but considering what they charge, I think they could provide a few more showers, and FREE wifi instead of charging for it!

Previous     167 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1960 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019