Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bridport Bingham Grange Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Bridport > Bridport Bingham Grange Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Bridport Bingham Grange Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Formerly Bingham Grange Touring Park
Melplash
Bridport
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT6 3TT
Tel: 01308 488234
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 132
Open: 21/03/2021 to 24/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 172 Reviews
                9/10 from 172 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  172 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Deedee 1 review from this member

 Great location. Friendly site. Just a pity the English weather did it's utmost to destroy our tent and we had to leave early.

Would definitely book again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Kimada 1 review from this member

 From the moment of arrival to departure a perfect experience- friendly staff, superb organisation and, especially at the moment, very COVID-19 aware and sorted

My first camping experience for several decades and will definitely be back !

Dog owners well catered for but this does not decrease enjoyment for non k9 people at all.

Location : quiet but within easy reach of supermarket and rest of Bridport and of course Jurassic coast.

Could perhaps do with a big map or ideas on where to visit easily displayed ( I understand leaflets etc probably not allowed at moment ) - I knew the area well and did not need to ask but I think the staff would be ok about advice if needed

Felt v secure /especially as travelling solo.

Loved the little hedges surrounding pitches so could put tent up and make a mess without judgement! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: ValOB 1 review from this member

 Started off with a really helpful welcome and after I had said we were on our first trip we had some very useful help even had a visit as we were setting up to see if we were OK.

Lovely site, great walk into Bridport across the fields and refreshment stop at the Pyfield Inn.

Dog walk around the site was very attractive and a pleasure for dogs and humans.

A truly excellent start for our new 'van, us and Molly the pup. 


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: COMPAID 1 review from this member

 I have returned to caravanning after a break of some 28 years, I chose the Bingham Grange site to test me, my caravan and my dog,

From the time we arrived the experience was unforgettable, the greetings from the reception staff, was excellent, in reception everything was explained in detail with a site plan,

The facilities were excellent and spotless, I did not use the bar due to my dog not willing to be left on her own, but if it is anything like the rest of the site it will be excellent.

As I wanted to leave early on Thursday morning I was not sure the nose wheel would be able to pass over the gravel I asked one of the staff if I got into difficulties could they assist me, one of the staff was passing by around lunchtime and asked if I would like to get ready now, I can not fault the kind assistance I received with coupling up to the car, and testing the security of the hitches I am very green, he took time and trouble to explain coupling up etc,

Overall I would rate it as a five star site, with five star facilities and what is more important five star staff. It is a site I would seriously consider again 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: LilyRosie 2 reviews from this member

 We have just got back from a 10 night stay at Bridport Bingham Grange. This was our 13th or 14th stay there. We have been visiting the site twice a year ever since it was a privately owned Adult Only site and must admit, we were a little apprehensive when the CMC purchased it in 2018 and made it ‘family friendly’. We still went there in June and September 2018 and not many changes had taken place, so we were wondering what to expect on our first visit this year.

Well, I can honestly say, we were made to feel very welcome by Martin, Fiona and all of this years new team of assistants. When we arrived, our grass pitch was a little long (in order to pick up the doggy poop cleanly) so we asked if somebody could possibly cut it at all. Within minutes, an assistant was down to see us and said he would have the pitch cut while we were out shopping. They did exactly that. Nothing was too much trouble.

There do not appear to be any obvious changes implemented yet this year apart from general garden and hedge maintenance. The dog walking area is the best we have ever seen on any other site. Grass, Woodland, Stream and shaded areas. Everything your dog could possibly want. Allowed off lead once through the gate of the dog walking area. Plenty of poo bins dotted about.

The showers and toilets are always immaculately clean and plenty to go around. You never have to queue. The Buzzards Restaurant is on site, although we didn’t get to use it this time around.

All in all, we had a very lovely visit and re-booked our next trip back in September. A beautiful ‘dog friendly’ place to visit is Burton Bradstock beach (National Trust). We do the coastal walks both ways, then stop off at the Hive Beach cafe for our usual crab sandwich. Best Seafood Restaurant around.

Thorncombe Woods, Moreton and Upton Country Park are many of the lovely places for walkers, all with the added bonus of a tearoom. Dorset is so dog friendly. Everywhere you go (even shops) the dogs are made to feel welcome with bowls of water and the occasional treat. Can’t wait to return later in the year.

With regards to other people’s comments about constant grass cutting or hedge trimming - if you want the site to look nice and tidy, how else is that meant to happen??? You can’t leave it all for months on end or do it under the dead of night. We all cut our lawns at home and it doesn’t seem to bother anyone. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: P and M 7 reviews from this member

 Just had a week at Bingham Grange. Reception on arrival was quick and easy. I had booked my pitch months in advance. Before it was a cmcs. Pitches are spacious and well maintained.

Showers and toilets were spotless with hot water at all times. Although some people do not leave as they find, that surprises me as we are all adults.

If in the area we would definitely book here. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pajes 1 review from this member

 We found the site well maintained, toilets/showers, laundry and washing-up area spotlessly clean. Wardens were extremely helpful, knowledgeable and although busy always had time for us. Site very dog friendly with lovely shady woodland walks which due to the hot weather the dogs enjoyed. We had requested a sheltered pitch for the comfort of the dogs which proved to be perfect for them. We will visit again. Thank you. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JuanHuNose 3 reviews from this member

 First visit to the site and this particular area, and was sadly not impressed. The C&MC will have to spend a fortune to bring the site up to standard, the current arrangement has very cramped pitches and what facilities there are are very clean but simply not enough for the number of pitches.

There are some seasonal pitches (a hangover from the previous owners tenure) and those who used the site prior to the sale of the site to the C&MC were openly resentful of C&MC members trespassing on `their` site. Sadly, sulking won`t change the world.

The wardens were first class, polite and very helpful, and the bar/restaurant staff were excellent. The menu wasn`t vast, but the food we had was of restaurant quality at pub food prices, cooked fresh, well presented and really tasty.

I don`t think we will return, as there is very little to do in the immediate area, and in the short term the C&MC are taking the mick with charging top-dollar prices for a cramped and badly laid-out site with no internet, only 10amp electric and a lack of water/waste water/chemical disposal points. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Team Eagles 13 reviews from this member

 Sad Demise of a Fabulous Site (Bingham Grange)

Gutted to see that Bingham Grange is no longer privately owned and is now part of the CMC club.

The takeover happened early April, it was May when we first saw this via social media, hardly the way to win over the original customers. It was in fact the middle of May before we received a letter from CMC stating the change. Surely CMC should have had this in place at the time of the takeover, also early May the website was still the original. We did eventually get through to them to confirm our booking, they had even changed the phone number! They hardly ever answer the phone with it going to VM after about 5 rings, took several days.

My husband and I have been coming here for many years and loved the friendliness of the previous owners and staff and off course that fact that is was ‘Adults only’ we loved the peace and tranquillity. As part of the CMC the site will now be welcoming families and like many we will not be returning sadly. They had the first lot of kids over the late Bank Holiday weekend which to us was odd as had previously been an adult only site

Another major attraction was the wonderful Buzzards restaurant which now has a new chef as the previous one decided not to stay under the new ownership. The menu now is very limited and a fellow camper advised us to give it a miss as now nothing special. We never saw it busy when we looked in, such a shame as always full on previous visits. We obviously knew about the restaurant but the new office staff were not telling people it was there let alone handing out a menu.

If you are a non-member wishing to stay you are charged a fee by CMC even before you pay for yourselves and your tent/ caravan/ motorhome making it so much more expensive than when it was privately owned.

On arrival we found they had got rid of the freezer and when you are in a tent not what you need, just to freeze ice packs to keep food cold. Was told by reception staff CMC don’t allow them!

They tried to put us on another pitch having confirmed on the phone they would honour our original request, now don’t put tents on that grass area, just caravans and motorhomes. On looking at the pitch we saw our 7x5 tent would not fit only to be told CMC rules only allow 5x5 tents, offered a refund instantly. We were meeting friends and the booking was a year old, hardly about to ‘turn and burn’ to face a 2. 5-hour trip back home. They eventually put us on a pitch which we have stayed on before but told the tent had to be in the middle of the white disc. These are on a lot of the pitches now. Both women were very arrogant and not really interested. The manager is the same, got the impression not interested in the adult only customers and was told CMC have 37, 000 members! It was the first time we have stayed when not fill and reading other reviews, lots of cancellations. You no longer get shown to your pitch, just given a map with the highlighted route

We will not be returning and the grapevine was busy saying major changes during the winter with the bulldozers arriving

R. I. P Bingham Grange (Adult Only) 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Archie Bargee 26 reviews from this member

 Just back from Bingham Grange, it is everything that others have said, best showers ever in the single rooms(though need more hooks for hanging clothes up) the other showers in the block are very clean and perfectly adequate, though a little chilly this morning (not sure if they have heating) good pitches with hedges for seclusion, very well kept and quiet. It has just been bought by the Caravan and Motorhome Club and although in the middle of a handover the staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful. We believe it will stop being adults only very soon and accept families, just hoping that standards won't drop! 


Previous     172 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bridport Bingham Grange Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bridport Bingham Grange Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Bridport Bingham Grange Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bridport      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/03
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3806 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement