Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bridport Bingham Grange Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Bridport > Bridport Bingham Grange Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Bridport Bingham Grange Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Formerly Bingham Grange Touring Park
Melplash
Bridport
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT6 3TT
Tel: 01308 488234
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 132
Open: 21/03/2024 to 24/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 181 Reviews
                9/10 from 181 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  181 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 200 reviews from this member

 Stayed here many times in the past when it was a fantastic adults only site. First time staying now the CAMC own it.

Brilliant wardens, couldn't do enough for us, from our email before arrival until we left! A credit to the club.

Love the layout of the site and we were pitched in a small cul-de-sac at the 'top' of the site with some friends. Grounds are very well looked after.

Toilet/shower block not the usual CAMC version but always very clean. Probably not enough for the size of the site but that will be addressed when the site is renovated. Hope they don't do too much and spoil it though.

Easy walk across fields/stiles and then quiet lanes into Bridport. Great town that has everything you could need. Brilliant Saturday market but the Wednesday one is much quieter. We found a Sunday carvery in town too (Market House Inn) and it was excellent. We also had a brilliant meal at the Half Moon, a short drive from the site (I believe it's walkable too?).

Lots of places to visit within an easy drive. Go to West Bay and watch the sun go down - free parking after 6pm, extortionate during the day!

We couldn't have wished for a better holiday and look forward to returning in the future to see the renovations. 


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sunjor 22 reviews from this member

 Really nice site and great for dogs, river on site and good dog walk plus adjoining fields with footpaths running through. Site Wardens we came into contact with were friendly and helpful.

Nice walk into Bridport (3. 3km) direct from site, first half on footpaths the rest on pavements adjoining quiet roads (very short bit of country lane without footpath). Market days are Wednesday and Saturdays and really good market in my view.

Facilities all clean and in good order. Really love the demarcation of pitches with trees and hedges and if any updating to happen please do not remove these from a privacy and wildlife perspective they are so important.

Curry van and fish and chip van visit site but not on the days we were there so can't comment. Pymore Inn within walking distance and the food there was good. 


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jayarbee 38 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to this site and we weren’t disappointed.

Arrival found a lovely lady on reception who was very helpful and showed us on the map where we could pitch and recommended where we might like.

This site has been described as quirky and it is that.

Pitches are a bit higgledy piggledy with your own hedges. Nothing uniform or regimental here.

Showers and lavatories always clean and tidy but quite unusual. I’ll leave you to find out why. Good fun.

Fish ‘n’ chip van visits. Quite nice.

Bridport is a nice little town with a market on market day and lots of different shops.

We preferred Lyme Regis. Again lots of shops, especially selling fossils and brilliant bakery

There is a good walk along the prom with lots of small eating places and a great ice cream seller.

Make sure you see the statue of Mary Anning. Excellent.

Unfortunately the CAMC have decided this site needs a complete makeover. New shower/lavatory block, shop and cafe with some glamping pods.

I fear the club will rip the soul out of the site along with the trees and hedges.

We will be left with a…

“brand new and exciting holiday destination”

Which will be boring, bland and beige rows of regimented caravans and motor homes same as all the others.

Certainly don’t let me put you off, this site is worth a visit.

You can even hear the sea lions at night. 


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Coopertroopers 74 reviews from this member

 Arrived at site to be to be told we were allocated a pitch which is unusual for CAMC sites - no real info given other than where the water and waste points were and a map of the site.

The site is very pretty and is in two distinct sections, we were placed on the lower, terraced section and the pitches seemed to range in size.

The facilities were often found to be dirty, the showers overflowed leaving all floor areas wet and possibly hazardous, the shower cubicles still had the shower curtains which most other sites have done away with - very difficult to have a shower without being stood in 2 inches of water and shower curtain stuck to oneself !

The wardens certainly take their job seriously - we were admonished because the dog started to do his business on the way to the dog walk instead of waiting until he was actually in the designated area ! On our day of departure we were pointedly reminded that it was coming up to 11am and were we about to leave ?

The site is around 4 miles from West Bay, which is a pretty harbour town, motor home parking is available at Station car park and is easily accessible so worth a visit. We also walked into Bridport along the back county roads, around an hours walk each way with a stop off at the Pyemore Inn on the way back for a bite to eat.

Will not be returning due the attitude of the wardens detracting from what should have been a restful stay. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Cjcakes 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely site clean and tidy, very isolated site but local taxi to Bridport or West Bay good prices.

No footpath on road to walk to outside site very busy road.

Pub is across 3 fields which was ok in dry months.

But is lovely site to just relaxant chill out 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Damaca 90 reviews from this member

 Pleasant site a couple of miles outside Bridport. There is a nice footpath walk into Bridport though, and the footpath also goes north to where a couple of village pubs can be accessed with a 45-minute or so walk.

But otherwise the opportunities to go away from site on foot or by bike are very limited, as it's on (or rather just off, down a lane) a narrowish busy main road with no pavement.

A bus from Bridport to Beaminster stops outside the site entrance lane, although the timetable is not very frequent.

The facilities block is good. While we were there, there was a curry evening when a van visited with a good selection of well cooked and fairly priced curries. 


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trucker74 2 reviews from this member

 Not shown to pitch so took ages to get sited after a 3 hour journey.

Very cramped pitches with little room to sit out. Car parked in front of van and had to frequently move to allow new arrivals to access their pitches.

Clean but dated toilets/showers and not enough of them.

Good dog walks.

Good site to tour Dorset from by car. Not so good on foot I imagine.

Won’t go back though, found our pitch totally cramped with no view whatsoever. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Keefysher 20 reviews from this member

 Exemplar for Future CAMC Sites :-)

CAMC should acquire more sites like this. Individual pitches not in a row in a car park setting like so many that have been 'modernised' recently.

We had a serviced pitch allocated due to length of our caravan. The drain was at the exact point the caravan drain was so not faffing with pipes/hoses as on other CAMC sites. Standard 3/4 quiklok hose connector.

Hardstanding part was plenty wide enough to put caravan on, with beautiful views across fields and the coast in the distance. We used the sun canopy and air windbreak as it was proper camping weather.

Plenty of grass to the side for sitting out on. Car across the front of the pitch giving sufficient room to access/egress. Lots of things to do in the area, We walked up Golden Cap one day.

Ice cream and beer on the beach at Seatown. Fish and chips on the harbour at West Bay. Trip to Portland and Weymouth to see the cruise ships.

Facilities sufficient given restrictions, we have on board facilities anyway.

We liked it so much we've booked October half term. 


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Kirsty 1 review from this member

 Excellent site, lovely private pitches, good shower facilities. Very clean and Covid protection methods in place.

Safe for children but would benefit from place area (but lots of space between pitches for kids to play safely) 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Deedee 1 review from this member

 Great location. Friendly site. Just a pity the English weather did it's utmost to destroy our tent and we had to leave early.

Would definitely book again. 
via mobile


Previous     181 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Bridport Bingham Grange Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bridport Bingham Grange Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Bridport Bingham Grange Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bridport      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3102 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement