Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Fish Ponds Bottom

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Fordingbridge > Fish Ponds Bottom Reviews

Fish Ponds Bottom
Hale Purlieu
Hale
New Forest
Fordingbridge
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SP6 2NN
Tel: 07743 559332  or  01725 510623
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10 maximum
Open: 01/01/2021 to 01/01/2021
           27/05/2022 to 30/08/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 27 Reviews
                9/10 from 27 Reviews

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Beanie79 1 review from this member

 Fish Ponds Bottom was the perfect Bank Holiday weekend getaway.

I suspect Ginny and Roly, (the most hospitable campsite owners Iíve ever met), have created a site based on exactly how they like to camp; relaxed and back to nature.

We were little apprehensive that our gaggle of kids would be too rowdy but given the setting they got back to nature and loved showing off their ďBug HotelĒ to Roly whom was more than happy to indulge their bushcraft skills.

As my little girl would say, a solid 9/10- hopefully we will be back soon! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Davidl 1 review from this member

 I canít recommend this amazing place enough. The setting is magical and needs to be seen to be believed, tranquil and very relaxing

Thereís lots of space and we had a lot of privacy where we camped. Itís an eco site so no electricity and there were eco loos etc so it all felt like a wonderfully natural experience.

Itís the opposite of a corporate owned site so it was right up our street.

Roly and Ginny are also great hosts and were always very helpful. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Katehf 1 review from this member

 We couldn't have had a better stay at Ginny and Roly's place. It was every bit as tranquil, well located and enjoyable as we had hoped for.

We loved the chilled out atmosphere under the stars and round a camp fire.

Other campers were well spread out and kept to themselves. Just a walk down the lane and you're in the most beautiful landscape of the New Forest.

We did a few walks out across the land to nearby pubs and it was so nice not having to get in the car to go somewhere. Our dog also had a great time.

Would highly recommend. 


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Finnco 1 review from this member

 Lovely spot with a very relaxed and friendly feel.

Roly and Ginny were very friendly and helpful, we cycled in arriving at 8. 30pm and they were very happy to wait for us and we're very welcoming when we arrived.

The facilities are just what you need and with the camp fires it feels like a proper camping experience.

Will definitely be returning! Thanks Roly and Ginny 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: LouiseK 1 review from this member

 A beautiful site in wonderful countryside location. Facilities are basic but well looked after and clean.

Surroundings peaceful and relaxing, Ginny and Roly are fabulous hosts. We hope to be back! 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Braleaca 1 review from this member

 Spent the night in this lusciously green and tranquil camp ground. There was a choice between the more open, panoramic sky area or the denser forest feel and we chose the forest for personal taste.

Welcomed on site, shown around and given a few hints and tips about the area and we were sorted.

The campsite was beautiful and it was certainly worth the hour of researching and spending time trying to find the most natural looking campsite I could find in the New Forrest. I reckon this place could be one of New Forrest's best kept camping secrets. For now. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: AlanBarnett 1 review from this member

 What a find. Fish Ponds Bottom is real camping. Go here if you love space and peace and quiet. Not for you if you like glamping! The site is beautiful right on the edge of the forest so lots of great walks.

The pitches are all hidden away from each other along mown paths or in the woods so all feel very private. The compost loos worked well and didn't smell!

The outdoor shower was in fact lovely and warm, a great experience. Ginny and Roly are super owners, very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend and will be returning again soon. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KirstyD81 1 review from this member

 A treat of a campsite, set in beautiful woods with charming hosts. We thoroughly enjoyed our two nights here and would love to come back.

The location is great for exploring the north of the New Forest and Salisbury, and a number of pubs a short drive away.

The range of pitches is lovely, all with their own character. The eco credentials are just right for such a beautiful part of the world.

Being able to have a campfire is the best part of camping and got us through a very damp evening! 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Johosephat 1 review from this member

 If you're looking for a smaller scale, peaceful, back to nature and family friendly campsite with great hosts, this is the place for you.

You won't find power outlets or a bar here, just fresh air, nature, nice people and the new forest on your doorstep. They also allow campfires which was a real treat in the evenings.

The campsite contains areas of meadow and woodland, with certain areas allowed to grow free to encourage wildlife, of which we saw plenty during our stay.

Upon arrive, we were given free reign where to pitch our tent, and found a private, yet open shady spot in the woodland area which was very much appreciated in the heat.

The whole family enjoyed our stay and will definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AlisonCraig 1 review from this member

 Fish Ponds Bottom is a peaceful magical place.

I escaped there for a night of quiet camping. I took just the dog. I left the next morning feeling restored, having enjoyed the most sublime sunny evening, a night under the stars, and an amazing dawn chorus complete with whinnies from nearby New Forest ponies.

Roly and Ginny host perfectly: welcoming, and allowing peace and privacy.

Perhaps the energy from the underground springs at this site give it its special atmosphere. Or its history. Or its geology. Roly can tell you about all of them, and more, if you want.

Fish Ponds Bottom does not pretend to be anything that it is not.

It is truly, authentically eco. The criticisms of KentGlamper above are quite unfair.

For anyone who can sense magic in a place, Fish Ponds Bottom has it. 


Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Fish Ponds Bottom child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Fish Ponds Bottom?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Fish Ponds Bottom dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Fordingbridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the countryís leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3114 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Get a Reminder