Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Fforest Fields Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Builth Wells > Fforest Fields Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Fforest Fields Caravan & Camping Park
Fforest Farm
Hundred House
Builth Wells
Powys   (Browse area)
LD1 5RT
Tel: 01982 570406
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: .
Open: March 1st To December 31st

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 239 Reviews
                9/10 from 239 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  239 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33   34   35  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nigelw32764iqb 1 review from this member

 Beautiful camp site, very clean amenities and very friendly owners.

The boat lake, fishing pond and mountain walks make it a lovely place to relax. There is a pub about 1 Mile away.

On site you have a shop, cafe/bar and free to use kayaks and canoes for the lake.

Highly recommend this site to all ages. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Silver Plated Spork 14 reviews from this member

 We've stayed at FF a few times now, but I thought it was time to give an updated review.

We do enjoy coming to this place, gives us a chance to some well needed R&R whilst knowing the facilities will be great. We love the fact there are walks around the site- looking down on the camp is lovely as is the swimming lake. Camp fires are encouraged but the best thing is that we know we will get a good nights sleep- camp quiet is asked for at 10:30pm and it's generally needed after all the open air!

The facilities are pretty much perfect- big showers and clean loos, covered washing up, fridges and freezers, washer/dryer (that's much easier to use now), drying room, shop, cafe. There's lockers for phones if you haven't got EHU and you can hire canoes as well for a donation to a local cause. In holiday times there are regular pizza nights (which are gorgeous) and paddleboarding lessons- but you have to book ahead for these.

The pitches are great, all enormous and you get a reasonable choice, plus logistics allowing, you can camp with friends/family. None of the pitches are especially far from the central facilities courtyard. I love the all weather pitches as your groundsheet is clean no matter what the weather and you still get a bit patch of grass for chairs etc.

We've stayed in both May and August, and think we generally prefer May as it feels less busy than August. I did like the longer cafe opening hours in August and the fact the lake was warmer though! We did find quite a few queues for the showers this time around- it felt perhaps a little overcrowded for us. It was also the most expensive UK campsite we stayed at this year- at the top end really for our budget.

But, overall the positives still outweigh the few niggly negatives, and we have many great memories. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Chumpycampa 1 review from this member

 We stayed here with a group of friends and we had the most amazing time. The weather was amazing and so swimming in the lake was all we wanted to do.

The site has the perfect blend of being well controlled and orderly but also relaxed and friendly to make it a really stress free and relaxing camp.

We are booked back in for next summer and really looking forward to it - and praying the weather is as good. The local pub (the Hundred House Inn) is also really good and the family who run it work really hard to provide good food and beer.

There is also a footpath to the pub from the campsite. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Magmar 28 reviews from this member

 Yet again a fantastic stay at FF our go to campsite from home (Hereford) Great pitch (31) with the sun shining from dawn till dusk.

The facilities are spot on. (So many other camping sites can learn from FF what makes a campsite great) they have thought of just about everything; gas exchange, BBQ disposal, fire pits with ground protectors, RE-CYCLING buckets for every pitch.

Excellent café/bar at high season & w/e's plus Pizza etc. Good range of milk, juice, cream, sausages eggs etc at reception. Good pitch rotation to protect the grass.

Two lakes, one for fishing and the other for fun. Canoes free to use (Deposit required) Our dog just loves the place. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bananarama 10 reviews from this member

 Fabulous setting, well maintained, large pitches. We arrived on a Saturday to a very warm welcome and invited to choose our own pitch. It was very busy with families enjoying the kayaks on the lake - if you want to be more peaceful, choose a pitch away from the lake!

The whole campsite became much quieter by Sunday afternoon when the families left. Lovely little café in the courtyard open over the weekend. Very good facilities, spotlessly clean. Huge amount of walks around the campsite, fantastic views from up on the hill.

Walk from the campsite to the local pub, didn't quite make it that far because of the weather, but walk through the woods was lovely. Really enjoyed our stay, will be returning! 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rutland Belle 16 reviews from this member

 We chose Fforest Fields because we needed to be near Builth Wells. Unfortunately for us, this coincided with the Easter holidays which meant that the site was full of families and very noisy.

It is a beautifully kept site with lots for children to do and the staff are very helpful.

The facilities are immaculate and the cafe serves excellent drinks and cakes with the added bonus of freshly baked pizzas on a Friday night.

Once the families had left, and the weather took a turn for the worse, it became a tranquil haven. We would consider returning, although it is a long journey, but we would book our stay out of school holidays.

I have rated it 9/10 overall simply because it was not peaceful when occupied by families. 


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: _tich_ 13 reviews from this member

 Myself & a few friends went there back in October & it's a beautiful site.

I did find the pitch pricing a little odd with having to pay extra's for this & that I personally prefer one price per pitch as most sites I go to have this.

Unfortunately I did notice some dog owners walking their dogs & not picking up their mess which isn't very nice especially as they let them do it next to a water point.

Other than that the staff a very helpful the site amenities are clean & I would definitely go back again. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Plipsurt 3 reviews from this member

 Yet another fantastic weekend! This really is my happy place.

Family run, immaculate site with outstanding facilities.

We have visited many times and never tire of doing so. The walks are beautiful, the quiet time is upheld and the staff aim to please no matter what is going on.

See you soon! 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Joparti 3 reviews from this member

 We used this site as an overnight stop on the way to Tenby and instantly wish we’d booked for longer. This is by far one of the best sites we’ve stayed at and loved the laid back feel the site had to offer. The staff were really friendly and made us feel welcome straight away.

We stayed in the big field and was had lovely views of the hills. We were told they didn’t want us to leave at a set time the next day and to just enjoy our stay and leave when we wanted. I can honestly say I couldn’t find a negative about this site at all!

The owners had thought of everything. We hired a fire pit for the night and by half 10 the site was quiet. The lake was a huge bonus and we used one of the free canoes (£5 donation to the local school) for an hour and put our wetsuits on and swam in the lake.

We didn’t want to leave and will definitely be coming back at some point but will stay for longer to explore the area, we felt like we’d found a little hidden gem and will be recommending the site to all our friends. Well done everyone at Fforest Fields you have worked so hard to establish such a fantastic site. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Nathanstev 2 reviews from this member

 We have stayed on this site many times since it was recommended to us at the start of the year. We can't rate it highly enough.

It has everything you need. Good facilities a cafe and shop, the shop is open pretty much all day, the cafe is open for breakfast and in the evening, you can pre-order pizza for your Friday arrival.

The pitches are generous and varied and you are given plenty of space. There is a fishing lake and a boating lake with kayaks to hire. It's well cared for and the owners staff are very nice but also professional. Check out is when you feel like it on the day, which makes you hang around and enjoy the views.

It is a stunning setting whether wet or dry. Loads of walks to do and not to far from local towns. Nights are quiet with 11pm curfew. At least 5 showers per block as well as the family rooms,

The only gripe I have is the chemical toilet disposal is down the end of the site away from the main building and other amenities, but this is a minor issue.

There is a map on arrival which points out everything including the walk to the local pub, if you need it, we just sup the ruhbarb Cider from the cafe. 


Previous     239 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Fforest Fields Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Fforest Fields Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Fforest Fields Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Builth Wells      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3193 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020