Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Fforest Fields Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Builth Wells > Fforest Fields Caravan & Camping Park > Reviews

Fforest Fields Caravan & Camping Park
Fforest Farm
Hundred House
Builth Wells
Powys   (Browse area)
LD1 5RT
Tel: 01982 570406
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: .100
Open: 01/03/2024 to 05/01/2025
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 368 Reviews
                10/10 from 368 Reviews

Photos (27)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  368 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33   34   35   36   37  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Magmar 33 reviews from this member

 Another return visit to one of our favourite camping sites.

The weather was great, perhaps the last sunny w/e of this year, and despite lots of other campers there was always facilities to use. All of which are first class.

One minor gripe the 2 freezers for campers use, which are meant to be cleaned out on alternate Tues & Thurs, had not been touched fro a long time. They were over flowing, very iced up and needed attention.

We will return again. 


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: AkelaDebbie 1 review from this member

 Fabulous site. Really eco minded.

Facilities( toilet/shower blocks, shop, drying room) all immaculate.

Staff very friendly and helpful.

Will definitely be going again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Deana8 1 review from this member

 A superb and peaceful experience throughout.

Beautiful setting surrounded by countless interesting walks and features.

Immaculate facilities and helpful staff. 10/10 for everything. 


Date of Visit: February 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Divers 2 reviews from this member

 First read about FF F on the net and came to check it out. The two lakes, one for swimming and boating are beautiful. The pitches large. EHU available.

Excellent bins and recycling catered for. All the services for tents eg washing up, drying room. Onsite shop for essential items. Staff friendly.

Returned again a few weeks later and again excellent. Showers now open after decorating. Clean and warm. Fire pits brilliant. Did lots of walking over the area with dog and enjoying it loads. Love this place.

Like they’re not greedy like some I have stopped going to. Loss of a mark as a little untidy underfoot in places. Nothing drastic as booked for next month. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Going 1 review from this member

 One of my very favorite sites. It is a little tired around the edges, but because it so wonderful here it only adds to its charm.

It is fantastic for dogs, so many walks around the site, around the lakes up the hillsides without ever seeing a road. Theres even 30 minutes or so of a relatively flat woodland walk which paths criss cross each other.

We've made several short breaks here during 2022 and the choice of where to pitch is good. Theres the more standard hardstanding pitches nestled around the facilities block and then there's the massive field, which has a number of hard standing pitches and many more hook ups.

During dry weather you can camp anywhere in the field, off grid. And we've always been allowed to pitch whereever we choose. Now that is good. Facilities are clean and good. And there is a very good showerroom/toilet with a sink within.

Close enough to Builth Wells to get chips back still hot (4. 5 miles, less than 10 mins. )

We've seen paragliders land infront the motorhome as well as campers with horses, and yet always a peaceful stay. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: TimCESmith 68 reviews from this member

 We were greeted by a rather pert young man at reception who was surprised we wanted to stay 14 nights and surprised us by putting us on a hard gravel pitch - "It's to protect the grass. That's the rules. " First we'd heard of that, and we were too knackered to make a fuss. All our interactions in Reception were similarly slightly off-key. But hey ho, we really needed this holiday and were determined to enjoy it.

It' a good site and works relatively well even when it's rammed at what was absolutely peak season. The honesty shop and the little bar / cafe were great. We hired a firepit and cooked over that for quite a few meals. Highly recommend a paddleboarding lesson with Pete. Sadly my attempts to book pizza and kebabs had both failed miserably, so I can't comment on those.

There's a useful CoOp in Builth and a big Tesco in Landod (Llandrindod Wells) for stocking up. The roads are very windey. We very much enjoyed Hay on Wye and an excellent supper at Chapters, and of course ALL the bookshops. On our last day we made it all the way to Aberystwyth for the tasting menu lunch at Nathan Davies' new restaurant, SY23. Absolutely superb and well worth the 50 miles each way for it, but next time we'll look to stay within striking distance of that.

Other excursions included the Elan Valley Dams - there was an open day so we were lucky enough to get inside one (Pen y Garreg) - and Croft castle, which I'd have been happy to move straight in to. We spent a lot of time on the site - much more than usual because a) we were knackered, and b) even though it was noisy and full of flies, it is a very good site.

Worth mentioning that the noise policy - quiet after 10:30 and "whispers only after 11pm" - was very well observed and we slept like logs. We got home yesterday feeling really refreshed. 


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tazhg5 1 review from this member

 Absolutely loved this site, and would recommend it to anybody.

The staff were friendly, and helpful.

The kebab and pizza nights were fantastic

The facilities were brilliant, apart from running out of hand wash!

It has a small coffee shop/bar which is just so nice in the morning sitting with coffee and cake (Victoria sponge was gorgeous) or a croissant!

The lake was lovely, it reminded me of being in America! We had gorgeous weather which helped!

My partner even did a paddle boarding lesson with Pete, who was just brilliant. She never thought she would be able to stand up but she did! Well worth £22 for that!

Nothing bad to say about this place, in fact we are going back next year with family! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Dk168 47 reviews from this member

 I returned to Fforest Fields (FF) since I last stayed there in 2014 with my old dog, now with a new young dog and we had a great time.

They had added more facilities to the site, now with a new reception area and a café that opens at weekends that serves pizzas on Fridays (please check opening times as they vary throughout the year).

They now have glamping yurts on-site too, which are sited in a dedicated area by the duck/fishing lake where vehicles are not allowed except for dropping off.

The "honesty box" still operates, and it is advisable to bring some loose change with you.

I arrived on Saturday night and it was busy with family type weekenders. Once the majority had left by Sunday lunch time, the site was very peaceful.

The site was delightful as always, however, I wish there were more dog poo bins about especially around the lakes (just a tiny niggle).

Looking forward to returning to this lovely site in future, perhaps my dog would plug up the courage to swim in the lakes one day! 


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Walter 1 review from this member

 We were totally impressed.

The directions made it easy to find. We were made very welcome and all the facilities were up to a very high standard.

Remarkably, the shop at reception ran an honesty system for things if the place was unattended.

For the days we were there, even the weather was kind to us.

The best thing for us was the range of woodland walks and the map of them all. 


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Kampervankeeny 13 reviews from this member

 This is a wonderful site staffed by helpful friendly people. The site is divided into two halves, the landscaped section with immaculate driveways and hard standing placements, and in the other half its just a good old camping field, with plenty of hook ups.

We chose the camping field and could select our own preferred pitch. Pitches are numbered but there are no divisions in between units.

The toilet / shower facilities are spotless and the shower cubicles spacious with no risk of soaking your own clothes, plenty of hooks and continuous hot water at no extra charge.

Due to the lovely sunshine, my family enjoyed swimming in the lake, and there are some lovely walks in the hills around the site.

We enjoyed coffee and cakes from the on site part time cafe and another excellent service was the site shop being open 24 hrs and items paid for either by the honesty box, or card payment to reception next morning.

Another amazing feature of this site was to experience "the sound of silence" even in the day time.

Although no play area for kids, there was no need. It was great to see family groups playing good old rounders in the camping field, (like we did as kids) it was large enough to ensure no risk of balls hitting tents or caravans.

We loved this site and will definitely return 


Previous     368 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Fforest Fields Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Fforest Fields Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Fforest Fields Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Builth Wells      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet National Outdoor Expo 23/03 to 24/03
Held at the NEC in Birmingham, bringing outdoor enthusiasts all of the kit, tech, nutrition, activities and advice under one roof for a jam-packed weekend of outdoor inspiration Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4674 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement