Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Fen Farm Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > Essex > Site Reviews

Fen Farm Caravan Site
Fen Farm
Moore Lane
East Mersea
Colchester
Essex   (Browse area)
CO5 8FE
Tel: 01206 383275
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 95
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 136 Reviews
                9/10 from 136 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  136 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Carlosthecaravan 6 reviews from this member

Hello people - so here is another review of Fen Farm - we have been visiting Fen Farm since 2010, and are just about to start our 3rd full season on a seasonal pitch. People don't just keep going back to places that aren't good.

Facilities on the site include *electric to pitches *lots of taps * elsan *spotless toilets & showers, *laundry facilities * washing up room * disabled toilet/ shower * family bathroom *beach * 2 x playparks *dog walking & ball-games field *friendly & helpful reception *outstanding wardens

Facilities nearby include *pub which serves good food *Cudmore grove country park *foot ferry to Brightlingsea *seafood restaurant *soon-to-open small Farm shop/ Café less than half a mile away *the bright lights of West Mersea *the even brighter lights of historical Colchester

The site is exceptionally well managed, has 4 live-in wardens, the toilet/ shower facilities are spotless. Every year the site has invested in improvements in facilities and refurbishments, as well as making conservation improvements as they are David Bellamy accredited (wildflower meadows & tree planting, owl boxes and insect hotels, pond with nesting moorhens). Very good green credentials with solar power and spring water used for toilets.

We love it. The kids will be 14 and 16 this year. They have been happy enough with what is on site for most of the past 9 years, and now they are older they can have the freedom to take themselves off site a little further afield if they want something a little more commercial (Now we sometimes send them off to the Park resorts for an hour to play in the arcade & buy a slushy!)

Kath

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gcljohn 3 reviews from this member

Friendly on arrival. Directed to our pitch with EHU in one of the outfields; no problem with that. Ground somewhat hard and effort needed to hammer pegs in! Plenty of space, and could spread out.

Can get blustery there. Toilet, shower, and waste disposal arrangements are among the best I have encountered, and numerous 'Loo of the Year' certificates displayed. Only negative was no mobile phone or data signals available, and they charge extra for this facility. Dog and child friendly.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sirwalter 1 review from this member

We stayed for four weeks and we had a marvellous time at fen farm. The staff was very friendly and very helpful, the pitches were really spacious and we felt comfortable from the first day on: top clean toilets, no problems with electricity and the wardens were always willing to help whenever there was a problem. We stayed in Berry field and it was only about 10 min to the (shingle) beach at a very leisurely pace (with our seven grandchildren). To sum it up: we enjoyed our stay and we can recommend fen farm especially to families with dogs and children

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sunshinetours 18 reviews from this member

What a fantastic campsite in a lovely location.

Flat, great access, well drained sandy firm soil (after heavy rain), very friendly welcome, late check out in low and mid season at 5pm so can get a full weekend break, clean and well maintained showers and toilets, Elsan, grey water etc etc. Plenty of taps round edge of fields, plenty of space for all. Nice play area for kids, space for games in middle of field

Really cannot fault this place in any way. Well priced for families as per pitch not per person. Will definitely return for a nice weekend chill. Top site!

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wendy12miller 12 reviews from this member

First outing of the year - Easter Weekend on the beautiful Mersea island

Weather rather indifferent but that's the British weather for you, love this campsite, really friendly staff, site very well maintained and loo's and showers spotlessly clean as always

Will be returning again sometime this summer

Thank you Fen Farm another enjoyable stay XX

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bahhumbugessexgirl 5 reviews from this member

We really enjoyed our weekend on Fen Farm. The campsite is quite local to us so we know Mersea well.

There was a friendly greeting upon arrival and field recommended to pitch on. There are plenty of electric points but fewer water. We even managed to get a pitch with partial sea view.

There is a short walk to the beach which is well signed. Mahala's fish restaurant is also close by.

I didn't use the shop on site but my boyfriend did come back with a warm pastry as well as a newspaper.

The toilets and showers were plentiful and clean. The building isn't the newest but it is maintained perfectly.

I'm looking forward to going back again.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: RICMorts 7 reviews from this member

Stayed for 1 week. Very pleased with site. Plenty of room and you're able to pitch where you want as long as not too near to others. Got good pitch near play area. Not too noisy during the day. Very quiet and peaceful at night. Shower and toilet block always clean and never had to queue even when site was full. Receptionist very helpful and friendly. Good easy access to beach. Lovely site for a relaxing holiday. Weather was fantastic which also helped.

Vineyard cafe was nice, lovely homemade cakes. Pub near site was average. Not loads to do on the island but due to good weather had a fantastic week.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Apairofoldcampers 5 reviews from this member

Love this site. It was our 1st site we visited on our return to touring after a 30year gap and so pleased it was this one and not some of the other sites we have visited.

So far this is our fourth return visit.

Site is clean, pitches are well spaced out, friendly wardens on site, toilet block kept clean, large field for games/kite flying.

Easy access to beach. The pub serving good food is just across the road from the camp. The shop at the caravan park (cosways) next door is a little pricey, but a quick car ride takes you into west Mersey were there are supermarkets. Great Crab fishing for the kids in west Mersey

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Seelejoa 1 review from this member

We visited Fen Farm during the first week of the school hols as a recommendation from friends and loved it. The facilities are spotless (piped music is a genius idea), the wardens are friendly and helpful and the space for the kids is safe and vast. We took the bikes and didn't see the kids most of every day while they were away exploring. They have a small play area and it's five minutes from the beach. The downside is that the shop on the adjacent site is extortionately expensive: £2. 99 for a bottle of ketchup! That's the only downside. One tip is that the ground is extremely hard and rocky so you will need rock pegs. Other than that, you're good to go - we'll definitely be back!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tonylee153 3 reviews from this member

I have been coming here for a few years now and it's always clean and friendly, with no distractions apart from the beach and the play area. Pitches are a good size(I always get in the field next to the play area. )

Little shop next door for milk etc and a pub with nice food just down the way. See you next time

Previous     136 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Essex

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2639 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019