Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Chipping Norton Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton > Chipping Norton Camping And Caravanning Club Site > Reviews

Chipping Norton Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Chipping Norton Road
Chadlington
Chipping Norton
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
OX7 3PE
Tel: 01608 641993
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01/04/2022 to 02/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 63 Reviews
                8/10 from 63 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  63 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Hunc 3 reviews from this member

 Helpful quick check in from the Wardens as is usual with C and C sites especially since Pandemic.

Clean facilities quickly accessed from the Tent areas on this smaller site.

We did not walk from the site as bounded by busy main roads but walked elsewhere.

Wifi Is free and worked well

Would use again as lovely area to visit. 


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jackygurini 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site just outside the town of Chipping Norton and central to the Cotswolds. Lovely wardens and very tidy clean site with good facilities.

Local pub in nearby Churchill was recommended to us and it was first class. Would definitely stay here again.

Our grass pitch was located far away from the main road and was peaceful, the site was busy but not full.

There is a bus stop just outside and the train station in nearby Charlbury is perfect for a trip to Oxford or beyond.

A very relaxing stay. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Cinders22 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely site but we were close to the road at the far end of the campsite and the noise was quite constant through the day and till quite late in the evening and also started up early in the morning.

Facilities clean and staff very friendly. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Funky 18 reviews from this member

 We love this site. The staff are first rate, nothing is too much trouble. Being disabled this means a lot.

Te site is immaculate. The toilets and showers are of great quality and clean. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dawnyowl2905 32 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 2 nights at this site and were lucky enough to have fabulous hot weather.

The wardens were friendly on check-in and allowed us to choose from a few pitches.

The facilities are perfectly adequate - the shower block is clean with push button hot showers.

The site is about 2 miles from Chipping Norton which is a very dangerous road to walk down however there is a cut through the fields on a public footpath. Hay fever sufferers beware as it got me good and proper!

Chipping Norton is a nice little place with a large co-op to stock up on food and lots of pubs to choose from.

The only downside was on the first night we could hear dogs barking the whole night. This was NOT the fault of the site as the noise was coming from the Travellers site which is not far away - we had seen it when we had walked into Chipping Norton. The barking was relentless and really spoiled our stay. The following morning the lady staying on the pitch next to us remarked that it had kept her awake as well. Not sure what the answer is with that but it was dreadful and relentless.

Personally I wouldn’t stay at this site again but only as I prefer to be closer to and within walking distance of shops etc. The site itself is the usual high standard that we expect from C&C club sites. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: AJ66 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed here in a caravan with my friend next to me in a tent. First impressions were made by the incredibly welcoming staff who seem to really enjoy their work. The site felt spacious and different units were well placed so everyone gets the maximum space and privacy.

Facilities were kept very clean, plenty of hot water in the showers, a little office/shop which opens for a few hours and stocks the basics. Despite this being a family site, there were none of the usual issues of children running about as families tended to be placed near the play area.

The road that runs past the site can be noisy at night as it seems to attract boy racers, but this isn’t an issue in a caravan, maybe a little frustrating if in a tent. I chilled out on the site during two of the days and it was very peaceful during the day.

Throughout my 8 days there, I was impressed with the hard work the staff put into making everyone feel welcome, whilst keeping everything clean and tidy and welcoming new visitors - this had the knock on effect of making visitors more at ease, friendly, and helping each other out when needed.

It is perfectly placed to explore the Cotswolds. It is a five minute drive into Chipping Norton which has three main supermarkets and an assortment of shops. I will definitely be visiting again! 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Hazelriley 3 reviews from this member

 The pitch we were given was up behind the wall away from the main area. The electric hookup line had to be put

over the wall meaning we had to walk back around the wall to plug in. This led us (& the other five motorhome owners put behind the wall) to believe this area was really for tents. Not the best position on the site, especially for the single elderly disabled lady in the next motorhome who had quite a walk to the facilities.

Three people complained about the position, only one was moved, the other two felt one of the lady wardens very unhelpful. However the gentleman warden who collected the daily papers was very pleasant.

There is a lovely pub in Chadlington village, the Tite Inn. About a mile down the road from the site. Had to walk along the road which was too dangerous to walk back in the dark. The landlady very kindly gave us a lift back on the two occasions we visited. Really nice people, excellent food & a wonderful beer garden. Would definitely recommend. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Loulou6t9 5 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, friendly staff, possibly the cleanest and tidiest site I have ever been to! Sadly no ball games and no open space for the children to play. Mine are a little old to be entertained by a playground.

Not loads to choose from in the surrounding area but close to all the picturesque villages and a couple of nice NT places.

Local falconry center was amazing! 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: David Klyne 246 reviews from this member

 To Find Site:- From Chipping Norton take A361 towards Burford. Watch out for A361 veering off to right and take left turn signed to Chadlington, site also signed, and site is a couple of hundred metres on the right.

This site is situated in open countryside about two miles south of Chipping Norton. It is bordered by the A361 so there will be some daytime noise but this reduces quite a lot by nightfall. The site is open to non-members. It looks as if the site road infrastructure has had a recent upgrade with newly tarmacked roads in the main part of the site with foot wide gravel borders, I assume to soak up excess rainfall? There are 105 pitches, set out in two areas, the main one in front of the reception and a separate higher section along the top end of the site and this is where most of the non-electric pitches are. In common to most C&CC sites are a mix of hardstandings with electrics, grass with electric and grass with no electrics. Most pitches are sloping although some more than others so some levelling will be required. Electric points are handy to the pitches and they use CEE 17 blue plugs and are rated at 16 amps. Water points are situated near the entrance and at the facility block as is grey water disposal. Please note this site does not have a motorhome service point although if you have a waste water carried this can be used at the normal grey water disposal points. The toilet block is of the older variety and whilst perfectly clean and serviceable is not as luxurious as some. The block also contains a laundry, with drying lines behind the block, and dishwash area, it would benefit from a refurbishment. For children there is a nice looking adventure type playground. There is site wide WiFi and time can be purchased online. Reception sells a few essentials as well as Calor Gas there is also a book swap. Next door is a small information room.

The traditional Cotswold market town of Chipping Norton is a couple of miles away by road, perhaps more difficult on foot because of lack of footpaths, and is well worth a visit. For those not wanting to use their own transport there is an hourly weekday bus service from immediately outside the campsite entrance although it does not run much into the evening. In the other direction the bus goes to Witney. All parts of the Cotswold are within easy reach of this campsite. For eating out opportunities there is a large choice in Chipping Norton and there is also a nice Co-Op supermarket there to. 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nikko136 53 reviews from this member

 As you will note from the site map, this is on a corner between the A361 (Chipping Norton to Burford) and the B4026 (Chadlington and other villages). We were given the choice of hardstanding pitches but none of these - and we suspect grass pitches aren’t much better - are out of earshot of the boy racers and bikers ignoring the warnings of how many fatalities there have been on these roads. The C&CC should not imply the site gives ‘peace and tranquillity’. That said, the newly revamped pitches and site roadways are good despite most still needing levelling devices. Pity they didn’t go the extra mile and include fully-serviced pitches. The site location is good for the attractions of the Cotswolds.

Not sure what to say about the staff – they didn’t strike us as ‘the friendly club’ material. We asked about buying some food items and were told to go into Chipping Norton. However, we found fantastic little shops and a café down the road in Chadlington when we saw the signs to them on the board outside the site. There was no positive attitude to guest support. They equally made no attempt to recommend any other local facilities - we found the beautifully refurbished Tite Inn ourselves.

As at the club’s Bala site, we found the washroom facilities adequate but cold and basic. Shower cubicles were so small that when the water flowed the curtain was drawn in to touch you. There were inadequate areas to keep shoes and clothing dry. The washing-up area is in the open, with single-drainer sinks next to each other with no separating worktops - where are you expected to put dirty dishes and dried dishes?

There is no motorhome service point as such, but we were offered the loan of a bucket. Strangely, there is what looks very much like an MHS at the site barrier but to use it they would have to keep the barrier up and no-one would be able to drive in or out.

The on-site dog walk is adequate for their essentials. There are good unfenced field tracks to the left of the site entrance and a very good public bridleway just the other side of the A361 accessed by a gate at the western end of the site. 


Previous     63 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Chipping Norton Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Chipping Norton Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Chipping Norton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2569 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement