Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Penisar Mynydd Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Denbighshire > St Asaph > Penisar Mynydd Caravan Park Reviews

Penisar Mynydd Caravan Park
Caerwys Rd
Rhuallt
St Asaph
Denbighshire   (Browse area)
LL17 0TY
Tel: 01745 582227
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 72
Open: 1st March - 15th January

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 73 Reviews
                8/10 from 73 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  73 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bonnyrigg 33 reviews from this member

 A well laid out site in the main, plant containers and the grass kept short and cuttings lifted. The site owner is helpful and pleasant.

The facilities are very good but there are no hooks or shelves in the ladies wash area, no where to put your towel whilst washing and there is only one hook behind the door in the showers. When showering you have to hug the wall as the shower is a small head coming out of the wall and the water falls only inches away from the wall. Other than that the water is hot and the toilets were kept tidy regularly if not cleaned daily.

The rule signs around the field are a bit straight to the point and not user friendly, could be worded slightly different. The camping/caravan field at the back is a topsy turvy layout, no marked pitches, people pitching up everywhere with caravans and tents. We stayed on the first field as you enter, this field is laid out with mainly seasonal pitches. To the right the caravans are pitched in enclosures made by hedges, not very big but adequate. On the left the caravans are pitched next to each other and packed in quite tightly.

We were there Friday to Sunday and found it to be a very noisy site. Everywhere there appeared to be little dogs on leads barking and yelping, the owners taking them to the toilet block with them, to wash dishes with them and to empty the facilities with them. Don't misunderstand I am a dog lover and have a well trained dog of my own, but these dogs were spoilt and untrained and continually made the noise even when at their own caravans. On Saturday night someone was having a party and the music was booming out until almost three in the morning.

Unfortunately I won't return at a weekend, it may be less noisy midweek. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Doolz 2 reviews from this member

 Arrived Thursday. Late booking for the Mayday BH. First impression very good. Met by lovely young lady who told us they had given us a hard standing pitch (thank goodness ), one of about 5 vacant because of vacant seasonal pitches. Site looked very well looked after, grass newly cut, toilets immaculate (first impression). Friday tea time started going down hill fast, very fast. The tent /rally field has 60 pitches for tent or caravans.

The site manager seemed to over look this overcrowded the remaining hard standing pitches now occupied. The owner sited caravans on the grass in front of the hard standing pitches and all cars have to be parked on the road in front of the caravans (no room by the side of vans if an awning is erected). Now if you take the tents, seasonal pitches and additional caravans, site was overcrowded.

Back to toilets by Saturday evening 3 toilets, urinal and 3 showers in the gents, disgusting, not cleaned. Cant comment on the ladies, would have if I had some washing to do as laundry room was in the ladies toilet. ! when we left 10 am Monday toilets still in need of a good cleaning. Would we visit again, will let you answer that. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chris Layton 2 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to this site and will be our last. Whilst the site grounds are well maintained there are not nearly enough facilities for the number of guests on site. There are only three showers in each of the ladies and gents and during our stay (2 nights) there was no evidence of the facilities being cleaned.

On three occasions the stock of toilet roll had been exhausted. There are clear site rules on display but nobody seemed to enforce them, especially with regard to the riding of cycles and excessive noise. Whilst this may seem petty what's the point of having rules and not enforcing them. What could be a good campsite is spoilt by lack of attention to detail. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Urban g 1 review from this member

 Clean and tidy site with small toilet and shower block, (male block 3 toilets and 3 showers ) YOU ARE ALWAYS SURE OF A WARM TOILET SEAT!

The site stores a lot of touring caravans which the owner tows on to site when required, some even on hard standing pitches all year. Dont go in school holidays and especially on bank holidays. The owner sites caravan on the grass in front of the hard standing pitches and all cars have to be parked on the road infront of the caravans (no room by the side of vans if an awning is erected. Because the tent field was chock a block ( rule of at least 10ft between tents completely ignored ) got on as many as possible last Bank Holiday of the year and wanted to get as much money in the till as possible. Tents even pitched in between caravans. No recycling on site and store room for waste was always shut ( had to just dump bags of waste on trailer parked next to toilets. Serurity barrier was never lowered even at night.

YES I would stop on this sit again BUT OUT OF SEASON. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campingrevisited 3 reviews from this member

 Very clean and well kept site, Facilities are clean and hot water is readily available for showers and washing up etc. Also have a laundry facility with washing machine, dryer and even an iron.

Camping field is large enough to allow plenty of space for children to run and play.

Dogs are welcome as long as they are kept on a lead and well behaved.

Noise level during the day are what would be normally expected being in the countryside and near a farm, but quiet at night.

The staff are friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble.

Will definitely be looking to stay here again.

Overall I would recommend this site if you want somewhere to just chill and for somewhere the kids can be safe, best thing about this site is that there is nowhere to spend loads of money as ahops/pubs and amusements are all off site.

Very surprised at just how much we enjoyed the break, first time camping with our dog(we have been camping years but a first for the dog) was a pleasurable experience. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: CEC52 2 reviews from this member

 Wow. What a FAB site. From Tents to Motorhomes it is perfect to enjoy nature at it's best. First impression was fantastic, glorious sunshine over 20c temperature. A young lady met us at the gate and gave us the options of pitches. Although we were in our Motorhome, we opted for the field which is known as the 'tent field' and all types of units were on. We wanted the massive space to take our Spaniel & also to check suitability for a tent if our daughter joined us.

It could not have been better. All we could hear were birds singing until the next morning when the Cockerell (from the farm next door to the field) made his morning call at 7am. We slept through and didn't hear it but perhaps the people in tents close to the farm hedge were disturbed. Well, I guess that's life in the open air.

We stayed for 2 nights and never left the site, enjoying a few dog walks along the quiet country lanes. Wild flowers everywhere and at one with mother nature.

We took all we needed because there is no shop on site. To buy anything from milk, ice cream, sun cream, drinks or food it is essential to drive at least a couple of miles.

We can't understand the poor reviews about Pensar Myndd because the site is very well maintained & spotlessly clean. It is not an adults only site so of course there will be children's shouts & laughter to break others' peace. We usually book hardstanding pitches but the field took us back to chilhood caravanning when all that was provided was a place to set up. The showers & loos are exemplary. We met a few campers there who have stayed several times, and that is a great pointer to being a good site. Indeed, we will return in 3 weeks, we booked it as we left the site this time. Excellent prices for our motorhome & awning plus a large tent for our daughter & her family. We really can't wait to return. I hope this review helps others' as the poor reviews appear to dwell on no shops or facilities and even stuff beyond the sites' control.  


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jano55 2 reviews from this member

 Rang and booked two nights on this site on Thursday arrived Friday afternoon when we were greeted by very pleasant man who said the site had a CC rally and would we mind parking on car park

As it had ehu we decided that would be ok even though it wasn't on the main site (which looked really pretty even in the rain!) nearest pub a good couple of miles away down dark lanes so we decided to pay for wifi so we could at least use mobiles (this lasted just long enough to send one Facebook message to family to let them know we'd arrived)

Woke up to sunshine next morning (8. 30am) and decided to go out for the day to Llandudno, but found the low overhead barter at the exit locked and nobody around to open it!

A note on reception door said that to ring for attention, however neither of us had any service on our phones so waited almost an hour for someone to let us out

Spent a lovely day At the beach only to arrive back at the site to find they'd even given our space on the car park away, with someone else hooked up in our spot!

We then had to spend half an hour looking for someone to sort this out when we eventually found him he just laughed and said oh well you can just park on the road down there if you want?

We opted to stay outside the toilet block and left at seven next morning after a restless night with many of the rally customers driving up and down to the loo all night! I understand they were busy but felt very much as if because we weren't part of the 'in crowd' we were not particularly wanted and there were no explanations or apologies offered for quite shabby treatment 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cyfyng 3 reviews from this member

 Where do I start? well when we arrived there the owner was a lovely man which is always a bonus. It has a good toilet block, nice and clean. The site locked with a security gate too, however during our stay we found this never to be so again, so much for locked security! The site looked lovely when we first drove on BUT we were in the next lane and it was like Shanty Town in fact my husband said it looked like a scrap yard!, old seasonal caravans parked there, we were in-between them and when they were occupied on the weekend we had children running all over the place also no room at all for privacy not any real room to sit out or park the car as the caravans are parked so close together.

There is nothing here for young children to do, no play area, no bikes and no ball games :( we have dogs and there is no dog walk however you can take them onto the tent field but not really good if you are the people in the tents! Personally I would not go here again with a caravan but I do think that this site is ok on the tenting side. Too small pitches for caravans and also very tight to turn into the pitches. A shame really as it is a tidy campsite with a lovely owner. 


Date of Visit: January 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Belinda H 13 reviews from this member

 What a fab site this is, we were on a spacious pitch with its own drainage point. The site was lovely and quiet with only the sounds of the countryside. There is easy access from the A55 which is only a short drive away (but far enough not to cause a noise problem).

The owner is very helpful and friendly and gave us a warm welcome. The whole site is well kept and very clean. Security is good too. There are some local shops a short drive into Dyserth (you will also find a waterfall here) There is a pretty decent Indian Takeaway in Dyserth too. Slightly further away (approx 10-15min drive) there is plenty of choice of shops (Prestatyn has a good little shopping area where you will find Tesco, Next etc) If you have a dog there are plenty of local walks and beaches that are dog friendly. Really loved it here (and believe me I am fussy) and will definitely be going back. Oh and the season is a long one - open March to mid January so great for winter touring too. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bellah 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here in September. When you arrive the site appears to be very well kept. But we were shown to an area in the middle row supposedly a 'super' pitch which we had paid a higher price for. The road was very unkempt with potholes and loose stones, and the turning point was very tight, you where put in the middle of seasonal caravans, and you are all very cramped together. People came for the weekend and where very noisy and the children where running wild over everyone's pitch, there was loud music from the car radio just left on. Drainage was just a small 1' hole in the ground, it was very cramped together. There were old scruffy caravans mixed in, they had gone green with mold and age. The site is very badly lit, and you need a torch to walk the long way to the toilet, which too far if you have walking difficulties or are disabled, (which I am). There are no play areas for the children, and no area for dog walking or exercise. A nasty little note in the bin area about recycling threatening to charge you 5 per item. The rest of the area was ok. I will not be returning here or recommending to to any of my friends. We were so disappointing we left a day early, even though we had paid for that day we didn't want to stay any longer 


Previous     73 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Penisar Mynydd Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Penisar Mynydd Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Penisar Mynydd Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Asaph      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Denbighshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7042 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements