Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Waterside Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > Essex > Site Reviews

Waterside Holiday Park
Main Road
St Lawrence Bay
Southminster
Essex   (Browse area)
CM0 7LY
Tel: 01621 779248
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: 21 March To 31 Oct

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 58 Reviews
                7/10 from 58 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  58 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Johnc43 4 reviews from this member

Where do we start, came for a weekend in the tent, with 2 dogs, £56 with electric hook up, first pitch there was no electric hook up, secondly the noise, we had next doors music from the car, and the kids screaming till 2am in the morning, and next door packing up the their tent at 5am in the morning, with the dog barking really nice

Price for drinks was unbelievable, toilets were disgusting, and lastly had the friendly rat, came to visit, the entertainment well what can I say

But apart from that nice time

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: PeggyBank 2 reviews from this member

I booked this site on a whim, paid £40 for 2 nights with on my own with two kids.

Good points- The pitches are a good size, plenty of electric hook ups and water points.

Small swimming pool, not big enough for doing lengths but perfect for a family/ kids swim.

It is a small site, secured with a key fob access, so feels secure and safe.

Cafe is reasonably priced with an on site shop for essentials.

There is a small bar/ entertainment area and arcade but we did not use this.

Dogs are welcome.

There are lovely views out to sea, and a crabbing pool which the kids enjoyed.

The kids play area is a bit small but kept my 2 (aged 8 and 10 occupied).

Staff are friendly and helpful.

Bad points- Pitches are a bit bumpy and uneven but not terribly so. We had airbeds so were fine, but if you just use camping mats you may feel the bumps.

The main problem though was the toilet and shower block. There was a drain blockage and the smell was foul. They had plumbers out to rod the drains but it didn't seem effective. The block also seemed uncared for, it was swamped in water on the second day of our visit. There was also no hand soap by the sinks or in the showers. The toilet cubicles are also on the small side.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kennedy123 9 reviews from this member

Just stayed 10 nights with our touring caravan site need a good tidy up. the static caravan opposite our pitch was disgusting, it was like looking onto a scrap yard, old cars and rubbish build up was really poor. The staff seemed ok didn't use any facilities as had our own the
chemical waste area needed a good clean and nobody including staff obeys the one way system we were told to observe. The walk near the waters edge is lovely and some lovely caravans which are well looked after, just a shame our site was opposite the dump it was.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nonamesleft 1 review from this member

This was an ok site and the park was a good one. The site pitch is a decent size. Reception staff were friendly. However, this was the first site I have been too that does not enforce the 11pm noise levels that well. There is a high security presence which is good but the noise level needs to be monitored better. The swimming pool is like a pool that you may get in a big house, it's like a giant bath tub and not much space in there. If you are in a group which likes a bit of flexibility with noise/music at night then this will be a good site but if you are a family with younger children, it may irritate you more at night. I would choose to go back to this site as a group of adults but not with my family.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Julesann 3 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to this site so we knew what to expect. The pitches are a good size and the site is kept clean and tidy. The clubhouse is sufficient although a little tired looking but saying that we had a great time on the Saturday night with the entertainment team. Our visit did not feel such good value for money this time around as it was double what we paid in June last year but this is because it was the beginning of the school holidays. The toilet blocks are kept clean (which is a task because some of the people holidaying there have quite disgusting toilet habits!) There is a play area for the kids and a number of machines in the arcade. My son had no trouble getting through his money. The food from the café was nice and the people very friendly. The surrounding area is nice but there is not a lot to do unless you drive. Our friends went to an Indian restaurant (used to be a pub apparently) and they said the food was amazing. The weather was glorious which always helps and the sea is not too far to walk to. As this site is only 40 minutes away by car for us I am sure we will venture back there next year for a weekend break.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jill K 10 reviews from this member

It was a shame about the grumpy reception, as otherwise I can confirm all the positive aspects of this site in other reviews. It is well kept and patrolled without being intrusive. The indoor pool is well supervised, on a time limit, with decent sized main pool, kids' pool with slide, jacuzzi and sauna. The setting is lovely, on the river and there is also an extensive dog walking area. There is a convenient shop, cafe and bar area on site with entertainments if wanted. Facilities are clean and well managed. Value amazing. We like the remoteness of the area, but still found fruit picking, lovely walks, Bradwell marina and St Peter's chapel nearby.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nicnoc1982 3 reviews from this member

For us this was somewhere we could get to easily after work on a Friday for a weekend away. We have been a couple of times, mainly chosen due to distance from home and an on site pool for the kids. Pitch sizes ok and facilities as expected. We paid for 3 nights rather than 2 so we could leave later in the day and make the most of it (only cost about £15 for the 3 nights). Staff very friendly and the kids had the pool all to themselves on the Sunday. The best thing about this site are the chips from the little cafe! Honestly, try them! Yummy! Didn't use much of the facilities but only because we enjoy saying by our van with a nice bottle of vino.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: RobbieRedcote 10 reviews from this member

Enjoyed this site so much last month, we have come back already. Excellent value, £14. 80 for three nights and usual friendly staff.

This was the weekend for the Talent Show finals, and the effort made by the staff to decorate the entertainment centre has to be applauded, wonderfull atmosphere was created for a great nights entertainment.

Food in cafe usual great value, served by very friendly / helpful staff.

Can't fault this site, it is small in size, but great in every other aspect.

Can't wait to go back in 3 weeks for half term with grandchildren when I can add a rating for Child friendliness, which I am sure will be excellent like everything else.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: RobbieRedcote 10 reviews from this member

Another visit to Waterside and another satisfying stay.

Pitches still as bumpy as ever, but other than that all was fine. Toilet / Soer facilities very good, and water pressure on site at water taps best I have ever had anywhere, so filling water container very quick.

Waste disposal close enough (although I would not want to be on the picthes local to these).

Staff as helpful and friendly as ever, and the food in the restauarant very good, price, choice and staff.

3 nights for £28, how can you fault that.

Site was full this weekend, but the noise level was very quiet.

Nearby Maldon and Burnham on Crouch both worth a visit, especially if you like boats and boating.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: HelenL72 3 reviews from this member

We stayed here earlier this month on our first family camp.

The pitch was a nice size and we were lucky enough to have a water point right in front of us.

Just a short walk to the top of the road and there were toilets which were clean every time we visited them over the weekend. Just around the other side from them were a block of toilets and a block of showers. We went quite early in the morning, they were very clean and there was plenty of hot water. 2 pushes of the button each (my daughter was in the cubicle next door) was enough for us to wash our hair and we both have very long/thick hair.

We can't comment on the clubhouse as we didn't use it (we were exhausted) but we popped in the shop and it was well stocked.

The washing up hut was close by and the kids went off several times to wash up, it was nice and clean and didn't seem busy.

We thought we might be in for a noisy night as England were playing at 11pm and loads of people were heading for the clubhouse, but we didn't hear a thing and I am a very light sleeper.

We went shopping the next morning for a few bits and thought it might be nice to stay and have some lunch so we asked for a late checkout, which was no hassle at all.

The pitch was a little bit stony underneath so next time I would take some stronger pegs as ours kept bending.

There seem to be a lot of season campers there, but everyone was very friendly and the staff were very helpful.

We will definitely be going back, great place to chill out and relax.

Previous     58 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Essex

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2009 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019