Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cwmrhwyddfor

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Snowdonia > Cwmrhwyddfor Reviews

Cwmrhwyddfor
Tal Y Llyn
Tywyn
Snowdonia
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL36 9AJ
Tel: 01654 761286
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 55
Open: All Year For Campers, March To October For Tourers

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 27 Reviews
                8/10 from 27 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Garryh92 1 review from this member

 My son wanted to watch some planes fly through the valley, and what a spot to do it. I wanted to get some walking in so we managed to do both.

Great site, good basic facilities, Great friendly & helpful owner.

Lovely to wake up to the sound of the stream and wildlife.

I found this a perfect location to explore the area, and not to far away for Snowdon & the tourist trails stuff as well has a visit to the beach.

Be prepared for limited phone signal, no TV unless you have a satellite. Local pub was not serving food. So ensure you are well stocked up, then just sit back and admire the views.

I would recommend taking a walk up Cader Idris, (Cad East is plane spotting ground and fairly easy. Ish) even if you don't get to the top, my son who was 15 was totally blown away with the views. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Keith Hulbert 1 review from this member

 Stayed at this campsite for 3 nights in July and returned for a further 3 nights in September. Had a really enjoyable time. Really liked the farmer - in my opinion you couldn't wish to meet a nicer person.

Great location for climbing Cader Idris mountain via the Minfford path. Happy with the facilities - basic but fine for £5 a night. The campsite is in a very beautiful location.

I did not find noise a problem staying at the campsite. I always bring ear plugs when I go camping. I look forward to coming back here again in 2019. Hopefully the weather will be kinder next time! 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Nomad66 15 reviews from this member

 This is a great little site with easy access and an amazing view. The owner is very welcoming and easy going, you just find a place to pitch and we'll come and find you.

There is only a single shower (1 male, 1 female) but we never had to wait. The 20p system ensures no one hogs it for ages and there is always hot water.

If you like hiking, cycling, motorbiking, photography, watching fast jets fly low level or just being in an amazingly beautiful part of the world you'll love it here.

And everyone loves Alfie the donkey who seems to remember all the young returning campers and loves the attention. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: CRH1 1 review from this member

 A three night stay at this charming site. Parked adjacent to the stream. The owner Hugh is a perfect host and very friendly. The site was not very busy during our stay.

The toilet facilities were kept clean and monitored during the day. Only one shower in the ladies and gents toilets with 20p slot machine. A perfect place for hill walking and adjacent to Cader Idris. Terrific views of the area.

If you like military aircraft the site is on the 'loop' which is used by the RAF and US air forces for low flying exercise. From the near by hill sides you can actually look down on aircraft as they go through the valley!

The owner allows camp fires which add a romance to the site.

We will definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Simonne Evans 1 review from this member

 My husband and I spent a week at this beautiful site in August. We were very close to the stream which was lovely to wake up to each morning. The site is well maintained, and the farmer, and his family are all very friendly.

Nothing is too much trouble for them. There are clean toilets and although there is only one shower available at a small cost of 20p x 3 minutes, there was never a queue even though the site was full. There are sinks outside with draining boards for customers to wash their dishes.

As it is a working farm there are working dogs which will of course bark as dogs do that, but only usually when someone was passing. There are bins provided both for rubbish and recycling. If you want to have a pleasant stay on a friendly working farm and get involved if you want to then book on this site.

In my opinion it is excellent value for money and I highly recommend a stay at Cwmrhwyddfor Farm for camping and caravans. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mikro 21 reviews from this member

 Great location, deep in green valley, so no mobile signal. Good value at 15 pounds including elec, sites right next to stream, facilities o k but no hot water for washing up and had to pay for hot water to wash and shower.

Convenient for climbing Cader Idris, and lots of other hill walks around. Pub within walking distance although road is busy. Friendly farmer & facilities kept clean, will return soon. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hedgewitchy 1 review from this member

 We have just recently stayed at this site for 3 nights and enjoyed our stay immensely,

The site is situated in the most beautiful surroundings with lots of walks/hill climbing to keep you occupied. Yes there is no signal for mobile phones at the site but a short walk / drive and you can get a signal.

The owner's were very friendly and regularly checked / cleaned the toilet facilities, however the only thing I found disappointing was the toilets did not have any soap.

This is a working farm and yes the dogs did bark but only as someone entered or left the site.

Beautiful surroundings, friendly owners, peaceful, would strongly recommend a visit. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cerisjones 11 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for one night in June as the campsite is situated very close to the beginning of the walk up Cadair Idris.

The location of the site is excellent as there is a really great pub (Gwesty Minffordd) ten minutes walk down towards the lake where the food is great and the owner very friendly.

If you're interested in planes (which my other half is) it is also a great spot to see the RAF on their practice sessions.

The biggest bonus of course though is the proximity to the beginning of the Cadair Idris walk which is just next to the Gwesty Minffordd.

The owners were friendly and the camping is cheap- £5 pounds each.

I agree with other reviewers that the facilities aren't great and could be improved, I donít think Iíd camp here for more than a couple of days. However, I'd much prefer to stay somewhere quiet and beautiful such as this rather than a bustling campsite with power showers etc. The lack of facilities is also reflected in the low price. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Tluker 8 reviews from this member

 A beautiful site, helpful owners, if you want peace and tranquility and don't mind the very basic facilities it is a must.

Other reviews have said the dogs bark a lot, we did not find this a problem, they only barked for a short while if someone arrived, or they were going out to work the sheep.

We stayed here and were the only occupied van.

The shower/toilets are cleaned daily and only get in a mess if other thoughtless people make them untidy.

I would definitely visit this site again for it's peaceful environment. 


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: BadBoyBushy 16 reviews from this member

 Nice small farm based site with separate tent and caravan areas. The toilets are very basic and only 1 shower (1 in the men's and 1 in the ladies) which operates on 20p's for 3min.

Hot water in the sinks is the same, but washing up and washing yourself share the same sinks. Otherwise they were kept clean. Despite being close to the main road the caravan area was undisturbed by traffic noise, however the camping area is much nearer.

Bewarned, there is little or no mobile phone signal on any UK network, anywhere on the site. We enjoyed our 3 day stay in March 2011.

Our caravan was sited next to the stream, and waking up to the sound of running water was lovely.

Dogs are allowed, and electric hook up is available at additional charge. Camp fires are also allowed. The site is basic, but clean and value for money. 


Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cwmrhwyddfor child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cwmrhwyddfor?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Cwmrhwyddfor dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Snowdonia      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6486 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement