Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Golden Sunset Holidays

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Isle of Anglesey > Benllech > Golden Sunset Holidays > Reviews

Golden Sunset Holidays
Main Road
Benllech
Isle of Anglesey   (Browse area)
LL74 8SW
Tel: 01248 852345
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 44 Reviews
                7/10 from 44 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  44 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pennine penny 2 reviews from this member

 I stayed for one here. I had a very warm helpful welcome. The pitch had a wonderful sea view.

The toilets are basic. There are limited pitches with EHU. Unfortunately I was closer to the road side of the site which meant I could hear the traffic. But only a 5 minutes walk to the village.

I would stay again but further away from the road. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sandypandyxxx 3 reviews from this member

 This site is run on a shoestring, which is unfair when they are charging 24 a night (pay extra for electricity) The electric hook-up facilities are few and far between.

There were various dangerous electric cables in a mish-mash of what seemed to be people feeding into the few electric points there were - these were just lying about the ground (some with plastic bags over them to protest from weather)

The regular/long-stay vans seem to have the monopoly on most of the hook-up access, whether they are visiting the site or not. The views are stunning but the shower and toilet facilities are not. We were told there were free hot showers - free they were, hot or even slightly warm, they were not.

Very dated, drafty shower/toilet blocks probably built pre 1950's - this is not good enough in this day and age when other sites are doing us so proud.

The site is handy for a short walk to the beach and into Benlech which has a good choice of supermarkets, pubs and eateries. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tjetjon 1 review from this member

 We (Mysef and 6 year old son) have just spent a weekend here. Fantastic views, 30 seconds from the coastal path. We had great evenings with our neighbours over campfires and BBQ's. Lots of family's and very little noise at night.

The owner does a patrol just before 11pm to check fires are being put out and noise levels are reduced. Facilities were good and barrier entry with a swipe card adds extra security.

The view from our pitch across the rocks and bay was incredible and overall we really enjoyed staying here, plus the price (8 for an adult and 5 for a child per night) is great too. 10/10 from me.

If you want fancy showers and other luxuries then find another site, if you want good old friendly family camping then this is the place to stay! 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Carolbob 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a great weekend at Golden Sunset Park. The managers were so helpful with lots of information about the place. (we now know the best paths to the beach and the village)

They really went the extra mile to help with our enquiries for a seasonal pitch and we have decided to put our caravan there next year.

The location and sea and mountain views from this site can't be beaten! Great shopping in Bangor, just 15 minutes away and lots of good restaurants and pubs too.

Can't wait for our next visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: NONE 2 reviews from this member

 We phoned to book this site, told just turn up, so we did. Arrived spoke to the person we had phoned. Wrong entrance we needed touring site, wish she'd told me that on the phone, would have saved me trying to turn motorhome around in small space with traffic coming and going. Arrived again enquired about hookup from man reading his paper, was told he had no idea just drive around.

This place is huge. A kind camper helped us find one. Went down to pay, they don't take cards, had to walk to cashpoint. Then found out electric not included as advertised so had to purchase card. No explanation what to do with it, or info about the site. He was still reading ! I enquired about bus service, he said ' what do you want that for'.

On Friday a large group of campers arrived, due to their camp anywhere attitude they did. All around us, right upto motothomesides. They then partied until 1am ! Complained next day, they have a no noise policy, they stayed we were moved.

As for the facilities. Filthy, no sign of cleaners, blocked loos, just horrible. It was not worth 24 a night, I would not recommend this place to anyone. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sandl 1 review from this member

 Great campsite with stunning views. Showers and toilets adequate although the one toilet block was quite old but clean. The only downside to it was the people that use it! Untidy, noisy, no consideration for other campers. Tents were pitched too close especially around the electric hook-ups which were limited. Best avoided during peak season! Shops, pubs and beach all in walking distance. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Taekwontoe 1 review from this member

 hi. Me and my family visit golden sunset holiday park in benlech every year and have done for about 15 years. The manager is very helpful and goes out of his way to help in anyway. Security is 100 percent. The facilities are ok. The views stunning. And everything is within a 10 minute walk. Staff are helpful. And not expensive either. Give it a try. You will not be disappointed. Tony. And co. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cathie66 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here with my boyfriend for the Easter weekend. Superb location and views. However the showers and toilets were poor. Cleanliness was not great and the showers seemed to have no pressure with my boyfriend having to resort to rinsing soap off in the sink.

In the ladies there were no plugs in sinks and as the taps were the type you had to push and get a few seconds of water made it difficult to have wash etc.

Website needs updating with correct prices and it doesn't state that there is a charge for dogs. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Davep 8 reviews from this member

 A mixed group of Adults and Children, in tents, TT's, Caravans and Motorhome's were booked to stop on a Farm Field. Unfortunately access issues on the day of arrival left us scrambling for a alternative site.

Having tried a number of other sites, we were directed to this one. And were pleasantly surprised, when the Touring Site Warden, said she could fit us in.

She allowed us through the barrier, and left us to have a look around, and decide if the site would be suitable, and where we would like to set up. No pressure of any sort.

Due to the large numbers, we decided that the Large Touring Field, which was empty, would be perfect. We advised the Warden, and headed off to get the rest of the group.

The Large Touring Field has slopes, so is not flat, but nothing major.

The toilets on the Large Field, are very basic, you have to walk to another part of the Site for the better toilets and showers.

Having been prepared for a basic facilities site. I had no hook up with me, but there was a number of hook up points around the field.

Access to the site is via a barrier entrance, requiring a swipe card.

There is free WIFI, mobile phone reception on Orange is extremely poor.

I walked into Benllech a couple of times during our stay, and that took me around 5 minutes.

There are a number of Take Aways, in the town. A Tesco Express with a cash machine and a Spar.

I was in a Folding Camper, so paid the Tent rate of 8 per night as I was on my own. I did find the charge of 24 per night for a caravan slightly high, so have taken that into account when scoring the site.

Everyone in the group enjoyed their stay, and we are considering, sing the Site again, next year.

Dave 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Davewilsonone 1 review from this member

 The campsite itself was excellent, pleasant friendly staff who were very helpful. Nice toilets and showers and a tidy site. It could be more level but you can't have everything. The only negative is below the site on the cliffs down to the beach, it is much used by anglers who leave beer cans, bottles, BBQ's fishing line and other rubbish. Such a shame as it spoils the whole experience and makes it dangerous to take children or animals. Not really the sites fault more those fishing from it! 


Previous     44 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Golden Sunset Holidays child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Golden Sunset Holidays?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Golden Sunset Holidays dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Benllech      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle of Anglesey

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3678 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement