Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Melrose Gibson Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Borders > Melrose > Melrose Gibson Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Melrose Gibson Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
High Street
(selkirkshire)
Melrose
Borders   (Browse area)
TD6 9RY
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 67
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 71 Reviews
                9/10 from 71 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  71 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Johnm4 1 review from this member

 Absolutely faultless, great location with great facilities, shower block and waste recycling points all constantly kept to a very high standard.

Price was a bit higher than expected but no too much for the amenities and the time of year.

5 minute walk to the main streets of Melrose, we also walked the Eildon hills on foot from the campsite without issue. 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: GranFann882 1 review from this member

 Just home after our second stay at Gibson Park in Melrose.

The sun shone brightly for our weeks visit and we walked and shopped in many of the shops of which there are a great choice.

Having the Co-op on the doorstep was great.

We visited the Abbey,

The workmanship from centuries ago is magnificent

Our favourite walk was along the river on the far side of the bridge

Our dog loved the river and swam happily and careered all over the place.

I canít complain about Gibson Park

The facilities were first class. The staff worked very hard to keep the park in tip, top condition. During our week there was a lot of coming and going and the system in place is excellent.

We are already planning to visit again in the autumn 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jimmn 19 reviews from this member

 Well cared for, leafy site with lots of flower tubs scattered around. Melrose Gibson is right in the middle of things with the Co-op right outside the site.

Melrose itself is a fantastic town. We visited the Abbey, the Roman museum (new one to open in August), and had lunch in the beer garden of Burts hotel in the Market Square - highly recommended.

Lots of good walks down by the river. We'll definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mischka 68 reviews from this member

 This is a small level site right in the town centre.

The toilet block was kept clean and tidy. There is a wrist band system designed to limit the facilities to only 2 people at a time (during covid). It works if everyone understands it, but I spoke to many people whilst queuing who hadnít understood what they were supposed to do.

Melrose is a very pretty town with many places to eat, a small Co-op right next to the site and lots of independent craft and art galleries. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Lynne9 1 review from this member

 Very convenient site, situated next to a park and near to Melrose and a little coop.

Friendly reception. Good system in place for using toilets and showers. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bobc51 22 reviews from this member

 Used as a stop over cutting across from west o east coast. Have stayed before and always found it a pleasant clean tidy site.

Don't arrive too early as there is no room to park and wait.

Positioned on the edge of town 5 min walk to town center.

Melrose Abbey well worth a visit (we went round again) 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fiona W 193 reviews from this member

 Hadn't planned to stay here as we're not CAMC members so that means a substantial surcharge. But Storm Ali meant driving further wasn't sensible. So we coughed up £36 (ouch!) to stop over and be safe.

It was a friendly welcome - we've been brusquely turned away from a CAMC site before in an old motorhome, so we were a bit wary; we could choose our hardstand pitch; white markers had EHU + TV (which we didn't need). Well maintained grass & flower tubs on site.

Toilet block excellent - modern, clean, warm, plenty of showers & sink cubicles, closed only briefly for cleaning at a time that was not inconvenient. There's a dedicated dog walk but although it was well fenced, the sign said 'dogs on lead' so that's what happened. A much bigger & more open option (but still on-lead) is the grass field at the site entrance.

Melrose is a few minutes walk away; it's a small Borders town with some good galleries; a superb wine / spirits / coffee shop; riverside walks by the chain bridge; and an Abbey that is well worth paying to go into because of the wealth of stone carving detail there (climb the bell tower for the views). National Trust for Scotland has - inexplicably - closed its wonderful dried flower centre at Priorwood and the NTS Harmony gardens serve only as a setting for the house that's rented out. That's not the CAMC site's fault. Co op next door is handy.

It's unlikely we'll be back soon - we'd have joined if the sums stacked up, but even the members' rate was noticeably more than we'd paid at other sites in the Borders, and we didn't use most of the facilities we'd paid for.  


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Noeliewoly 5 reviews from this member

 Overpriced and disappointing sums it up. Pitches are nearly all hard standing and if you are not a club member the prices are extortionate. We could only get in for one night and I'm glad, in hindsight. ' Didn't seem to be a friendly site and I think some of the members are a bit up their own *****. The location however was really good being right next to the town and co op supermarket. Also there seems oodles to do in the area with many tourist sights. The wash facilities were good and modern but nothing to warrant the price of £36 for one night when we didn't even pitch the awning. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Richardh1905 15 reviews from this member

 We enjoyed our stay at Gibsons; the location is good, close to Melrose's beautiful town centre, but not too close, and there is plenty of good walking from the site; in particular, the banks of the River Tweed and the walk up and over the Eildon Hills are highly recommended.

We were offered a choice of pitches, which is nice, and chose one at the far corner of the site, adjacent to some playing fields. The site is perhaps a bit over manicured for my taste, but no doubt this will suit some.

Facilities were very good. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bebs 2 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site with beautiful hanging baskets and fabulous views of the heather clad hilltops. A few minutes walk from the quaint little town of Melrose and the Abbey ruins. We loved it. The site is spotless and the staff friendly. We would definitely go back as it's a perfect stop over on route to the rest of the east coast of Scotland. 


Previous     71 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Melrose Gibson Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Melrose Gibson Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Melrose      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Borders

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camp & Glamp Show, Hertfordshire 08/10 to 16/10
Join the Camp 'n' Glamp 2022 Tent Preview ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2271 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement