Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Melrose Gibson Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Borders > Site Reviews

Melrose Gibson Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
High Street
(selkirkshire)
Melrose
Borders   (Browse area)
TD6 9RY
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 67
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 65 Reviews
                9/10 from 65 Reviews

Photos (6) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 No Shop   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  65 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fiona W 173 reviews from this member

Hadn't planned to stay here as we're not CAMC members so that means a substantial surcharge. But Storm Ali meant driving further wasn't sensible. So we coughed up 36 (ouch!) to stop over and be safe.

It was a friendly welcome - we've been brusquely turned away from a CAMC site before in an old motorhome, so we were a bit wary; we could choose our hardstand pitch; white markers had EHU + TV (which we didn't need). Well maintained grass & flower tubs on site.

Toilet block excellent - modern, clean, warm, plenty of showers & sink cubicles, closed only briefly for cleaning at a time that was not inconvenient. There's a dedicated dog walk but although it was well fenced, the sign said 'dogs on lead' so that's what happened. A much bigger & more open option (but still on-lead) is the grass field at the site entrance.

Melrose is a few minutes walk away; it's a small Borders town with some good galleries; a superb wine / spirits / coffee shop; riverside walks by the chain bridge; and an Abbey that is well worth paying to go into because of the wealth of stone carving detail there (climb the bell tower for the views). National Trust for Scotland has - inexplicably - closed its wonderful dried flower centre at Priorwood and the NTS Harmony gardens serve only as a setting for the house that's rented out. That's not the CAMC site's fault. Co op next door is handy.

It's unlikely we'll be back soon - we'd have joined if the sums stacked up, but even the members' rate was noticeably more than we'd paid at other sites in the Borders, and we didn't use most of the facilities we'd paid for.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Noeliewoly 5 reviews from this member

Overpriced and disappointing sums it up. Pitches are nearly all hard standing and if you are not a club member the prices are extortionate. We could only get in for one night and I'm glad, in hindsight. ' Didn't seem to be a friendly site and I think some of the members are a bit up their own *****. The location however was really good being right next to the town and co op supermarket. Also there seems oodles to do in the area with many tourist sights. The wash facilities were good and modern but nothing to warrant the price of 36 for one night when we didn't even pitch the awning.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Richardh1905 15 reviews from this member

We enjoyed our stay at Gibsons; the location is good, close to Melrose's beautiful town centre, but not too close, and there is plenty of good walking from the site; in particular, the banks of the River Tweed and the walk up and over the Eildon Hills are highly recommended.

We were offered a choice of pitches, which is nice, and chose one at the far corner of the site, adjacent to some playing fields. The site is perhaps a bit over manicured for my taste, but no doubt this will suit some.

Facilities were very good.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bebs 2 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site with beautiful hanging baskets and fabulous views of the heather clad hilltops. A few minutes walk from the quaint little town of Melrose and the Abbey ruins. We loved it. The site is spotless and the staff friendly. We would definitely go back as it's a perfect stop over on route to the rest of the east coast of Scotland.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kensingtongreen 40 reviews from this member

Very clean, well organised site and so convenient to Co-Op and High Street. 28 pn for 2 with electric. Strongly recommended either as a stop for a week or as a stopover. Best to book as site nearly always full in Summer.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: 

I have recently stayed at lady Margarets park which is run by the caravan and motor home club. I found this very well laid out with good sized pitches. The setting for this site is very tranquil. The staff very helpful. Excellent for walkers and bike riders especially along the union canal. Before coming to this site I could of been put off by the reviews I read about the toilet and shower block, yes it's not brand new but it's spotless and contrary to what people have written about the block the water pressure is fine and the water is warm. I wouldn't hesitate going back to this site. People who have complained about the shower and toilet at this site need to experience a council run site.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Kompany 2 reviews from this member

I have recently stayed at lady Margarets park which is run by the caravan and motor home club. I found this very well laid out with good sized pitches. The setting for this site is very tranquil. The staff very helpful. Excellent for walkers and bike riders especially along the union canal. Before coming to this site I could of been put off by the reviews I read about the toilet and shower block, Yes it's not brand new but it's spotless and contrary to what people have written about, the block the water pressure is fine and the water is warm. I wouldn't hesitate going back to this site. People who have complained about the shower and toilet at this site need to experience a council run site.

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Capt Lightning 41 reviews from this member

Very disappointed with both the site and Melrose itself. Normally I don't book more than a few days in advance, but I had booked Melrose a couple of weeks ahead. Even on a wet midweek in March I was amazed that this site should be fully booked.

OK, for a Club site the facilities were very good and the staff were friendly and helpful, but somehow, the site just didn't feel right. It had all the charm of staying in a gravelled car park. One redeeming feature was the abundance of free Wi-fi hotspots!

There is a small, expensive Co-op just outside the site and a few shops in town - if they can be bothered to serve you. All very 'League of Gentlemen'. You could always visit the abbey which used to be free - now you have to stump up 5. 50 per adult.

The reason for this site's popularity eludes me. I wouldn't bother to go back, but doubtless many will sing its praises. I've stayed at many Club sites that I've really enjoyed, but let's just say, Gibson park is not one of them!

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Welshy165 5 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 2 nights (Monday/Tuesday)for walking the borders abbeys way. We never booked and were lucky to get in as there had been a cancellation we were told on arrival. The campsite is 96% full all year round we were informed so probably better to book before travelling. We got a hard standing pitch with space for an awning. Pitch was nice and level and close to toilet block. Campsite is in a perfect location about a 2 minute walk to the co-op and spar shops and about 5 minutes from the abbey. Melrose is very nice and will definitely be coming back for another visit in the future.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Roons 5 reviews from this member

We chose this site for a 4 night stay after reading reviews and because we wanted to visit the town of Melrose.

The site is ideally situated almost in the center of Melrose and therefore is just a few minutes walk to shops, restaurants, pubs etc. (CC Members get 10% discount at The Kings Arms and The Station Hotel and also a Bistro but not sure of name. Kings Arms was nice.

The site is very attractive and well maintained with good sized, hard standing pitches both fully serviced and normal. My only gripe here was that the almost too efficient warden sprayed all the pitches with weedkiller while the pitches were occupied and while my dog lay at our awning door. He was suited and masked for the job which is good but us and fellow campers were not happy that poisonous weedkiller was sprayed whilst pets (and people) were only a few feet away! We appreciate that the job needs doing and it's difficult to do while pitches are occupied but maybe evening would of been a better time when dogs and people are more likely to be indoors.

The toilet and shower block were immaculate as always with Caravan Club and an excellent, undercover dish-washing area with loads of hot water. A good size dog exercise area at top of site. Also a field next to the dog walk with mehhing sheep! Our neighbours didn't like the sheep but we didn't find them noisy at all!

The female warden was friendly and very efficient.

Melrose itself is a lovely town with some nice shops and pubs. We had a chipper one night and despite being enormous wasn't the best we had ever had. We also had a meal in The Ship Inn which was good - good sized portions, good price and friendly staff. Melrose Abbey is definitely worth a visit and if you want supermarkets Galashiels is just 10 minutes drive away.

Apart from the weed-killing near pets gripe, we really can't fault this site or the town. Recommend and would go back!

Previous     65 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Borders   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3907 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019