Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - West Wayland Caravan & Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Looe > West Wayland Caravan & Touring Park Reviews

West Wayland Caravan & Touring Park
A 387
Looe
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL13 2JS
Tel: 01503 262418
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 120
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 53 Reviews
                9/10 from 53 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  53 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Static Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Camper1978 1 review from this member

Lovely and clean little camp site. Beautiful caravan on the left as you drive in which makes the site very vibrant with its beautiful flowers and colourful murals.

Toilets and showers are very clean and a wonderful little laundry room with free irons to use.

Only down points were the shop was extremely expensive so you had to travel to buy anything at a reasonable price and there was a lady in charge of the shop who was very rude when we asked how much something was.

The play area for the children is very run down which results in them being bored on site.
via mobile

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nomadengland 12 reviews from this member

Lovely little campsite at very reasonable price. Bus stop outside gate. Well stocked shop on-site + fish & chip van open most evenings. Nice walk to Talland Bay and on coast path then to Looe or Polperro.

Showers, toilets etc. And very friendly helpful staff.

Would thoroughly recommend and will visit again.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jesspekjon 11 reviews from this member

Another great stay at Wayland. Really enjoyed it. We stayed for a week in our caravan. The weather was fabulous too so that helped. Great coastal walks to either looe or polperro. The site has a very well stocked shop and a take away van which also gets good reviews. It's a very well kept site with great facilities. There's a large toilet/shower block. Woman's have 2 showers and plenty of toilets the men have 3 showers, these are cleaned to a very high standard daily. There is a pot wash and laundry, washing machines and ironing facilities. The grass is cut very regularly too. There's a play ground for the kids also. The pitches are massive, probably the biggest we've had. There isn't a pub close by but again you have looe and polperro with buses every half hour. We absolutely love west wayland. The downside for me is the grey waste point, the point is just a man hole cover you lift from the ground which is fine really however the drain below is the main sewerage pipe for the whole toilet block so on the odd occasion you see build of waste which isn't nice to look at. Maybe the site could install a water drain at the side of the cover so that it just filters in to the drain without having to lift the cover. All in all a fantastic site. We will return.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MartJo 2 reviews from this member

As ever, a great stay here as always.

We started coming here around 15yrs ago with a little dome tent and meths stove and we're still coming here now with a large family tent & hookup. We also hired a private static here last year which was immaculate and also, cheap!

We've just came back after 2 weeks here, family of three, with 16a hookup and paid a little over £200. Given the location, this is pretty much hard to beat. West Waylands is on the main road between Looe And Polperro (5 miles from each) and has good access. We don't really need heated swimming pools, foot massage, pedicures and a nightclub, so having a well stocked shop, clean FREE showers, loo's and washing/drying facilities is adequate for us. The owner Jackie is lovely and always chirpy and smiling. There's two play areas for children and a well enforced no noise policy. One night, there was loud music and rowdiness going on but once 11pm came around, it stopped. I'm guessing that they were told to stop for the sake of others. There's too many plus points to mention, and the only two small, and they are small, negatives we've found over the years is.

Most of the pitches are sloping. From very very slight, to well, sloping.

The tumble drier is near enough useless for a proper dry. We put over £10 in the drier for just under a machine load and it still wasn't bone dry when we took it out, and ended up having to hang it here there and everywhere in the awning. And that's NOT soaking wet towels and jeans. It might be okay to finish off a few damp t-shirts but that's pretty much it.

Apart from that, for the money, this is a cracking litle site. Obviously, it gets busy in peak season, but isn't as cramped as some sites around the area in which your guys are almost touching your neighbours!

After staying in the area lots over the years, we've probably tried most of the cream teas, fudges, pasties and chippies. For us, the best for chip shop food places are the on-site chippy (Sal & Vinnies) or Daves Diner in Looe. Cream teas, Daisy's Cafe in Castle Street, Looe. Pasties, Sarah’s Pasty Shop in Looe, and for fudge, The Cornish Maid in Polperro is the best by far. None of the powdery, grainy mass produced tat that you end up getting in the majority of places.

West Waylands, and holiday treat food is why we keep coming back to the area year after year. Even if it is soggy at times :-)

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lagerbird 1 review from this member

My family and myself love coming to this campsite, we have been coming for a few years and have never had a bad holiday. The site is well kept, clean and tidy. The toilets and showers are nice and clean. The staff are friendly especially the lady that runs it called Jackie, she is friendly and always greets you with a smile. We enjoy this site because it's so relaxing with a lovely view of the sea, will be coming here for many more years to come.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Percy on tour 49 reviews from this member

West Wayland Camp Site must be one of the best value sites we have ever visited. It is a grass site with well-trimmed lawns set around a well-appointed toilet, shower and amenities block. There is a small children's play area. There is also a small shop and a mobile fish-and-chip shop. The field has a spectacular view of Talland Bay and is within easy drive of Looe, Polperro and their neighbouring towns and beaches. Meanwhile, the owners are friendly and helpful.

West Wayland is also within walking distance of the South West Coastal Path. This is especially useful if you want to save the £4. 00 for three hours parking charge at Polperro. If it's a nice day, why not simply take a breath-taking walk there along the clifftops instead (about an hour each way, though parts are quite steep). There is also a regular Go Cornwall bus route that runs outside the main gate, and which connects at Looe with the rest of the Go Cornwall network - including scenic coastal services to Plymouth.

However, the most amazing thing about the site is that two adults in a caravan with ehu can stay there for just £8. 80 per night (or £10. 80 with an awning). When we stayed it was quiet, but I suspect the good value that this represents means it will be very popular in school holidays. This might have a bearing given that my only minor criticisms are that the pitches are adequate, but not over-generous in size (especially if you have an awning). In addition, the water in the showers could have been a bit warmer). However, in the round, these shouldn't detract from the fact that West Wayland is a superb site in a superb part of the world.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jw7a28 5 reviews from this member

West wayland is a great site very relaxed on arrival the lovely lady in reception gave us a great welcome and as you pay when you arrive her card reader wasn't working and we didn't have the cash this however was not a problem for her just pay me later when the card machine works she said there were no issues what so ever.

The park itself is very well laid out the pitches are quite big and we got our large tent and the car on it no problem also we did have a flash storm and the ground drained well. The pitches surround the toilet block and park there is also a large play area where the kids can play.

The toilets and showers were immaculate the only downside was I think a floor squidgy could be provided so the showers previous occupant can clean the floor I say this as one bloke took his hiking boots and child and kids trike in with him leaving grass all over the shower floor.

There is a great view of Talland bay from the site and the beach can be accessed from the site there is a gate at the bottom of the field but it is a mile hike downhill on narrow roads and you have to stop to let cars pass.

We used the shop which was not bad priced and we used the chippy van and they were very nice.

All in all this is a brilliant site if you are looking for a quiet base to explore the looe area Looe and Polperro are both within 2 miles drive, the staff are friendly and we paid £79 for the bank holiday week inc electric 2 x adults 1 x children 1 x under 5 free just to reitterate what a great site this is most of the people we spoke to camping had been using this site for years and I mean years one old guy had started in the 1970s and that for me was the best review.

We will definitely be using this site again loved it !

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Happy Camper 40 4 reviews from this member

A lovely site. Very friendly and relaxing. Nice size pitches and even though it was busy didn't feel over crowded.

The toilet and shower facilities are very clean, with lovely hot water in the showers.

The washing up facilities and laundry are great and the little shop is very useful for those small little items you might have forgotten.

There is a lovely park area which our children loved.

Would recommend this site as my family had a lovely time and it's a great location for exploring the Looe area

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Grotbags 6 reviews from this member

We have just returned from our second visit to this site. I am a single mum on a limited budget but this site is very reasonably priced. The warden is very friendly and I found the booking process easy and when I phoned she was very keen to help! The only little niggle was that the pitch we had is on a slope but apart from that I can't fault the site for the price. There is a little park for the kids and the showers and toilets were clean as were the washing up facilities. I had to buy ear plugs to stop the monks waking me up at 6am with their call to prayer but this is no problem at all!

The no noise after 11pm policy was great and was adhered to all the time we were there.

The children and I love this site and will, I am sure, be returning. I would recommend it.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nannienorms 2 reviews from this member

West Wayland is easily found and even easier to access. It has a lovely wide entrance off the main Looe/Polperro Road and has the benefit of a longish layby in front of it. On arrival book in at the reception cabin at the end of the first road on the right opposite the shop. The site is a mixture of static vans and a huge field for tourers, motorhomes and tents. There was a lovely big space for us to park our caravan with plenty of room for the awning and a car, still leaving enough space between neighbours. The atmosphere was relaxed and friendly. The receptionist was most helpful when my husband wasn't well and we needed to find the nearest doctor. She was always pleasant and friendly. One of the best features for us was the dog walking field where dogs could be left off their leads. Our Labrador, Daisy, loved it. The Sunday Boot Sale was interesting - not very big, but enough to spend an hour looking around. West Wayland is about a mile and a half from Looe, and there are no nearby shops, pubs, restaurants. The nearest being in Pelynt a short distance down the road which is virtually opposite the site. There is a small shop on site staffed by two lovely friendly ladies where you can get most everyday items. I noticed that although there wasn't a bus stop outside, buses picked up and dropped off passengers at the top of the drive. We were there the week before the summer holidays started and it was peaceful and quiet with a lovely view out to sea over Talland Bay. It was getting busy the day or so before we left, so more children were arriving, but it was lovely to see them playing in the park area. We particularly liked the fact there was an open aspect - where the playpark was in full view, and the toilets/showers were also clearly in view of most of the site. It felt very safe there particularly for children. The toilets and showers were newly decorated and very clean. Certainly no complaints about anything. There is one comment which is not a criticism, but an observation, the sign on the shop outlining emergency procedures says to use the telephone box at the end of the drive - problem is, it hasn't been useable for 2 years! This sign really needs updating, especially since mobile phones not part of the Orange network cannot receive a reliable signal. The fish and chip van based on the site was excellent - best fish and chips much better than Dave's in Looe, and great value for money. Charges were very reasonable. We will certainly be returning.

Previous     53 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5694 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019