Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Knockhatch Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Site Reviews

Knockhatch Campsite
Knockhatch Adventure Park
Hempstead Lane
Hailsham
East Sussex   (Browse area)
BN27 3PR
Tel: 07756521375
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 25th Of March - 1st Of November

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 29 Reviews
                7/10 from 29 Reviews

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chucknorage 3 reviews from this member

On arrival, it seems a little untidy with older caravans around the site, and the pylon in the middle of the field is a let-down, but otherwise, there's a nice small lake for fishing with the children, and it is very safe.

The facilities could do with a bit of an upgrade, but every year, they seem to have made some improvements.

(It can be noisy on some nights with the racing track nearby. )

The owners are extremely welcoming and helpful.

For the price, and the fact you are next door to the Adventure Park, this is a good site.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sonny1973 2 reviews from this member

Booked for 2 nights, stayed for one. Give this one a wide birth. Old caravans litter the edges of the site as they are obviously trying to make some more money as storage. Not a bad thing if done right but these looked as if they were waiting for recycling at the dump. Coupled with the vast amount of barbed wire circling the site gave it a kind of work site feel.

There were loads of cleaners at 0600 trying manfully to clean the facilities but I am afraid they were fighting a losing battle. The toilets and showers were manky. If you don't know that word then imagine a portaloo on a building site and a shower in a shared student house. They were old, rusty falling apart. They just need some money and TLC guys !

It is handy for the adventure park which is great and you get 2 for one on admission, but I would recommend just getting up early and driving. I have camped in a lot of places and this has got to be the worst. They had black bins lining the road with waste piled up over them. Have you never been to a campsite ?? It was flat though and the kids loved the shop

Could be so much better with a bit of time and love

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Patbaz 3 reviews from this member

A very convenient site. Our grandson was with us and very much enjoyed the break. Plenty of freedom for kids to play and run around. Showers and toilets were adequate though not palatial. Ideal for our visit to the adjoining park then onto the Airshow at Eastbourne. Good site for kids, easy to find but not picturesque.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bobbitxxx 4 reviews from this member

Have been going to Knockhatch for a few years now, every year we go there are new improvements that have been made. Children can play safely with plenty of space to ride and run about.

The campsite staff are lovely, very accommodating kind friendly people.

The shops are local with lots of shops available, Eastbourne is a 15 minute drive away.

The facilities at the campsite are very good and all in good working order. Showers are electric with adjustable heat settings. Toilets are kept clean.

Dogs are welcome at Knockhatch and go free!

There is a shop in reception which sells food/drink/toys and more.

CAMPFIRES are allowed and wood and kindle can be purchased from reception.

Also on the Knockhatch grounds there is a dry ski slope, paintballing, quad biking, a bmx ramp area and Knockhatch adventure park, you can get a 2 for 1 entry for the adventure park just ask at reception for details.

Love it at Knockhatch, will keep returning year after year.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lsj34 9 reviews from this member

A bit of a disappointment to be honest - we stayed here a few years ago and it was fantastic.

One line of tents/caravans around whole field and the middle left with 2 huge football goals for kids to play. Sadly this was no longer the case it seems they are happy to fill the whole field now with units, which not only leaves little space for kids to play but also there are still only 2 showers to the whole field!

Tired looking caravans in storage at one end of field, basic facilities (only cold water in toilet sinks, tepid water in washing up facilities). Stock car racing locally very noisy on Wednesday and Saturday nights till 10pm.

Sadly due to the above we will not be returning - however if you don't mind any of the above I will say the owners are extremely friendly and helpful and the neighbouring adventure park is a good day out (we did it twice).

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JoeG 9 reviews from this member

We stayed here just before Easter for a few days when it was very quiet and left just as it started to fill up for Easter Weekend.

The facilities were basic and tired but we came here to spend time with friends in the open air and to use the adjoining adventure park not in search of luxurious bathing and toileting facilities! The fishing lake proved very popular with our friends. When we visitied there was plenty of space to play frisbee and ball games without any problems (this was fortunate as there isn't a kids play area, or even a swing), however the wind was pretty relentless and the weather was cold throughout, even for March. Note that this is not a good site for kite flying, due to an electricity pylon and lines crossing part of the field.

Expect some 'happy noise' from the woods (paintball and quadbikes) and from the adventure park itself (mostly from the kiddie-sized go-kart track backing on to one side of the camping field), but of course this is only to be heard during opening hours. The evenings were very peaceful indeed.

As mentioned by others, the access road is not easy with a caravan. It is shared with the adventure park and so there are speed ramps, cattle grids, pot holes, a couple of sharp turns and at times some awkwardly parked cars to contend with. In places the lane is almost not wide enough for a caravan to pass an oncoming vehicle, but we did so by squeezing right into the hedge and being very careful indeed. Best to avoid peak times or driving against the 'rush hour flow' in and out of the park.

The Knockhatch adventure park itself is terrific for younger kids. The campsite is not directly related to it, but is able to provide dicounted entry tickets. There is a good supermarket nearby in Hailsham and plenty to do in the area. There is a McD's nearby and various takeways in Hailsham, some of which will deliver.

Herstmonceux Science Centre is about a 15 to 20 minute drive and is a really fabulous day out for kids of up to about 13, with plenty to see and many fun 'sciency' activities to do that are quite fun for all ages. There is also a nice little cafe. The centre houses the massive telescopes that came out of Royal Greenwich Observatory when London's polution levels became problematic. Sir Patrick Moore used them to create the lunar maps that were used by the Russians and Americans during the race! If science is not your thing, then there is Herstmonceux Castle right next door to it or you can head into Battle, Eastbourne, Bexhill, Pevensey or Hastings where there is plenty to do and ample shopping opportunities.

We enjoyed our stay and may well return to this site at some stage, but it is quite local for us and there are other places that we want to explore first.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: RockyandEllen 7 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 3 nights over the August bank holiday and are a bit in 2 minds over the campsite. We were put at the bottom of the field, through a gate in an adults area (although this didn't stop the kids from running around our pitch & ignoring the signs)

Positive points:

1) Friendly staff

2) Toilets cleaned at various times throughout the day

3) Onsite small shop selling basics & freezing facilities for ice blocks

4) No road traffic noise

5) Lake for fishing

6) Great for families

7) Camp fires allowed

8) Cheap pitch fees

Negative points:

1) Very basic facilities

2) Hardly any hot water for washing up

3) Hard to find & had to drive through the lane to Knockhatch Adventure Park's car parks (full of pot holes, cars from all directions and small lane) and then on up a dirt track (Again full of pot holes, small lane) to get to the camp site

4) Pitches seemed a bit disorganised (we had paid for 2 cars but there wasn't really any room around the site for us to park 1 let along the other)

5) Paintballing went on in the next field/wood & kids often came out of the woods carrying paint balls.

Personally we wouldn't stay here again but I'm sure it would be more suitable for families, especially if visiting the adventure park next door.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Yorkie18 8 reviews from this member

From the main road you face a quarter of a mile of relentless large potholes on a very narrow lane. On arrival it is just a large field with units around the edge. Dirty old storage caravans taking up one side. The facilities based in cabins are very very basic and very very old and I tried my best not to use them at all. We were in the area to visit family and visited several National Trust Properties in the area.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alandconnor 2 reviews from this member

We spent a weekend here from the 14th of June and had a lovely time. Booking in was easy with polite staff, the toilet and shower block were basic but clean and nice to use, also a washing up area for dishes. There is a fishing lake on site, and this was well fenced off so safe for children, which was just as well as we were camped right by it and had 4 children between the three families. Discounts for the adjacent adventure park were issued on arrival, and that provided a full day out for all of us. All in all a great weekend away. Thank you.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lrstone 1 review from this member

This was our 2nd go at camping. We are a family of 4, children are 5&7. Site is a large field with electric hook-ups along one side and a pylon in the middle.

We picked site for its location to the adventure park next door. For us this was perfect for a short stay as facilities were quite basic. Toilets were cleaned regularly but found the indoor hut for washing and cleaning up dirty. Site was friendly enough and we happened to pick 2 nights in a quiet week which was lucky!

I would warn potential visitors that there is a speed way very nearby so had to listen to that from 7-10pm. Apparently this occurs on a Wednesday and Saturday. Our only grumble is that they cut the grass and leave it. Consequently we had a tent full of grass and the underneath of our ground sheet was caked so have had to leave tent out at home to dry and clean. Makes the facilities look scruffy too with grass everywhere.

Kids loved the Adventure Park, we were there all day and we got a 2 for 1 voucher to get in. Nice to be able to walk there rather than drive. You can also buy your milk at reception but there's a limited supply as owners have to go and buy it in.

We had a lovely stay, as I said before, basic, but you get what you pay for. Also, hot showers work on an honesty box basis, 30p for 5mins which is fine, we paid our 1. 20. Did however observe one or two people take showers and not pay. Shame on them.

Previous     29 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in East Sussex   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


233 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019