Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Meathop Fell Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Grange Over Sands > Meathop Fell Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Meathop Fell Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Grange Over Sands
(lake District)
Grange Over Sands
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA11 6RB
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 113
Open: 23/03 To 03/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 61 Reviews
                9/10 from 61 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  61 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nikko136 45 reviews from this member

The site is divided into a number of one-way 'loops' with all the facilities and reception in a central area close to the entrance. The shrubs mentioned in the Club description are trees around the around the outside of the loops, blocking views of the surrounding scenery. As the site is on a hillside a lot of the pitches are quite an uphill walk to the facilities - there is a car park next to them and like many others we used our car to get there.

Staff were very helpful and friendly, facilities were excellent and the site is well-placed for visiting the coast and south Lakes.

Dog-walking is off-site in the local lanes, which were generally safe and quiet. There is also a wooded area opposite the site entrance.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Julesmalc 7 reviews from this member

A beautifully laid out site, just a short distance from the M6 motorway. The approach to the site is easy, if somewhat narrow. Once in the site, it opens into a large parking area for new arrivals. There is plenty of room between pitches, the one we chose was surprisingly level, considering we were at the bottom of a short hill. There is a small information centre on site, which also incorporates a book/dvd lending library. The shower/toilet block are excellently fitted out and were always spotlessly clean and tidy. I thoroughly recommend this site, it is in the perfect location for exploring the southern lakes area, and would certainly return if I visit that part of the country in future.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: HappyHobbyDays 3 reviews from this member

Just spent a very enjoyable 3 nights at Meathop Fell. Very clean facilities. Helpful wardens, just one moan was when a couple in their motorhome left their barking dog unattended in their motorhome for quite a while.

The Woodlands Hotel is a 5 minute walk and is good for drinks & food and has a dog friendly bar area.

Grange-over-Sands is a 60 minute walk and is well worth it with lovely views, gardens and lots of coffee & tea places. Recommended is Claire House Hotel where the Tea & Cafetiere were superb.

Well worth a visit and may stay longer next time as we didn't want to leave.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Windowman 5 reviews from this member

We booked a 7 day stay here at Meathop - asked to be near facilities - which we were, but the pitch was like a small car park, just below the toilet block. A lot of the pitches seemed to be on sloping ground - its a rural site so that is to be expected. A good standard Caravan Club site - very clean, modern toilet block and showers. Gorgeous trees and plenty of wildlife. No real off lead dog walk - local lanes quite busy. Had a meal at the local (recommended) hotel - not impressed, we sent one meal back (lamb was v fatty ) ordered fish & chips instead which was very good. A must visit is Cartmel village and Priory - fabulous day there- super cream tea in the pavement café next door to the pub. The Lakeside Motor Museum is really interesting as is the area devoted to 'Bluebird'. The local town of Grange has lots of character and some good shops.

Date of Visit: January 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Matlee 3 reviews from this member

This is a great site. Immaculate toilet and shower facilities really friendly wardens and it you turn left at the main entrance can camp with a nice view of the bay. There is a hotel which is 5 mins walk (turn left out of the main entrance) called Woodlands Hotel which has a public bar which we used almost every night. The food it top class but you need to book a table in advance for food. The manager Steve was very friendly (one of the reasons we kept coming back for a pint) Dogs allowed in too.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Blueboy2 9 reviews from this member

A lovely quiet site. Well kept by the wardens, toilets emaculate. They were even building an insect house when we were there. The site is a bit remote with only a few houses in meathop, although the site is next to a site with static caravans on and a small hotel with log cabins in the grounds. The hotel is well worth a visit for evening meal which was reasonably priced and good food. We walked into grange over sands which took an hour but was an easy walk. Grange has an abundance of tea shops, gift shops etc. It has a nice park area and a promenade which has recently been painted and looks grand. It also has a small play area for the little ones. Meathop is a good base for the lakes and there are estates and national trust houses near by. Sizegh castle is well worth a visit. We will definitely be returning to this site again.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Valvelifter 10 reviews from this member

This was our first caravanning holiday so we did not have any preconceptions about what facilities to expect. This site is very well run, is clean, spacious and with excellent facilities. The toilet/ washroom /shower block was immaculately clean with hot water and plenty of room. The waste disposal points were also kept very clean. The pot washing facility was equally well maintained. The pitches were mostly level and spacious with good mains and TV signal booster. The staff were very efficient and friendly even though it was a busy period when we arrived.

We enjoyed a very peaceful and relaxing two days and we will return.

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paul n linda 11 reviews from this member

Me and my wife stayed here for 11 nights in late March. It's a well run and set out beautiful site. Plenty of trees and a really nice view, depending on which pitch you choose. The staff are extremely polite and helpful, and are more than willing to answer or help you out with any queries or questions you may have. The toilets and showers are absolutely spotless as is the washing up area. You can get a nice meal in the pub/hotel next door at a reasonable price. The surrounding areas of Lancaster and morecambe are well worth a visit as is kendal and the Lake district. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and won't hesitate to visit it again. Many thanks to the management and wardens.

Date of Visit: February 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 505 reviews from this member

Location

The site is well situated for exploring the the South Lakes. It's in an isolated location but Grange is just a couple of miles away and Windemere and Coniston are both easily a accessible. The hotel next door serves great food and ales. Also, the pubs in Cartmel are brilliant for a meal!

Facilities

Usual high standards of CC - reliable and spotlessly tidy and clean.

Price

Low Season prices were just £14 per night. Bargain!

Great site.

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Berthagirls 5 reviews from this member

Our first visit to a caravan club site and we were very impressed.

On arrival- first impressions were very good- very clean, pretty and welcoming site, very peaceful. The Warden was friendly and explained the pitching procedure- find a pitch with the correct coloured peg for your booking and away you go. We easily found a nice pitch- not too close to the park (we have 2 girls aged 11 and 8) but close enough.

Everything was clean- great shower facilities and in February nice and warm toilet/shower block. Again, clean dishwashing area and laundry room.

The play area for children was good- perhaps more suited to younger children. One improvement for me would be to possibly put a chipped bark flooring to the park as it was very muddy/sodden grass in between the equipment meaning VERY muddy children. Some could then tread mud into the toilet blocks- I rinsed willies under taps but not all parents would do this and I can imagine in summer on wet days the clean facilities being affected by muddy boots! Girls enjoyed the park though and also riding around on bikes.

Great information room. All staff were very nice.

Local area- Lovely meal at the nearby Pheasant Inn. Would recommend and they serve food all day.

Would recommend this site- we'll be back hopefully in summer to enjoy sitting outside the caravan with a glass of niceness and a good book. With all that peace and quiet I can imagine it would be bliss.

Previous     61 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2519 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019