Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Meathop Fell Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Meathop Fell Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Grange Over Sands
(lake District)
Grange Over Sands
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA11 6RB
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 113
Open: 23/03 To 03/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 61 Reviews
                9/10 from 61 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  61 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Codwales 22 reviews from this member

What a fantastic site. It caters for those with children and those that are after a quiet holiday. As you enter the site, the playground is to the right and the quieter part of the site to the left.

The facilities are the best I have experienced on a caravan club site.

The approach lane is very uneven so please drive very slowly. As pointed out by the previous reviewer, at the bottom of the lane you encounter a single lane hill for about 50m. Take it wide at the bottom so that if anything is coming down they have enough room to pass. There is also another small single lane hill to the site.

I do not agree with the previous reviewer re dog walks. There is no where to let your dog off the lead to have a run. You can only walk up and down the lanes and the lane into grange can be very busy so you need to be in your guard.

Wardens on site are very friendly and are always available to assist you.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ozzyman 3 reviews from this member

The site was exactly as described on the website. Easy to find, although a narrow road to get to the site and also quite a steep incline just before the entrance. Check in was simple and fast and the warden was extremely helpful and friendly. The directions around the site were great and the pitches were well spaced in little cluster. The pitches with hard standing were well spaced just a note, bring a hammer as the hard standing lives up to it's name (I bent several pegs and my rubber mallet didn't work as well)The play area was really good for the children and secure also in good condition and the kids had hours of fun there. The toilet block was fantastic, spotlessly clean, warm and all with individual cubicle for sinks so nice and private. The laundry and washing up area were great too. The site shop was small but well stocked with all essentials you could want from milk, bread, bacon, tinned goods. And a great selection of ice cream!

About 10 minutes drive to Grange over Sand (strange name as we couldn't find the sand). It was beautiful little village with a Co-op supermarket, a lovely fruit & veg store next to the Co-op, a Chemist, and a Spar. Plus lots of other type of shops to cover all your needs.

I would recommend this site to everyone, couples and families. Dogs are also welcome and there are some beautiful walks nearby for you and your dog. The scenery is breathtaking and this site just adds to the experience. Defiantly my favourite site so far, we will be back soon.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Vixens 10 reviews from this member

This site is ideally placed to visit both coniston and Windermere. The directions are spot on however the approach road has aken a beating very large dips and bumps so take care. Site is spot less. Toilet block excellent but for some reason club sites insist on keys to the toilet blocks which I find a pain there are no footpaths through the site so no chance of anyone not from the site using them. The site is split in two. Most younger families down by the park and those without children up the top. Pitches all of a good size with plenty of room between. The ground is very hard even after plenty of rain. Pitches are generally flat and van only required a little levelling. There is no dog walking enclosed area on site and the wooded area isn't great. The site shop orders bread and rolls from nearby bakers which was great plus newspapers, milk, eggs, bacon and other basics. We hired bikes at grizedale forest well worth a visit. We have had a great week here and would recommend for visiting the lakes.

Date of Visit: December 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Raychel 7 reviews from this member

Spent a wonderful Christmas here. Well laid out site with really good facilities.

Very friendly staff, we were invited for mince pies and drinks in the office on Christmas Eve.

Lovely pub next door with log fire, very seasonal. Good food and a warm welcome.

Quite a distance into Grange, but worth the drive (not really walkable)

Cooked Christmas dinner on the BBQ which was different. Altogether a most enjoyable Christmas.

Definitely recommended.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: GlosLass 4 reviews from this member

This was one of my favourite sites on my marathon Scottish /Lakes holiday. I stayed for one night before travelling back down the M6. I hadn't booked and they were very (genuinely) friendly and helpful and got me booked in even though it was after the office had closed. I met people who stayed there regularly who confirmed what a nice place it is.

The site is attractive, convenient for walking and visiting places of interest in the area. The toilets and showers look brand new and absolutely sparkling clean.

I called into Grange Over Sands on my way home and it is a very attractive friendly place. There was a gorgeous bakery at which I bought beautiful bread, a cake and a gift for a family member. It had an adjoining cafe and I bought a take away coffee which was really good.

Very enthusiastic about this site and have already made a decision to go back and stay for longer.

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Weejanet 33 reviews from this member

Stayed here for two nights on our way down south. Nice site with tremendous toilet facilities. Good pitches with room between them. Lots of mature trees so maybe would be a good idea to see which way the sun falls on a particular pitch before settling down. Site seemed quite busy for the time of year, however everybody was on hardstanding pitches and the grass pitches remained empty.

Good information room with lots of leaflets.

We had a day out to the little model village just outside Grange Over Sands and then went on to visit the Motor Museum which my husband loved, the museum had a great tearoom which served really decent food at good prices, would recommend this for a day out.

We would return to this site for a longer visit as there is so much to see in the area, however this would also be a great overnight stop site as it is so near the M6.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wilbar 7 reviews from this member

Straight forward drive, sat nav directions spot on. Very narrow long lane on the approach, lots of passing areas along the way. We arrived just after 12 along with everyone else it seemed. It was raining and all the tree free pitches had been taken. We managed to get on one of the few hard standing pitches left. There were several people who arrived after us who had to pitch on grass. Lots getting stuck and churning up the grass, what a mess, we felt sorry for the wardens who had to push and pull some caravans out of the mud as the pitches were vacated they were closed. This is the first site we have visited were there are awning and non awning pitches. What happens if people who have booked a no awning pitch, pitch on an awning pitch? The shower block was probably the best I have visited, plentiful and very new. Good phone and wifi signal (3 network)

Great base for getting around. Grange-over-sands is small, has a lovely park. Morecombe was wet and windy. Kendal very busy main street, lots and lots of shops. Visited Cartmel to get some sticky toffee pudding, called in the Cavendish arms (dog friendly) for lunch, lovely staff and very nice lunch. What a charming town even has its own racecourse. The finale to our week was a visit to Tarn Hows, absolutely stunning, the drive over was a little scary(very narrow roads) but definitely worth it.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Midgeeater 2 reviews from this member

Booking was easy enough, site is well sign posted and not too far off the A590, the access road is a bit steep in one place but not a problem.

The site itself is superbly organised, check-in was great and all the staff were amazing - helpful, chatty, friendly and interested !

The site was the best I've been on so far, clean, tidy throughout, nice pitches and a new amenities block which was clearly well looked after and very clean. Everything worked. There is a well thought out site shop thoughtfully stocked with everything you could reasonably want (the local bacon and sausages were great!)

Have no fear with this one - its a great site with great staff.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Moss the Boss 5 reviews from this member

Caravan Club site so second to none for facilities, cleanliness, pitches. However, Caravan Club site fees expensive and increasingly uncompetitive, especially in high season. No security barrier at this site so caravans need to be secured with a clamp. Road to the site is bumpy and narrow with a steep slope at the end. Important arrival and departure times are adhered to or problems if two caravans meet.

Nice area, it's The Lakes but don't forget the Morecambe Bay coast as well. Lovely walks nearby at Hampsfell, Humphrey Head, Whitbarrow, Cartmell & Grange Promenade with its views over to Arnside & across the bay.

Grange is a three mile drive with a Spar, Coop, Bargain Booze, chippy/take aways and banks.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Scoutabout 13 reviews from this member

Newly refurbished toilet block plenty of showers never had to wait. Very clean and well maintained site, wardens very helpful and pleasant. Pitches roomy, some require levelling blocks. Tv and mobile reception good. Play area near bottom of site.

Nice short walk to pub serving meals. Site shop sells basics and you can order papers. Good information hut with 2 phone booths. Local shops and small supermarket in Grange, room for motor homes in car parks.

A good base to explore the many nearby attractions, Low Sizbergh farm shop great for local produce and a meal, then a look around.

Only problem is approach road to caravan site, its narrow and people will insist on leaving after 12 and arriving early despite instructions not to.

Previous     61 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1763 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019